(2011/02) Feb 2011 BTB

ah_faith

Dellise> Good to hear u also track ur expenses. I've heard from my friend that her cousin had spent so much on the wedding that her flat only renovated the living room and masterbed room and the rest of the house is super plain coz no $$... plus she dont dare to add up the sums for her wedding. I hope I don end up like her coz I wanna a splendid once-off wedding but I'll even want a cozy house to go home to everyday.. =]

For AD PG, usually BS uses free lances and some of the brides tried my BS' PG and they have compliments for them though. Perhaps it depends on ur research and liking on the PG work and style bah. But since u'd already booked ur PG then hope everything goes well. =D

ah_faith

Caraw> we are using Secret Heaven... as recommended by my Fil lol! We shortlisted a few of the PG's work and showed to him and he chose Secret Heaven. =) u neh?

dellise

Ya... I hope to have a cosy house too but we have not gotten a place yet...so likely to stay with parents first and see how the pricing of houses will fare later this year before we decide further. Actually I hope not to spend too much on wedding but more on my house. But just recently we had gotten our wedding bands and we busted our budget for it cos both of us like the designs very much and since they are to be with us all the time, might as well get something we really like even though it cost us more
And guess what...my ring costs half of my HTB's :p

ah_faith

Dellise> surprisingly, my hubby's ring is slightly more exp than mine though his don have diamond... I also tot of buying a better pair of wedding bands but dont dare to spend so much for fear we may not have enough for the other wedding preps. Also we tot we could buy another couple ring for our anniversary etc so decided to settle for a more affordable de =)
Think we should set aside more funds for our houses than wedding coz wedding's just a day event whereas home is a longer term investment... But then your Htb's house got enough space to put all ur clothes and stuff? Coz my hubby's room's too small and so have to buy a new house.. but we also wanted to have our own home where we have more control/say in decisions... =X

dellise

Faith>> Hee my HTB felt rather guilty that his ring is so much more ex and asked me to upsize mine
Now it should be in production and hope to receive the rings in 3 months' time
As for accomodation, it will be my parents' house as his parents are no longer around. Luckily cos I think my stuff will be much more...but then again, my place here is rather small too...so we are still deciding whether we should look a for a place soon. Sigh...

ah_faith

Dellise> U'll have to decide soon le coz if u buying new house usually have to wait at least 3-4 yrs.... If buy resale also need to do some research on the unit for fear of ah long harrassment etc... ask ur HTb no need to be guilty... ask him to make up by going for more overseas holiday can le! haha

carawong

Faith > haven't chose my PG! heh. on the lookout for one.

Dellise & Faith > How come your hubby rings are more exp than yours even w/o diamond?? Mine was more ex than my hubby's cuz he didn't want diamond and mine has a slim row of it.Is it the material of the band? Platinum is more ex if i remember right.

Dellise > Yea gotta jia you on the flat. I was damn lazy to do it cuz I take for granted that I already have a flat now (4 room, and just staying with my sis so plenty of space) but hubby says he wants a place of our own so he BTO-ed @ Punggol. I agree with the cozy flat thing but don't worry lah, after the wedding, got plenty of time to save for the deco and all :D

ah_faith

Caraw> I think it's ring size leh. Mine only has a small diamond whereas my hubby's has none. His ring finger too fat le and have to "up 2 sizes"! And each "upsize" has to pay a certain fee (cant remember how much now). Ours are white gold with rose gold outline... =)
You had better book a PG leh else hard to find as date gets nearer!

dellise

Caraw>> Oh our wedding bands are in rose gold. Mine is with a row of tapered diamonds with channel setting. He had gotten St Maurice series (Italian Gold) with a diamond (even without diamond, it's still more ex than mine :p) becos his ring size is much bigger. Moreover, he is allergic to nickel, St Maurice fits him well.

Actually I realised that he's more particular than me ...we went shopping at Lee Hwa, Soo Kee and yet he din like any of them except for this one that we saw at Ling Jewellery. Good thing is everything will be made for us new.

