(2010/09) Sept Brides

hey lawli...sorry for the late reply, on MC for 2 days

anyway with rgds to ur qn, the chinese wordings u dun have to worry, T&T have a lot of templates there for u to choose from. Shirley even can tell u which one to use based on different situations...

missydoll: sure no prob...u can email shirley at [email protected]

actually gals, u all have to be mentally prepared for those who dun even inform u last min when they dun wanna come...I nvr expected 1 of my frens to do this to me too. I was so disappointed with him that I struck him off my msn/FB list for good.

Jolene: Hey thanks. I'll look out for your link.

I am worried that they might be unhappy should I address them wrongly.

I don't think my parents and in-laws know how to write. They also can't really tell me verbally. Know of anyone who offers such service?

lawlipop77: Yeah, there are quite a number of considerations. I don't want them to reject my invitations should I write address them wrongly.

just following from icager's question about VIP table, i was wondering if need to include brother's gf. Cos if don't, then she doesn't really know anyone else at dinner. even if ask her to sit with my relatives, she might not be comfortable...

thomas: no problem, hope you are better now! i guess that is why need to go to printer that does weddings. If go to normal printer, it is gonna be a lot cheaper but need to give them the exact wording!

lawli: not getting any better, may hv to extend my MC for 1 more day tml

if u have space at ur vip table, I guess can include ur bf's gf in otherwise its for immediate relatives/family members only.

how to address ur relatives is the tricky part I agree...luckily for mine, they do not mind how I write as long as they get my invites.

does anyone have any inkling how to address the relatives? 'm also not sure and dun wanna write wrongly and offend them later... my parents and PIL have no idea too..

do we need to give an invitation to our grandparents? how abt parents' unmarried siblings?

Lawli : Yes i've to follow their requests if not life wld be hard for me in future i guess..lolx

Coden : Thanks for yr advice. Will have to discuss with hubby on the VIP table issue. Not sure if there are enough seats would i be able to include hubby's paternal/maternal grandmothers and my grandma.
Have to check with the hotel co-ordinator if they have a VIP table that can accomodate 20 ppl.

Thomas : Wish u a speedy recovery.

I dont think my parents and PIL know the correct way of addressing the relatives in chinese toO..

wayang80: by right, no need to give invitation cards to grandparents nor parents siblings. Verbally invites needed only.

by left: some ppl do give invitation cards to parents siblings.. so it all depends on ur parents n PIL.. =)

thomas: wish u a speedy recovery! i agree with u that the strain of virus circulating is pretty nasty... kenna it sometime in may too..

thanks coden!

if we wanna give out the invites to parents' siblings, wat's the right way of addressing?

Below are some of the addressing that my sis use for her wedding invites..

1. å®¶XXèƒžå¼Ÿé˜–åºœå°æ˜‡ - Dad's Younger Brother

2. å®¶XXèƒžå…„é˜–åºœå°æ˜‡ - Dad's Elder Brother

3. å®¶XXå ‚å¼Ÿé˜–åºœå°æ˜‡ - Dad's Younger Cousin brother

4. å®¶XXå ‚å¼Ÿè´¤ä¼‰ä¿ªå°æ˜‡ - Dad's Cousin brother

5. XXXå ‚å¦¹å©¿é˜–åºœå°æ˜‡ - Dad's Cousin Sisters' Husband

6. XXXå§»å…„é˜–åºœå°æ˜‡ - Mum's Elder Brother/Sister Husband

7. XXXå§»å¼Ÿé˜–åºœå°æ˜‡ - Mum's Young Brother

8. XXXè´¤ç”¥é˜–åºœå°æ˜‡ - Mum's Nephew

9. XXXè´¤ç”¥å©¿ä¼‰ä¿ªå°æ˜‡ - Mum's Niece husband

10. XXXäº²å®¶é˜–åºœå°æ˜‡ - Married Bro/Sis PIL

PS: (é˜–åºœå°æ˜‡ - invites whole family.)
(è´¤ä¼‰ä¿ªå°æ˜‡ - Both Husband & wife)

Dad's Brother's Son - å®¶XXä¾„å„¿é˜–åºœå°æ˜‡/è´¤ä¼‰ä¿ªå°æ˜‡

Dad's Brother's Daughter Husband - XXä¾„å¥³å©¿é˜–åºœå°æ˜‡/è´¤ä¼‰ä¿ªå°æ˜‡

Dad's Sister's Son - XXå¤–ç”¥é˜–åºœå°æ˜‡/è´¤ä¼‰ä¿ªå°æ˜‡

Dad's Sister's Daughter Husband - XXå¤–ç”¥å©¿é˜–åºœå°æ˜‡/è´¤ä¼‰ä¿ªå°æ˜‡

only need to give invites if there are married.

