(2010) 2010 Brides

i tot david loh dun do solemnizations liao.

download the list from ROM and just call any lorr. I didn't think who the solemnizer is, is important. Unless its goh chok tong or something.

Darrel: hahaha jus want ask ard nia.. see got anyone to recommend or not..

rand: u mean u didn't sign with them yest? so u getting those perks they mentioned on their webby or didn't? dun think they will give u another night's stay in their bridal suite, their perks are pretty much fixed. Phoenix Grand requires min 28 tables right? can't remember. Make sure u neg with them to be able to go back to consume the unused tables if u can't hit the min requirement, at least it wun go to waste.

darrel: yup not important to me too, after all it's just reading out the vows nia, anyone also can do the job.

thomas: no i didnt sign with them ytd. but they willing to extend the perks to me till monday so i called them later at night to say i confirm will take the ballrm le. now if min 28 we only gt 1 barrel beer free but if 30 tables we getting free flow. that y we went back to work out the no. of tables currently abt 27 tables liao. did u nego abt the unused table?

rand: I see...the perks they giving now are quite attractive, at least those are what I tried to neg for but didn't get. So not often u get those added perks from them unless they have wedding shows or promotions gg on.

how come min 28 tables dun get free flow beer? tot the promotion stated min must have 20 tables then u will get free flow beer, free helper's room and 1k discount?

We also got 1 barrel of 30L beer nia, no free flow but I think not an issue cos nowadays not many ppl drink beer, more of wine. So 1 barrel shld be enough for us...worse comes to worse, I will just buy another 12 bottles or so and ask hotel to open for us, corkage charges have to pay of cos. We neg to be able to go back again on another day to consume the unused tables liao.

Eve can update mine as well? hee

Pls update mine too

AD Date: 25 Sept 2010
Banquet Venue: Novetel
BS: Jess Haute Couture
AD PG:
AD VG:
ROM Date: 25 Sept 2010
ROM Venue: Novotel

thomas: cos we using the bigger ballrm whereby the cap is min 30 but if we really only gt 28 tables the best they can give is 1 barrel free if we can hit the min of the bigger ballrm no pro for free flow. Like i mention just now we wanted to get the smaller ballrm de but some1 come in earlier than us den book the same day as us lor. so no choice

I see...so it's 30? Can't rem whether 28 or 30 is the min...guess u have to try to make up the numbers then.

PG ballroom is nice too...very spacious and cosy. U saw both ballrooms and the suite?

thomas: yup we saw both ballrm and the suite. No problem in making up the number. Actually initially dont want to make it a too big event so restrict to 25 tables so some of my mum relative and colleagues not inviting so now since gt extra table so no issue le. Btw how u decided on which menu u going for?

so u liked what u saw? haha. We did certainly...

mine is lunch so only one fixed menu, cannot choose. Urs is dinner, different.

booy:
congrats congrats... welcome to the MRS' club

Yeap went down with hb to discuss abt the wedding banquet and was told ytd was a hot date.. 3 couples.. so u was one of them :p

Happy Girl: haha.. ok ok only the buffet.. haha.. i got ala carte members voucher (millenium and copthorne group member)... so got a 50% voucher.. haha.. bring my family out try try.. if not usual price is 50+ 60 for buffet dinner..

congrats booy.... now status different le wor....

so do u, hmm... feel differently? HEE

yingr,

i have invited mr koh hock hin to be my JP. he is my ex-colleague's husband. not sure if he is good.. but i always hear my ex-colleague talk to her husband over the phone and it seems like they always talk very politely to each other. i see he is soft-spoken bah. u want, i can give you his contacts.

deerixp, oh i see... my bf also joined the 'accord' hotel group to be a 'member'. think they gave us discount coupons too. $288 then get 2 nights' stay at novotel. cos novotel is also under this 'accord' group mah. maybe will bring my family there to eat too.

my fellow novotel kakis, anyone joined as well??

Mag, Thomas> Photos have to wait.. need to get from my friend.. bulk of the photos are with him...

Darrel> Pray hard hard.. I prayed very hard for mine... Condos are beyond my reach as well... I went to my friend's place.. it's sooo nice and in town.. OMG...

ylng3r> I tot you had 2 JP initially.. Both cannot make it?

Ling> Oh... so I might have met you.. haha..

