(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

Changi airport is nice, i love the ambience there. i used to work here for 3 years plus. Miss the workplace so much .

Mm.. the bubble effect is nice i agree, but for my march in . i am already using bubble effect , so that will not be suitable for me.

so kat where are u going in july ? That fast in other words, u can count down to your photoshoot soon . hee

Bubbles are interesting in photos. :P Balloons are really nice also. They bring out a different feel and if using a more contrasting color as compared to what you're wearing or where you are, the effect from the balloons will be very nice.

I will be going to a resort at an off-shore island off Bintan. Hehez. Initially wanted to go to the resort where HTB proposed to me for the photoshoot but then decided on the Bintan one after last year's trip there. Absolutely love the white sandy beach there.

Ladies, where can i get the bubble machine? Cherry, M.M provide the bubble effect for march-in?

I asked Amara but my coordinator said its not advisable, as bubbles might drop onto the table or food
So i can only use it for my PS.

hi mich

whoa... so cute leh.. so hygenic sia.. scared bubbles drop onto food hehe..

dear kat
white sandy beach sounds so relax n happie! glad bintan cld offer tt! so near to us summore

my fren shared wif mi a myth over bali

haha.. thru her own experience nv go bali with ur partner.. i think ther is this jinx thing gg on.. partners ends up breakin up after holidayin ther

i've personalli nv been to bali wif my partner.. hehe.

Hi lydia, that is what my coordinator said haha..coz my ballroom is not very spacious.

Jinx..u mean those black magic..ee sounds scary. I thought Cherry just came back from Bali hehe.

oo issit?
hehe.. nah the jinx is nt scary thing.. jus a fren of mine went ther wif her partner nt long later they broke up.. ther is this pattern gg on.. amongst my co. couples.. so our co. joke is dun ever go bali wif partner
i think it's jus concidental. hehe..

kk i shld nt talk abt unhappie stuffs here
sorrie! =x

amara.. i went to their site visit be4.. the ballroom is pretty narrow so i get wat u mean abt nt bein spacious.. hehe

but u will be sooo happie walkin down the aisle cos its super duper long! hehe

lydia: read this interesting stuff u wrote on bali .. my colleague told me another myth over bali, she says those not couple go there become couple, couple go there will become married and those married go there become pregnant
..haha.. cos she met her husband there n is now married den my bf proposed to me in bali... haha.. seems like these r all myths cos they cancel out each others stories..hehe..

hi pinkglove
yea! so happie to noe tat it aint applicable to all! hehe.. which is very gd!

dear dora
i booked on sun becos of the date 091011.
n sun to mi.. is a happie day! famili day! Godly day! hehe..
im nt worried abt nex day bein a workin day..
cos my job is flexi timin.. same wif my closest frens
even those who r nt holdin the same job as i am, i've asked em n they all replied positiveli sayin they'd tk mon leave/mc keke!

hence with regards to bein worried.. nope im nt =)

hey ladies ! yeah yeah I am sure the myth in bali is not truth la. hahahaz..
Cos my bestie was proposed there ! It was a very sweet proposal done by her fiance.

Mm.. for my case yeah , bingo I also just back from Bali like 1 mth ago . My fiance proposed at Marina Mandarin and the next day we flies off to Bali for our holiday. It like a mini honeymoon. hehe

Yeah, Michelle , MM provide the bubble machines. In fact this is their march in speciality . hahaz.. If i don't want i can choose the dry ice effect. But of cos i want .. cos it soo dreamy . hee

Dora , yeah don't need to worry so much la. As what Lydia said it sunday is a family day ! and most people don't work on sunday , they will be happily attending your wedding . I am not worried not people leaving early . In fact , i think they will come early for the dinner, cos they don't want the dinner to end late too cos next day is a working day.

