(2010) 2010 Brides

Diane > me trying to sell the deposit loh .. not that i'm unhappy but cos i nid a bigger venue mah ..

elsie > usually helper room only give 1 de ..

Eve,

oic.. Sudden increase of ppl in guest list? K.. Cos I need a very small venue of ard 15 tables will do. So meritus mandarin court best fit my criteria.

Nw looking for a gd solemnisation place. any ideas?

nowadays you just have to consider your hongbao is small..... i mean if you wanna do it grand, why are you worried about the ang bao money? wedding is not about profitting money or minimising loses, it's the experience you have and gave others that counts..... you wanna let your guests have a nice and special experience...... so when u look back in future, it's wonderful

if you wanna have a grand experience, but not willing to spend..... it's like doing it for yourself....... might as well invite a few people will do......

Like to recap abit on the mani/pedi topic previously, where to do nice simple bridal nails? Intending to do for my rom... and also places to buy nice, glamorous, blink blink bridal shoes hehe... please help to advice...

Jaq - I went pass pinc at Northpoint before looks very comfy.... do you know much they charge for french or those simple nail art?
On Sunday went pass the Pinc at Causeway Point and saw that they are under going renovation wor...

diane> good solemnisation venue? i love mandarin oriental. not sure if you have already booked your AD venue. maybe can check it out n negotiate. if you hold both at the same place, u will surely have bargaining power.

then again, as long as you separate the dinner from solemnisation, it's increased cost. just curious, why wld it be messy? (a bit kaypo =P)
cos i think your close frens wldn't mind hanging around after while waiting for dinner to start. good time for them to catch up with one another.
Factoring refreshment catering, the cost will still be much lower than having solemnisation at a separate venue. And you won't have to cater a lot of food cos the guests will want to save some space for the dinner

Just my opinion
cos i also wanted to have separate venue, until fh and i thought it was way too messy, not to mention expensive

visha: I recv APs from my family and my wife's friends on my ROM...

xfz: oops! forgot to grant u access to see my ROM pics on FB, will do so now! sorry! p.s. yes, that's my wife's ROM gown, I like it very much too hehe...my wife did her nails at a shop in Park Mall, u interested? after research she found that shop still the cheapest...let me know if u are, I try to get the contact from her for u.

rand: ya u went in at just the right time...good for ya

hey i've a question, what sort of alcohol options are you giving your guests? I'm having a headache as to whether to just serve one type of liquor or have a few? I was thinking of chivas and johnnie walker (both whisky) but now my friends are saying might need to serve martell (cognac). *faint*

at the rate i'm going, i can probably open a mini bar/ pub on my AD

Jaq - I see... can tell me the name of your manicurist?

Paging for HFL... Paging for HFL...

Thomas - thanks, will check FB out tonight... can you help to get the contact of the nail shop at Park Mall from your wifey? Is the overall experience good and how do you find the nail works?

VV - I think for me, will be just beer, red wine and only 1 type of hard liquor... IMO no need to give the guests too much choice hehe... they should just drink whatever we are serving... ultimately its a wedding banquet not pub =)

diane > when you plan for solemnization, you have to plan it as a complete loss... as in no ang pows returned. Most guests will come with gifts.
Wedding banquet you can plan to have "subsidy" from ang pow, but don't expect it to cover fully.

VV > just stick to XO can liao. dun give too many options. later its hard to track the alcohol usage also.

eve > ask for helper rooms overnight. so if the parents want, they can stay over too.

seems like everyone is back, in full force.

For me, think I wun serve hard liquor tho corkage is FOC. Think wine, soft drinks n beer more than enuff to 'drown' their night..hehehe =x

Jaq - thanks... erm, HFL busy ar seldom see her here...

Actually all these small cost will add up to be big ost hor... cos I will need to do 4 times...rom, Bintan photoshoot, studio photoshoot and AD... *omg* think for rom I just do French can liao... if need be buy and paste some stickers myself...

vv: i think just serve what you think is enough, cos of hard liquor not too much ppl will drink on the wedding. mostly ppl drink wine or beer already ba

xfz: ok granted u access liao! u can see them tonite hehehe...as for the contact, I'll sms her later ok? let u know here. From what I know, she went to various forums to search for reviews and recommendations on nail shops, so far that shop still the best in terms of price and workmanship ba. Not bad, hers lasted for about 3 weeks after our ROM, coating still good.

hi xiaofeizhu

how about nail palace at sun plaza? it costs $45 for classic manicure and pedicure. if wanna do french manicure, it will costs $10 more for hands and $10 more for legs. crystals will be $1.50 each. actually i find $1-1.50 is still very exp. all these crystals are very cheap stuff. one packet of 100s only cost like $4. so imagine if we wanna paste many on our fingers how much is tt gonna cost... maybe we shld learn to paste it on ourselves.

the nail art prices is very exp fr $100-$400. maybe those are the super 3D type which I dun really like. I like those sweet sweet types.

i saw prettier designs on other websites and costs $100 only. My friend says there is a good one at Far East Plaza which costs below $100. She did hers there during her rom.

im gonna check it out this Fri.

