(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

w3n, my rom oso starts at 7pm. but i will b doing it on the stage. so if my guests come early, they will c me saying my vows on stage. so pai seh. den dun know still need 1st march in onot. veri confused. can anybody advise?
Mayb i will put cocktail reception at 7.30 ba.

w3n and Michelle - translucent paper is like tracing paper kind. Normal insert is the 80gm paper.

I think you should put cocktail 7.15pm because if you put 7pm and ppl do arrive at 7pm, a bit paiseh cuz they were not invited to the solemnization.

Michelle, I think I understand what you mean. If you are printing on the tracing paper, I think you juz bring 1 copy over cuz they will use their own paper. Last time i ask them whether can bring my own paper they say printing use their paper. You can also change the tracing paper to normal insert.

Erm, my card comes with the hard paper n transclusant if use their paper print my card become got 3 pieces of papers?

Piggy, I think if I'm u, the dinner can start early? Den Ur first march in up to stage straight can go solemnise? But also it's alittle too early, people will think u set early time for them to arrive early.. I wanna start early if possible to end early cuz like Wen says it's Sunday dinner. Everyone gonna go for work n sch next day.

Wen, I agree with Kass, put 715 sounds better.

For my case I plan like this. We solemnise at 6pm. Prop till 615pm. My cocktail starts from 645pm den door opens/ dinner 715pm. First march ard 745pm. Dinner serve after cake cutting.

Michelle >> Translucent paper can take out?? Cuz I dun think TnT can print on the paper if it is attached to the invite. They also dun want to print on other ppl's people in case it spoils their own machine.

haha ya lor the insert thingy i also red liao blur hahaha thanks kass! ya lor mich, if too many pieces abit weird.

ermmmm put 7.15pm ah. okie shall discuss with hubby if not sat need to go print liao...

usually Dr phua takes about 15 mins? some of the JP i heard do take about 25 mins! maybe more lorso type hee...

My fren attended solemnise with phua 2 times le. She say he will tell the couple how to maintain marriage, etc. So I presume 15-20 mins? Aga aga ba.. Cuz I set time apart from my cocktail also. Hehe

Hey ladies I'm having Dr Phua as my JP also. We've been told to allow 30 mins for the ceremony as he is quite detailed in his speech. However we were assured that he's very pleasant and also entertaining

I think march in to do solemnisation is sweet. All your guests get to witness the ceremony.

ah 30 mins too long lolz! i hope 15 mins is just fine if not my reception no one around if guest will to arrive early...

i dont really like to soleminise during banquet cause i attended once and everyone was like talking and chit chatting. There was an uncle whom hp rang and talked very loudly. maybe at the stage the couple may not hear but at the groud floor, we were talking about the rude uncle =x just personal opinion =)

i am still wondering why to buy GDL stuff...dunno if i should go back to that shop but my mum feels is expensive =/

do u all follow the traditional saying that we cannot attend funeral and wedding 3 mths before and after wedding? i have an invite this coming sunday dunno if i should go, is a malay wedding but my purpose is just going to see their cupcakes, desserts and cakes cause i wanna order from them for my wedding. (i actually dunno the couple, is my friend de relative's wedding) haa...

i self punched confetti for march in. do u all have any idea what i sould use to contain the confetti and place on the table for the guest to throw?

Hi ladies, I had dr phua for my rom as well. Yes he's very pleasant. After the signing, he even hold our hands n talked to us abt the 'essentials' of marriage for abt 10-15 mins. He's not like do finish Liao then chop chop rush off. ;)

Hi w3n, will u be buying alot of GDL stuff? If not, u may not need to go to those specialized GDL shops. For instance, my inlaws are likely to be giving pinjin, jewelry, liquor and pig trotters cans while my mum is only giving me jewelry, tea set n bedset lamps. Likely we are not gg to get the basket ad well just buy a red tray loh ;)

Btw, we are not pantang, my mum told us not to attend other's wedding but we are still attending my friend's wedding on 27 mar. Had another wedding on 19 Jun wanted to attend but the couple said they not attending ours so we'll do the same. ;) just that I won't tell my mum ;)

Oh the shop sells in a package like pajamas all this also included! Is convenient lo but more ex to buy from these shops I reckon...

Thanks for sharing!

Wen, I will avoid attending 3 mths before n after. We've got a fren after our date we can't attend. We told them and they say they also can't attend ours. So ok de.
they will understand.

