(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

I'm back in SG! Printed on their transclusant paper 200pcs for RM320(S$133). And think won't be even be using my own transclusant designed paper. Wad a waste!! Will be going to another printer (maybe TD or another) to do hotstamping on the card's cover. If not my card is very plain. Total ard S$210 for cards ba (include the hotstamping). Is this price ok for 200 pcs of cards ah?

For translucent paper it's those kind of prices lah. For normal insert I paid RM140 for 300 pieces. Whatever it is, I am sure it is cheaper than in Singapore.

Ya. Confirm cheaper den in SG for the transclusant. Juz that need to bring my cards to TD on mon to do hotstamp! Shirley's service is gd! Made few changes.. Think we spent about 2.5 hrs at TNT! Lol

Michelle, sorry jus see post today, but glad to see you settled ur invites. I also like e translucent paper but For me it din match my red invites so I couldn't get them:s

I just help my Fren as jm at her wedding day yesterday, it was so fun and the whole XD gang n the groom were really sporting.... My frens were so sweet yesterday, smiling all day... Makes me feel that all the trouble n trauma in our wedding preps is really worth it :s

They had 1hr of gate crashing cos not really looking at time, but I'm only planning half hour cos ftb timing at 5am... Hope I enjoy my wedding as much as theirs!!

I buy about 200 pieces of normal one side insert at rm110, cheaper than printing in t dragon, next week then go collect the insert

u all got any idea wat is lily bulb for gdl?

wen, bai he hua something, put on bed for AC one rite? i forgot also.. lol..

We going collect next week too. will be early noon again.. 110 ard SGD50 plus hor.. so gd price!

Sweet Dream is a Malaysia brand. The one the actress Chen Jing Xuan whom was the "dai yan ren". I can get discount for it.

ya lor much cheaper hor T and T. Can save some money. next week i dont know if i should go on Sat or Sun. Sat always alot of cars and Taman Sentosa de traffic lights not working, jam every where....

where got sell sweet dream de mattress ah? do they have cheaper range lik sea horse or higher price range like simmons? hee thanks!

Wen, u looking at permanent matress? Including frame right? U can try one shop (where I bought mine) at The Plaza juz beside The Furniture Mall. The shop is called as Eco Friendly.

They have quite a lot of range. Normally depends u all like hard or soft or med. The person will intro n recommend u ba.

i bought sealy mattress, it's really comfy. maybe u can check that out.

btw, our AD make up is only for bride right? cos my HTB ask me whether he has any MUA... ||-_-

Chloe >> I don't think there is an MUA for the guy, cuz we only have 1 MUA and she will be doing for us and won't be travelling to HTB's house. However, for the evening, the MUA may help the HTB. My MUA help my HTB with makeup after doing my makeup during the photoshoot.

I like your HTB. He is damn vain, I am sure in a good way! I wish my HTB is a bit like yours, then he won't resist my masks which i offer to him.

How much is your Sealy mattress?

@kass, ya that's what i told him too, the MUA will be at my house in the morning and thus, he has to do the hairstyling himself, as for evening, my MUA can help him touch up a little and style his hair.

but he was kind of unhappy to know that he has to style his hair by himself in the morning, cos he feels that he is as important as the bride. hahaha. yes, he is super vain!! giving me headache! maybe i will request one of the XD or JM to do the hairstyling for him.

i bought my mattress at $2,399, it comes with 4 pillows and 2 mattress protector. usual price is $3,299. it's the san marino posturepedic range.

Chloe >> Where did u get it from?

Anyway, just to update. I went to Taman Sentosa Coupe de Marriage to get my GDL stuff yesterday. They really have a lot of stuff and it is indeed cheaper as compared to Singapore or Ideal Collection in JB City Square.

For example.
Bowl Set - RM45 vs SGD28 (didn't get tea set as we already have one, but if you get the matching bowl and tea set, it would be at a total of RMB120; tea set in Sg is around SGD38)
Pin Jin Dai - RM2 vs SGD1
Red umbrella - RM19 vs SGD$12
Double "xi" stickers - 4 for RM10 vs SGD1.50-2.50 thereabouts
Basic wedding lamp - RM45 vs SGD25.80 (We got the cheapest wedding lamp, made of plastic felt and self construct - only RM29.90 at Ideal Collection)

So we saved quite a bit. There are many variety for the stickers, so we bought like RM30 worth of it. Taxi from City Square is around RM8 now that they go by meter.

Only problem is that I came back with a headache, cuz I fell asleep in the taxi, which is a no-no for me, cuz I always end up waking up with a headache. Malaysia weather v hot, cuz not enough trees, as my mum always say.