PS: (é˜–åºœå°æ˜‡ - invites whole family.)
(è´¤ä¼‰ä¿ªå°æ˜‡ - Both Husband & wife)

not sure if its correct.. they are given to me by my mum. hope it helps...

thank you very much, coden and of coz ur mom
the addresssings are really helpful!

paiseh... but is there any difference between Mum's Brother's Son/Daughter and Mum's Sister's Son/Daughter? Or we can juz use XXXè´¤ç”¥é˜–åºœå°æ˜‡ (Mum's Nephew) and XXXè´¤ç”¥å©¿ä¼‰ä¿ªå°æ˜‡ (Mum's Niece husband) in general?

sorry for bombarding so many qns here! quite lost in this sea of chinese traditions...

mum said..

Mum's Brother Son: XXä¾„å„¿é˜–åºœå°æ˜‡/è´¤ä¼‰ä¿ªå°æ˜‡

Mum's Brother Daughter Husband: XXä¾„å¥³å©¿é˜–åºœå°æ˜‡/è´¤ä¼‰ä¿ªå°æ˜‡

are the following correct?

Mom's Sister Son: XXå¤–ç”¥é˜–åºœå°æ˜‡/è´¤ä¼‰ä¿ªå°æ˜‡
Mom's Sister Daughter Husband: XXå¤–ç”¥å©¿é˜–åºœå°æ˜‡/è´¤ä¼‰ä¿ªå°æ˜‡

thank you so much

yes.. correct.. but pls double check with the elder ppl b4 u put it down. cos i think there are diff version.. but this is wat we wrote for our relatives.. =D

ya, will check with the elder pple before writing down. u r a great help, coden! send my thanks to ur mom too! thank you!

how's everyone's wedding prep coming along? we have less than 4 mths now to our AD!

u are welcome.. =D

i have 103days to go before my AD comes..

now only waiting for
- food tasting,
- see my ps layout,
- send my pics in for signatory board printing..
- still thinking if i wan to do montage..
- also my card insert..
- have yet book for my HM

the rest all done liao.. =D

hello all,

Wow, a great lot of help on the chinese wordings. thanks all and coden! i am also in the process of sourcing for printing and will be looking up this wkend on the text for inserts. it is very helpful to find reference here. thx so much

coden> u r fast! almost done with most stuff.
what is signatory board printing?

icager > on the VIP table, muz really check with your parents and HTB's parents. i also having the question now as i am not sure if they prefer to be all on the VIP table or split into 2 tables. just asked my mum and she said she is fine either but will let me know..

Jolene > same as u, i have roughly drafted the guestlist. headache part for me is colleagues, not sure if i should invite only close ones or mass-invite (paiseh if some finds out i invite or not?)

How do you all plan to indicate if invitees can bring partners/children etc? any opinions?

coden> u r fast! ya, wat is signatory board printing? sthg like guestbook but poster size??

ev3> having same headache as u too... not sure if ok to invite close colleagues only... any doing mass inviting?

if sms invitees and ask how many pple are coming along for banquet... is that alrite?

Ev3: i plan invitees that most prob will bring their partner & children along.. so that i will knoe raftly how many tables i need

Ev3 & Wayang: The Signatory Board is a 5feet long board that has our photos printed on it.. then at the bottom part, will have a white space for my guest to sign. then it can be use like a photo frame to b hang on the wall.

Hello All,

Sorry that this is off topic, but I would like to ask anyone know what is the difference between the various type of BA Wang Shampoo - Advertised by Jackie Chan?

good day everyone...

back from short getaway... but seems so fast... today back to work.. but dun really feel well.. hopefully not dengue fever cos kena quite a lot of mozzies bites in batam =(

joleen: I do meet up with willyoumarryme before confirming them... I think its better to meet them up to talk..

just cnfm my food tasting date... but still have lots to do... just yesterday, one of my cousins told me that she might not be able to be my jiemei cos she worry abt her baby... to avoid her last min din turn up.. I told her I will find my fren.. haiz... hopefully last min wont have any more changes...

Jolene: Thanks for the reference link. It will come in handy. I manage to find a colleague who is willing to help me on this.

