(2010) 2010 Brides

alicia > i know the govt will quarantine for 7 days. if by then no symptoms, then clear liao.

xfz > going for 5 days. Taipei only. My brother-in-law gf plan everything, so i just bring my camera, leave my brain behind, and go. My secret objective is to fatten up my wife. cos everyone say she's getting thinner.

To thin, dun look like tai tai anymore =P

Darrel> Going taiwan at this time is good manz..

Everyone is so shiok.. *envious*.. But now with this H1N1, my company dun recommend us to go for trips, so i also try not to go abroad..

booy: did u tell him u were intro by me? try asking him to meet up with u first, then see whether can neg for same price as mine? no harm trying

darrel: dun worry, there's ample delicious food in Taiwan to make her put on some weight...enjoy ur trip

wah all thinking of holiday now? hahahahhaha...was supposed to go KL this weekend but last min called off

so shiok.. all in holiday mood. I just started school term day 3 .. haiz.. long long way before I can plan holidays

i'm looking for MUA for myself and the mums. any recommendations?? Do you know if the freelance MUA do trial makeup as well? thanks

Thomas> Y call off? Coz ur wife still sick ah? Or bcoz of the flu?

HFL> Haven, hubby says he'll look into it. Not honeymoon topic leh, jus short getaway trips. =)

Snoopy - Actually everytime I go there I only go to the same shopping malls haha... Sungei Wang, Lot 10 area... alot to shop liao... recommend you stay at Federal Hotel, less then 5 mins reach Sungei Wang shopping mall liao... then cross the road (in front of the hotel) walk right in got alot of eateries (good for dinner and supper)... got one stall the chicken wings and 'black' hokkien mee, oiishi!!! Last Dec i went 4D3N but 1st nite is at Genting... then again if you dun mind short walking distance, you can also stay at Swiss Garden Hotel....

xiu03 - Can you email me the package for MIL and jie-meis makeup at [email protected] thanks!!

xfz> So far i've been to KL twice onli. Once i stayed at Berjaya Times Square. Gd hotel oso, i find. And there's an indoor theme park in tat hotel too, and i quite like some of the games/rides. =)

Alicia > enjoy ur batam trip...I aso long time did nt went there already...

xfz > I intend to stay in the corus hotel which nearby have a lot of shopping malls...Hav to do research when near the date..thanks for ur suggestions..

Snoopy Dog> Thanks! Where u recommend i go? Shopping, eating, massage, etc? I've nv been der b4, next wk will be my 1st time. I'm more of a "mountain tortoise"! wahahaha!

man, im lagging behind with this thread once again...finally get some time off work..so so busy!!! you peps went from transformers to shopping to now holidaying!!! *envious*

booy: u shld have told him...if not he'll just treat u like a new customer? mine's ard 1200 if I rem correctly

alicia: no, wife not free to go, planned to go with my kakis but ended up a lot last min cmi, so had to postpone this trip.

afternoon everyone. just came back from client place. damn huge la.. collect keys damn shiok.. hope that when is mine turn i will be so excited as well

Snoopy Dog> hey! I'm oso gg to stay at Batam View Resort. hehe! They r oso using S$ rite? Tat time u went, did u change into ruphia?

Thomas> Oic... Den u jio ur wife go sumwhere for short holiday lah?

Stella> No need envy wor. For me, after tis trip, shld be no more trips till after AD liao.

xfz> wah, me too wake up in the morning body feel aching... ydae lesson quite xiong....

Alicia> Yeah, like what xfz mentioned batam they've honeymoon package.. quite worth it... i went on our bdae, esp the massage and herbal bath... and lots of water sport activities too....

Alicia > Guess batam view resort is a lot of ppl's choice..They more happi to accept S$, but I paid them rupiah at tat time..(they earn more if we paid them S$ due to exchange rate)

Jaq> Oh, their spa cheap ah? U got try not? Is it gd?

annisan> hehe! I oso dunno whether we'll go play the water sports or not. lol...

