(2010/10) Oct 2010 BTB

angelmh

meiling> wah so coincidental tat both of ur bday falls on the same day... easy to celebrate also.. keke

have your start sourcing for the venue?

crazybebe

Elaine > wow urs the same as mine... i wanted this date, but juz haven go see shifu to check on the date nia... btw have u book the venue already...?

elainengs06

Hi Crazybebe,
hahahah... i'm still searching my banquet.. Havent decide on which.
Wat about u? any venue in mind already?

missybrooklynn

hey all, im a 2010 BTB..

ROM: 03 Oct 2009
Venue: will cmf by end of the mth
AD: 10 Oct 2010
Venue: still sourcing.. looking at pillarless places that can hold 40-45 tables max.
BS: Yvonne Creative

As my wedding date is a "hot" date, i reckon i need to make m reservation early.
but at the same time, dunno if the hotel will wanna take in my booking that early anot. -_-|| now market so bad, hope can have better perks too..

those with multiply, can add me there. my ID is piglet18.

comatised

Hi missybrooklyn,

My AD is 3 Oct lunch and lots of places will be fully booked cos it's lunar calendar 15th day 8th month. Don't mean to give you stress but heard 10 Oct 09 is also a good date for wedding. Will be safer to quickly confirm hotel venue. Understand lots of couples book at least one year in advance.

Just to share if you have less than 150 pax for your ROM, you might want to consider my secret garden: http://www.mysg.com.sg/main.htm. Very pretty and I wanted to have my rom there but later decided to pack everything on 3 Oct with hotel banquet.

missybrooklynn

comatised, my rom is on 3 oct 09, which is mid-autumn fest and yup, most nice places are taken. but rom is easier to find so im going to meet the coordinator this week to see look and discuss.

my AD is on 10 Oct 10 (not 09,
). my top choice hotel is alrdy taken
now sourcing for others...

where is your AD venue?

comatised

Opps...sorry for mistake on your AD date missybrooklyn! My AD venue is at Conrad!
And you're right ROM easier to find venue.

What's your top choice for AD hotel? Wah....more than 1.5 years and 10 Oct 2010 already taken!

missybrooklynn

comatised, heee.. i thought so that u've mistaken too.. quite a no of pple thought im looking at 2009 instd of 2010.

my top choice is Swissotel the Stamford aka Fairmont. its memorable to us cos he proposed to me in this hotel. the grand ballroom is taken, left with the "smaller" ones that can hold up to 32 tables max. we are looking at 40 tables cos my relatives really alot... veri closed to my mum oso, cannot dun invite lor. and not poss to cut from 40 to 32 tables too, haha..

even orchard hotel oso taken. now left with NCQ but it's more exp the Fairmont due to the date. i've made tentative booking but dunno wanna take up anot.

$1088nett per table and it's 8 course dinner. -_-" Fairmont is ard $1K after tax for 8 course dinner. and i've to admit that pple will give 'more' angbao $ for fairmont than NCQ cos of the branding.

i'm expecting losses but i dun wanna blow my budget too much. my frd make $10k losses for her wedding at Intercont, but nice place and good food lah. =)

anyway, conrad is nice!! *envy* my frd's wedding was held there and other than the ballroom, i also like the long spacious stairs going up to the ballroom from level 1.
juz that it's wayyy out of my budget.

rachstan

hi all, im a 2010 Oct BTB toooo...

ROM & AD: 20/10/2010
Venue: Sheraton
BS: still sourcing..

anyone has any recommendation for BS?? went to a few bridal shows.. everyone seems to be similar.. dun know how to choose from so many.. *headache*..

blueystar > our AD is on the same date
.. have you fd a venue?

wiwiwi

Dear all, i am an Oct BTB too! My AD and ROM on 23/10/10 and we are also tinkin of Sheraton as well same as Rachel jus 3 days away!

My BS: Selet@r Broadway at amk

kittydia

im thinking of SG Bridal in JB for my BS...

Anyone likes to team up to negotiate for better packages, if so, please drop me a mail at [email protected] ? So that we can share the package details?

Reason why i chose SG Bridal despite it being in JB is because

a) they've very nice pictures
b) reasonable prices
c) great customer service level (impt to me, coz wedding prep aldy so stress, gotta deal with attitude problem, i will faint le)

please let me know if you would be

d)interested to team up for bridal package at SG Bridal (other bridal shops are welcome too) or
e) even hotel banquets...
f)please let me know if you've any bridal package or banquet details to share?

I've saw SG Bridal pictures in one of the ladies in Singapore bridal...her wedding pictures are nice nice and and i'm impressed!

