(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

haha it's a combination of heart shape & tiara design

Ladies, anyone here recommend any strapless bra? I have a featherlite Nubra but after 2 tries, it's slipping off me after sweating.

Am considering a good strapless bra or well.. Don't know if a silicon bra instead of a cloth silicon bra works. -dlemma-

Hi thesepthia

U got mail.. food arh? Reviews are mixed leh.. So i not too sure about it.. I chose Fairmont coz of the Bridal suite & also coz the other hotels i saw not to wat me & HTB wanted..

Keeping fingers X tat the food will be ok.. Just take note that Fairmont dont serve sharksfin

hey michelle ! thanks for helping me to update the list . hehehe

anyway , I was thinking, shall we include our bridal studio too in the list ?

babydino ! Yeah I heard that Fairmount the suite super nice !
Somemore , have your own bulter. hee .

Mm.. Lydia, I don't know leh . I feel that you must constantly monitor the forum bout the VG. It kinda scray what if nearer the date, he run away then how ? then your wedding who take VG ? and also must feed feedback if the VG really return their works to the bridal couples

dear btbs,

i have a comprehensive bridal package to let go due to last min intention to go for overseas PS instead of local PS... other than MTM gown include, there's also a MTM pants for groom to bring home afterwhich... most impt RESHOOT IF UNSATISFY!

i'm open for any reasonably offer from any keen buyer who wish to save more on their wedding planning or on tight budget... pay less yet enjoy the full package...

email me at [email protected] if you would like to know more details!

cheers~

Hi all, im new here and am gona be a BTB in Oct 2011 too!! Seems like 30 Oct is a hot hot hot date =D

Am still looking at hotels ard... HTB and i seem to have different tastes hahah

Cherry, mine is from SG Bridal House..but some of our ladies are doing alacarte, no BS.

Welcome!..another michelle-michi here
Have u confirmed the date n which hotels are u considering?

Hi Michelle lim n coolie ! =) coolie u also oct btb ? Cos nv see u here before . When your date ? Michelle Chong , Michelle lim has mentioned her date on 30 oct 2011 =) anyway , mich lim which hotels u r looking at ? How many tables ? =)

Hi michimichi! Welcome welcome! I'm also in the midst of looking at hotels now! Later will be visiting Hilton Hotel and M Hotel, then it's time for decision to be made! Hope to give you ladies good news soon! :D

we could include like hotel, BS, PG & VG in the list, if u want more comprehensive

mine would be 09/10/11
venue - holiday inn atrium
PG- Blissful Reminiscence
VG- NA
BS- NA ( ala- carte)

Hi cherry,

im jan btb..over de!! Just come in btn give some comments and suggestion to brides lor..

Experience lioa haaaa...
U oct btb rite..
Need advice can ask me ma or add me in msn [email protected]
can discuss about wedding stuffs wo

Hi Cherry Chirpy/Michelle Chong (michi)- looking at pan pac/Raffles/M Hotel/ Hotel Re.. ahahah too many i feel and should start narrowing down like soon... Many hotels seem to be fully booked like so quickly! =) looking at abt 25-30 tables..

Kat - thanks thanks! =) OMG ur looking at M hotel too? =) but i heard got pillar so was reconsidering...

Coolie28 - Thanks thanks~ Urs in Jan 2011? or Jan 2010?

Hey Michelle Lim
So we share the same wedding date......u can consider Fairmont too...Yes many hotels were already booked when I tried to book for mine in March...I was amazed then

Just came back from two visits! M Hotel and Hilton! And I guess it's gonna be M Hotel now! Hehehz.

Anyway M Hotel's banquet suite don't really have like pillars in the middle of the room to block the view. The shape of the ballroom is like T-shape so the only concern is some people having to bend slightly forward to see the stage since they will have their backs to the side of the so-called pillars in the ballroom. Love the idea of having the preparation room just outside the ballroom so changing to second set of gown is at such ease. Overall think the package given by M Hotel is really attractive. Wins hands-down to both Carlton Hotel and Hilton, not forgetting it is 100 bucks cheaper for each table!

Today we saw the banquet suite with 27 tables and looked rather spacious, so I guess it's okie if you're looking at a comfortable fit of 28 which Eugene said is the ideal fit.

We met up with Eugene today and he's really soft-spoken but also easy to talk to. Hehez. Overall we are just quite happy with M Hotel. Also not to forget their menu is customizable since you can choose 1 dish out of maybe 5 choices.

Hilton Hotel is alright but the idea of having to share the reception area between the Vista Room and the Grand Ballroom doesn't appeal to us. The Vista Room's ceiling is a bit too low for our liking. The Grand Ballroom is nice but having pillars and a minimum of 40 tables during a Saturday, it's a problem.

