(2010) 2010 Brides

Alicia> i duno also. Back then, it was 5 yrs la. Coz my fren also 5 yrs. Now, i think earlier le. Yup...usually 1 or 2 yrs early. so hv to start save up for reno now. I wish i hv more time to save up....heh.

Jaq: hahaaa.. i've bought the dresses on August.. =P

Valerie: i bought it in a bridal studio in KL... 80RM only.. =)

Alicia: thanks for the suggestions.. later i go check the website... =)

usually they put 5 yrs coz need few mths for signing LOA, then get contractor bid etc...the actual building is 3 yrs..then interior if standard flat will be faster, premium will be slightly slower..

Eve> the quotes that i emailed to u all inclusive of 3 bedrms doors and mayb bathroom doors too. Coz that time hubby opt out the doors. Can't rem wat he said. But anyway, our bedrooms comes with no doors de lor. heh..

valerie: it's off the rack.... free size... i do not have the contacts... i just bought and go.... pictures i posted it in august... it's a retro pink tube dress... =)

Snoopy Dog> We applied AHG. The officer jus gave me hub a form for him 2 bring it to his HR/Accounts dept to fill in & chop company stamp nia, nv provide additional docs, but both our company no payslips de.

Jaq> Ic... Gd view hor, & i'm sure will be windy! =)

valerie> My email: [email protected]. Thanks orh! =)

xfz> Icic... So for both toilets oso no need to do anyting liao lor? Basic tings all haf le, onli to add in mayb cabinet/mirror, etc? So urs the most expensive is wat?

Jaq - Nope, the flat came equipped wth all these... as well as showerheads for both toilets... I only opt for flooring and doors... so typically when I get my flat, I do not require to do any major renovations...

xfz> Ya, mine too! Opt-in for both floorings & doors. Ur floorings r ceramic tiles wif timber skirting? Tat time wen i discuss wif me dad, he said if we got extra $$, den dun opt-in for floors coz if opt-in for floors, gotta wait till after 5 yrs den can change. But i told me dad we oso dunno by the time we get the flat got how much $$ to do reno. lol~ So me dad says in tat case jus opt-in for the floors now, worse come to worse, after 5 yrs of living in, if wanna change floor den change. keke!

Alicia - I think the expensive thing in my reno are all the carpentry work that I done i.e. feature wall fr bomb shelter, built-in wardrobe, kitchen cabinet... and also air-con...

But please note, kitchen sink, stove, toilet accessories, heaters and lights are expensive (also depending on what you choose)... the lights for my whole flat already cost $1K...

I dislike the timber flooring for my rooms!! sigh..must wax then take care of them, coz of got any stain must wipe off immediately else become permanent...

Alicia - Yup mine is ceramic tiles with timber skirting... actually I kind of regret it... cos I think for my flat they use cheap ceramic then easily got stain and scratches then we must go scrub the floor... when I see other people who do their floor themselves by using homogeneous tiles, so shiny so nice... haiz... but then again do flooring yourself easily $3K...

Jaq - Read it in the news... but they never write the location leh... I scare its near the MRT then I faint kena cheated 3 yrs back hahaha...

xfz> Ur bomb shelter is in the living room? Mine is at the entrance corridor leh, so if i do a feature wall for bomb shelter, my corridor will become more narrow. U haf any floor plans for ur unit? Can see see?

Jaq> But nowadays more ppl 1 timber floors leh! lol~ U opposite. =P Me is ok wif ceramic or timber floorings. =)

xfz> Oh, really ah? Ur location is near MRT ah?

alicia: I prefer all same as living room...easier to maintain...although got the gap inbetween the tiles will get dirty la.. I thinking of maintenance wise not beauty..hahahaha :P

Jaq> hahahaha! Mine will be all ceramic tiles wif timber skirting. Actually i oso dunno y they 1 2 use timber skirting, y not jus use ceramic skirting? hahahaha! Like if visualise, looks weird leh, ceramic tiles wif timber skirting. lol~

Jaq> hahahha! Such weird combi lor.. But anyway, me hub keep saying he wants it to be simple. hahaha! So mayb wont be having major major reno, but i 1 the bedroom to be equipped wif tv. hehe!

Alicia - Later I email you the floor plan... not near mrt... I think they want to use timber skirting to match the doors and to look like cndo style...