SG Bridal website is http://www.sgbridalhouse.com/

Hope it can be helpful (*o*)

missybrooklynn

kittydia,
SG Bridal is veri popular among many singapore couples. i heard they are not pushy too..
i alrdy had a BS package le, if not i will definitely consider them.

wiwiwi,
my alternative date is 23 Oct too. if not will be 3 Oct cos my ROM is 3 Oct 2009. juz nice 1yr anniversary lor.
but so far 10 Oct is my first choice..

those who have multiply, pls add me.
my ID is piglet18 but rem to let me know u are from SGB too if poss, hee..

tianai83

My AD is also 10.10.10 will be holding at RELC. Has anyone check out whether this date is auspicious?

As the tong shu not out yet we are worried about this.

kittydia

Rachel (ra2he1)

have u booked a BS? Do you have any BS in mind?

I'm considering SG Bridal at JB...Would you be joining?

missybrooklynn

tianai83, i've checked once and 10.10.2010 is definitely an auspicious date for marriage...
but to play safe & if u are really particular, u better look for a soothsayer. cos might "chong" with your elements (bazi) or zodiac etc..

rachstan

kittydia - im still not sure yet..
but SG bridal is in JB, will it be troublesome cuz if we wanna choose gowns, fittings, photoshoots etc, we have to travel into JB.. the jams at the custom are quite disgusting rite??.. who else is going for SG bridal??

eevee

Am letting go my Orchard Parade Hotel package due to increase in guest list.

Following package to let go..
Date: 16/01/2010 (Sat) or any avail dates in 2010
Hotel: Orchard Parade Hotel

I have paid a deposit of $2140 hence am just transferring the deposit (it will be a discount for those taking a package with Orchard Parade hotel). Package details can still be negotiated with the sales person.

I'm willing to give a discount for the deposit paid.

please email me for details if anyone is interested.
email: [email protected]

tianai83

Thank you so much for offering your help.
Feel much more at ease.

ShuFen>> Thanks for the webbie will go check it out.

missbrooklynn>> Thanks as we are not so particular , my mom only ask me to check suitable to marry or not if yes den can le haha.....

glad to hear that.. But i m born in the yr of Pig, and my HB mouse. Are you the same? so can take reference mah haha.

tianai83

Dear Missybrooklyn,

Oh no... sian to hear that.. Haha but thanks for your help will discuss with my husband....

Haha...

ev3

wow missybrooklyn.. this link is very useful. u use tat too? which date is ur AD? i am still thinking between sept & oct

missybrooklynn

tianai83, dun feel sian.. the best is to consult a soothsayer cos this date might not crash with your bazi or depending on wat they used to calculate.

ev3, no.. i went to a soothsayer. my AD is on 10.10.2010.

juz nice this date is wat i wanted and din "chong" with me lor.

rachstan

hi jinglebell

JWN is within my consideration. my elder sis used JWN for her wedding 3years back.. but im not sure whether they are still as gd..

have u sign up with them already??

i'll email you.. thx!!

tianai83

Dear Shufen,

Hmmm when will you be gonig to JB for SG Bridal?

Hmmm you driving? I m thinking of going to JB for PS. But u know its a bit inconvenience for us as we no car......

jinglebell10

Hi Rachel,

Yup i have signed up with them already. my wedding is in jan 2010.
they are still very good. No worries, my brother and one friend of mine signed up with them and had their wedding last year, they were very happy about their works and services. You can drop me an email at [email protected]

Hi Tian Ai,

My original co-ordinator was Sally but she was away so im handed over to Jess who is very good and friendly as well.

tianai83

Dear Missybrooklynn,

Hmm so what is a soothsayer? Haha... Is it those fortune teller? I not sure whether to consult one or not. cos mom says its a bit mafan if u went to them..... But now many ppl say crash with Pig ask me reconsider my mom says its ok... Haiz...

kittydia

Hi Rachel

yar lor, i know got jam...but am mentally prepared le...

I went to 3 bridal shops at tanjong Pagar 2 wkends ago...

Julia Wedding News - highly recommended by my friends. Went there and go through the package with the sales executive and it is quite costly. Around $4k for a v basic pkg. They quite firm on their prices and things inside the price pack too...hardly budge le...thus, as much as i like the pics, im going to give it a miss...coz not much value for $...my friend spent $8k for her pkg, but she got go taiwan...

Venus - quite cheap, but don't quite like the pics...reminds me of neo-print, but this shop is v accomodating lah...