Today we saw the Vista Room with 23 tables and since it's elongated with low ceiling, it actually looks like it's the best fit since the tables are only in 2 rows. The Grand Ballroom looks really big and today there are 44 tables. But we saw the pillars blocking some tables behind so that's sort of a no-no for that ballroom.

We met with Rachel today and she's okie too but we feel that she's more cold as compared to Joanna of Carlton Hotel and Eugene of M Hotel.

We told Eugene to tentatively block off the date for us and hopefully can wait until July since he said there's a wedding show then and there will be perks during then.

Think that's all I'm gonna say for now! Any questions regarding those those three hotels I visit maybe I can try to answer. Haha! But most BTBs here already has hotels so I doubt there's a need! :D

Wow Kat, thanks for the detailed update on the M Hotel! I think i will have to drag my HTB down with me to take a look at it le~ heh =)

hmmm Grand Capthrone is nice... but think their min table may be a bit of a prob..... =(

Currently have actually emailed them on the venue availability... so also waiting for them to revert back... =D

October 2011 BTB List:

8 Oct 2011, Michelle Chong(michi aka MC)
Venue: The Amara Hotel
PG: RMG
VG: RMG
BS: SG Bridal House (JB)

9 Oct 2011, Doragal
Venue: Grand Copthorne Waterfront
PG:
VG:
BS:

9 Oct 2011, TheSeptheia
Venue: Holiday Inn Atrium
PG: Blissful Reminiscence
VG: NA
BS: NA (ala- carte)

9 Oct 2011, HelovesmiIlovehim(lydia)
Venue: Mandarin Oriental Hotel
PG: Derrick Than
VG: Ideal productions, Stanley Oh
BS:

22 Oct 2011, Kat(pigglegirl)
Venue: M Hotel (TBC)
PG: Grace (MY)
VG:

22 Oct 2011, lowpyng
Venue: Grand Park City Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS:

23 Oct 2011, Cherrychripy
Venue: Marina Mandarin Hotel
PG: Eulee
VG: Damon Low
BS: My Bridal Room

29 Oct 2011, Babydino
Venue: Swissotel the Stamford/Fairmont
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, CaiHongLim
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, Larrby
Venue: Orchard Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, carebear(meteor_starry)
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, Michelle Lim(michimichi)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

Hey ladies, i've updated the list. Pls add in ur details, if i'm wrong..pls make the changes

Ladies, i've updated the list above, pls amend if i'm wrong

Kat, M Hotel is good & very attractive package, it was my first choice but not enough tables for me.

Thanks michi for the effort! :D
Yah the package is really good. Esp. during the wedding show where there is free flow of beer and wine!

michimichi, it's always good to go have a look and feel of the venue to decide if it fits both of you. Hehez. Usually if there's a wedding on that day, you can even have a better feel of how it will look for your own wedding!

No prob!

Kat, the package is already attractive, even without wedding show perks, so many snacks haha...but of course the more the merrier lol

Haha now we've michi1 & michi2...not too make u girls confused, may be can just call me 'MC' in short hehe

October 2011 BTB List:

8 Oct 2011, Michelle Chong(michi aka MC)
Venue: The Amara Hotel
PG: RMG
VG: RMG
BS: SG Bridal House (JB)

9 Oct 2011, Doragal
Venue: Grand Copthorne Waterfront
PG:
VG:
BS: Amanda Lee Weddings (ala carte)

9 Oct 2011, TheSeptheia
Venue: Holiday Inn Atrium
PG: Blissful Reminiscence
VG: NA

9 Oct 2011, HelovesmiIlovehim(lydia)
Venue: Mandarin Oriental Hotel
PG: Derrick Than
VG: Ideal productions, Stanley Oh
BS:

22 Oct 2011, Kat(pigglegirl)
Venue: M Hotel (TBC)
PG: Grace (MY)
VG:

22 Oct 2011, lowpyng
PG:
VG:
BS:

23 Oct 2011, Cherrychripy
PG: Eulee
VG: Damon Low
BS: My Bridal Room

29 Oct 2011, Babydino
Venue: Swissotel the Stamford/Fairmont
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, CaiHongLim
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, Larrby
Venue: Orchard Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, carebear(meteor_starry)
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, Michelle Lim(michimichi)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

Hi michelle,

my btb over liao..jab 2010 ma!
Come into certain btb thread give advice lo
since im
gone through all so i may share some wedding experience
anything can ask me in mail or can add me in msn at [email protected]

cheerrrs

U are u welocme cheery dear! hehe i only remember who has mentioned their BS, PV & VG, then i search thru the thread

This thread is so quiet now!

