(2010/10) Oct 2010 BTB

missy> dun be upset.. at least its discovered early.. all the salepp like to play taiji after u buy their stuff..

I bought some bedsheets from Robinson Sale expo sale.. but still need a wedding set haha..

missy> i din want to buy those wedding bedsheets so took quite some time to look ard for cheap ones...
happened to be at jurong pt 2 wkends back and bought the full bedsheet set from Sintex at a shop at basement (cant rem the name but it's the same level at Aussino)... they were having discounts... org price was $300+ but we bot it at $90+... it comes with fitted sheet, quilt cover, 2 pillow cases, 2 bolster cases...

perhaps u can try OG... cos every now and then they will hv special promo for members...

caro> hw much does the ang pow packets cost?

we had a grp purchase for the nubra some time last yr... and they gv us some further discounts...

if u interested in buying nubra, u can go to the nubra shop at sunshine plaza... look for dorothy if u wanna try the nubra... she will help u to get ur correct size... u can also ask her if there's any promotion for nubras

can chk out the website http://www.nubra.sg/

hehehe.. Another 2 mths plus to the wedding day! i have just decided to custom made my wedding gown. wonder whether it's abit too late.. sort of a last min decision. how long do u gals take to MTM the wedding gown?

If successful, i will be wearing 8 gowns on my actual day. V fun! like fashion show. hehee..

avatar82: whoa how r u gg to schedule ur time for changing? still got time to mingle w guests?
I already headache w changing total of 4 outfits....

avatar>> 8 gowns?? woot... im also struggling with 4 gowns liao. LOL...
i think MTM takes ard 3-6mths, depending on your designs and material. of cos, the schedules of your BS. if you want, better do it quick!

hehehe... yup, 8 gowns. Already informed them on the design liao.. Still give me alot of free accessories as well.. They say can try to rush and give me before mid September. So i guess should be in time. Cant wait to see it soon.

hmm... not going to mingle with guest liao, except for table phototaking? hahaha.. being pretty is more important. busy changing clothes.

Church wedding: 1 Wedding gown
Lunch Banquet(3 march in): 1 Wedding gown/ 2 Evening gown
Tea ceremony: 1 cheongsum evening gown

After that, go out for photoshoot(1 wedding gown/ 1 kua/ 1 short wedding gown)

So total I can wear 4 WG/2EG/1 CS/1 kua on AD?

just done with booking a car.. be using Bettle..
anyone here using Beetle?

yesterday just went down to T dragon .. (card printing finally in progress) ...

thiasy> wah.. so many wedding gowns haha.. really like fashion show.

i just finished my PS and choosing of photos
in the end got 61 photos in total. not sure if it will be too cluttered in 1 album

deb: you got 61 photos ah? how much did u top up? hehehe... i think it might be too cluttered into 1 album? why don't u split into 2 instead?

Yeah. I have mine done last April. It was quick and nothing to worry about, cos you can't see the procedure (and when you can't see it's hard for you to fear). It's done in 10 mins. I even went out right after the surgery but I don't recommend it, I was tearing the whole way and the eye drop hurts. So go home and rest like the surgeon ask you to, take the pills they give you and you will wake up to great eyesight.

missy> i did mine last yr... its not too bad.. wahaha but its really worth it.But go back and sleep it off. My eyes are sensitive so i started tearing after the op. By the time i reached home, my eyes teared like mad as though my htb bullied me. wahaha he got so much dirty looks lor. I took sleeping pills and went to sleep. Woke up next morning w perfect eyesight. No regrets till now. But eyes a bit dry after the op

thiasy> i asked them le.. they say okie for 1 album. hmmm maybe see their layout first. If too cluttered then ask them to split. Do we have to pay id we split into 2 albums?

Sorry everyone! I realised I just hijacked the thread without introducing myself. =p

I'm also an Oct bride. ROM ages ago that's y I'm such an "old" member. We did not engage a bridal studio in SG though. Everything is "ala carte". =D

hmm.. i got 74 photos. so i split into 2 albums. So each layout will only have 2 to 3 photos. Not too many..

licoaz: when is ur AD? care to introduce urself? Wedding venue fixed?

hey gals, went to select my photos ytd... wallet is bleeding profusely now... top up $3688!! faintz

will have 103 photos in total.. oh man, i think top up too much liao... but too late now... hiaz

Hi thiasy,

Mine's on 3rd Oct at Raffles Hotel. Currently living in Sydney so planning everything via email! Luckily my co-ordinator is very very helpful and not snobbish like others who enquired with Raffles encountered. Less than 2 months to go now, so suddenly very anxious.