Jaq - Ya lor, cos anyway in photo can't really see the nails de unless do those striking red or pink hehe..less then 3 months to my rom... so now getting excited again with all these thingy hehe, previously abit died off.... now also actively looking for shoes...

Thomas - I think the one your wifey went to is cal Celebrity Nails at Park Mall.... saw their advert in the sgbride page... can last her for 3 weeks means the workmanship is pretty good... some normal ones usually only last max like 5 days...

Ladies, any comments on the below package?
1) Bridal Package @ $130 (usual price $175)
Includes:
2 sets of French Manicure & Pedicure
1 Set of Bridal Nail Art
1 session of Paraffin Hand Wax treatment

xfz: forgot to mention, for ur ROM shoes can try shops like Everbest (wife got hers from there, see my ROM pics hehe), Mondo (got her AD shoes there I think), Charles & Keith (went there but she didn't see anything she liked) and others...

not too sure of that shop's name, will check for u later. yup workmanship's pretty good, stickers she pasted herself though.

XFZ> I also love the escalator shots... Long long escalator.. =)

Happy Girl> Looks like you are doing a lot of research on this mani/pedi... hee.. When I do the mani/pedi again for my PS, I can look for you for advices..

thomas: so fast she bought her AD shoes?! I haben even go source..thinking for my AD shoes to go taipei get it after my PS if cheap n nice..ya hor..think I need to keep a lookout for PS shoes soon..normally is white or silver right?

jaq: hahahhahahaa....whenever we go shopping, we will def pass by shoe shops...ended up buying lor. She also had to tahan not buying anymore after that even when she came across a pair which she likes...guess shoes are a woman's 2nd best fren ba hahahhahahahahhaha......

colour is up to u, champagne gold/silver/white will stand out more but also depends on what colour is ur gown...my wife's ROM shoes are white, her AD shoes are silver.

thomas: ya I love shoes also but trying to control..most of the time buying working ones coz often wear off after 2-3mths. For PS I think can chin chai bah since is covered..wun see much of it..hmmmm

AD one must depend on my EG..most of my frens bought 2-3 pairs for AD, 1 for WG, 1 for kua, 1 for EG =\

jaq: wah is there a need to buy so many or not? sounds like a waste...my wife dun really splurge on shoes, she only buys what is necessary. AD will only have one pair...after all, most of the time is covered by gown, can't see much also.

KK: I think so...not too sure. u interested also? Let me ask my wife later...she's busy this week at work.

jaq: same goes for my wife, she nvr spends more than $50 on her shoes.

KK: I see...if it's the same shop my wife went to, then u can try I guess. Can trust my wife to do her homework as always =)

hi xfz

e package is fr celebrity nails? quite cheap but it is like not enough leh. includes 2 sets of french manicure/pedisure but only 1 bridal nail art. and e picture shown on e sgb page isnot very nice. i have seen nicer ones.

i need 3 sets for rom, photoshoot and ad. im actually quite amazed tt we can find such a variety of prices for e nail art.... actually those paste on stickers very easy mah! just tt i dun trust my own skills for such an important day so i rather get someone to do for me.

booy,

ok on. aft i find e besssst deal then tell u ok...

anyway with so many crystals popping out, wont u all feel very paralysed???

thanks ppl... i actually wanted to jsut serve chivas... then fh started saying he wans martell cos the dinners he been to all serve martell. but martell is expensive. i mean if it was some gathering where ppl appreciate the alcohol, i'm fine. but i think that night ppl are just drinking for the sake of getting drunk, i see no pt in wasting fine alcohol (cognac) for that purpose :P

and I have no idea how many to buy... for 25-30 tables, 10 bottles are enough? os is it too much?

Jaq - The package I posted above is by Celebrity Nails @ Park Mall... Its only 2 session of mani + pedi then with a free set of nail art and a hand paraffin treatment... Wonder the free nail art is for all 10 fingers or just a few?

Booy - where is this long long escalator?

Happy Girl - Think will not go Na** P*l*** cos got a so-call bad experience... typiaclly I think their pricing abit on the high end... cos that time when they just open at Sun Plaza, me and my gf actually booked appt to do mani+pedi for CNY then they keep delaying to tell us the extra surecharge for CNY... they only tell us like less then a week to CNY and guess what... they are charging us $12 surcharge for mani and pedi seperately... I was like huh... industry practice is only $5 lor... so in the end we fly them kite... so I think if I go here to do nail art all these they will take me to chop carrots...

Thomas - I also love to buy shoes haha... so intending to do a full height shoe cabinet in my new house haha (kena scold by bf)... I thinking to go check Tangs, Taka and Anna Nucci also... anyone did their shoes research on these places?

oh yah i noticed that the now mani/pedi is the "in" thing here =)
mine is with nail xpert. i like their service, and one of the few places where i really trust them to do a decent french mani.

if you want all the bling blings, can consider getting the bridal pkg, unlimited bling blings for 1 of the sessions. total 3 or 5 sessions i think. about $185 or issit $195

i'm too clumsy so no bling blings for me. i took their spa pkg instead