So has everyone started looking at what color theme you want for your wedding and what wedding gown you want?

Just some random thought to hopefully keep the thread going. Hehez.

was just wondering for those who choose ur BS as ala-carte.. wat does it mean? u just rent the gowns frm them? Thinkin of my BS nw.. HTB as me go & short list a few just in case we dun sign w our fren..

Any suggestions?

Hi babydino,

For mine is ala-carte as I'm getting a gown designer so I wouldn't be getting any OTR gowns.

Have you go to look at your BS to see what gowns are available for your choosing? It's always better to have a good idea of what is there for you so you wouldn't have a problem of not finding any gowns for your PS and AD.

Hi Kat,

I hvnt gone to any BS yet coz I thot that I would be signing with my fren.. but seems like HTB may hv other ideas.. so now at a loss.. dunno what to look out for, what to do..

Hm... Do you have a BS in mind? If not why not just check out your friend's BS for the collection of gowns to see if they are to your liking? I mean if you don't see anything you like, I don't suppose you want to sign with them just 'cos it's your friend? Unless your friend can give a good package that allow you to MTM w/o any additional cost if you can't find gowns to your liking, if not you can look around for other BS?

Of 'cos you can see what your hubby wants. But if you think you really want to sign with your friend, I think better check out the gowns first before deciding. Then from there on then see what you wanna do. The most important thing is that both of you are happy with the decision. Don't stress yourself this early! Relax dearie!

I already bought white gown off a blog shop for 150 dollars, then evening gown for photoshoot i already have . So maybe get 1 or 2 tea dress and party dress loh

Kat, my wedding colour & theme will be a white fairytale wedding..i want a long train white gown for morning & evening gown will mostly be pink..my fav colour hehe

Thesepthia, can u share the blog shop for gown? I'm looking at some tw & cn website..though i've a BS package but it's tempting to buy an extra gown for PS/AD & also to keep

Hey ladies ! I m a slient reader at the moment . Was trying to search for housing ! Sigh but nothing to my liking yet . Hopefully can find 1 before year end . Mmm. . Baby Dino your friend's bs shop is Amanda lee ? I thought I saw mich Chong listed that in the list ? =) I heard Amanda lee gowns v nice but super ex . Yeah like kat suggested, it will be good u drop by your friend shop to take alook . If u don't like the dresses there , you can reject n tell your friend that u also hope that u can sign with her/him . But a pity , u find that the dresses there , don't suit your style . Your friend will understand . =)

Opss ! Sorry . it is doragirl that signed up with Amanda lee . Got it mixed up . Hee . Anyway , dino u looking for 1 stop or those designer bridal studio like Ted wu , Amanda lee , jawn happy after etc ? What your budget for bs ? If u have budget to spare , u can go for designer bridal ESP if u want to engage your own pg for pre wedding shot ? For my case, I m getting 1 stop bridal shop Cos I don't have the budget to go for designer bridal shop as it v expensive. I calculate the cost if I want a designer bs will cost me bout 12k for the gowns n pre wedding shop . This excludes actual day pg n vg lo . I have went to many bridal shops to see their gowns b try it on before I decide on my bridal room. Really love their gowns , pre wedding shots n service is super ! Hee my bridal room is consider mid range bs . So in summary , really depend on what u want ? Like budget ? Where u want to have your pre wedding shots ? What kind of gowns u like ? Eg , designer bs like divine & sliver lining are v well known for low back gowns. Then 1 stop service like di gio n my bridal room I found their gowns v beautiful .

Cherry, Babydino friend's BS is The Aisle...saw from her post on top
U are looking for resale flat at which area?..its not easy, hope u can find 1 suitable soon.

Babydino, besides the choice of gown, the photographer skill & style for pre-wedding shoot, overall album effect & the BS services will also need to be taken into consideration.

Oic..thanks Thesepthia!

I m looking for housing at east like
simei , tampines or pasir ris =) so still looking . Now
the housing so ex . Really
hope the property market crash! So the housing prices can be lower . Now it really at the
peak !

East area houses are not very new & yet rates are very high..unless u can find 1 near parents, at least there are grant.

Actually I find designer gowns + pre wedding pg add up abt $6k and u can get all photos back, album will have at least 40 pics. My fren used BS at $3.1k but end up topping up till $5k++. So end of the day it's almost the same price. Go for designer gowns during hotel wedding workshop so that they throw in more things for u. Amanda lee is moving shop n selling off some gowns. Mayb we all can add 1 more gown for pg. For me I need mtm gowns cos I'm onli 1.53m most gowns I c ard need me to wear very very high heels.