Faith, Caraw>> For housing, we can't get BTO cos we hit income ceiling (anyway I dun think I want to wait)...so got to be resale or pte.....so looking around for resale flats now.

carawong

Faith > yaaa my hubby's finger also bigger than mine but its natural la, female bone structure is usually smaller :D Yes need to hunt for PG but really don't have time these days thanks to my stupid work.

Dellise > Haha ya we went shopping to a few different places before we settled for custom mades too. I think my engagement band is the Revolve series and i dunno what is our wedding band series leh, LOL! i only know there's a "groove" in the center of both rings and his is a different metal finish while mine is with a teeny row of diamonds.
Ohhh no wonder you have headache over the housing. HUGS. good luck ok? I'm sure you will find one within budget and one that you def like!

ah_faith

Caraw> Aiyo wat's ur PG budget? Perhaps u should start sending emails to enquire le... Else last minute cannot find a PG that you like.

Dellise> If u buying resale must be careful wor... Coz I always have this fear of buying an Ah Long harrassed unit. I saw before this harrassed unit which was repossessed by HDB. HDB painted the flat clean and neat and pasted some notices at the door. Then the pics were placed in its website which were nice looking. Few days later, the unit was splashed with paint despite the notices at the door. So u should always go check out the resale unit on few occasions at different timing. You may also want to check with the neighbours on the unit's history. =) Jiayou in ur resale unit hunt! =)

ah_faith

Dellise> wah u must be really excited! I will only get to choose in early Sep... Be sure to take ur time to select gowns u like and are comfortable with. Btw, does ur BS allow u to take photos when u are trying on ur gowns?

dellise

Faith >> how come only in Sep? Not sure whether they allow photos but will still bring camera along
I tot better be earlier so that if I cannot find a suitable OTR one, can still have time for MTM...

ah_faith

dellise> oh coz in August both me and my hubby cant take leave on weekdays to go for the consultation and the BS' weekends slots are full. So manage to get a slot in early Sept. Besides, my PS is in mid October so there's no need to go select gowns so early. =) I doubt I will be going for MTM le... don wanna spend time thinking of the gown ideas.. lol! I'm too lazy for that.. guess I'll prefer OTR...

dellise

Faith>> I see...I also dunno why I choose gowns so early ...maybe cos most things are pretty settled so only looking forward to this at the moment...I hope I can get a good OTR gown too...MTM abit way out of my budget :p

germian

Oh no.. I haven been into this thread for so long and i've missed out so much! Updates from me:
I'm done with PG and VG.. now still sourcing for MUA as my bridal shop, SG Bridal, does not provide. Thinking of making wrist corsages for my jiemeis..so still thinking of the designs. =)

I've bought my resale flat and will be getting the key in end of sept.. so by then will be busy with the new house le..

I'm still quite lost with GDL and An Chuang.. gotta do research on them le..

ah_faith

Dellise> I din choose MTM coz my family and in-laws didnt request for that... besides, I'm not a creative person who can think of an idea.. I'll rather choose wat I see and like than to come up with an original idea for a gown.. Already bogged down by many wedding preparations that I dont want to be troubled with coming up with a MTM idea! Don worry, I believe u'll get a good OTR gown or else u wont sign up with ur BS mah, right? =D

Germian> Hello! Is SG Bridal = Santiago?
I also tot of making wrist corsages but then donno whether I'm up to the job! Lol! Probably will need the help of my jiemeis to do it or buy from such service providers! =S

Btw, did u engage a master for ur AD? If yes, u can go back to the same master to enquire on GDL and An Chuang mah.. Usually it's either a week or much earlier before ur AD. I cant help u with that coz I haven gotten my GDL and AC date coz the Tong Shu for nxt yr will only be available in August..

germian

smilem> I don't intend to reno much for my flat cos the condition is still very good. Save $$ as need to save up for lots of thing.. sigh. Money not enough!!!

