(2010/07) July 2010 BTB

Mr Chua> I personnally do online shopping, so it depends on your ownself. I just go browse the webby and the shoes quite nice and affordable. For me,I will buy one pair and try. LOL... Maybe u can consider silver which will match your pink evening gown and wedding gown. Once you confirm ur dress, normally the bridal shop will not mind u taking the pics as end of day u will wear during AD for PS wor.

But for my case, as I am as tall as my HTB, so I have to customise my shoes. I am now thinking of leapin lizard. Hehe.. Any other recommendations from u girls?

Ellen> I am thinking of AMORE too, but bit expensive. Which branch are u attending now? I am eyeing on Tampines One which is nearer to my house and got swimming pool!!! keke~

maoushroom> Thanks for helping to ask the contact~ Ohh.. my posture not good, shoulder bit hunchback, so thinking of learning yoga or pilates to correct my posture. Last time I learn a few lessons of yoga,wah, my posture super straight lo.. but now slack liao due to part time study and car learning. haha.. Somemore 4 more mths gg for gown selection liao, so must do last min 'homework', if not will be very ugly. *Pengz*

NUBRA -> from what I see, u girls do realli suggest wearing nubra when we wear gowns. Realli a need ma? what abt those padding in the gowns? I do understand that it do not really give the support but I heard from my bridal shop that it all depends on how u push ur boobs together. unless for those whose boobs are small, den u might wan to consider nubra to help to give the cleverage

Ellen.. think I will tok to my hubby abt it. We realli confirm going to Yishun Safra le since is near both our house as well as relatives & friends too. furthermore I like the function room. No pillar at all to block the place at all.

Ellen, Maoushroom & Ching Ching... That webby is given by a colleague. She told me that the sizes are limited due to extremely low prices.. the owner is even willing to bring to our office to let us try. we dun have to pay 1st. After trying, if we dun like, we can dun pay. maybe becos of this sentence, I think I shall try getting a pair to try 1st.

Initially, I dun dare to buy online as worried some cutting of the shoes might not be suitable for me. I admit I got big foot esp the front part lols... btw, I oso wondering whether if I would to buy the shoes now, is it too early??? my mtm gown fitting is in Jan'10 & PS in Mar'10. so is it really too early to buy? there are friends who told me, buy early & keep wearing it to season our shoe & leg b4 the AD. so on the AD, I would feel comfortable wearing it.. wear it everyday den later spoil b4 AD how?? any idea on how to season our shoes while we can make sure it still look new & nice huh?

Ching Ching.. ya, I will get sliver shoes cos I think it can match with my hot pink EG. dun think can get too much of bling bling as I requested my designer to have put bling bling on my gown... guess is too many, it will be over doing.. lols

Ellen.. When I buy shoes, I will bring my hubby along. I will make him stand beside me after I wear the shoe on to see whether the height is ok. haha..

Wah gals, all of you wrote so much... I am getting quite lost in the thread. Adding on my 2 cents worth.

welcome SS & maoushroom to this thread... great to have more peeps here as well... it is one of the most turbulent and emotional period of our lives bah and thus is always good to have a support team.

Nubra topic: hahahah.. my goodness, for the longest time i tot the nubra is the brand of the bra.. it is actually a type issit? Then I think have to look around.

Also, I am not sure if a good cleavage is suitable for all gown types as well as the "zao xing" that you want to achieve bah. For my PS, I got one gown that shows a super deep cleavage but after I show it to friends and all, its the least popular as it doesn't gel with who I am.

So possibly select the gowns and then decide if a nubra is needed? Neng Sheng Ze Sheng since we are all low on vit M.

Mrs Chua: your AD is at Safra Yishun ah.. I was considering that place but the previous restaurant moved out... so who moved in? Does that mean you are staying near? I am at St 81 near katib stadium

ya, I havent paid deposit yet... cos I am applying for a particular credit card which can be used to obtain some rebate and thus asking the banquet manager to hold the date for me first.. but anytime he say got another person wanting that date, he will call me and we will then rush down to pay with another card lor.

But I agree that there are horror stories of double booking etc.. so if you ve already decided, then just put down your deposit lah...