Yeah , I also done a check with my friends and ex colleagues who I am going to invite, they said they will definely be there.
Cos I am very stress over the number of tables

Of cos my sisters n brothers , i guess they will have to take leave the following day .

doragal, that time my bestie's wedding was on a Sunday and eventually I took leave the next day since it's really tiring! Not to mention I kind of fallen ill in the evening. Haha!

thanks gals. very encouraging to hear that ur guests r so supportive to attend ur dinner. for all my colleagues they r unable to take leave so i'm thinking of chartering bus to ferry my guests.
my date has to be changed even though booked it already. getting a master to calculate the date. sigh hope the date he prescribe is still available.

doragal, do you mean your colleagues are your sisters for that day? Else actually I don't think they need to apply leave as long as you don't end the dinner too late. That time my bestie chartered a bus 'cos her wedding dinner is at Tung Lok Seafood Restaurant at Jurong, quite deserted. Other than that, actually should be fine for people to attend Sunday wedding dinners?

You're changing your date for the purpose of having a non-Sunday wedding? Sounds like a headache for you. *hugz hugz*

mm..dora are u sure , u need to change date for your colleagues? I believe they can still attend your dinner , maybe u just ensure that the dinner don't end too late . . Try to finish it by 10.30 to 10.45pm if possible .

It is very nice of you to want to charter a bus service for your guests.
Mm.. but I think it not really neccessary cos the GCW is not that inconvenient to go unlike Sentosa hotels.

Oh actually we r teachers. We will work from 7am so I hope to end my dinner earlier, prob end ard 930pm. Plus I'm having solemnisation at 630pm so hope they will come early n end early. My htb like 091011, but I prefer to have on really auspicious dates.

mm.. okies.

Dora, my bestie is also a teacher. But my wedding is on a sunday and she will be there for sure . Despite the fact, that she is also going to be one of my jiemeis. Mm.. I think your colleagues will be very happy to attend your wedding and share your joy . Don't worry so much ya .
Maybe u discuss with your HTB on the date again before you change. 9 Oct 2011 , it a nice date. Too bad for me , the master gave me the date but the timing a bit weird. 11.30- 3.30pm . So I choose 23 Oct 2010.

BTW, ladies, I have settled my VG & PG ! So happy ! I am going for Damon Low Videography & Eulee for photography . hehe.

HI Dora U have a mail !

Actually Eulee's service is not cheap also . But we love his works so don't mind to splurge a bit . I have high expectaton for PG & VG ..

Have u engaged your VG ? if yes, you should always check that if he has any PG that he works v well with ? Most importantly, their style must complement each other and the end results will be v gd

My fiance & I love Damon low & Eulee's works and we feel very comfortable with them. So we going for them despite that their cost is quite steep.

Cherry, congratulations! :D

doragal, my bestie's hubby also a teacher and his colleagues came. Not forgetting his students were here also.

But since your reason is to pick an auspicious date instead, then no choice then.

was going brainstorming for photo shoot ideas yesterday , since i only have 3 locations to shoot. So i am shortlisting to Helix Bridge, Barrage and Chijmes + my fren cafe in chijmes

Barrage, i will go with the picnic and kite flying theme, together with bubble blowing ( prob diy kite with our names , date and the Just married kite tail

then chijmes, i will go for a audrey hupbrun look with the little black gown with satin black gloves, portraying the emo look like " in the mood for love"

then prob at some random car park which is deserted, we will do a car wash shoot, cos me and htb met in car club and our car plates number is the same 4 numbers just different order thats all,

wat do u girls think of the concept?

Ah. Just got a reply from Carlton Hotel regarding the availability of the ballroom. The biggest ballroom is currently on waiting list for the 22nd October 2011, left with the 2nd biggest one.

And their menu is not as flexible as last time and it's more expensive now!

Oh well, guess we will go check it out this weekend. Booking an appointment with them.

thesepthia, the ideas sound interesting! As long as you have fun! Love the car wash shoot idea. Portrays a meaningful part of both of you.

the photographer i using , his new package 1600 for pre + AD + shooting inside universal studio.