dellise

Hi so far I made wrist corsages for my cousin's and sister's wedding...quite a fun experience...just need to know the theme and buy those little roses and ribbons according to the colour theme and do mix and match will do...I will be making them for my own wedding but have not thought of the design and colours yet

germian

ah_faith> opps forgot to reply to ur qns.. SG bridal is not Santiago.. It is a bridal shop in JB. =)
Yup i did engage a master to cal my AD.. Yep i think i'll get him to cal the date for the GDL and AC.. but my house will be ready by Oct/ early Nov.. can i slept on the new bed? sigh... so troublesome just by the thought of getting all the stuff for GDL and AC.. think will let my mum or MIL to do it.. hehe..

dellise> wow.. so nice of u! u must be very creative and good at handicrafts. =)

dellise

germian >> no lah...I just trial and error and luckily they turned out nice
Yes, the master will also advise on the GDL and AC as it comes in as a package for mine. Anyway nowadays alot of things are made simpler if both sides agree , so no need to worry that much. The shops specialising in such things will also advise you on what to buy.

I just went for my gown fitting today...tried so many and finally chose the first one I tried for the bridal gown and evening gown...the staff there said, usually somehow or other brides always choose the first one they tried on :p Very pleased with the gowns cos I like them very much... now it's to shop for shoes! and brainstorm on the locations of the PS which will be in early Oct

ah_faith

Germian> I dont think u can sleep on ur new bed if u intend to use it for AC.. coz new bed/mattress is required for AC. Think only the groom can sleep on it, PROVIDED a small boy shares his bed. This is believed to have "zao shen gui zi" kind of belief bah... I don intend to ask my mum and Mil to do those things for me coz they most likely will either kanna 'carrot' or buy too much.. I'll rather go check out the prices and purchase from one that suits my budget! hehe!

Dellise> I love gown fitting sessions! just like u can try on clothes at those retailers shop and not buy anything in the end! And u wont be scolded for trying so many and not deciding on one coz all gowns seem so nice and it's hard to decide! Hahaha! Come to think of it, I cant remember which gown I tried on! >.< A comfortable bride in her gown will look most confident and beautiful! Glad for you to have chose something u like! =) Shoes u can try Anna Nucci @ Far East if u like bling bling shoes that's around $100/pair. SOme ppl say the heels will 'bite' but for me, I find them okay. Any idea what type of outdoor locations u like, e.g. beach, park, buildings?

dellise

Faith>> I looked at Anna Nucci's at Jurong Pt but couldn't find anything I like...as my toes are not pretty, I can't get those open toes one and new shoes usually always bite me
... I saw one design I like at Sinderella...am thinking of going down to their shop to take a look...I'd been to Leapin Lizard which is near my work place but din find anything spectacular there. The BS advised me to get 2 shoes, one for AD and one for outdoor PS. But likely to spend more on the one for AD and a cheaper one for outdoor shoot.

ah_faith

Dellise> oo icic... Where's Sinderella's located? I am still thinking whether to get another pair of heels for AD/PS as I intend to use my ROM heels for the occasions... I dont think I will do MTM for my heels if I am getting one coz I really have no idea what I want! Lol! Will only see and buy what I like... Probably after my gown selection, then I shall pay a visit to Leapin Lizard since it's pretty near my workplace too! Hehe!

whitequeeniie

hello ladies!

HTB &amp; me will be holding our ROM &amp; AD in feb! AD would be just close relatives which will only occupies max 15 tables. As we are very particular about food, we will be holding in a chinese restuarant, looking at Hai Tien Lou / Grand Shanhai / Tung Lok @ Orchard Parade. Any comments?

Its nice to see the feb 2011 BTB in here! :D

ah_faith

Dellise> Emerald Hill's slightly inaccessible though... Any idea if the shoes at Sinderella's comfy to wear? Coz I note that the prices are pretty comparable to Anna Nucci's.

