(2010) 2010 Brides

jaq: if he's sensible and mature enuff, he shld know what to do, dun worry so much

thomas: tats the problem...if he still haben wake up..I suffer with him as well.. =S u suddenly so free ah..hahaha, replying so many msgs..LOL

thomas: if we take their room & take ours. new furniture after we move they sure move back to the master bed room. then the things need to move again..
i dun wanna spend so much money. the most now the current room only buy 1 cupboard. simple & easy.

elsie > so long at its not like me ... i got 2 DSLR and around 9 lenses liao. Was planning to get another DSLR and 1 or 2 lenses this year, but wedding = no more cash

angelia> wah ur fpil're so fierce?! chase you out of the house. so will you be renting room as well?

oh btw, i just saw your email. it was in the junk box -_-" thanks for the info! hahah ya we can storm and terror-ise the shops near there haahha... nxt time if we want to do water sports, can ask each other...

come to think of it, we should have some excel sheet on who's staying where.

elsie: if he got $$ n not going to get married, by all means he can spend..I'm not restricting him to such hobbies which he proclaim to be..just that must watch his $$ now when he wanna get married etc...everytime tell me no $$ but got $$ to do his car n hobbies..simply dun understand.

visha: shopping is our hobby too! hahahaa
darrel: wah urs too extreme la. he only got 1 DSLR & 5 lens i think. whenever he buy new DSLR he will sell off the old one. Do you really need so many?? can sell off & keep some money for honeymoon or wedding lah. :p

jaq: ya ya... same same.. everytime tell me no money no money.. if really no money shld restrict himself, we cant be 24H beside them to remind..

jaq: pat pat...dun be upset anymore...maybe u shld try giving him the cold treatment like what I suggested...see whether it works or not haha

wow.. this thread is super busy..

We have finally fixed our wedding date as 13 June 2010 already!! We have already ROM-ed in 2008, and now looking for a venue for our wedding dinner.

We r looking at ard 30-35 tables for nw..

Ive went to see a few venues already
- Grand Copthorne Waterfront - nice but cant reach min req of 40.
- M Hotel - finds its banquet suite, and too risky coz max tables is 32 only.
- Pan Pacific - nice n good pkg but cant reach min req of 38 tables
- Novotel Clarke Quay - not bad n affordable, nice ballroom but reviews from friends arent v good n the hotel exterior looks ugly :P

So far havent find one hotel which i LOVE yet leh.. But will b going to c these hotels next in my agenda.
1. Grand Park City Hall
2. Concorde
3. Carlton
4. Goodwood Park

GPCH wld b good if we can fit, location convenient n affordable + exclusive reception.

Goodwood Park gt a v attractive n comprehensive pkg, but is 1.1k+, abv our budget of 1k.

Carlton's food reviews from friends arent v impressive..

Concorde (ex-le meridien) looks kinda old too..

Really hope to settle down on our venue soon!!

thomas: no use de..I tried 101 ways liaoz..he just move abit..then after tat back to square 1. ya alot of hobbies hor..

elsie: ahhhh...LOL

Kelly: hmmm......reviews aren't very good in the sense of? so far the reviews I've heard of abt NCQ are pretty decent...as for the exterior, I agree with u that it does look rundown from the outside and not many ppl wld even notice there's a hotel there. Was initially quite turned off by that also but later on when I was shown their ballrooms and bridal suite, it more than compensated that as the interior is very nice...and so we signed up with them haha. To me still ok lah, as long as food/service/price is ok, the rest doesn't matter.

i didn't notice so many ppl is into camera n lenses...

vv> nope.. will be rotating between my hse n his hse when we get married while waiting for our hse to be ready.. we find it a bit not worthwhile to rent..

jaq> den u start tellin him , oh i just bought a lv bag, den next day tell him i bought a hermes bag.. c his reaction... den when he reprimand u, u make use of this time to say him back... (i don mean u reali buy lar.. juz scare him)

kelly> hihi, i tink when u c carlton hotel u will b disappointed.. u can try out fairmont and traders. i tink it's not too bad also..

angelia: he knows I dun buy such bags leh..not into branded stuff..always say say nia but never buy de..coz dun bear..LOL. He will just keep quiet n say orh nia..as usual..

