(2010) 2010 Brides

ellen: I think is not etiquette to ask ur guests not to come when u already invited them and confirm their attendance bah...another 9 more tables is really alot..either u try squeezing in each table 12 tables which u need to inform ur banquet coordinator about it or u request whether some can dun bring their spouse or gf/bf anot lor...I suppose that will help abit..

anyway few days before ur AD, sure got pple last min cannot attend else on that day itself some can't turn up de...gotta play by ear also

alicia: a famosa is not really near malacca town..is actually kind of outskirt(near ayer keroh exit)..http://www.afamosa.com/main.php
u planning to go malacca liao ah?

erm actually, these close frens haven't given invitation yet... they just assume that they are coming for banquet, so before they RSVP we asked if they can just come for church wedding only and not dinner.

Thomas > nah, not possible to change hotel anymore liao la. my AD is like 19 days from now LOL

how it was off by so much? the story goes like this:

At first, we only have 13.5 tables, consisting of relatives and close friends from church. minimum table requirement is 15 tables. so my htb asked me to invite some of my own frens to come (which i wanted to invite anyway)

after inviting my frens - 17 tables.

then htb also invited his own frens and some coming from overseas - 18.5 tables

thought it should end here... then...

my htb went to invite all his colleagues for banquet, as he was still under the impression that we can't meet 15 tables (???) these colleagues were supposed to be invited to church only according to original plan. So suddenly we have 3 tables more - 21.5 tables.

Then FIL informed one more table of relatives will be flying from HK - 22.5 tables.

Then parents informed some distant relatives called and asked why are they not invited - 1 more table - 23.5 tables.

After squeezing all possible tables to 11 or 12 guests each, managed to squeeze to 22 tables with 4 extra pple.

So after looking at the entire guest lists... the only possible pple we can ask to exclude are our close friends... lagi worse to ask colleagues not to come and impossible to ask relatives not to come

if you were in my situation... how to do?

ellen:icic..tough sia..which is ur htl? no way to squeeze in 1 more table?
worse come to worse, strike off colleagues that no close with? =x

Jaq > my banquet is at Mandarin Orchard's Mandarin Court, small 4-tier ballroom with unique layout... but as a results some 5 or 6 tables in the middle tiers are not able to "expand" due to limited space.

actually got 2 friends offered to give up their seats after learning our situation, but too bad we already asked that pair of frens not to come liao.... haizzzzzz

the coordinator said the only way to have an extra table is at the cocktail area and ask the bro and sis to sit there wor... but not nice also la....

at the 1st place, we didn't want banquet but we still hold it for our parents... now the banquet is giving us so much headache...

banquet is always alot of challenges when it comes to guest list de..expect the unexpects too hehehee...
Oh I know..I also wanted the mandarin court but too small to fit our min. tables so din take...I understand. Their layout very unique..
cocktail area they can't see u march in n stage right...not very right la..maybe those that u ask not to come, treat them after ur AD lor

Jaq> Dunno yet leh.. Still exploring the ideas.. =S Was tinking if can, den go A Famosa lor, coz like got tings to see & play mah.. AHhaha!

Thomas> Ya, i noe, nth much there. But since it will be a short trip, and since i haven been there b4, den was tinking whether can go or not lor.. Coz hub gotta work on Sat (7/8/10), so earliest we can go is sat afternoon, den if we take coach, we mite have to come back on sun nite liao, if he wanna drive there, den we can stay till mon morning den drive back. But it all still depends on whether he wanna go or not.. =S

Ellen> I tink those colleagues tat not close de wont come oso. Tat time my hub oso invited all his colleagues, coz his boss told him if wanna invite, den gotta invite all, if not, den dun invite at all. So hub LL gotta invite all his colleagues, but a lot say they wont come (as expected), so in the end left abt 2-3 tables of colleagues came.

alicia: hahaah true, drive up there? 2d1n trip ah? stay at famosa resort lor..but wun it be rush for u to attend church wedding on monday?

Jaq> If hub drives up, den we can shorten the hrs on the rd, mayb abt 2hr+, if take bus, will need abt 4hrs? If drive up den not tat rush lah.. If take bus den will be rush.