Coden: I thought it's "阖府统请" to mean inviting whole family.

I have never seen "é˜–åºœå°æ˜‡" before. Sounds funny, and "å°æ˜‡" doesn't ring a bell in meaning to me.

Hi hi
Sorry to digress but does anyone have any idea how we can clean satin heels? Wore them for PS & they got bit dirty..got to wear them again for AD..

Chilli: well.. thats what it was wat my mum give.. and we wrote that on my sis wedding last yr.. anyway.. alot of diff version gg ard.. just write watever u are comfortable with..

and yes.. "阖府统请" to mean inviting whole family."è´¤ä¼‰ä¿ªå°æ˜‡" means Both Husband & wife

blinkie.. mayb get wet tissues to wipe it?

coden.. can jus write xxx夫妇 to mean husband and wife? hee.. shortcut... but i tink also depends if the relative mind all these anot. cos if you have to write in chinese, does it mean the relatives dun understand english?

blinkie10: when i bought my shoes from leaping lizards, also bought a shoe cleaner from them. They said it is good for removing stains from satin. They also mentioned that can buy at NTUC, so maybe you want to try to find it there? I can't remember the name offhand but i can check tonight and let you know...

huisi: one of my jiemei just told me she is pregnant! Very happy for her, yet i think shouldn't make her do too much cos she must take care...

everyone: super stressed. I just started reno yesterday so this is one additional thing on top of planning for wedding.

morning all...

lawlipop: do let me know the name too.. i need to get to clean my heels... if not i was thinking whether can send to colorwash or le shine to clean it

huisi > take care and drink lots of water.
lawlipop > remember to follow up with reno.. ideally would be to go down at least once a day, or once every 2 to 3 days.
Heehee, if you know what you need, can start buying now. GSS ma.

Aiyo, I have not even confirm my jiemeis. Feeling so lazy after the PS.

lawli: better check with ur master if ur JM can attend ur wedding cos there might be a clash in luck (chong xi)

reno is very stressful I agree...however stress can be minimised if u go for a good and trusty contractor/id. luckily for me, my reno experience was quite a pleasant one.

huishan: its up to individual and of cos ur parents & PIL mind or not lor.. if they dun mind u to write it in English.. then go ahead..

randyce: sure will check and let you girls know.

belinda: yup, i am trying to go down everyday if possible. but at least once every few days. especially since they doing hacking now, i am scared they will hack the wrong thing!

thomas: yup i heard about chong xi. But i am catholic so not too concerned ba. My dad also probably not too concerned. But i am also checking with my JM cos it works both way and want to make sure her family is ok with her coming...

in another way, when the groom comes in, ur fren will have to go into other room or not face the groom. then wun chiong tio her baby.. but most impt.. her PIL or parents mind or not..

thomas/coden: thanks, will check with her. actually now i don't think she should help with all the activities also. best if she just help plan, but get the others to do the work. really hope she can attend cos she is a really really good friend...

huishan: I did try with wet tissue & it was bit better but thought if there was some 'cleaner' for satin I don't mind trying.

lawlipop77: Ya..perhaps I can try with Anna Nucci too. If you manage to find your cleaner can let me know too? Thanks lots!

blinkie: sure! will let you know. I think Bata may sell also.

any of you girls going to custom-make your JM's dresses? just wondering if it will be ex. and will you be paying for your JM's dresses?

huisi: Thanks soo much... =)

Lawli: For me, I wun be custom - make my JM's dresses cuz e colour most prob will be white..n most of them hav white..so dun wan them to spend extra $$..initally wana choose hot pink..but will worry the tone dey get is different..soo save e trouble..hee

Will be collecting my albums, chuang tou zhao, etc dis wkend..n goin down T dragons nxt wed (if nothing crops up)..cuz plan to giv out cards bit by bit in mth of jul..hope im nt too late..
oreadi done up first draft of guest list..going to look thru again and update contacts n addresses if needed..

btw, juz to check for the cards..did any of u printed more than what the hotel provide?

lawli: Not sure abt custom making JM dresses..they may alr have something they can use.
In fact, am still thinking about the colours..was thinking of pink, white & olive..maybe a combination of 2 of the colours..have you decided on your colour theme?

Joleen: I'm sure u're not too late in giving out the invites in Jul. I haven't printed mine yet.. :P

joleen: haha, yes, same as blinkie. i also haven't printed my cards yet so i don't think you are too late. I am printing another set of cards for church.

blinkie: my theme will be champagne gold.