Snoopy Dog> ya lor, actually was deciding between harris & batam view, but my sis told me harris pool more dirty & i've seen a no. of feedback abt harris tat is not so gd, so in the end chose batam view. =)

annisan - you tahan the whole class so bodyache is quite natural hehe... me halfway fall out liao cmi...

Alicia - last year i went Harris, the pool is clean and everything was ok, massage is included and it was good... except that there's some miscom abt the bus to Nagoya Shopping Mall and we were pretty upset but then again the lobby manager who was there came to know abt our prob and he arrange for one of the resort staff to personally drive us there =) this pacify us and I believe I will visit them again...

xfz: just curious, what did u all do during last nite's lesson? I dun rem anything out of the ordinary that's so siong leh...

Thomas - I think its only me that cannot take it yday, maybe cos am tired so coupled with the lesson then too siong for my body to take *weak*... yday alot of punching...

hi all! evening deerixp
lol wow the thread is moving so quickly..a few pages to catch up! who else is going on holiday now?

All: mi and sis went to c gold @ poh heng this evening..thinking of getting a few pieces for "meaning" yi si yi si only .. the si dian jin i'll leave it to my bf's mum..

moooooooorning all

deeri > So early go see gold liao :P

the si dian jin thing is something that is specific only to teochew if i'm not wrong. Different dialect groups will have different things.

Cantonese give long feng zuo (Dragon-Phoenix bangles).

I dunno hainanese give what, but I'm cantonese =P. but I still dunno what i need to tell my mum to buy. its confusing, cos my wife tot its si dian jin too.

Jaq> hahaha! Y do u say tat leh? No smell?

Yest managed to get my flu jab. Whoa! A no. of clinics went out of stock! Luckily the last clinic ard tat area still have, so we went & took it, but we waited for an hr coz a lot of ppl see doc.

Darrel> Ya, si dian jin is for teochews. Not sure abt other dialects too! My hubby is teochew, MIL is hainanese, my dad is hakka & my mum is hokkien. Usually is go by dad's dialect de rite? But does it affect or wat if my FIL alr passed away?

morning all....

meaning all cantonese will give long feng zuo to their DIL ar? cos my bf also cantonese. but i dont really like gold so was thinking can get other stuff

Morning ALL!!

deerixp - actually you not early la, my mum already bought for me liao LOL... hubby side one still waiting for MIL to give the order hehe...

Alicia - Buying of gold also have to depends on the dialect of the bride... if the bride is Teochew, groom side will have to give si dian jin... if bride is Hokkien, rightfully groom only need to give niang dian jin... but let say bride is Hokkien but groom side is Teochew then will depends on groom side how they want to do it...

xfz> Wah! Ur mum so fast buy liao ah! Oh.. so u wat dialect, & mind telling wat ur mum bot? My mum ask me & sis wat we 1, den we can go shop ard den she'll buy for us, but we both told her no need jewellery, jus gif ang pow, coz we r more in need of $$ (for banquet) rather than gold. lol...

I think there's no hard and fast rule on what to give regardless of the dialect group, end of the day it's all up to individual's comfort level only.

my bf’s mum still can ask me wat I want… si dian jin or long feng zhuo… hahahaa… =D
I was thinking of getting a watch instead… at least I will it…

actually nowadays, ppl dun really follow their dialect customary le… they juz take it that si dian jin is part of the pin jin…

Alicia - My mum is Teochew but I'm Hokkien (cos follow father) but my mum follow her Teochew style and buy me si dian jin (necklace, a pair of bangles, ring and earrings)... but I agree with Thomas as in at the end of the day its up to the individual....

However, gg back to the tradition, parents will prefer to buy gold cos groom side relatives and elders will so call assume/determine the background of the bride from the amount of gold and jia zhuang they bring over to the groom side... yi si yi si better to buy some gold and bring over (cos also for the 'face' of your parents)...