(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

Cherry Chirpy>> Wow! Thanks for the info! I saw La Belle Couture and Divine Couture but no guts to go in and try yet.. my HTB is v excited abt seeing me in a gown but I am not very excited cuz im scared i will look crappy.. haha

Jim>> I'm looking at MM cuz I really love the service, food and chandellier.. only complain is the lack of ceiling height

Oh ya, whr r u gals gg for honeymoon?????? HTB and I r still undecided.. Roadtrip in NZ?

Joos !!! MM is nice !!
I'm also taking MM for my banquet . Hee , have booked the grandballroom ! I'm in love with that place
. Jim > I'm deciding on Europe for 2-3 weeks or going back Maldives . I really love Maldives ! It a heaven n luxury place
my fiancé also like the idea of going back Maldives . But then , we have never gone Europe so honeymoon is a good idea . But I'm worry bout rushing here n there to go many places , v tiring also for honeymoon .

i'm new here and my date's on oct 16. Fiance n i got things planned out havent got anything executed yet. am quite lost... look forward to know more

thanks everyone!

Hey veracia ! Welcome !
do update your details in the spreadsheet
if you have any concerns can share with us
most of us here have settle our banquet, bridal , prewedding pg , actual day vg etc

Hi ladies, been away for a few days.. and so much things happening. =D

My HTB is not very active in the discussions. Abit of the not kan chiong type. Maybe of his culture cos he is indonesian chinese afterall and indonesians tend to do things abit slower... Haha! Any suggestions to get him a little more involved without being too pushy?

I am now looking for JP though. No one in mind, abit lost. Any good recommendations? Also looking for PG and VG for AD. Dunno wat kind of budget to set for them too. Can someone guide me on the reasonable cost to engage a PG and VG on AD?

Cherry> Maldives is NICE!!! If you enjoy it, maybe you wanna go back there. I just went to Turkey in March. Not a bad place to go too. It sits on half Europe and half Asia continent. Pretty exotic. Food wise mediterranean style, easily acceptable. Take a easy one so that you won't be too tired out. I believe honeymoon "feel" will be very different!

Hey Cherry Chirpy! Yes, I fell in love with the ballroom immediately.. It's so beautiful! But my HTB prefers a higher ceiling ballroom.. hehe.. :P

Hi Veracia, welcome!! I joined a few hrs before you.. mwahaha.

Lydia: Here you go >> [email protected] << Have fun looking for your JP!

Cordie: You can probably plan into the details as mentioned. Like ideas for photoshoot, the wedding theme, the bridal car, the makeup and wedding hairstyle. Many little details can be brainstormed now so you don't have to plan too much when the day draws nearer. Hehez.

Maggie: I will be having mine on one day also. Prefer to just get it over and done with. Hahaha! And like what Jim has mentioned, the extra cost incurred is not really ideal.

Jim: I'm sure it will be fine! Just make it casual and all! Hehez. Both our parents first met on our ROM and they hit it off well without my hubby and I entertaining them also. Haha! So don't worry too much and enjoy the session!

Joos: Welcome welcome! As to your question of going package or ala carte, it all depends on your budget and expectation. I'm doing ala carte is only 'cos I already intend to look for my own photographer for both PW and AD so I don't think taking a package is really worth it for me. Hehez. Actually ala carte need not really be a high budget if you can find all the good deals. But it will probably be more expensive than a package from bridal studio. Not forgetting for ala-carte, you really got to plan everything that a bridal studio can settle for you. As what Cherry has said, for PW photoshoot you will get more gowns from bridal studio as compared to ala-carte package. For me, I prefer to wear my AD gowns for the photoshoot instead since it's just more special to us in a way. Hehez. So we are planning to bring over the WG, EG and one/two casual outfit for the photoshoot.

For bridal studio, I'm sure a lot of BTBs here will have lots of experience to share with you! I'm in no position to comment on that. Hehez. Anything else you feel that you want to know for ala-carte package wedding, can feel free to ask your questions here and we will also help answer.

