(2010) 2010 Brides

xfz> im ordering mine from www.cake-in-a-cup.blogspot.com and had tasted it too... very nice~
esp her choc fav... :D

Thomas: thanks for the Mdm Lee info....

I m aso intending to order some cupcakes for the ROM reception b4 the AD dinner starts...

Btw, u all have any ideas where to get nice bridesmaids dresses, whether it is MTM or ready made ones? Thanks

moooorning all... yaaaay its friday !

deb > i dunno about planners, but usually deco can be handled by florists.

blueystar > my wife said we will be getting the dresses for her bridesmaids in taiwan.

Need to think of what my brothers supposed to wear.

Morning ALL... Happy Friday!!

deb - so sorry, no idea abt wedding planners so can't help...

me also duno where to buy bridesmaid dresses... think typically can go to brands like Jo*p and Sug*r L*nk...

Happygirl - Haha... pai sey la.... my fren still doing the editing so nothing to upload yet.. me also very anxious to see...

Thomas - H1N1?!?! (just joking).... ask her to drink more water and rest well... haven decide on the number of XD/JM but definitely in even numbers...

blueystar: hmm some of my friends have bought from online stores..another option is to get the shop that is renting you the gowns to tailormake for your bridesmaids. my cousin had them tailormade for us through that method and we got to keep the dress after the wedding..but quite ex

I'm new here, really wanna seek your advice. Looks like there are quite mixed feelings about the services provided by Swisstotel Stamford.

I'm planning for a wedding at around year end in 2010, so i've just started viewing some venues, including Stamford today. Really liked the ballroom and the wedding suite, but the prices seem to be pretty steep.

I'm looking for a Sat dinner banquet and it's gonna cost me about $1200 per table for the following perks:

1. 30l beer (1 barrel)
2. 1 night wedding suite + breakfast
3. Wedding favors
4. Ice sculpture and fruits + mocktail at pre-banquet reception
5. 10% complimentary parking
6. 30 bottles wine including corkage
7. Free corkage (hard liquor)
8. Free use of 1 function room for solemnisation ceremony
9. 9-course dinner
10. 50% discount for food tasting for 10 persons

Has anyone successfully asked for more perks such as:
1. Free wine corkage
2. More beer (how much is needed, on the average?)
3. Free use of LCD projector
4. More free parking coupons
5. Etc

Such perks are usually available at other hotels, even their sister hotel - Merchant Court. I really want to understand if i'm really going to be paying for something that's worth it.

Please do share your experience with me and my HTB.

Dot

i'm a 2010 bride too... and more or less i have already settled on my bridal package, venue n PG... haha i very kiasu... :p

hope everyone is enjoying too in their preparation~

jaq: thanks...she's better now. Managed to get a fren to watch with me yest, nice show haha. Watched at J8. u enjoyed the show?

yucai: 10% parking only? that's very little to me. Food tasting also not FOC, beer 1 barrel only. IMHO the perks they are offering u is nothing fantastic for that price, why not consider other places? There are so many other nice hotels with much cheaper prices, perks also better than Swissotel's...u can ask the rest here abt their packages, they will also agree with me. 1.2k per table to me is really steep, dun forget chances of making losses is very high as per pax u need to get back $120 at least to break even. How many ppl give $120 in AP nowadays honestly? Going by the 'trend' now, ppl are giving on average ard $80 to $100 only for weekend dinner.

How much beer is needed depends on how many drinking guests u have and whether they are hardcore drinkers or social ones only. How many tables are u looking at? If u run out of beer, per barrel is very expensive for ur info...u shld prob neg for free flow beer in this case.

Think u shld seriously consider other venues

HSL: welcome...what's ur AD date? Give details to Eve, she'll help u update when she's free

yucai> i also agree with thomas....
unless u really like this hotel very much and prepared to fork out more $, i dun think it's worth it for the price...
this is the 1st time i heard that u need to pay for food tasting...
additional free parking coupons shld be quite easy to ask for on AD... usually hotels will gv out stacks of them and always will hv a lot of leftovers...
projector wise also not a problem if u r using their bigger ballroom... u cant be expecting ur guests to view the screen using binoculars rite...

BTW, do u hv other preferred hotels? perhaps u can look at others first b4 deciding...