Hopefully it's going to be an easy one because I only have 8 tables and we won't have things like march in, toasting or even changing of gowns. Just like a cosy party and everyone can mingle around. So fingers crossed...

Wow Michie, that's a lot of money for photos!!!

licoaz: wah... cool!Simple and nice! So everything prepared? hmm.. I have been very slack for past few weeks, never do anything. Even for guest list, i don't bother already. hehehe.. i informed my coordinator, if any point in time from now to 10 oct my guests fly kite,we will still pay the same amount, at most upgrade menu for my existing guests. This solve the guest list headache! hehehe... no need to get any guest replacement.

michie: wah...103 photos. must be super expensive. so how much was ur original package?

thiasy: erm, sort of prepared. I've provided my parents with my invite inserts, and my mom is just sticking them on to the cards RH provided. Should be sent out this week. The only things left would be the confirmation of wedding favours and table settings, which my co-ordinator said is not really something to worry about.

Guest list is the hardest! I'm sort of lucky cos my hubby is ABC and he doesn't have any friends in SG, and he didn't want the hassle of taking care of his aussie friends while they are in SG. So really it's just his direct family, my family & friends. Not even colleagues cos I have none! RH minimum is 80 guests, so I just confirmed 80. I told my parents I am only taking 2 tables for my close friends, if they have anyone they want to invite feel free to. And I also managed to persuade my parents to go for the fusion menu, so if there are additional guests RH will calculate per head instead of per table. If not then 80 would be the number of fixed pax. Only thing I worry about is that guests would feel bored, but RH is providing a live band for me so hopefully it will turn out as I imagined.

Are you asking your guests to RSVP? Wow you are really going to be busy changing clothes on your big day! I sooooo cannot be bothered to, and I told my mom "Hey! I paid for it so I am going to eat!"

licoaz: You are going to send out the cards next week? that's fast. I will only write on the cards 2 or 3 days before sending out in mid sept. Already informed the guests to rsvp and they have replied. Just that sometimes pple might fly kite.

RH provide live band? wow... sounds gd. I was thinking whether i shd sing myself.. although not a gd singer. Wedding favours and table setting not a big issue. I settled mine in 1 day together with menu finalisation etc. It's quite fast one.

mich>> $3688?! that is really a good no, now i know wat u mean liao.
nvm lah, dun think abt it le. at least the photos turned out to be nice

i've been going for skin laser. laki $$$... now i gng to spend on LASIK next, even though is paying by installment, it's also another wallet bleeding thingy for me.

Licoaz, I'm also a raffles hotel btb. Did u top up for the live band? Or u specially requested from them? Cos I didn't see that in my package.. I just went for my food tasting today n collected my cards too. Food is only so so so. Hope will be better on our ad. Keeping
my fingers crossed.

Michie, will soon get over after u see ur nice nice album

missuy: u go for skin laser? how much does it cost? hmm... was thinking whether i need to go. my skin condition is quite badly hit by acne problems. so sad.

thiasy: yeah because it's lunar 7th month next week and not supposed to send out cards for the entire month, plus I need my guests to RSVP and finalise their main course, so I have to send it out early. I have already co-ordinated my close friends, they have already told me whether or not they are going and have also already told me their main course. So it's mainly relatives, and you know relatives love to drag, so better to do it early in my instance cos I am not there physically to be the demanding bridezilla. hahaha

coco: I changed from Jubilee to Grandeur package. That could be the reason y? For the granduer package they do provide a live band but only a standard 3 pc jazz band and 2 sets of songs. I did top up because I changed from the 3 pc jazz band (1 singer 2 instrument) to 1 harpist and 1 singer, and increased from 2 sets to 3 sets of 45 mins of music and songs. May I ask which menu did you go for? I haven't went for any tasting but I have already agreed on my menu. I'm going to just take the tasting as a family meal and have it the week before the AD.

deb: usually how many sessions of laser do u need to go before u can see a improvement in the skin?

was wondering whether it will suit my acne prone skin.

