(2010/10) Oct 2010 BTB

haha, guest list is the biggest headache. esp seating arrangements....lol.

funny thing is, when not over u wish to be over faster but when over liao like mine, I kinda missed it wahahhahahaha

Caro>> I added u in fb too. My actual name is Jeraldine.

I haven't been exercising for sometimes and I've been eating non-stop. Think need to control liao.

4 more mths to 10 oct 2010!!

Hi Missy, added you too! Nice gowns and makeup! Yup since the day after my PS, I have been "rewarding" myself with a lot of food... >.<"

Anyway you girls sourced for wines already? Thomas any recommendations? I was introduced to a wine wholeseller at Chinatown Point, which allows us pay 1/2 of the cost of the number of bottles of wines we need and the rest if we cannot finish we can return, if not just pay the remaining. Any other better deals?

Caro: My hotel provide free flow of wine. So never go around sourcing..Btw, if buy duty paid hard liquor inside the airport dutyfree shop, is it cheaper or the same as outside? Anyone tried before?

caro: haha sadly no...but if u want my balance wines, I still got more than 10 bottles, can sell to u at a cheap price

cat: buying from DFS sure cheaper than outside...but maybe ur hotel wun allow u to bring in. Check with them to confirm.

Thomas: hotels only allowed dutypaid liquor. But was thinking if buy in DFS shop, but pay them the duty tax, is it still cheaper than outside?? you also had wedding lunch right? Did anyone drank hard liquor in the afternoon?

cat: oic...that's what u meant haha. that one no idea liao, nvr tried before.

yup lunch...nope, only wine and beer. even those were hardly touched, I got more than 10 bottles of wine leftover at home.

haha.. since not many pple drink, i think i will just stick to the beer and wine that hotel provide. or else don't know what to do with all those hard liquor. haha..

Still got 4 mths plus more. Arhhhh.. Btw, anyone went to Orchard Hotel for wedding dinner before? i wonder how's the service. Recently went to my cousin dinner at Yishun Safra. Service v bad. They only cleared the plates after the 5th dish.. scared mine will turn out like this too.

Thomas> Thanks for the offer. I will PM u after I go reccee the price first from this wine seller.

Deb> Would be good if you can share the pricing too heehee

Cat> I attended 3 weddings at Orchard Hotel in the past 1 1/2 yrs. Nice venue and the service is also not bad. Nothing to worry bout.

Anyway, how many bottles of wine do you think is sufficient for wedding dinner of 35 tables on a Saturday? 70?

Anyway, anyone here holding their wedding dinner/lunch at Intercontinental Hotel and using the timeless classic theme? Let me know if you want baby blue chair sashes.

Caro: Thanks for the consolation. Hopefully mine will turn out well.

Actually one bottle per table should be sufficient right unless all your guests are really gd drinkers. Not all will drink.

wow.. why u have the blue chair sash?

Cat> Just a bit kiasu that there are not enough wines to go around. The blue chair sashes are because although the theme is tiffany blue and white, the guests' tables are rather white and plain with minimal splashes of blue. So some of the previous wedding couples at Intercon actually bought blue organza sashes to be tied to alternate chairs to bring out the color...So I thought I can pass down to whoever needs them.

caro> can share with me the contact of the wine wholesaler in chinatown?

any1 got gd lobangs for wine do let me kw ok... TIA

thiasy> hv not attended any weddings at OH before, but my company had an event there and the food was great

caro> will share pricing once she tells me
champagne is good though haha so i shld be getting a few bottles maybe just for my friends ang myself
haha

thiasy> OH is by restaurant chef or banquet chef?? i heard great reviews bout the restaurant chef so not sure if its the same.

deb: i'm taking the ballroom banquet. From my contract, they wrote chef is from hua ting.. so i guess it's restaurant chef.. hehe.. not sure correct or not.

missybrooklynn went down to pine gardens already? Do you have any other recommendation for GDL cakes? Actually service also very important factor...

deb: hopefully the food is good lah. but anyway, i doubt i have the chance to really sit down and enjoy the food... even if it's gd also no use. hahaha..

avatar>> havent go down. but a bit turn off by their telephony and email services.
dun be too affected by the food etc since everything is cmf. juz enjoy the day and be a happy bride!

actually for PG shld go down and see personally...emails and phone calls will garner slower response ba.