Jaq - Ya hor then shld be near my area le... the end of sbw... timber flooring more difficult to maintain plus need to buy diff floor deergent wor...

alicia:hahaahah minor renovation needed la..unless u got spare $$ to do up..coz not cheap..little things accumulated alot $$

xfz: ya...harnor..tats y I sian of the timber flooring

jaq: mine also timber flooring, I have no issues with it

booy: when gg BKK? surely can find what u want cheap, it's a heaven there hahahaha...

snoopy: congrats on getting ur love nest

alicia: feature wall for bomb shelter better check with HDB first before doing hor, HDB officer went down to check on mine, he told my seller that it's not legal, have to take down.

val: yup since the diff btw king and queen is not that big, might as well get king if space permits. Dunno whether to get Serta or not after hearing from DS and xfz here that it's special height, normal bedsheets cannot fit. Buying customised bedsheets is exp and we dun wish to do that. However so far Serta is still the most affordable among all other renowned brands haiz...really dilemma.

xfz> Oic.. It's to match the doors ah! lol~ Ok, email me ur plan. =)

Jaq> Ya lor. Anything wif reno is super ex de lor. lol~

Thomas> Oh?! Feature wall not legal wif urs? My neighbour oso do feature wall for bomb shelter.

thomas> i already bought bedsheets liao before buying the mattress. So now cannot use liao lor?! Cham. where to buy the special bedsheets then? Will ask hubby to check with the serta sales assistant later...

Erh..fearure wall for bomb shelter really not legal ar? But alot of ppl doing it leh..werid. DOes the hdb officer come often to spot check?

alice> mine bomb shelter also at corridor. But i still want to do feature wall...heh.

jaq: u keep having nightmares, must be u can't bear to see him go to wallaby lah...

alicia: yes, considering blockage of bomb shelter door I think. so be careful of what u do, next time u wanna sell, def have to tear it down if it's not legal.

val: haha u mean u didn't know? I didn't know also until xfz and ds told me...so now I'm half-hearted lor haiz. By the way xfz bought serta too, she was smart, she neg for 2 bedsheets then no need to buy haha. If I'm not wrong u have to pay more to get those special bedsheets which I'm very unwilling to...serta mattresses are thicker than others, dunno why they wanna make in that way zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

those ppl doing it is bcos they bo chup, even if not legal also no one checks until the time comes when u wanna sell ur flat, then HDB officer will come and check ur flat see if u have done any 'illegal' reno or not.

Alicia > they said nid 1 yr payslips n cpf contributions transactions..

Thomas > Thank Q, congratulations to ur new found love nest as well

valerie> Received ur email, with thanks! =) Wont the passageway become narrower if do feature wall to cover-up the bomb shelter?

Thomas> Oic... Machiam like obstructing like tat eh.. But i still dunno yet whether 1 2 do the feature wall to cover the bomb shelter or not, coz i scared the passageway alr narrow, do the feature wall den passageway bcome even more narrow. -_-"

Snoopy Dog Eh, den i not sure liao leh, coz both of us no payslips de wor~ Mayb tat's y officer gave me hub the form for his company to fill in, sign & stamp.

thomas> ok. i see if i can bargain for bedsheet too. Chances r low la since we paid deposit liao. DO u know how much r those special bedsheet? =)

Btw, ur flat seller got tio fine bo? heh..

Alice> Intially i also worry. so went to punggol and c those showroom flats lor. There r alot contractors over there who will invite u to go see see look look. I saw that alot of units hv feature wall leh. So far ok, still hv space to walk. Mayb when ur hse comes, u can go visit those showroom flats lor. =)

Alicia - For new/newer flats, the bomb shelter has a round thing that can open which is for air circulation... when you do feature wall to cover the bomb shelter, this round thing has to be cover with the cover that can be open and not sealed dead... if the cover is openable one then shld not be a prob...

valerie - normal bedsheet cannot fit for serta... you can get bedsheet to fit serta type of mattress from Robinson, John Little, Metro etc cheapest also ard $100 per set during discount... what's the model that you bought? For me I bought pasedena, this model is using 14" bedsheet... some models maybe only 12".. rem to check...

Jaq - These showroom flats are those flat owners who are those that are the first to get the keys from HDB... then sign up reno package with the renovator, these renovator will give discount and free gifts to reno the flat but condition is must let them use your flat as show flat for other potential customers for a couple of months...