HSL> same here... i've also settled bs, venue & pg le... u r not kiasu la... it's always gd to settle most things as early as possible such that u dun hv to think abt them anymore

yucai: 1 word of advise if ur wedding is in swissotel stamford..parking might be a big issue as their carpark is always full n guests have to park at funan or nearby, which means their extra expenses..maybe u can list down the pros n cons of this hotel then compare with other hotels with similar pricing..I am sure pan pac,mandarin oriental or marina mandarin can give better packages =X

thomas: ya thumbs up..ironhide, star scream all come out hahahaa..this time round more bots manz..the twins so cute lor.. =P

hi thomas and all, my wedding is in 101010~

bridal shop: Bliss Bridal Creations
venue: OneRochester @ 1 rochester park
AD PG: Eirik Photography
MUA for moms: Wendy Lau (she charge reasonably well per pax, interested i can forward the contact number to u)

hi DS_Gerl, ya u are right... i even settled on MUA for my moms for the dinner... hahaha

jaq> my bf loves transformer2 compared to the previous 1.... but it's a super long show...

HSL> wow... that's fast... i totally 4got abt it... i was at my bs ytd... but will ask them on mua for mums when i go down for gowns selection in dec... else will hv to find freelance le...

when my bf's sis had her wedding, her mua is able to makeup for both mums, did my hair as well as the bride's mu... she even stayed for the 2nd march in to re-do another hair style for the bride...

morning all~~ today 1st day of school n I am awake by the continous annoucements by the school downstairs..they took national anthem in classroom =\

ds_gerl: guys definitely love part 2 more coz of more characters n actions.

thomas: he braver meh..he cried when shia gg to uni leh..hahahah..he damn emo.. =P

mooooorning all > happy monday :S

jaq > play national anthem need to stand up at attention and sing also. did u do that ?

thomas > how's house hunting ? prices seem to be moving up already :S

yucai > 1200 is the nett price ? or its 1200++ ? actually perks can be negotiated before you sign the package. Write down a list of things that you want to ask for then talk to the coordinator before you sign the package. However, there are a few drawbacks to swissotel. I like their bridal suite, but my wife doesn't like the fact that there can be as many as 3 weddings at the location at one time.

jaq: haha school reopens today...with it comes all the usual peak hour traffic jams hhahahahhaha...during the past few weeks traffic sooooooooooooooooooo smooth...need to leave home earlier now to avoid them

darrel: didn't go last weekend cos wife sick. u?

poor her. send my regards. Think there's a normal flu bug going around these days. a lot of people i know are falling sick. Maybe should for for a flu vaccine. I had one before i went to japan, and i really didn't catch flu for the whole year even though my family was passing it around.

sat i feel like ahmad, drive up and down the road that goes between my place and my wife's place 3 times to view houses.

we decided to put up an offer for one of the units at bedok. If we delay anymore, i think its difficult to get things done in time.Need to get the reno done before CNY.

15K above valuation. =( The last offer was 13K above. After we looked around more, and saw a couple of units (incl. one at eunos asking for 40K above valuation), we're kinda resigned that have to pay that much cash.

house condition renovated. prob just need to re-do the room flooring, build a false/partition wall to make a storeroom, and built-in wardrobe for the rooms. nothing major.

darrel: ya I stand for 5 secs..to kpo..coz can see the classrooms..hahaha..

thomas: ya talk abt it, always have to wait 5mins b4 can get out my hse carpark..heng this job dun require me to get out at 7am..

morning all.

transformer 2 is nice but abit long this time rd. but i guess 1 of my fren not very interested that she almost fall asleep haha..

i think bee is braver this time rd too.

dear all, i have posted the photos taken during my PS (not BS ones) in my facebook/multiply. Do leave me feedbacks k ...

DS_Gerl > for me i cannot share my bridal MUA with my moms they all cos time is pretty tight for me as i only have 2 hrs in total to get ready for the night event. thus which is why i have to hire additional 2 MUAs to do 5 pax for me within 2 hrs too and not to share my bridal MUA with them... cos each simple makeup + hairstyling take at least 45 min. for us brides, it take at least 1.5 hr... so, yes i'm kiasu, i got a few contacts from those freelance MUAs earlier and make decision fast to spare my headache...haha

Morning ALL!!

Din manage to watch Transformer 2 over the weekend cos no more good seats... but nevertheless, went to watch Ghost of Girlfriends Past (romance comedy)... dialogue is abit fast but humerous... teaches you to treasure relationships before your lose it =)

Eve - Will check it out in FB tonight!!