(2010) 2010 Brides

vv: jiang duo shi mei you yong de..wo lang fei kou shui er yi.

thomas: u never know manz...

darrel:i told him before..I can jolly well make decisions n go ahead with what i wan, but marriage is about 2 persons n that I respect u in every decision n want u to get involve in the planning thats why so bother abt ur actions n try to make ur life easier by sourcing this n that knowing he is super bz at work n me also struggling with work lor.

I juz accept this as my fate la..LOL.

kelly> traders can accomodate up to 30 i tink.. 15 is min.. i been there but i tink actual can onli accommodate 25 and there are pillars in the ballroom..

which day are u looking at and do u have any requirements?

VV > working out the figure doesn't work on guys. Cos i see the numbers, then I'll go ... ok, then cut pre-wedding shoot, cut video... etc

Then when we see the gown, we start going ... ok, we should have pre-wedding shoot ....

*faint*
I think my wife is like me too. hard to control spending.

VV: Is it a guy called Kevin something? Yah.. I agree dont really like his attitude.
For weekend, GCW requires 40 tables. They suggested me to hold me dinner on wkday to b able to reach its min requirements -_-"
Yupz. I went Amara hotel b4 for my friend's wedding. Not bad. food good too. Just that the ballroom is too long. If after my 4 visits GPCH, Carlton, Concorde, GWP still dont find any i like i will arrange to go Amara. Its within budget too.
Swissotel Merchant Court is abv our budget if im nt wrong.. furthermore my cousin held there b4.. so dont feel like repeating. Hee

ya sheraton is not bad tho i din fancy the layout. it's L-shaped, but the food's good

kelly, i heard from other btbs who went to OH to c c look look. a couple of them said that if you have 2 dinners, the soundproof is still ok. but if you have those company's D&D, then the soundproof system is not able to "shield" the noise. my coordinator also said that if there are 2 wedding dinners on the same nite, one dinner will start earlier. i guess it's to avoid collison of 2 brides haha

kelly> HAHA you also met him. ya he's the one.

darrel> not work out expense figures, but show how quickly his monetary assets can grow if he takes up the enforced saving acct

actually, sheraton ballroom looks a bit old if you go see in the daytime. but it falls into a very attractive price range.

My wife wanted to take that. I didn't want to give comments, cos i've been in many ballrooms. So long as she likes it, i can live with it.

Side note : heng we never end up choosing sheraton :P

vv: is it kevin u are talking abt? actually mixed reviews abt him also, read from NCQ's thread, some say he's really nice while others condemned him. When we met that day at BOWS, he attended to us for a short while cos Mico and HL were both busy. To be fair to him, he sounded quite ok. That's my assessment of him so far.

kelly: ur budget not more than 1k? I guess most Orchard hotels are out...same goes for Marina area also. Only left with Clarke Quay area liao.

darrel> haha come to think of it, you are somewhat similar to my htb. initially i was v picky about PG and VG and refused to compromise on pricing (of cos i'm also not about to spend a lot on PG). htb disagreed and think that shld just chin chai get any VG. ha showed him a couple of VG (of cos included the crappy ones hehe), and now he's adamant on "quality". and now it's me he has to convince to get our current VG. haha talk about ironic role reversal

Angelia: im looking at 13june'10. a sunday.
haha. My requirements..
- good food
- good svcs
- within budget of 1k
- convenient location
- comprehensive pkg with free flow beer n wine corkage waived n possibly 2N bridal suite.

convenient as in? easy to get there or easy to remember? u have to factor in weekend jams if hotel is in marina/orchard areas also.

sheraton is 1.2k+ leh. not affordable for us. hee

In fact, hilton is within 1k. pkg not bad too. But my friend going to hold it in Nov this yr, so wondering would it b weird if i hold it same hotel as her. Hmm

easy to get there of course. yah. worst case scenario is.. if gt IT show at suntec in the weekend im holding my wedding. hee

VV > its different. Cos I'm in the wedding industry part time, so my requirements is much much higher. If everything follow my standard, sure ok one. but prob have to find ah-long. Which is why, so long as one person happy, can liao.

kelly > your requirements very high leh. You can probably get the first 4 within the budget. but freeflow, unless you opt for a restaurant.

I dun wanna get into that discussion about freeflow wines again :P

darrel> haha i can tell you dont fancy sheraton

thomas> haha i put my story in the thread b4, not going to repeat it. like i said diff ppl have different pet peeves and tolerance threshold. he totally crash thru my and my ez-going htb's ha... that's a real impressive feat hehe...

kelly> u find amara's too long, but i think it's ok. cos even from behind we can see the stage. i love it cos it's very cosy, plus the recep area! when we went to check it out, there was an indian couple getting married. becos there were no other events, the hotel let them take up the entire area. they even have a raised platform at the reecp area for the bhangra drums

kelly> haha IT crowd + AD together *faint* i'm sure your guests will also be frustrated with the taxi queue. hmm actually if u calculate, sheraton isnt that exp for it's 1k+ for 12 ppl, whereas others is 900-1k+ for 10 ppl. sheraton might even be cheaper. i didn't like the bridal suite so i gave up on it

darrel> u are in the wedding ind? as PG? u invite the ah long and make them give u ang pows. if can't repay, it's becos their angpow not big enuf haha
what about the free flow wines?

speaking of wines/ alcohol, are all hotels really strict abt duty-free liquor now? cos i've frens who said it's ok, some say it's no-no. i'm confused

darrel: me too. That being said, I saw a couple holding their wedding at suntec that time when I was there for biz exhibition =P

actually, my wife used to be in the hotel industry...

she went thru that phase in life where she change 10,000,000 jobs. service, retail, hotel, real-estate. Now sell fasteners.