In terms of shoes, I duno yet as no gown for the final WG and EG. But I did buy 3 pairs for the PS and likely to keep them for the actual day. I din think about the height that much even though the shoes will make me about the same height as the HB... Heres to share my shoe contacts:

White WG heels (very comfy) - about 90 bucks from Anna Nucci Far East Plaza. There is one outlet at Harbourfront centre as well. Can add one row of detachable bling bling also

Black EG heels (very comfy) - has bling and the service is good. I got from Sinderella at Cuppage (where somerset mrt comes out, you hit a traffic light. Cross it and cut into the bars and you will find it in a shophouse... very charming place.. worth a visit). Got it at sale price, so about 65

Red Kwa heels (very comfy too)- about the same price as above. Sinderella as well.

I get shoes on the basis that they can be worn to other dinners and occasions. So I wont be stuck with real bridal shoes that I will only wear once... a bit sayang...

All shoe pic are posted on my blog too! And I think the most impt thing for shoes is must be comfy.. .what is use of shoes that are gd to look at (nobody see under gown most of time) but painful to wear... then cannot enjoy. go try them before buying

Ching Ching & Ellen: Amore is quite ex rite? I am with California fitness... cos i dun really care who is looking at me.. haha.. so i just go in and do my own stuff... so even with beefy men all around, no difference.. and cheap too!

Mrs Chua> Does the owner sell flats too?? Hehe.. Maybe u can go for shiny material, without the bling bling thingy.I have saw those shoes with ribbon behind. Maybe u can consider it~ =)

Blur btb> can i see your blog?? wah... then like that i will only start buying shoes after my gown selection to match it. Amore is most expensive among all the fitness centres that I enquire. Now I am thinking whether to join the CC once a week. but my HTB say not enough. So trying to find another class to make it at least twice a week.

blur_btb... now is Pin Si Restaurant. Based on my research, Pin Si has great reviews abt their food. one of my friend's sis held her ROM there this Sep. the food review is good. I stay @ Central, just 5-7 min walk to Yishun Safra. hehe... oic.. I oso thought of applying for credit card. but had yet to take action.. haha...

Guess will drop by those places u mentioned to have a look at their shoes next week
oh ya, care to give me ur blog add?? I would like to have a look at ur lovely shoes...

Ching Ching... sell flats??? u mean those flat shoes?? hmm.. no wor.. they onli have high heels and they onli have limited stock from what I heard from my colleague..

Hey Ching Ching> Here is the contact. Please email the person, [email protected]. She is Geok Hong. Hope it helps.

Mrs Chua> Since they are willing to bring the shoes over to try, I think it will be okie. Should try it!

Seriously, I don't think I'm going to buy shoes for my AD/pre wedding shot lehz coz don't think anyone can see what I am wearing underneath and I have shoes for gowns too, unless it is for symbolism/tradition (you need to have a pair of new shoes)?

But since your gown will be out on Jan, you might want to wait for the design before you decide your shoe design. You will still have time to season your shoes. Unless, you are getting a neutral colour &/ design. Then you don't have to wait until you get your gown before you decide the design of the shoe?

And to season the shoes, you can use candle and wax the sides of the shoes. It helps. I always do that to my new shoes. And to maintain it, I read it from an article. If the seller were to give you squashed papers or padding that is placed inside the shoes, don't throw those away. Always put it inside the shoes, to maintain the shape of the shoe. If those squashed papers or padding are not inside the shoes, you can just take some newsapapers, squash them, and put them inside the tip of the shoes...

Mrs Chua> oopx.. pai seh pai seh.. ya, flat shoes...

maoushroom> Thanks alot!! So she conduct personal classes? or having class at certain place?

To wax the internal shoes? Have to do that often before wearing the shoes? I always have blisters wearing new shoes. =(

ChingChing> Geok Hong does personal classes and mass classes too if I'm wrong. You might want to check with her. Later I say wrong information. Very paiseh. Haha.

Eh...the waxing of shoes..can just wax those back part of the shoe or those area that "bite" your feet. And of course, wax before you start to wear it. But I think wax religiously for 2-3 times around those areas should be okie. Alternatively, you can wear your shoes first, wax later also no problem. This method should work but there are some really stubborn shoes...sometimes I wax them, also no use. (For such shoes, might have to bring to cobbler, some have special ointment that could be applied to reduce friction).

hey girls... I had just spoken to my banquet coordinator regarding to the deposit. I ask her how much is the deposit we have to pay, she say 2-3k. As hubby have a few friends who only pay 1k as deposit (to all couples like us, money is very impt now so whatever can save, save.. so that is y they onli pay 1k as deposit). so may I check with u girls, how much u all pay for the deposit? What are the things I have to take note when signing the contract??

maoushroom.. I already ordered 2 pairs of shoes with my colleagues to try. they say shld be able to try it by next week as long as they have the stock for it. will let u all know how it is..