ZWed - nice! i like the coordinator Anna, she is very experience and feels like a mother to mi. The nice pics are taken by their director Chris Ling, the others pics not oo sharp le. and if you want your pics to be taken by him, gotta top up another $2k, so total will be ard $6k...am still considering this shop, i like their gowns tho =)

SG Bridal - heard lotsa good comments on them, it's in Msia but I think worth the effort to explore this BS coz of the price size, quality and svc lvl...

missybrooklynn

tianai83, yup.. it's those fortune teller. actually my mum is those bo-chap whether it chongs anot.. she is not veri pan dang kind. but my FH is -_-"

in fact, if really wanna be veri particular, it's not good to get married on the year of tiger.
>.< too many factors to consider le..

most imptly, is the both of u must be comfortable with it. both as in both families as well..

and 10102010 is quite a hot date for next yr, so have to decide and book hotel/restaurants soon liao.

rachstan

kittydia> i heard that JWN does not take part in any bridal shows cuz they r tat gd.. and they MUA are quite gd as well. but $4k+ for a basic pkg seems pretty steep tho.. hmmm..

do you mind sharing wat they have offered u?? my email [email protected]..

tianai83 > actually whether u go to a geomancer, its all up to the couple (if parents have no preference). but personally, i think its a once in a lifetime thingy, so i just did it. sometimes its betta to believe those chinese custom than not.. althou year of tiger may not be a gd yr, whether the date itself is gd or not, its very much dependent on the couples "shen chen ba zi"..

rockofice

I am new here, most likely a Oct 2010 BTB as Sept 2010 which was my orginal planned date has several disadvantages.. F1 racing, too close to 7th month.. etc

Am looking at 3rd, 10th Oct 2010 for ROM, but will choose another date for banquet as im sure the banquets on the above dates will be too hot to get!

I have signed up with Sophia Wedding Collection, absolutely no regrets!!! Strongly recommended!

As for banquet, am looking at Oriental, Merchant Court, Carlton and Copthrone Waterfront in order of preference. Any BTB here considering Oriental? My top choice! but a bit ex...

rockofice

Looking for themes for my wedding.. but seems like all the themes I browse are pretty standard: Garden, Fairy Tale, Oriental, Victorian... Any BTBs here have resources to look for other romantic / special themes?

tianai83

Dear Rachel,

What JWN never go any Bridal show? They have go for many lo... One recent one is the Vivocity one haha. Anyway i super dislike them... But only the pics for Wang ren fu not bad eh.... Hmmm maybe u can go roadshow la. Their package is first day of the roadshow u sign with them u get 8 free items den hor the last day of the roadshow only two oitems free a bit weird n unfair to us la....

missybrooklyn>> i booked my restaurant in RELC hotel haha too kiasu cos its a hot date. Initially de maanger still ask hw come u booked so early in the end den he know....
Hmmm i now slowly looking for my BS but they told me mine is a hot date better book n chop the MUA n PG n VG AD earlier..... Not sure how early i should chop them....

tianai83

Dear rachel,

Anyway hmmm i think Lydia is organizing a trip to SG bridal maybe you can check with her the details.... No harm to reccee a few more. If you don't mind hor MyBridalRoom and Bridal Concept is the one i shortlist. Bridal Concept the package is attractive n flexible n the service is good but the PS skill dun have the style i like. Hmm MyBridalRoom the PS skill super good but the gown i din caught something in mind. But overall the coordinators over there is good.

missybrooklynn

tianai83 - so u paid and booked liao ah? i've make a tentative booking for mine, now need is left with the paying part.

every BS has good &amp; bad, strength &amp; weaknesses... happy searching for BS, babe!

ds_gerl

Hello Everyone, I'm new to this thread and is also an Oct BTB.
My wedding date is on 23 Oct 2010.
We've juz booked our venue at Pan Pacific @ their wedding show last Sun @ 1088nett per table (min 38 tables) for wkend dinner of 9 course.
As for BS, I'll be signing up with La Vie Bridal. They hv very nice low back gowns...

MBR is good as well... service &amp; PS.. but i also dun find any gowns that i like...
My geomancer has mentioned that by only using the Tong Shu is not enough. Cos that particular auspicious date might not be suitable for the couple. The best is by using both their Ba Zi. We hv engaged David Tong to calculate for us the auspicious wedding date. You can find his link from SgBrides homepage.

ds_gerl

missybrooklynn> If u r still looking ard for venue, prob u can consider The Regent or GCW. They hv ballrooms which r able to cater to ur required no. of tables.
There will be a wedding show for Regent on this coming Sat, 28Mar and GCW on Sun, 29Mar. Prob u can gv them a call regarding the registration. I'm going for both as hv ardy signed up earlier on &amp; GCW is having lucky draws with good prizes.

tianai83

Dear Missybrooklynn,

Ya agreed but sometimes i just cant stand when they have really bad service.

Haha... But hor anyway my Banquet is at RELC Tangs Court. Good restaurant and super affordable package.

Has place deposit last month le.