Actually designer gowns + PG wouldn't reach 12k or so. Hehez. Like personally for mine, my PG is for PW and AD and the total cost of engaging her is ~5.5k. I get to have all the photos back in low resolution and the album she's designing will definitely have more photos than normal BS PG.

For designer gowns I'm looking at Ted Collection. The very very last price quoted by someone in the Ted Collection thread is 3 gowns for 2.5k, not including having expensive materials. I thought the package is rather good but since I have yet to visit Ted Collection so I also don't know the exact quote now. Hehez. Also Ted Collection, sadly, don't have wedding workshop.

What MC said is correct. Not only the gowns are important, the photoshoot and all is also important. Most importantly if you like the portfolio, request for that same photographer. I mean I heard of horror stories of totally different style photographer for the day and it kind of sucks eh.

Cherry, good luck to your house-searching! Nowadays property so expensive, buy resale is heartpain ya? Jiayou!

thanks for the replies ladies..

I guess I'm looking at a budget of around 3k? Not too sure though, not intending to spend alot coz alot of my frens tell me, spend so much on pics thn aft that all keep in storeroom, how often do u take out to see.. which i feel is true.. I actually quite simple & chin chai one coz in the beginning we were not plannin on doin all these things at all.. Thot just ROM & go honeymoon tats it. THe most after ROM have lunch with our family members.

But.. who knows HTB says wan to have dinner all that coz do for our parents.. sigh.. But after reading & seeing all u gals enthusiasm i aso feel a little excited lar.. jst that i kinda lazy person hate to plan all these things.. thn HTB aso abit bo chup all these things aso.. lol..

But I will go see my fren's shop coz aso cm to the conclusion if the gowns dun suit me aso no point signing just coz fren..

Anther qtn is lets say i found anther shop that i like the gowns but dun like the photographer style. Will the BS let me chnage the PG and reduce the cost of the package? Aso is VG really necessary on AD? I rem my fren's wedding got no VG.

Thanks so much ladies for the info..

For BS, it really depends on individual requirement, for me & my hubby we prefer to have more choice in outfit and styles that's why decide to go for jb BS, we'll have 7 outfit for pre-wedding shoot, 4 different outfit (including tea dress & coat)for AD. I can say my package is quite different from my BS usual package, they did a customisation based on my needs.

Babydino, same as u..i wanted something simple, thought of having wedding buffet or lunch affair, but the male side wants at least a dinner & gonna invite lots of relatives. Well, have to respect them & so better to do everything in a traditional way

Hehe think some of the BTB here enjoys wedding planning, i'm 1 of them..feel free to check with us if u need any advice

Babydino, will ur friend be giving u gd discount if u sign up? If u don't like their OTR gowns, u can request for MTM gown or who knows there might be more design next yr? There are BS package that cost starts from $2800 - $3800, but usually there will be some hidden cost or topping of pics etc, i think at least a $4k in total. Check out some BS thread & some BS website & blog posted by some brides. Take a look at the guide on how to select ur BS: http://www.singaporebrides.com/package.htm

The usual package we have is only for pre-wedding shoot, it doesn't include PG for AD. Do u mean if u don't like the PG for pre-wedding shoot can u change?..usually BS have at least 2 PG, u can request which PG & MUA u prefer. Sure u can nego with the BS (b4 u sign up, everything they will say Yes), tell them what u need & ur budget..its better to have everything black & white before signing.

VG is not necessary, actually there are alot couples who don't enagage VG for their AD.

babydino: Somehow wedding planning is fun only if everything goes smoothly. Hahaha! But it will be good if your HTB join in the fun, else it's very tiring as a BTB. Hehez.

Like what MC said, do check on the hidden costs and topping up for photos. I totally agree with the seldom see the photos after dinner but maybe it's just us but we prefer to have a set of photos that shows your most beautiful moment for keepsake. Hehez. And also there's no need to buy back all photos 'cos seriously the best photos are usually chosen for your album already, so there's no point in buying back all of them unless it's a given. The dangerous thing of getting from BS is usually the cost of topping up for photos. That's usually where they try to earn more from you. Just remember to note that all must be in black and white and in details! What you said verbally does not hold! An example I saw in forum is the contract wrote photo frame and it was agreed verbally a glass photo frame but given a wooden one in the end! So this have to be careful to read everything before signing.

Anyway we tentatively have no intentions to have a VG. Maybe just ask someone to use our handycam to take videos for us? Haha! :P