Jaq > yea man... i'm only console by the fact that i'm not the only one facing prob for banquet... hahaha :P

Alicia > actually the colleagues that my htb invited are already the close ones, hence only 3 tables... can't imagine if he is inviting all! but as a result... all 3 tables already RSVP said they are coming! :S

i'm secretly hoping that they won't turn up... at least our frens dun need to squeeze like sardine like what is happening now... haha :P

ellen: no way to squeeze in 1 more table? I can tell u some will mia on ur AD w/o even telling u...but of cos cannot prepare like that also, in case urs 100% attendance leh? lol.

maybe those u asked them not to come, after ur AD then treat them like what jaq mentioned.

alicia: malacca dun bother to drive, more exp...take coach better.

alicia: if drive up, ur hubby will be tired wor, but as long as u all plan the itinerary n give some buffer shld be alright..go by woodlands checkpoint will be cheaper...tuas too ex le although straight to NS highway..

ellen: everyone will face banquet problems de..or rather last min hiccups etc juz be ur meimei bride n go thru the day... ;)

Thomas> Oh, is it? Hub was saying can jus go to near kallang there buy tix for the coach.

Jaq> Eh, i dunno yet whether we gg or not. If we gg, den oso dunno whether he wanna drive mah.. HAhahhaa! Y tuas more ex? The Toll ah?

Alicia: if u go via tuas.. u got to pay extra toll fee of ard SGD$10+. and if u drive up, u can stop whr u like @ R & R. more free n easy.. and the drive up thr is ard 2.5hrs..

alicia: tuas toll is very ex..to n fro Malacca is abt RM90+, so is ard SGD40....yet to add ur petrol top up...but u drive up, is like own time own target..can go whatever places n take how much time also never mind..

Jaq> Ya lor, tat's wat i tink too! If drive up, we can stay 1 more nite there, if take coach, we can onli stay for a nite.

Chrissy> Icic.. So u onli gg for 2D1N ah? Wat do u plan to do there or go where?

alicia: yup 2nd link toll is more exp than 1st link aka causeway...after paying for all the individual toll fees on NSHW and also petrol, def more exp than taking coach.

Not to mention wear and tear on adrian's car also...tyres, brake pads, engine oil etc etc. If really wanna drive up and he's a virgin on NSHW, tell him not to speed...if suay suay kena caught, DO NOT give kopi $$$ to the hungry ghosts there. Insist on settling at the customs on your way back.

yes RM300. Heard it can't be compounded anymore, not sure how true it is.

anyway fyi even if u are not speeding, they can also pull u over and 'claim' u are. So DO NOT give them any $$$ at all, otherwise u are feeding them for free.

Thomas> AHhahah! My neighbour was telling me 1 incident abt his fren, who was stopped over by the police there & police said they were speeding, and police requested for kopi-lui, so neighbour's fren ask how much, police said MYR50. HAhahaha! I was tinking tat if really speeding fine is MYR300, and the police onli ask for MYR50, den worth it mah! =P

alicia: ya when I kena, he asked me for RM300...I told him I wanna settle at customs, his face immediately changed...asked for RM50, I refused to give him a single cent...he let me go also. LPPL.

the farmosa chicken rice not bad...but the chendol eat at ur own risk hahahaha...

HAHAHAHA ^5 with thomas! I also almost kena RM300 fine last Thurs outside holiday plaza coz cannot right turn into carpark..dbl white..ask for kopi lui also..fren wanna give I say dun...end up gey gey scribble my name n dunno what onto piece of paper after talking to him half chick half duck for half hour =\ then let me go... I also kena RM30 for not putting parking coupon at those shophouses...damn heng but I also dun intend to pay =x..tats speaks the suay thurs

I think my fren stun tio when I told him not to pay when he take out RM50..I offered RM10 to the polis instead LOL..then I gey gey say when I dropby next time, buy kopi for him..think he shocked...hahahaha

alicia: I kena scolding from my parents lor when I home tat night..say they wan $ juz give la..y so stupid argue with them..he got take down my car plate number tho..then they say later catch me again or go spoil my car when I am back the next time.. hurhur

alicia: ya la..wanted to let it off my chest coz is really a suay day..smore back from tuition after tat forget to put back my cashcard n now waiting for the letter to come..=\