Agnes> Hello! You should start calling up restaurants to ask for availability on ur AD coz couples usually book their venue like 1 year before... I cant help u much on those 3 restaurants u named coz never visited them before. But I believe if u choose Tung Lok, you can be assured of its food quality. =)

Will your ROM be held on the same day as your AD mah? =)

whitequeeniie

Ah_faith> Yup, holding both ROM and AD together.. Have check with them, I thought we are really late, but thankfully, they are still available!

Getting more &amp; more nervous!

dellise

Faith>> not sure though...but they can do customisation so maybe worth to go and take a look

Agnes>> Same like me, I'm also ROM and AD together

whitequeeniie

dellise > When is your special day? I'm not getting a house currently too! Staying with in-laws after marriage. Looking around now. :D

dellise

Hee..I finally decided to get the wedding shoes from Sinderella...still find the pair I shortlisted the nicest! Only thing is I need to customise the heels as I can't really wear 3 inch! So in the end I paid abit more but comparable to the price of the shoes at Anna Nucci. Anyway my HTB also just slightly taller kekeke...now looking forward to our photoshoot
Still thinking of locations...

ah_faith

Dellise> Glad to hear that U love ur purchase! I will be going for my gown selection this month end. Probably will see if there's a need to get a new pair of heels. Will definitely give Sinderella a thought! =)
When's ur Photoshoot? U can try to shortlist a few locations which will strike sweet memories of both you and ur hubby, like workplace, school, parks etc? U'll naturally get into the PS mood for sure!

dellise

Faith>> oh you must be excited! My photo shoot in early Oct. Well, I have in mind to take photos with things we like...I have in mind to borrow a nice vespa bike to take photos with as I like them alot, while my HTB is a chinese tea-pot collector and thus we may want to go to a tea place to take photos...or even to our first date place - bak kut teh stall kekeke...anyway still planning lah...

ah_faith

Wow, that sounds really awesome! You've already a few ideas in mind but remember that outdoor shoot is usually limited to 2-3 locations due to time constraint. U'll have to carefully list out the most-wanted-to-go locations for ur PS! =)
I'm definitely excited for the gown selections! Hehe! Still thinking of ideas for the PS! Keke!

dellise

Faith>> I think I may concentrate around Tanjong Pagar area taking photos with the vespa bike...Anxiang Hill possibly as they have old shophouses. Thereafter thinking of Helix bridge but not sure if nice. Will recce the place soon...and perhaps a greenery plus beach location. Oh...more than 3 locations...so tough to decide.

ah_faith

Ur BS allows u to go to more than 3 locations mah? If it's FOC, then u have to plan ur time well le. Since ur BS is at Tanjong Pagar, that can be ur first stop, which is so convenient!
Where's Helix bridge? o_O?
I think if u wan go greenery and beach, u can opt for Hort Park which is somewhere near/in Harbourfront. After that, u can move on to Sentosa for the beach PS. =)

dellise

Faith > Helix Bridge is the link to MBS...but I have not been there yet. Ya will consider Hort Park definitely
Thanks for the suggestions

ah_faith

Dellise> ooo icic... I have yet to visit Helix Bridge! Was on my way to the said bridge last Saturday but the road was closed due to YOG. =.=" Probably will make a trip down to recce after the YOG! =)

dellise

Agnes>> ooo...one day after mine
You mean the tong shu not out yet? I got my date from a fengshui master...and I saw her referring to it...should be out by now?

joyle_t

dellise/agnes>> i personally think that 26/27 feb are good dates for wedding (excluding counting of your ba zi) and I also thought of having my AD on these dates... just a hunch! good luck!

ah_faith

Agnes> I had asked my Master, who calculated my AD, for the An Chuang and GDL dates. He told me to check the dates with him after the 7th month coz the Tong Shu still not out. But then my AD next 26 Feb was calculated by him last yr sometime in Sept or Oct wor... So if you are looking for a AD, u should do it quick coz most venues will have been snapped up pretty soon by now.