Happy Girl> Thanks thanks.. Pretty excited still... No longer nervous or so... Feeling blessed that I have another person to take care of me for life... =)

randyce> It seems like the only diff between 28 and 30 is free flow beer.. If your guests are not big drinkers.. dun have too many uncles kind of profile, free flow might not be necessary... usually 1 barrel is more than enough, you can direct the guests to drink wine instead....

rand: then try to make up the numbers...if not bring ur own beer like what I'm planning to do. One barrel of beer costs 600++, Huiling told u that right?

thomas,

they called my bf. but din call me. i find it quite worth it also. can get 2 nights' free which we can probably use for getaway or to extend our stay during wedding. oh, can use for stay at mecure roxy hotel too. its under the same 'accord' group.

but $288 is only for 1 year. aft tt can extend for a promotion rate.

thomas: mine is with kelvin. Correct they say 1 barrel cost abt 650. den somemore we gt 1 bottle of wine per table. but they cannot wavie the corkage fee for us so we shld be getting the rest from them. Ytd we try the wine not too bad le

Booy: Mr Chia scare he cannot make it due to change of timing.. and Mr Yeo keep ask us to come back to him only in mid-april which i going to file for my rom on thurs..
So got to find extra JPs for back up~~

Happygirl: when is ur rom?

HG: u mean membership for one yr is 288? if u use the 2 nights' free to extend ur stay during wedding, it's for bridal suite or deluxe room? if suite then I guess it's worthwhile as we asked for the rate if we wanna stay one more night on our AD, it's 380++.

im thinking of buying bottles outside. in the olde threads for novotel, some btb was calculating tt it is still sheaper to buy own beer+pay corkage than to buy one barrel fr novotel.

well, but maybe some ppl feel tt beer tastes differently from bottles....

HG: yup u are right, it is indeed cheaper to bring in ur own beer + corkage.

to me beer will all taste the same be it from can, bottle or barrel...hahaha

hi yingr,

personally i feel tt i wanna rest my mind so i will rather go for a JP who can confirm w me.

Mr Koh was able to confirm with me right away when I called him last week. I feel tt that is the most impt. Maybe becos my rom is on 7th June, which is quite soon. When is ur rom? Since u r able to file already, means it is quite soon right?

I think some of the 'popular' JP are too busy already. Heard stories of JPs who have to rush to other places and therefore impatient... I rather go for less popular JPs who can spend more time with us. Haha... but who knows maybe the 'unpopular' JPs happen to have many places to rush to on our ROM date so come to e same...

But like Mr Chia who is highyly reeved on e forum, my bf says he was the JP at his friend's wedding. And he kept rushing the couple to start cos he got to rush to somewhere else. I wouldnt say he is wrong to do that, since it is not nice to keep the next couple waiting as well. Just that he is just too busy I guess. Not his fault...

happy girl: i am not blaming anyone.. i change timing, so he cannot confirm himself, he did mention that if i remain the same timing, he still can make it.. so he still ask us to go ahead and file.. when the date is nearer then he see how.. my rom is on 26 june.. maybe less popular JPs will be better for us.. can give me the contact of Mr Koh jus in case?

Not changing my nick.. that was my old nick... still like my booy.. hee...

happy girl> I have been telling myself every other day to treasure whatever I have... Stop thinking of things that I don't have.. This definitely help me to deal with my life better..

randyce> If that's the case, you only lack 3 tables.. Still can try to invite more people along the way.. usually the number of tables will increase as time goes by... your family take 1 more table.. his family take 1 more table and you invite one more table of friends/colleagues?

ylng3r> I see.. The other popular JP that I know of will be Mr or Mrs Chan.. Tried them? Or you can take those less popular JP...

Booy: Hehehe mm prehaps.. we meet...@ a glance..

Oh ya, did you drink their red wine @ the rest? Was wondering how good or how is the taste like.. we tot of bringing in our own red wine but very not worth it.. the corkage fee is $15/bottle and they r selling theirs @ $22/bottle...

tinking tinking...

mooooooooorning all

ylnger > if you really wanna get either of the 2 JP, then wait until mid april. ROM got no quota to meet one :P ... unless venue problem.

thomas, HG > beer got corkage waiver one ? i never really heard of that. my hotel explicitly tell us, we cannot bring our own beer. also cos they charge $600+ / barrel. while paulaners also charge $600/barrel :P