Wen, I will avoid too.. Erm, i just thought no harm avoiding.. hahaa..

I'm now looking for the ties for XD.. I remember there was once mentioned about the shop near the arcade selling these ties cheaply. Anyone can let me know where is it?

Ya I aso avoided one wedding so I did not attend his n will not invite him too...I wanna attend this Malay wedding cause I will order their cakes n puffs haha so my friend ask me go see the display n try the cakes...shall consider ba

I checked with dr phua he say about 20 mins for rom...

me too, i will not attend 2 of my frens' wedding this month. generally, i will avoid 3 months before and after my wedding.

my solemnisation is at 6pm at a private function room, just beside my ballroom. i will be wearing short dress for my rom then change into gown after that for the first march in.

what about u girls?

We are not avoiding each other's weddings - my HTB's extended family have 3 weddings within 5 months, mine included and we're attending all of each others weddings.

I'm dressed in my own gown and out for my photoshoot.
exciting!!

but if u and the other couple not pantang, den i tink its alright to attend each other's wedding if he or she is yur veri veri gd fren..

Chloe, me also maybe rom in short gown n after rom change for cocktail gown or gown all the way for 1st march.

Kass, enjoy ur once a lifetime wedding shoot!

Michelle, din receive call yet haha will check with hubby cause i think left his number instead. if ready i will go down today ba....tomorrow meeting the jie mei to discuss on gate crashing...

Haven call my hubby yet..that day when I go t dragon hor I was told map not included for my hotel but my Cordinator told me to get from them...thus my Cordinator is checking with them on this...wondering could this be the reason y they have yet to call haa...nvm no rush, thurs then go collect aso
okie
what time u will be going city sq this sat ah?

girls, sorry ahh.. but where is the arcade - i feel so stupid for asking this... hahaaa..

i've printed my inserts with tnt... will be collecting the inserts this sun! one more thing down... hehe

ooooo... thanks wen! haha..

yes Kass, TnT is cheap.. saved abit $$ from there.. and i went to the little shop that selling wedding stuff.. will be getting stuff from there too.. hahaaa... most probably we'll bump to each other.. wat time u going there? i haven really fix a time.. not feeling well le..

The shop in city sq jb that sell wedding items is it cheaper than buying in sg? I think there is one shop inside innercity area...dunno the shop name though...

Wah I'm very stress. Need help again. I'm proof-reading the draft of my invite and i find it hard to include a few details while phrasing it nicely.

My solemnization will be at 7pm, the timing master tong gave me. The solemnization will be outside the ballroom where the cocktail will be held (outdoor).

The hotel provided shuttle service to n fro hotel at 730pm and 11pm.

So initially the draft is:

"solemnization & cocktail commences at 7pm. Dinner will be served at 730pm."

Then I realized the shuttle service pickup time is exacty the same as dinner time. So logically how can both be at 730pm. Then I was thinking to put dinner at 745pm but the Chinese words will be weird. So am thinking of putting at 8pm but the bf said ppl will come later than 8.

My friends also commented no need to incl solemnization in the invite since I'm not inviting all. But I want to make known so that guests won't be surprised if they arrived early n we are having our ceremony there.

We are thinking of printing the map ourselves then cut n put in the envelope ourselves. Weird?

Anyway I think the GDL place that fann Wong went is more exp cos I went on sat and asked abt the price of the bedsheet after I bought in Chinatown market. It is much more exp.

Going for my photoshoot this fri. Hopefully everything will be fine.

Wen, the wedding shop at city sq there is not a so all pro in wedding stuff. But they sell those "东一点,西一点". But think still can save. But I fid it troublesome. I will buy all from Chinatown, at least got those auntie can help to ans my que n teach us

yup i did not buy my bedsheet from amanda dreamweaver (the shop that chris went) i bought those traditional items from them only.

eneriyeo i also engaged master tong service and mine also 7pm, just besides the reception area. i asked my cordinator she told me to write 7pm corktail as she say only afew will arrive on time base on her experience. i also haven confirm what time to write. mine dont have transport provided so i think urs really need to think think abit. i think u put 745 better if not too late le...

u all go photo shoot now is it on time to collect the albums? i went like so may mths ago but recently then gao ding the edit and so on. maybe because i am very troublesome haha....my JB de layout not even ready =/

yes true but i realised chinatown de quite costly. actually i think back, GDL nothing much to buy except for the candles (long feng zhu) and hair combing items (groom side).

the rest (jiz zhuang) like the bedsheets, lamp, teaset, pajamas, new towels, stickers, hair combing items (bride side), umbrella, bowls for the mian xian and egg all buy liao....what else did i missed out? those sweet food we cant buy so early....

have u all discuss gate crashing with sisters?

w3n >> Gel nails can do up to one week in advance. I will be doing my nails 3 days in advance. For wedding gowns, I will collect 2-3 days in advance.

eneriyeo >> I agree don't need to put solemnisation in the invite. I am not going to put in my invite too cuz I want the solemnisation to be a personal affair with only close family and friends!