I oso heard of waxing the shoes but I simply too lazy to try. haha.. think I will give it a try this time after I buy the shoes.. as for whether the new shoes has any tradition, I'm nt too sure...

the design of the gown, I already know cos I'm the one who came up with the design with the designer & hubby & friends. I jus think I cannot get too bling bling kind of shoes as I had ask my designer to put lots of bling bling for my gowns. haha if nt wil be too bling liao.. lols

Ching Ching.. I oso always have blisters wearing new shoes. sometimes will wear until the blister bleed.. I got big foot at the front, so always kana the front portion.. as for behind, no mater how much of plaster I put oso no use.. haha

Mrs Chua> I think the deposit really depends on the hotel/restaurant decision. There isn't really a standard rate of deposit. Like that time I asked 4 Seasons, they said deposit was 5k. But Conrad was 2k. Now Shang says 25% of the total banquet cost. Therefore, I guess if the coordinator can compromise, then it is okie? If not, have to go with the flow........

Anyway, take the waxing of the shoes as an exercise, finger exercise. For the sake of feeling comfortable on your AD
But better try out after you wax because sometimes you need to wax more frequently.

Hey Mrs Chua, I have those big foot at the front too. Very sad lehz. Have limited designs that I can wear. Can't wear those pointed shoes coz very bad for the front of my feet....

And I have problems with those blister also but lately, I will feel the material of the shoes before I buy. Nowadays, I go for those plastic or cloth like material shoes and are quite comfortable. In the past, I thought expensive shoes= comfortable shoes...but realized not necessary true. Recently, I bought a pair that was below 15bucks, it is soooo comfortable

Maoushroom >> 25% is a lot leh! What if u increase tables how? Nid to top up??

Me tinking of jus buyin shoes from Anna Nucci. Cheaper. Saving money too...tot of making a scrapbook of e whole process but it's so ex!!!

Hello Fellcy> I don't know yet coz I have not sat down to sign any contract with Shang yet. But will update you all again. Meeting them next next week. Maybe they will change the terms and conditions?

What kind of scrapbook are you doing? The entire wedding proces??? Wah, won't that be very time consuming but sweet.....
I'm sure there are cost-saving measures to prepare the scrapbook!!! We can brainstorm. Haha

Wah the thread is very active now... Good good

You gals are fast... I haven't even thought about gowns yet, let alone shoes / accessories etc... LOL. I'm flat-footed so already foresee difficulty searching for shoes~

Ching Ching > I normally go to Amore Woodlands branch, sometimes Jurong Point/Park Mall/Bugis. Actually, the only Amore branch I haven't been to is Heartland Mall... Haha. Tampines One's pool is nice!

I joined Amore cos it's near my home and workplace, and it's all female... Have been with them for long time and too lazy to change to new place haha.

Btw, you can take a look at my friend's Pilate blog: http://p-latte.blogspot.com/

Mrs Chua > Agree with maoushroom... All places have different rates for deposit... Mine is 3k le.

Think I will finalise the banquet contract and place deposit in this few days... Next to settle will be... the cocktail reception for church wedding.

Btw, wonder which credit card is the best for wedding banquet? Hee hee...

Mr Chua> I have pay 3k for my banquet deposit. The most impt things have to check is both names, wedding date, timing and all the terms/ freebies that they throw in to you. Make sure all are clear before u sign and dun feel paiseh of asking them to make amendments. I have make my coordinator amend for me a few rounds till everything are right.

Same here lo.. I put plasters and even buy the scholl stickers to paste in the shoes still useless. So angry till wanna barefoot to work. haha..

Maoushroom> where u get the shoes? I also buy those cloth material shoes and spend really alot. But really very comfortable and less problem. where do u get ur shoes now? i buy from nine west, their shoes are very comfortable.

Fellcy> wah~~ Ni heng you xin... maybe can go bras basah and buy the materials. much cheaper there and u might find something interesting to decorate the book.

Ellen> Yah, real active now~ hehe... I have go to the webby intro by Mrs Chua to view the gown designs... really alot of ideas. gonna print out and show my coordinator. thanks, i will go and have a look at ur frenz's blog~ u can check with ur coordinator which card got promotion. for my case, my HTB use uob card as they will give one complimentary table when using UOB. =)

Ellen> I dun noe which credit card is the best for wedding banquet lehz...Got such thing?? Haha. Perhaps depends what bank tie-ups the hotel/restaurant have. I'm going to use Citibank Premier Miles to pay lah (coz I've been accumulating points) and hopefully after the wedding, with the points, can exchange an air ticket to go somewhere far.