visha> hahaha your hobby is smtg we all wld love haha... my dad said he dinno he had a centipede for daughter, my mom thinks my shoe "slum" is eating into her neat n nice shoe cabinet. "luckily" i have big feet and super high archs, very hard to find nice shoes. so have been easy to ctrl on my shoe fetish recently.

elsie, jaq> cheer up! i think accomodation arrangement is very impt n sensitive. elsie, do you think your pil still assumed they are staying with u? after all when ur bf changed his mind, he mite not have told them. guys tend to assume ppl know it when they change their minds. had to sit htb down n talk abt it.

elsie> same, i wldnt think it (having the master bedrm) is a boon. i treasure privacy and i hate to have to put on a "mask" even when i go home. you know if you are tired, you can't just kick back & nuah around; or if you have smtg you are not happy about, you can't show the your unhappiness. maybe i think too much, but i find that although the parents may not interfere directly or say they will not interfere, they will somehow "step in", which i don't really like. hard to explain, but you know it's the feeling and vibes. i don't mind if either of our parents want to come over for a short stay, like 1 -2 weeks. but long term staying together, there'll definitely be friction.
i think the key is to communicate it clearly n nicely. i had this "battle" before and i survived it =P

jaq> hmm i think it's an issue have to talk. maybe if u show him the figures he can "see" the picture more clearly. every month i have a few dollars interest which is not bad compared to the pathetic few cents that posb give us. money is a very sensitive issue. some more this savings acct thing, it's automatic and u won't need his bank details. so no "infringement" of privacy if tt's his worry

thomas> ya la... if twins come they come. not about to create them heh...

Thomas: i think my friend attended someone else's wedding, and the service and food wasnt that fantastic. But im not too sure she went for the grand ballroom or to its function room.

Darrel&Geri: Thanks. My HB's hobby is sleeping leh. haha. Sometimes we sleep through the entire afternoon on weekends. But it gets v boring by the night.. but still lazy to go out. hee

jaq > you can also use "never come out money one not entitled to give opinion" ... or "majority shareholder overrule your decision" ... hee hee

I always keep quiet when house hunting. cos my CPF is in investments. so when we buy house, majority will come from my wife's CPF. Minority shareholder diam diam ... :S

kelly: is it? was that recently or wat? so far so good from what I've heard...maybe u can check out NCQ's thread under Wedding Banquet section to read up more, I'm there too.

wah how can u all sleep so long? everyday I sleep 6hrs or lesser only...can't sleep that long otherwise will be even more tired...

Angelia: I think Traders hotel is too small if i remember correctly. Only 15 tables.
I think Fairmont is not bad, but i dont quite like the idea of shared reception area leh. The package they showed me are not v comprehensive,and after adding the ++, still need $1005 if im nt wrong.

thomas: actually i read reviews in SGBrides on NCQ is nt too bad, but my friend's reviews arent good. thats y i think twice lor. Think is last yr ba.

Hee.. we usually get sleepy again at 1-2pm and after watching some movies at hm tog, we dozed off til its abt time for dinner. keke

D&G: orchard parade max is 32. same as M hotel. gt risk of exceeding its max capacity + scared too cramp. Orchard hotel ballroom is BIG, so if u r nt taking the entire ballrm, they will partition it, and if so lucky gt some1 same day wedding dinner as u, den abit nt nice liao le.

kelly: hmm then I guess it's very subjective then cos diff ppl have diff expectations. I go with the general review from everyone.

darrel: yup old man oredi...

thomas> ha i can create excel then send to you all hahaha dunno how to do a online excel haha... gimme time to fig it out

kelly> welcome! i went novotel before, in a nut shell don't like the guy's attitude. i don't think GWC need so many tables, just min. 35 tables i think. negotiate with the coordinator? have you consider swissotel merchant court? got its own pte recept area and pillarless ballroom. amara hotel is good too, have pte recep area. what about orchard hotel? pillarless... i can recommend you my coordinator. they use the chinese restaurant chefs, not banquet kitchen for AD dinner.

darrel> haha you are funny! no $$ no talk haha... hmm but i don't really do that to my htb, cos i think house is for 2 ppl, a lovenest to "build" together... haha maybe i'm too good... shld tell my htb hehe

jaq> u tried wrking out the fig for him to see? cos i was so "impressed" with the amt in the enforced savings acct it kick-started my "saving mode". in a way i'm quite "kiam siap" with $$$ now hehe