If want, you can tell him i recommend you guys

thesepthia, your idea is nice.
I also like the car washing part .. sounds so fun. hee

Thanks thesepthia, I already settle my PG. hee

Don't be discourage Kat, 22 Oct 2010 , it only tentatively booked but haven confirm . So don't worry .
If you & your HTB really like the ballroom , faster confirm with them . They will chase the couple whoever block the date. Normally is 24 hrs notice.

Thanks thesepthia, I also settle my PG already.

Cherry, now am spamming quite some hotels to ask for availability. This weekend going down to Carlton to have a look. They said there will be a 48 hours notice if we want to book the ballroom.

Problem is if both weddings on the same day, will there be priority given to the one with bigger ballroom? Like they have bigger suite? And the banquet food, more focus on theirs?

haha, i also dun noe y i have so many quotes, maybe becos i post in the photography section, then they auto send me their quotes

hahah

Haha same for me, i only posted my email once on photography section and i've received more than 10 quotes

Currently looking at various hotel banquet packages and meeting up with the hotel co-ordinators to take a look at the ballrooms. Pls advise what to look out for in choosing the venue and package?

Hi Joy, the no. of table is one of the most important thing to note, do check if their max & mini no. of table fit into ur requirement..i think is this the most headache part hehe

Hey just wondering if we can't meet the minimum number of tables, is it possible still possible to negotiate something out of it?

Kay, it depends on the hotel/venue, some hotel are strict on their miniumum, they can't let u nego. So better to double check with them before signing, otherwise end up we need to pay for the extra un-used tables.

Hey kat ! Mm.. for 2 weddings on the same day . i think priority is the same la. Both also VIPs ma. But I guess most probably, will have 2 different coordinator to handle the wedding banquets so that it is very personalised.

Mm.. of course the 1 with the bigger ballroom will have more advantage as in maybe the VIP parking lot and more perks will be given cos more tables ma.

kat how many tables u looking at and what your budget per table? I can send you some hotels banquet menu if u want .
Just provide me your email address.

BTW, I have booked Marina Mandarin, grand ballroom . But i didn't meet the min requirement of 40 tables . Instead I take 38 tables but I still paid the price of 40 tables. Mm.. But i have better menus .
Cos marina mandarin not willing to give in on the min requirement so no choice. My Fiance & I love Marina Mandarin ballroom , so we go for it , it our first choice.

However, I know some hotels there are more flexible can nego on min tables. Must try your luck .

Hi joy ! u Oct BTB 2011 too ? Welcome !
Mm.. u need to check the min & max requirement tables for the ballroom . Need to know whether they provide u any free flow of beer or wine? any corkage charges , food tasting , bridal suite room ( how many nights) , do they provide helper room ? How many carpark coupons they giving ? whether they provide fresh flowers for centre piece & the decorations in the ballroom etc?

i hope it helps. hee

Thanks Cherry and Michelle for your advice. I am likely a Oct 2011 bride. Unless the hotel is booked on that day, then I may be a Nov 2011 bride.
Would like to know what about the invitation cards? Are they usually provided by the hotel? Some hotel packages don't seem to include that?

U are welcome Joy!

I think most hotel, even caterers do provides invitation card, which is based on 70%-80% of the attendants. But we've to source for the printing inserts which will cost a few hundreds.

Thanks for the replies!

I'm looking at 25-30 tables but I realised a lot of hotels have a large minimum table. So even if the budget is right, the min number is wrong. Haiz.

This is such a headache!

Hi all! haven come in a for a few days and there have been so much discussion going on!

Kat, have u tried OH? Ballroom 3 will fit into your table requirements.

thesepthia, i am looking for PG... can you send me your PG's package details to me? my email is [email protected]

larrby, unfortunately OH replied to say 22nd Oct has already been booked. Sighz.

Now I'm spamming hotels to get replies. My HTB is spamming the hotels with our 2nd choice of date.

Kat U can try Holiday Orchard City Centre Hotel , previously known as Holiday Inn park View.

Mm.. what about Swissotel Merchant Court or Crown Plaza hotel at Changi Airport T3 or York Hotel at Orchard or Orchard Parade Hotel or Hyatt hotel ? York Hotel grandballroom is very nice.