Veracia: Welcome dearie! Since you got most things planned out, it's time to execute them when you have the time! Hehez.

missypenguin: Probably you can find something that he's interested to discuss 'bout? Haha! Or just let him see some researches that you have done and get feedbacks from him. Just be nice and if he thinks you're too pushy, said it's only 'cos you're a lady and you're over-excited! Haha!

Not sure what type of JP you like but my JP is Dr Phua Tan Tee and I can say he's really funny and all. He knows how to make everyone relax and enjoy the whole solemnization process. Hehez. But he's just a bit long-winded. Oops. Hehez.

As for PG, the cost can go from slightly less than 1k to any sky-high amount. Haha! For my photographer who is from Malaysia, the AD cost of hiring her is 'bout 3.2k which includes a second photographer, the album and unlimited images. It might be a more expensive price for some but 'cos we will not be having a VG that's why it was fine for us.

As for honeymoon, my hubby and I intends to go to for a pre-honeymoon trip to Japan to experience the coldness first. The real honeymoon we are thinking to go Alaska for the Northern Lights. Hehez. But really scared of the freaking cold weather there. Haha! But probably wouldn't go so early since after AD we will most likely be very broke. Haha!

Penguin> yeS I totally hands up agreed that Maldives is nice and it not just nice . It HEAVEN! haha

That time when I went , I had stayed in their those 2 storey luxurious villas above water . It awesome ! hee .
Live like a king &amp; queen , everyday has fine dining for FREE cos it was included in the package . I have a big private swimming pool by myself and just steps away from the turquoise blue sea. Miss Maldives so much . But if I am going back , I should be island hopping , going to at least 2 luxurious villas to stay .
I am still deciding . Mm... but honeymoon most prob might be going Europe &amp; Maldives should be in 2012.

Joos> Mm yeah I agreed that the ceiling is low. But it also make the place very cosy !
Hee. So are you looking others ballrooms?

Roadtrip to New Zealand should be quite a good idea .
cos New Zealand is a very nice &amp; greeny place. The place is soo beautiful .

Maggie> My ROM , gate carshing &amp; banquet all will be in 1 day ! hahaz. Cos it feels more complete . I don't the idea to have a a split gate crashing and banquet . It likes half here and there. Besides , it will incur more cost like PG, VG , MUA etc.

Cherry!!! I agree w u! That's what I feel too.. it feels very cosy and personal.. thou higher ceilings look grand, if the ballrooms r not well decorated, then it will look quite bad..

Since all of you are raving about maldives, i shall put it into my list and consider that place!!

Maggie: yes! I am doing it all on the same day because I think it feels more complete. If I were to separate, not only will it waste time and money, it makes me feel incomplete.. like am i married or am i not. of course, eventually it is a matter of perception. Most imptly, u must be comfortable with the arrangement.

Joos ! Based on the list of hotel venue you have given me , I still feel MM the best .
hee well personally that how I feel . Mmm maybe you can consider Conrad or intercontinental hotel .
that time I was choosing between MM and Conrad but in the end I still opt for MM as I like the reception and location more . MM is more accessible to go than Conrad . Nevertheless is because my fiancé also propose at MM so it v meaningful for us
hope you find your ideal venue soon .

AWWWWWWWWWWWW. So sweeeeet. Yeah, i love MM the best!! but the wedding favours like abit CMI.. hehe

Hi Cindy!!!!

hihi joos dun bother abt weddin favors la! hehe!

btw this is lydia also a oct2011 bride mine wld be at mandarin oriental!

im a jiemei at a MM weddin last oct it left mi wif very gd impression! best is the big recep area!
service also nt bad e groom had left the guests' seatin plan at home lucki gt thumddrive hotel faster printed for us afew sets!

thou ceilin low its realli cosy and i rem the dessert was mango ice cream super shiok!

my fren chose this cute bear couple and cups as her favor im still usin both favor till nw! hehe!

hihi cindy!
welcome to plannin for a weddin in oct!!

its fun n filled with alot of expectation, anticipation for positive replies, budgettin n of cos bondiin wif htb!

faster set ur location 1st!

esp if its gg to be a traditional weddin at a hotel i.e. weddin banquet, photographers for actual day (AD) etc

Hi girls!