Hua Ting's food is very nice albeit expensive...

Thomas>> they dun wanna meet me
want me to know wat I want from the package b4 going down...

Deb &amp; avatar>> thanks ladies. I dun dare to write too
much cos after all it's the worldwide web, I dunno who is reading

Thomas>> I always thought need to make appt de!

yours is nice too! And u proposed on my bday, haha!! I see
most of the contents are contributed by u? My hubby only
contributed on the XDs. And he said he doesn't wanna write
for swordbearers cos veri brain whacking! Zzz...

ds_gerl> the wine seller at chinatown point is *arworks (substitute the * with b, dunno why this word is not allowed), they have a website. You can google the name and check them out!

deb> thanks deb, champagne is good!!!

missy and thomas> WOW! great efforts on your parts! very nice indeed!

blueystar> do PM me if you need them...

missy: lol...no need...just go and choose urself! they too busy to entertain phone calls/emails I think.

thanks...haha so qiao hor...lolz...actually my wife contributed most of the contents...I also have but not as much as her.

caro: thanks for ur nice words

Thomsas: wow.. ur website v nice!! Me and my htb too lazy to maintain website. write blog half way dun want to write liao.. it takes time and effort to do it. Nice job!!!

thomas: haha.. thanks for the compliment. pretty only when makeup is on. Real person without makeup look like auntie lah.. haha..

thanks caro, will chk them out

missy, thomas> saw both ur wedding websites... so nicely done up....

missy> pictures speaks louder than words

i esp like the quote at The Courtship

me too also wanted to start 1... but am too lazy liao...

btw for PG, u can juz drop by to see their range of cakes... no need to make appt de unless u wanna get a wedding cake for ur AD

DS_gerl: Yup, will drop by pine garden one day to have to a look at their wedding range.. Are you getting the wedding cake from Pine Garden?

Ds>> my site was created on last aug but no time to update etc...
So only now then I got it 90% done.... I dun want the site to meet ppl only after my wedding, haha!!

Thomas>> i oso thought of using it as RSVP.
But will print this URL on my invitation so that ppl can go see :p hee..

missy, thomas> for me is you xin wu li.... lolx
thn htb is not very keen on it also... so if i start to do it, it will be me &amp; myself to maintain it... needs alot of effort de... so forget abt it bah... sigh...

think most likely to do rsvp in fb and email lor... am thinking of doing an e-save-the-date and post in fb event...
any1 here got any gd online recommendations to share?

avatar> most likely will go for PG cakes but am looking ard for other choices too... depends on hw many boxes of cakes my mum wants... then we will work on budget...
advantage of buying from PG is it's near my place so htb can go collect them on the same day then come over my place

DS>> I go find got such online thingy and let u know

for the cakes, my mum is asking 6 but we thought 8 sounds nicer and since juz 2 boxes diff.. So ok lor. My budget can also set a tad higher - ard $12/box since not many boxes... Total maybe ard 16-18 boxes max for both parents.

missy> thanks for ur help

do u mean we hv to gv cakes to groom's side also? i thot only bride's side leh... =P

wonder if u hv tried cakes from Patisserie Glace at Tg Pagar?? since u r working near there... their cakes r very nice and cheese tart too... :9

i heard my fren told me that their tofu chiffon is very nice and have alot of flavours and surprisingly not very expensive too... $10.80/ea... hv not try it out myself but will do so soon and if budget allows, will def get that as GDL cakes

DS>> I think both sides will need to give out cakes to relatives, right?

Yup, tried their cakes b4.. Sold out veri fast and they have 10% discount after 6pm too. But most of the nicer ones alrdy sold out le. Keke...

Anyway, u gals heard that euro will hit parity with dollar if it still exists in 2011? Now even it still dropping, I dunno wanna change anot. Veri scare if euro is no longer official then I die, haha!! Maybe change when I cmf gng.

missy> yah.. their cakes sold out very fast... i went on a wkend afternoon and alot of flavours ardy sold out....

hmmm... need to ask htb's side if they need to gv out any cakes...

i saw ur post in fb... is that really true? but the rate is still dropping...

DS>> the experts said it will be soon, if not will take probably 5-10 yrs for that to happen... I oso veri confused by it. But ya, it still dropping.. Even yen oso dropped due to the PM stepped down.

Europe having sales in jul. Those who are gng, sure happy like siao. :P haha!!