LinH >> Most likely I will start around 10-11ish and target to come back by 4ish thereabouts. Along the way will stop at the Ideal Collection shop to get wedding lamps and bowl and stickers.
And also some detour to Elianto and Etude House to buy makeup and skincare! LOL.

I really really really enjoyed my photoshoot today! We started at 11ish and the weather was very nice! THe first 2 locations were touch and go cuz we weren't sure we were allowed to shoot there, but not only were we not asked to leave, one of the employees even came out to give my PG a hand. We also found a lot of interesting locations! By the time the shoot ended, I told my HTB that I was very sad cuz I enjoyed being the centre of attention posing and I enjoyed my photographer's company!

Now I understand how come some couples will take post wedding shoot, pregnancy shoot, baby shoot, family shoot etc etc etc!

Only bad thing is I made a small tear in my tulle gown! Oops! Hope my designer can mend it back! And I got slightly sunburnt!

W3n, I m also afraid that the album might not be in time though my bridal coordinator said she will rush out by end apr. Luckily I went to Bali on my own for photoshoot though still have not make into album.

I'm doing my GDL this sat, I must say I'm surprised that the bride side need to buy much more things the groom.

Kass, where did u go for your photoshoot? Did u bring your own ampoule? I was thinking of bringing mine for the makeup artiste to help me apply , instead of applying at home.

Kass, I planned to have pregnancy shoot!! Very memorable one. Heee

FYI, after my PS, 1-2 weeks later I go select den on the same day I agreed to those layouts only minor changes to be made. Den about 2 weeks later I take all frames, table tops n album. Hehe we topped up for metallic Print in matte got a little shiny bits when u see from diff angle.

eneriyeo >> I went to Seletar Airport, Bt Timah Railway Station and some old railway tracks which are no longer in use for my photoshoot. Then we went to a jamming studio and my friend's shop for the indoor casuals. I didn't use ampoule at all. In fact, my MUA only put on a hydrating mask just before she started on makeup. Makeup lasted through the entire day well.

My MUA is Jyue Huey from The Make Up Room.

My PG is Jeremy Foo from RedCo. I don't have an album but will ask my bestie to help me do a photobook.

Think I must be the last to do my PS so close to AD! But now I very scared got tan lines! How to get rid of them in 2 months!

I aso got tanlines when I wear singlet to fishing... 1yr plus liao very hard to get rid, I give up lol! Now still got very obvious tan even though apply whitening lotion...

w3n, i will be doing my gel nails 2 days before my AD (same day with my apptm with ROM). after collection of the marriage cert, i will proceed to do my nails. havent confirm on when to collect the gowns yet, probably also on the same day ba.

my album is not ready yet too, cos we changed the layout for like 4 times haha. my htb has high expectations. luckily we took the PS earlier, if not, really not in time for our AD.

i will be getting my GDL stuff from chinatown as well, for JZ, my mum said she just give me ang bao, no need to buy those little things, cos very ma fan. haha. my parents and future PIL are not very traditional, they have modern thinking, so we will do it in a simpler way.

Piggy and Chloe >> Can give me your email? I found a good wine deal which you guys might want to consider. Min 18 bottles confirmed purchase, remaining available on consignment.

Hi ladies, I'm at t-dragon. The normal printing at TnT is really much cheaper den t-dragon. But I have a question here.. What printing ink do they have? I wanna do normal printing on the hard card. And my cards are in black and another white.

Oh ya, Juz to share. There's a pushcart at funan it mall selling ties n bow ties. Near mac at level one. The bow tie 1 for $6. And tie one for $5. U gals may wanna drop by. It's cheap!! But doesn't have e colour I wan!

Michelle Chia >> They print with gold ink for the normal insert, but I am not sure if the gold ink can be seen on your black card though...

Quite daring to use black card! I think my parents would flip if my invite is black!