So she and the coordinator clicked very well, sit down discussion, gossip about other hotels.
Plus the coordinator used to be in events, and my company was one of her customers...

hee.. the bridal suite is something which hope to get, but realised MOST hotels not giving 2N stay.. sianz..
Goodwoodpark actually offers free flow wine for its wedding show + DBS perks. Thats y i say the pkg v comprehensive, but its 1.1k after ++.

Yah. I like Amara's food menu. gt the cod fish. had it at my friend's wedding. Nice!

vv > i think all our wedding contracts state explicitly that the liquor must be duty free.

freeflow wines... how many bottles do you reckon each table will drink anyway. Have you seen the size of the wine glasses ? My guess is each table at most, 3 bottles. Some drink more, some drink less, it will balance out.

Hotels usually give cheap wines. If you look around, you can find wines that go for $15. with corkage wiaiver, you add about $45 per table. If your hotel costs $100 more cos got freeflow wine, go work out the math.

For mine, we factored in 3 bottles cos its table of 12. Probably wine consumption will be lower. Mine got 1 bottle / table free plus corkage waiver for 2 bottles / table.

darrel> ya lor i think so too... eh btw where r u holding your AD?

we cldn't negotiate for 2nd night stay with OH. but for carlton, i cld (i love their bridal suita. 2 doors!). not sure if i manage to nego for 2nd nite free in amara. think i did but not sure.

jaq> i was thinking of that too. just cheong and don't care.afterall jsut say guests bring, i dunno hehe... but what can they do? at the most waiter dont pour, my guests help themselves hehe

thomas > call the wedding co-ordinator and ask them, they do have special rates.

I think cos our package not cheap, we really squeeze every benefit from them. My wife even ask her ... "what is there that you can give that we never ask for ... put it in". so now we got helper day use room, but no one to use it :P

I also asked for preferred rates for rooms for my guests if they want to stay overnight. They said the rates are not out yet, but they can offer us a good price.

thomas> how much wld tt cost? mine will cost abt 600+ for another nite in the bridal suite

darrel> ya wine consumption is gonna be big cost for me. cos i've a lot of alcholics for friends haha... have you negotiated for a free flow pkg for ur banquet? i did with gwc previously. i think carlton also worked out a figure for me. then at the end of it, we decided we'll just order in crates from OH (OH has super exp corkage, $15!!! unbelieveable right?) since ours is on a wkday, so probably ppl wont drink that much to warrant us to get a free-flow

come to think of it, any of you buying liquors for AD? wonder how many shld i budget for... i don't wanna buy too many and end up having to drink. not a fan of martel, XO *yucks*

darrel> same! i also asked for tt. but even the rates are pretty steep. about 200+ per night. wow your coordinator really guai guai put down all terms that "you nver ask for"? Your wife is super cool leh... can she help me nego for mine? my bargain prowess not that powerpacked yet

VV > no corkage waiver ? when fullerton told us corkage is $25 (wines) / $35 (hard liquor). and they would only waive for 12 bottles.
I almost fainted. so OH is not exactly the most expensive

We probably bring in 3 bottles of liquor, and additional 30 bottles of wine.

Actually marriot has pretty good deals as well.

VV > thats why need to find a co-ordinator you can click with.

another option is to bring your mum / dad to go bargain. Most of the coordinators are used to negotiating / bullying couples, so u bring them out of their comfort zone, you never know what surprises you can get. :P

i think i will get our parents to join us for the signing of contract when we found the venue which we like. hee.
i think if no corkage waived, better dont opt for the hotel venue (yet), wait for its wedding show if its not too far away, coz wedding show sure got waive wine corkage de. Else nt v worth leh.

darrel> ha! my parents wont even bargain. brought them once when we went gwc. my parents just sat there quietly. after the meeting, my mom said "aiyo why you ask for so many things? need us to help you with $$" *faint* my parents are the fuss-free type. PILs have always been against us holding in hotels, so they will just nag us abt how exp it is. so forget it

no OH doesnt give corkage waiver on wine. only on liquor.

hmmm i took mine at show, no corkage waiver. only 1 free bottle per table
hmm can click is one thing, but flexible is another. giving them the benefit of doubt, i believe if she can give, she will give. afterall if she gives me, she can save me bugging the heck out of her haha

elsie> depends on how much you drink... just that if you have waiver, u have the option to "outsource". but nowadays, hotels tie in with supplier which can give exclusive discounted price if you get wine from them. e.g. sheraton tie in with a supplier who can give exclusive rates if your AD is in sheraton. the wine supplier has decent wine collection too... from chile, new zealand etc.

think you should check out the brands the hotel serve too... if they serve decent wines, then you can get from them and probably nego for maybe X no. of free bottles. so for me, i'm goin to confirm with coordinator which brands will they be providing. i'll be taking wines from OH since even if i were to "outsource" i'll be spending ard $30-35 per bottle for decent wines

which brand? the last time i asked, they said can't confirm with me in case they change supplier. tt's why XL told me she'll update me nearer to my date