We also went to Chinatown to get my si dian jin on Saturday. Bought everything at On Cheong, cuz they are cantonese and my in laws are cantonese. (My mum told me different dialect group prefer different jewellers. Teochew will prefer to go to Poh Heng). We also receed the three wedding shops in Chinatown. Amanda Dreamweaver really have a lot more variety, but I also like Tong Xiang located at Smith Street below the Chinatown food centre.

I left sewing kit and umbrella to get, cuz couldn't find what I want in Malaysia.

Also collected my invites, will take a photo to show you guys tonight.

i also anxious to get my inserts next week! yah i also went to Coupe de marriage to get An chung items, they packed nicely on a plate liao and is very convenient. now left candles, u all buy de candles can burn for how long, any idea? i want to get the shortest possible time de cause we all leaving hotel early noon.

for umbrella i buy normal type of umbrella but in red color so that after wedding we still can use it. some of them sell those lacy type de which i think is only for wedding use. hehe after wedding use like abit weird...

the mattress u all really paid alot for it hor....cause i dont have so high budget so i may still go back to sea horse ba....

wen, i bought my mattress + bed frame (crystal head board) at $1550.

Regarding to the Long Feng Candel, Master long mentioned no need burn all ( leave 3 inch) den keep. But alot people say burn all leh.. how ah? And the candel cannot be blown off by people, unless is wind or wad den ok.

@Kass, I bought it from Robinsons.

@Mich, I will follow master long's advice to keep the long Feng candle cos my parents did that too. They didn't burn the candle till it finish. Maybe u can check with ur parents?

From what I know is need to burn all, if want to finish it, need to use two oranges to mie the fire, instead of blowing it off...this is what the Chinatown aunt teach us...

How much u all buy ah the candle?

Chloe, my mummy say burn all leh.. lols..

so i dono follow hu use 2 orange to mie off? as in use the orange to "touch" the fire till no more? but 1 orange cannot ah? or one orange one candel? lol... sibei chim =x

Piggy >> Don't worry about GDL, cuz you still got time. But do e-file and start working on your invites.

w3n >> I was told by the Fa Yuen wedding shop person that candles can burn until leave 3 inch. I didn't buy the candles though. Cuz it's the most impt item, so I leave to my parents to buy them. Think I saw $8.80 for Hokkien/Teochew candle and $9.80 for Cantonese candle. How come different dialect different candle? If I'm Teochew and HTB is Cantonese then we buy 2 different kind? Don't need both sets to be the same kind meh?

Michelle >> I think you just follow your family traditions. Our parents have our best interests in mind, and if they say that must burn all then I will follow them.

i've collected my invites from tnt.. tonight gotta stick them to my invitation cards.. using double sided tape.. hahahaa... easy and wont have the 'wrinkles' if using the normal liquid glue i guess...

and photo montage done too! more and more things settled.. *happy*.. yea, piggy.. settle the e-file then u'll block off the date that u need to go down to rom.. it's really fast and easy doing tat.. then u can cross that item from your to-do list..

@linH, i use double sided tape to paste the inserts onto the card too. my htb finished all the 'pasting' yesterday liao. hehe.

@mich, ya i think then u just follow ur family traditions ba.

@kass, after looking through ur price comparison, i'm so tempted to visit Coupe de Marriage! is it hard to find? Taman sentosa is the area around 'The Store' ? gonna ask my htb to drive in one of these weekend..

I was thinking of using uglue to glue the centre portion jiu hao (instead of using string or glue the whole page)

ermmm realised diff people is advising diff procedure, when we go jb the shop owner aso advise diff procedure, very confuse...so I think we just listen to the Chinatown shop auntie ba...

Chloe >> There is a "The Store" in Taman Sentosa, but not sure if we are referring to the same one, cuz there are at least 2 along that road.

Taman Sentosa is very close to Plaza Pelangi. It is the next junction after Plaza Pelangi. If you add Coupe de Marriage on your FB, you will have their address and phone number. Just googlemap their address and you will know how to go there. If you get lost, call the number and the lady boss will pick up. After clearing customs, don't go onto the flyover. Drive down to the main junction and then turn right. Drive down this road (Jalan Tebrau) for 5-8 min. You will see a Crystal Crown Hotel on your left, then turn right on the next junction, you will reach Taman Sentosa.

If your HTB not comfortable with driving in Malaysia, then take a bus into JB and take a cab from City Square, it is really convenient.