I should be an oct btb too! pending putting a deposit for the hotel banquet.. haha

how's everyone's preparations? Ive barely gotten anything done..

Can't decide on who to go to for my gowns! tan yoong / dang or sillouette. Any advice? I wanna have a huge ballgown like that bride wars!

Hi lydia!!! hehe! Okie la, shall not think abt wedding favours. I think I see too much into the details.. overall, i LOVE MM.. :D:D:D

btw, anyone gg for BOWS next week? Im so looking fwd.. Havent settled my BS, PG, VG, etc! When shld we notify jiemei and xiongdi? Like official email or sth? By Jan isit too late?

hihi kailey! so which hotel have u decided upon?

oct is truly a popular mth huh! i cant recall why i chose oct le but im likin hw happie this mth gonna be! so many XI SHI awesome! n mine is on

01oct

the start of a very happie mth of married ppl!

kailey dear fr ur selection i can tell ur budget for bridal studio is pretty healthy! hehe

i wld go for the last choice - Silhouette The Atelier! love their designs but since i am gg prague for photoshoot i have no more budget for high end choices

faster book everythin k to avoid disappointment!

happie plannin!

hi Lydia!

we've decided on shang but yet to negotiate the perks and put the deposit. hopefully by next week?

01/10/11 looks nice! and good date i bet!

wa how much is your prague photoshoot? my hb is not really for overseas shoot, he say waste money. But i think it's really pretty!!

My friend used tan yoong for a bridal dress, wa gorgeous man. It gave me the instant "wow!" but then damn ex.. sian.

Silhouette has lots of nice dreamy ball gowns! even tried on their super flower power ball gown that required two people to carry! met one of the designers, but the discussion didnt really come to anything though

my cousin used dang who helped her w the flowers everything and did such a good job! plus tried on one of their ball gowns, not too bad!

who are you using for photoshoot?

kat! thank u very muc for the email have sent one to dr phua!

crossed fingers i have no competitors hehe! abit kiasu hor.. but im lk tt

KIASU!!!
hehe!

thanks for the contact!
he's quite good eh! seems like he did quite a few theme weddings. is anyone doing theme weddings?

hihi kailey

raymond is super gd! hehe!
i dunno hw will mine turn out but i am positive

i wanted hollywood glamour 1950s very marilyn monroe, audrey hepburn style

but decided not to at last cos after askin my frens they say they feel stress thinkin hw to glamour up haha! duh

u have any theme in mind?

@ michi dear!

can i haf ur jp's mr alex tan contact?

kat's jp dr phua is not avail on my 1oct hehe!
cos i am havin my solemnisation after 1st march in abt 8:15pm
he say too late for him.. sobz

hehe! but nvm!
i try my luck wif urs!
as long as u sae GOOD den good! hehe!

Wah.. this tread is running in speed.. LOL..

@ Joos : for JM &amp; XD.. it really depend on u when u want to notify them.. i have asked some of my gfs liao.. to pre-booked them..

@ lydia : Oct is indeed a "crowded" month to get marry.. u already start asking JP for their availability? that is fast.. hmm.. maybe i should start asking too..

Wow.. U ladies seems to have settled majority of the preparation! Was reading through the previous threads and realise a lot of Oct brides =)

Never knew about this thread until today.. I am still sourcing for AD VG.. any good recommendations? I'm looking at around $1K..

My banquet Venue: Park Royal @ Kitchener Rd
My BS: SB @ AMK
My AD PG: Hong Ray Photography (free-lance photographer)

Normally to contact the JP is about 3 to 4 months before the AD, would it be too late? Cos my frens told me the JPs can't confirm too early either =)

Hello Jawslyn!!
This thread is moving so fast but I really enjoy reading all the updates. Always hoping to have loads of posts to read when i come into this page. Gees!