ChingChing> Nowadays, I buy shoes from URS, so far their cloth material shoes are goooood at about 30plus? And design good for work too. And I bought one at Far East (the very affordable pair which I mentioned). It is at the basement. Their designs are fine. If I go there again, will keep a look out for the brand name.

9 West shoes are quite ex but nice. I have not tried on yet coz they all seem to focus on heels?? I dun really like to wear heels though they are lovely!

Thanks ladies for ur advices. Anyway, hubby & me decided to pay 1k as deposit 1st. Cordinator oso ok with it.

As for which credit card, I no check with my coordinator leh.. nt sure which bank they tie up with. Anyway, I'm thinking of signing a UOB card as from what I see & heard, UOB has a lot of shopping, dinning privileges.. hoping to take advantage of it.. haha...

As for shoes, I tried alot of brands from C&K, URS & DMK.. hardly can find one suitable shoe for me.. so sad.. will go down this weekend or next to those places which u all recommend me to have a look at the shoes.. Hope to find some nice ones..

Maoushroom> URS has cloth shoes meh?? never see before lehz... think must explore le. 9 west have flat shoes as I quite tall, so cannot wear heels.. It's kinda ex, but very comfortable, worth the price.

Mrs Chua> That's good and ur coordinator very accomondating. Citibank card also can consider. If u signing up UOB, can consider UOB lady, more privileges and got free access to California fitness.

Ching Ching> URS got cloth ones..but not always. So nowadays, when I see such shoes, I will either buy double pair or buy and keep it so that I have comfy shoes to wear whenever I need it. I shall go and check out 9 West shoes but now not the period to spend lehz.....Temptation....Haha

Nowadays, there are alot of benefits/ prvileges when it comes to credit card but we must be careful not to overspend...coz the shopping can be irresistable!!! *Grinz*

Anyway, do you gals still shop to buy things (besdies wedding related items)????

Ching Ching.. ytd night when we spoke on the phone, she actually say 2-3k again. but I reply her, that time u say 1k oso can ah.. she reply, I got say ah?? I say ya, den she say ok la ok la.. 1k lo... haha..

actually we arrange to meet up this Sat to discuss the contract & she have to email me the contract so that we can have a look b4 going down.. but she no ytd night & she off today.. so sianz..

maoushroom.. I still shop, simply cannot resist shopping temptation but I will tell myself must control lo... in order to resist my tempation, what I did is that, for the past 3-4mths, on my payday, I will quickly transfer a sum of money to my save as u earn account so that my bank will limited money to spend. That is the way how I save money.. if nt, I will spend all my money one.. haha...

Mrs Chua> I do that too. Transfer a sum of money so that I won't spend. But coz of this,nowadays, abit sian to go shopping centres because most of the time, cannot spend. So sad....so sian.

I suspect this will go on even after the wedding...can spend but not so much anymore..coz have to save for family, etc....

Mrs Chua> wah~ li hai~~ lol..

email to her and request for an answer before meetup... worst, postpone ur appt with her....if she really want your business,she will comply de.. for my case,I have postpone few times before meetup to sign the contract..

maoushroom + Mr Chua> Same here!!! I also cannot resist shopping, especially online shopping, worst of all. Seriously I didn't really control myself too well, luckily my HTB always keep an eye on me to make sure that I dun anyhow spend. Even I go lesser to shopping malls,frenz bday, housewarming, bb full month and wedding dinner red packet already exhaust my pocket le... now have to drink milo with bread liao.. LOL *pengz*

Ching Ching.. I had call her but she off today. so her colleague had email me the contract. but guess have to realli look carefully every single details b4 deciding..

how I wish got lots of money now too.. money come, money come.. haha

Haha gals...today is Friday and the next 2 days are weekend!!! Sooooo please...watch your pocket.Don't anyhow spend wor......

Mrs Chua> Must really read every detail carefully. Otherwise, sign liao. That's it.

Oh anyway, have you gals bought your wedding band? Need to check with you all, is it immediate full payment, you get the ring? Or need to wait? How is the payment arrangement (Full payment immediately????)

maoushroom... I read once le. highlighted impt points. but duno whether the contract is for the benefit for them or for me.. can someone pls advice me how to know if the contract is for the benefit for them or hubby & me??