licoaz> ya, ttz a huge lot of $$... hiaz

avatar82> original pkg already costs me abt $3.8k (coz i change the bridal car to BMW)

missy> ur investment in skin laser & lasik is long term... so very worth also... better than having photo albums which may eventually left aside collecting dust ba... how much in all u paid for ur skin laser & lasik? me considering lasik but hb disagrees

coco> ya, will get over only if the albums turn out nice... else heartache wor... lolz

deb> i like the photos lar... lolz... at least u can see a difference from a plain jane to someone more pleasing to look at ba... wahahaha

hello ladies.... there will be a 20% discount storewide at OG till 10 aug... so if u gals need to buy anything, can go there to take a look

michie> 3688 is alot for top-ups... but as long as u r happy and like the photos can liao

I've completed my food tasting last sun... will be changing some of the dishes and might swap 1 dish to a 2nd dessert... cos feel that 9 course dinner like too much liao

DS> lolz... yup, satisfied with the photos... shall wait for the layout

2 desserts... nice... nvr experience having 2 dessets at banquets though... i doubt i can do it for my wedding coz my relatives have diabetes history... lolz

licoaz> thanks babe

I am having 2 desserts too..but that's because 1 is a wedding cake. But altogether I only have 6 courses (fine dining portions) so I am hoping my guests will not leave hungry...

thiasy> i have only done it once but my gf who has done it say its good le. so going to try 2nd time.

michie> haha its nice to see pretty photos. album shld be nice cos u can tell them how u like it
show us pics when u get them ya..

Licoaz, mine's a wedding lunch n I don't remember they hv diff set of menu for luncheon. But because I don't hv a lot of guest too, I may upgrade to better menu if I can't fill my tables to min 15 tables Hahaha

DS: haha might be an interesting idea. I initially wanted to do a dessert buffet but the price that they quoted me was really too much so hv to give up the idea. After my food tasting I realised it's really hard to please everyone's taste bud. We enjoyed the dessert but my mum n aunt etc dun know how to appreciate at all... So having two dessert may solve thaw type of issue.

Missy: what's skin laser? I heard from friends b4 but dunno what exactly it is...
Heard that all the laser thingy is v painful n ex?

Coco, lunch is cool! I wish my parents would agree to lunch because we are doing away with many traditional stuff (I am not even wearing my wedding gown out of the house) and we have so much free time in the day. Turns out they still want the traditional dinner... oh well...by the way, when's ur AD?

ladies, im back frm LASIK. all is well and smooth
now looking fwd to perfect eyesight and have been dripping eye drop cos eyes are really dry!

coco>> those skin laser performed by dermatologists de

ya, exp and painful!!

coco> we requested to try 2 desserts during food tasting and they both turned out not bad...
and we r having 9 course dinner... some of the dishes seem repeating, so might want to change to another dessert lor... but hv yet to inform coordinator...

actually i also dunno is the coordinator suppose to call to follow up with us on the food tasting? cos my coordinator was not ard during the food tasting...

missy> congrats in having perfect eyesight in no time

but try to stay away from the pc at the moment... and also direct sunlight

Licoaz, ya we dun wan a too formal event that's why opted for lunch
my ad on 23rd which is a super hot wedding date of the yr hahaha

missy, congrats on regaining perfect eyesight
i tot we supposed to leave our face alone 2 to 3 mths b4 ad? Will there be side effect? Sorry I'm just curious...

Ds, my co ordinator wasn't ard during the tasting too but she called up htb today to ask for feedback. It's better that u drop them a mail listing all the comments on every dish to avoid missing out anything

Ds, btw I was at og yesterday n bought a pair of shoes for my mummy, there wasn't any 20% wor. Any idea when it started? Cos we hv not buy any dresses for my MIL yet

DS>> i using iphone to reply u all :P

Deb>> yea, tom still need to go back for review. **excited** :D

coco>> as long as the laser is not invasive - meaning long downtime req, it should be ok.

Girls, watched the news last night, bad news for us, they said all the prices for air tickets will go up 20 to 50%. Japan, tw n Korea up to 30%, Europe 20 to 50%! Sigh....

Heard that now already starting to raise, by yr end will be v ex. They said it's due to shortage of flights, they cAn't meet the high demand

I'm torn between digio and sophia, can anyone who've been to both give some comments and comparisons about them please? thanks!!

2 months to AD and yet I'm still without gown and everything...