Okie, thanks PP! I've alr booked my JMs but HTB is so slow he hasnt decide who to get for XDs. :P

@ Joos : leave it to him la.. I also leaving the XDs portion to my bf.. if he cant get then all the best to him on AD.. :P

Joos> yeah ignore the wedding favors la.. I think that the last thing to concern over for banquet venue
If you really love MM , then go for it.
hee I am very happy that I choose MM. hahahz

Lydia> you are very very fast !! U already email JP ! OMG ! mm we like still got 1 year to go
when you going for your oversea photoshoot? Sure very nice wan . PRAGUE leh !

Hey Welcome Cindy, Kailey &amp; Jawslyn! wah ! more and more OCT bTB
hehe Our list is growing .. hehe . Do update your list here yah . CIndy &amp; Kailey when your actual day ?

http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0AlqjkCYsTj48dElJNmkwbVE2U2tiQlNHMlRjTjR5R2c&amp;hl=en#gid=0

Kailey > yeah I am doing a theme wedding . MM.. but I am not really going to do up the ballroom to reflect the theme cos will be ex . Just that my jiemeis and the reception area will reflect the theme.
The xiong dis.. mmm they just look smart in their suit ba. ahahaz

My dear lydia, i'll go bk tonite to search Alex Tan contact
May be u can try going to my FB, i've a Rom montage, with my solemnisation video, shld be able to hear n see the way he speaks :D

Lydia, Cherry> im not sure if im gona go for theme weddings, seems very expensive!!! like all the decor etc etc. no $$;(

Cherry> what's your theme? I haven't confirmed a daate yet, pretty much depends on hotel. will update the list once i have the info.

joos, what wedding favours are available at MM? my parents keep saying the favours always waste money pple either dont take or collect dust at home, so i wanna have nice favours too! any ideas?

Cherry roughly how much did you spend for your maldives trip? i saw some packages, all like 5k plus!! excluding meals
but photos looked gorgeous

kailey

maldives is truly a beauty but with a price
expect to pay abt 8k (everythin)?

but u'd get a villa in the waters.. with fishes surrounding ur villa n when u feed em wif bread they'd jump abt veri cute! hehe..

u'd feel lk the whole world only got u n ur lovelove!

n u wake up to fresh air everyday sometimes gt monsoon abit scary but den it will clear and rainbow can be seen!

whoa.. i miss maldives too..... but its ex................ haha!

@ michi!

thank u very muc for ur attention! hehe.. ya im kiasu hor.. but den i dun lk to b disappointed if things can be within my control

i.e makin reservations bookings.. etc hehe
so better to start earli!

Ldyia> which villa you stayed in that time in Maldives ?
That time I stayed in Angsana Velavaru Inocean Villa.

Kailey > Mm.. my theme not really confirm confirm. I will let you all know when I can confirm on my jiemeis dresses. hahahaz

I am also taking MM , their grandballroom . Their wedding favours are normal , like cute couples bears, small saucer plate, mini photo display, cute pinkie measuring tape etc.

Kailey> when I went Maldives last year , I stayed there for only 5 days . Mm.. It cost me bout 3.4k each person . My bestie went to the exact same villa I went last year and she paid $4k each . That time when i went it was the H1N1 outbreak lots of places , cannot go so my fiance &amp; I choose Maldives for holiday .
It includes of everything like food, the luxurious 2 storey villas, seaplane , air tickets to Maldives. This is the villa I went to . Website : http://www.angsana.com/EN/Properties/Velavaru/Categories/InOcean_Villas

Hey Lydia, ya....am shortlisting the venues now...but dun know which one we should choose leh. For the wedding package, planning to go BOWS next weekend to have a look....the exhibition quite big I think

Hi Kailey, the favours given by MM are what was stated by Cherry Chirpy. Hehe. Alternatively, you can opt for candies or private wedding favours retailers for ur wedding. But not cheap lar..

Actually most wedding favours are being chucked one side after the wedding. So you can perhaps exchange the favours for something else (speak to your coordinator).