Hi all, I Juz left TD. The TD price for first 200 pcs normal print on transclusant paper is $120 (exclude logo) per logo $10. And I print at TNT 200 pcs at S$133 inclusive of 5 logos.

At first I saw the price diff I shocknlo how come SG one cheaper. But haven included the logo!! But glad that print at JB still worth. Lol

@kass, thanks so much for the directions! i think we are referring to the same 'The Store', hehe. actually my HTB feels ok to drive in JB since he is msian haha. but he is not very familiar with the road there cos seldom go in hehe. kk will add them on FB...

i went to chinatown amanda dreamweaver, their selling price is slightly higher than the other wedding shop at chinatown...so i didnt get anything from them. i bought some red packets, 'XI' stickers and the grass root from a wedding shop at chinatown complex (not sure of the correct name, but it's the one near to the Fo Ya Temple). grass root is quite hard to find, so my mum said we can buy and keep first..

Hi Kass,

Referring to your message below. May I join? I would like to purchase 1-2 cases of Pierre Jean Merlot.

-----------------------------
Piggy and Chloe >> I am sourcing around for the best price. Pierre Jean Merlot is $16 according to the price list from Crystal Wines, but I am also approaching BAWS, Winebos and Straits Wines to see what pricing they can offer and their TnC.

So far right now we are looking at 95 bottles!
Piggy - 40 bottles
Kass - 36 bottles
Chloe - 20 bottles!

Anyone else wanna join in??

The wedding shop in Chinatown Food Centre. I find this place cheaper than Fa Yuen and Amanda Dreamweaver, but the auntie a bit attitude problem. There is also another shop at the bottom of the HDB block (called something tailor), 5 minutes from this one - DO NOT GO THERE. The items there are horrendously marked up!

1669269.jpg

haiz if the aunt got attitude problem then sian to buy from her le! i think my stuff more or less settled, only mum in law needs to buy some GDL stuff like the can food and dried items. the rest all settled.

by the way, in case anyone wondering what is lily bulb, i found out it is actually 百åˆã€‚can get from medical halls.

Kass grass root = è‰å¤´.
Chole, Ur master also long shifu? He told me can buy or "pluck" downstairs but must pluck Tgt with the roots. But I think abit not gd to pluck frm "stranger place" scare gt "dirty" things like not gd. Lol!! Wedding shops have leh I went to AMK one they included in e pgk.

Btw, a que for all..
When is Ur ad and latest by when u wanna mail Ur invites?
My AD 22nd, I send out on 10th apr to Malaysia guests, den 20th to SG guests, do u think is ok? The Aunty mentioned at least a month, but is it too early or late?

Michelle or w3n >> When you guys are going to City Square to collect your cards, would you mind helping me to get something in Ideal Collection?? It only costs RM10 and I won't be going to JB anymore before the wedding, so appreciate if you can help.

Let me know and I will send you the picture of what I wanna get.

Are your malaysia guest coming to Singapore too? Are you holding lunch or dinner? how do you plan their accomodations? I also have malaysia relatives and some are planning to come one day earlier. Btw, mine is lunch and my AD is on the same day as u.

Ng >> From what I know they do not carry Pierre Jean Merlot. Pierre Jean Merlot seems like a wine only used for trade sales and only avail to Crystal Wines.

Raine >> My invites are not translucent. Translucent invites only come in one colour and cost 2x more to print than normal inserts.

Kass, I think I saw ur invites lei... Noticed it cos date was 7 may too... U collected on Sunday? Hahahaha

I picked 2 diff invites too, mine are pink n red.

Hi raine, from wad I know, my parents mentioned my relatives (from Segamat) 1 of them have hse at JB. So some will return to JB overnight den next day morning go back Segamat.

But I have another 2 pax to settle (maybe they coming a day earlier and might stay at my hse thou abit squeezy. Or maybe more. If they need accommodation, I will book a hotel at JB, opposit Venus & fables bridal shop. Hotel name crowne plaza hotel. I stayed there before it's a pretty nice hotel.

Rain, my invites are in transclusant. And transclusant paper only available in greyish/ white transclusant. I can take photo and show u my invites when I collect them. I printed on inserts and hotstamp on card cover.

When is Ur date?

Kass u can send the pic to me, if I can find it I will buy for u...I will go either sat or sun...

I intend to send the invites in early to mid April then in may I may resend a SMS to remind friends again.

I m at this suituation. If there is 3 supervisors but only 1 u like, will u invite all 3 or only 1? U don't dislike the other 2 but also not close at all. I m not inviting all my colleagues as I reduce from 2+ tables to 1 table for colleagues...