(2010) 2010 Brides

Luckily my parents only want 10 tables and won't take the ang bao.. Afterall, nowadays it's usually the newly wed couple paying, not the groom's parents.. Or else the amt of ang bao that they will be taking will have to be budgeted as well.. faintz..

Sharlene> I tot the pin jin is kept by your parents.. It's like the cost to bring you up.. The $$ might only go to your parents isn't it?

jialat like that..for my side..think I need at least 15 tables..but max 20...cham sia..my bf side sure lesser than that..coz I got more frens..LOL.

Jaq> By now your namelist should be out if you are booking banquet liao.. Ask both side's parents to come up with it.. If both of you have elder siblings, you can use that as a guide.. As for friends and colleagues, you and bf and come up with it separately.. dun guess the number of tables and book, easily underestimate manz..

booy:ya I already done up mine but my bf did not,tats y I can come up with 15-20 tables lor..he say his no problem very ez de.. :s
I got no siblings, he got younger sister same age as me married 6 yrs back but only ROM...
actually he dun wan banquet de but I want coz only child mahz.. :P

jaq: ic..mine is min 20 tables all relatives..my frens all counted under hubby side...if not too much le...

booy: ya...goes to parents..but my dad say...he bring us up without expecting us to repay..n he noes we paying all by ourselves..so he v understanding lo..at most think he juz take abit pin jin only...

sharlene> Wah! Ur dad is gd man!

jaq> I did my rough calculation on frens & colleagues, so mine shld b ard 4-5 tables, my bf de, he say ard 5 tables oso, so plus both sides of our parents, ard 30 tables liao! Trying to cut down wen the date draws nearer.

sharlene..means ur tables more than ur hubby side ah? his parents never say anything?
alicia:my bf also looking at 30-40 tables I think but his dad side got 10 siblings..only 1 not married..so gotta discuss with him how many tables his side lor.

my worry is..example,now plan for 30 tables..what if next yr know new frens/colleagues then quite close, gotta invite..or alot of frens/ex colleagues not attending..cham ah

alicia: yeah..i love my daddy..haha...

jaq: eh..ya lor..my tables more den hubby..eh..dunno leh...i never hear his parents say anything..anywayz...we got ask them..but they dun wan more tables..

jaq> Tink if u r booking the banquet now, jus tell the hotel co-ordinator the minimum no. of tables the hotel is providing, & tell them tat wen the date is nearer, den confirm wif dem again the exact no. of table.

hmmm ok..my dad's sister, both her son n daughter got married last year n ask whole family to attend the banquet n dun need give angbao..I was thinking for mine siao liao lor...also have to be the same..but they r quite well off la.

Jaq> Think we just plan as per whatever figure we have now.. Mine is around the same as yours.. 30 tables.. I just changed job, so also dunno how many more colleagues to invite.. haiz..

Sharlene> Indeed your dad is great! My parents also say they would want a nominal amt as pin jing.. So I'm also pretty fortunate..

alicia:siblings mahz..think my aunt n hubby pay for it lor. else is during tea ceremony, they give bigger angbao..dunno la.As I say, they quite rich.. =x

wah... so many messages to catch up on

sharlene> wow your dad is cool! i think most parents won't take much, cos they understand the "my money is mine, my hubby's money is also mine" theory. so if they take from ur hubby, they are taking from you =P

eh babes, did your parents & bf's parents meet up regularly before meeting to discuss those wedding stuff/negotiations? i'm not sure how to go about doing this. my parents & his parents are as different as night & day. i can just imagine the crickets cricking away when they meet up *lol*

celine/jaq> next we can go kopi-prata together. all the SK folks. i'm also in fernvale, 2013

Did i miss out something? Now become age-sharing session le. =)
Ladies, need ur advice on my qn. I'm really not very sure. thanks! =)

hi kk,

for me, both side parents have met up for dinner but did not discuss e pinjin or tables cos it is too early. but i have asked my parents roughly how many tables they need. otherwise how to estimate total no. of tables needed right? :P my parents have sort of told me they will request for 10 tables + pinjin. if they need more than 10 tables, then they will pay for the extra tables. they said pinjin just yi si yi si can already but im not sure how much is yi si yi si. not sure if they intend to return the angbaos to us but i wont expect them to do so. they do know that my bf and i are paying for the wedding on our own.

i think it is not advisable to 'bargain' w our parents cos we dont want them to feel tt we are 'helping' our bf (family) to save money. i think this is a very sensitive issue so the best thing to do is to just try to fulfil our parents' requests.

thanks for the advice, booy & Happy Girl.

Happy Girl> Heard many versions from ppl ard me. some say this some say that. confusing. Ya, agree. if not, our parents might think that marry off le, then 'help' bf's side. have to be selective of words n ways when discussing abt this issue with them. i've only briefly asked them abt the no of tables.

i think it works for different families. cant really compare since our priority is to make our parents happy right? no wonder people always say a marriage is not just about the couple.

Dear All..(:

Wow~ as for me, i think mine side table will be more than my bf de.. cos my bf parents divorce le... so only invite his mama side de relative... then mine side is alot of relative loh... then plus my parents friends think around 10 tables oso arh... trying to tell my mum to cut down abit as the table ang bao she is collecting lo... zZzz...

I'm new here.. Saw you gals mentioning abt age here. 20yrs realli young leyz, how i wish i could turn back the clock.
I'm hitting 30 in few yrs time

wah the posts really long sia ..

Aniwae juz to summarize ..

For the number of tables required to give parents, the market rate is about 6-8 tables .. if your parents require more than that, they will normally pay for it themselves cos imagine if 20 tables required and they ask this much from ur htb, it's alot of money cos the angbaos also go to them ..

similarly for pin jin, normally if they asking for tables alrd, the pin jin is juz for yi si yi si only and they also have to return some.

discussion wise, you can also discuss with your parents first how many table and how much pinjin they would like and then ask ur htb to discuss with his parents how much they comfortable with (if the parents paying). both side discuss separately first and u and ur htb will be the middleman first before both side parents actually meet to prevent any disagreements loh.

By the way i selected my flat today le .. finally got my own love nest .. hehe ..

As for the table, do update me on the details if any discrepancy so that i can post the correct details up here ..

http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=pdBHg41zE6B2SzukPB0iwKg

suddenly gt so mani post!! hahas... i'm a BTB for 2010 May! hee.. How are re-search for u ladies?
Age sharing session ah... i'm 20! lols..

i have also done my selection for my ROM dress yesterday .. guess most of my stuff settled .. juz waiting for ROM to come ..

photos of? u mean my ROM gown? no leh .. it was a very quick selection .. tried abt 4 gowns and decide le .. it's a sweet pink mermaid cut knee length gown ..

Happy Girl> Both side parents have not met up.. A bit too early.. Maybe closer to my ROM in 2009.. but both of us already secretly go to sound out our own parents.. Moreover, both of us have elder bro, so we know roughly what to expect..

Jaq> Dun be envious.. We were young once.. Me similar cat as eternityong.. Seeing 30s... OMG...

KK> Dun be so stress.. 1 step by 1 step..

Why PM always say Singapore gals marry late and we have so many young brides here.. haha..

Booy: lolz..ppl are getting married later coz no flat..and cannot afford ba..we are juz the minority tats getting married younger..

gd morning ladies..discuss with my SO last night abt the banquet thingy..he told me his mum reaction when he told her I need max 20 tables, she was shocked... sigh.