Most imptly, food must be good.. if the favour is nice but the food is sucky, then i think no point (thou i am niao-ing about the wedding favours too, haha)

Hi Cindy! I am gg to BOWS next week too! But just to see see look look.. havent done much homework so dare not sign up yet. What venues have u shortlisted?

Here is the email for JP, Alex Tan: [email protected]
Lydia, u're most welcome hee..i've also sent u FB msg with his contact

I'm happy today...counting down 365 days to 8 Oct 2011....wahaha!

Ladies, if u've not confirmed ur venue &amp; photographer, its good attend BOWS wedding show

Anyone intend to go honeymoon straight after the wedding? I would prefer to have long break, than going back to work fews days after AD, but also worried it might be abit too rush, i still need to go JB to return my gowns......

Hi Ladies ..i am new to this thread ..
my AD + ROM will be at 30 Oct
Still sourcing for venue..cannot decide between Shang or Sheraton Tower ..

Anybody can recommend BS ?

Hi Angie....welcome to the 30Oct bride camp...btw my bridal studio is with cangai, you can go down to their studio to take a look at their collection of gowns =)

joos, > ya was wondering if it's ok to do without the favours but not sure whether pple will sense its absence. later say we cheapskate, favour also dont give.

I heard MM's got good food though, have you tried? I haven't been to a wedding dinner there before

cherry, lydia> thanks for your holiday tips! wa quite a bit of money eh. must at least put aside 8k i think.. rather go europe cos i haven't been either!

any ideas which vendors will be at BOWs?

Hi Kailey, i think it is alright to do without the favours, most banquet package will have include it, but some restaurants do not. I've attended wedding that do not have favours, i don't even realised it, until going back. Anyway most favours only look cute but not much of use hee.

These are the list vendors at BOWS, do remb to register, if u're going, there shld be goodie bag or lucky draw (if i'm not wrong): http://www.bows.sg/
# Bridal Concepts
# Bliss Bridal Creations
# Cang Ai
# Il's Adorent Pte Ltd
# La Belle Weddings LLP
# My Dream Wedding (HK) Pte Ltd
# Golden Horse
# Sattine Bridal LLP
# Sinderella
# The Aisle Bridal Boutique
# White Link
# Inspiration Photography Pte Ltd
# Mirage Pictures Pte Ltd
# Loud! Productions Pte Ltd
# One Eye Click
# Lightbox Productions
# Orchid Country Club
# ONE15 Luxury Yachting
# Raffles Marina Ltd
# Holiday Inn Atrium Singapore
# M Hotel
# InterContinental Singapore
# Four Seasons Pte Ltd
# Gustos Pte Ltd
# Occasion Fashion Inc Pte Ltd
# Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
# DCT Management
# Mary Chia
# ILS S' Adorent
# Nailz Korea
# Pine Garden's Cakes
# Do Me A Favour
# Love me Knot

Hey Kailey! I think it's fine to do without the favours too because I've been to one wedding and I didnt discover that I didnt bring back any favours until when i started preparig for my own wedding! Like, eh.. what did XX have for her wedding? Nothing!! Haha. But i felt ok because most people, including me, do not know what to do with wedding favours.
I'm also contemplating doing without wedding favours!

Yes, regarding food in MM, i attended a DnD in MM before and I love the food. The opinion is double confirmed when I went for the wedding show last Sunday. The food was yummy! And HTb says he read alot of gd reviews about MM's food in this forum.. hehe.. We feel that food is a crucial factor, so good food definitely adds on to MM being The Chosen One. hehe..

We're still wondering whr to go for Honeymoon... my colleague suggested Japan, Korea.. Anyway, when r u gals gg for HM? My col told me not to drag for too long after AD or it wun feel homeymoonish..

hihi joo!

ya i can triple confirm MM serve gd food! i attended in oct last yr
super shiok la...!

true abt honeymoon very impt
take 10days outta ur life and forget abt everybody else but u n ur ah lao