After reading through the contract, I would like to check with u girls on the following...
1. Beverage
- Free flow of soft drinks & chinese tea from 1900 to 2230 hours for 11 tables & above
- Free flow of beer for 25 tables and above from 1900 to 2230 hours
-> jus wondering is it normal for free beverage to serve only during 1900 to 2230 hours? what if my dinner ends at 2300 hours??

2. Food Tasting
- within one month before event date.
-> when should we go down for food tasting?

- complimentary table of 10 persons for food tasting is only for above 50 tables. For 25 tables to 49 tables, food tasting is only for choice of 5 dishes.
-> Does that mean if we only have 40 tables, food tasting is only for choice of 5 dishes? not all 8-9 dishes ma?

3. Optional arrangements
- Should you required service crews to extend working hours after 11pm, special rate $12 per hours for per staff will be levied for their OT charges & midnight transport fees charges.
-> anyone have this? how shld we deal with this?

4. Cancellation
- if cancel less than 60 days prior to event - pay 50% of total value booked
- if cancel less than 30 days prior to event - pay 100% of total value booked

5. Guaranteed Attendance
- Any changes made to the guaranteed attendance must be advised in writing 14 days prior to the date of the event, only an increase in attendance will be accepted. Should the attendance fall below the minimum guarantee, the restaurant reserves the right to levy a charge on the reduction.
-> does that mean that if we would to confirm that the guaranteed attendance is 300 guests, we can increase it to 350 if we want to? but if we want to reduce it to 250, they can charge us for that. Guess this is the norm right?
-> but does that mean that it would always be beta to give the minimum guaranteed attendance rather than telling them too much den later cannot meet the minimum, have to pay a charge??

Maoushroom.. I bought my wedding band 2yrs ago for my ROM. for me, we paid a deposit den pay the full payment upon collection. You do not need to wait if the shop have the design & size u want. but if no size, normally have to wait for few weeks or months.

Mrs Chua>
1. Beverage
- Free flow of soft drinks & chinese tea from 1900 to 2230 hours for 11 tables & above
-> What time does the use of venue end? If it ends at 2230, then I guess it is okie to serve drinks till 2230 too. So, you have to check what time the venue end. Some places end at 2300.

5. Guaranteed Attendance
- Any changes made to the guaranteed attendance must be advised in writing 14 days prior to the date of the event, only an increase in attendance will be accepted. Should the attendance fall below the minimum guarantee, the restaurant reserves the right to levy a charge on the reduction.
-> does that mean that if we would to confirm that the guaranteed attendance is 300 guests, we can increase it to 350 if we want to? but if we want to reduce it to 250, they can charge us for that. Guess this is the norm right?
Yes!!! You always reduce the number first in case cannot meet, very stressful de.....But you have to make sure that place can cater to your potential "maximum" number of guests too!

I think at the end of the day, the hotel/restaurant would want to protect their interests but it is understandable. But you just try your best to negotiate and see what you can get to make you happy too
???

Anyway, where is your wedding banquet????

maoushroom...
1. I'm nt sure what time is the use of the venue until. as stated in the contract, move in time is 7pm, move out time is 11pm.
5. Based on the wedding package they sent me, it is stated that there is ample space for 50 tables and above. in the contract, it was stated that minimum number of guests is 400 but according to them, they able to take in 15 table only too. I even saw one banquet which only have ard 13-15 tables.. so, I think I realli need to confirm with them on their minimum requirements.

I guess like what u say, they oso wan to protect themseleves ah.. but it seems not beneficial to us.. haha

my banquet venue is at Yishun Safra.

btw, would like to check... this contract which we are signing for now...
do it have to state like e.g. wedding favours, complimentary emcee, free parking etc etc (those listed in their wedding package) to be listed in the contract too???

Maoushroom> I have bought my wedding band le.. at Poh Heng during their sales... less than a thousand for one pair... with ant size diamond.. I pay on the spot all once, then collect the rings few days later with the size I want.lol...but yet to crave wordings. Dunno what to crave, any suggestions ladies? I seldom heard to place deposit, usually pay at all once... Weekend must stay at home le, endure endure~ less shopping..lol

Mrs Chua> I also hope that money can drop from the sky, like that no need to trouble liao...

For the beverage, I will suggest the beer to start during the dinner. Maybe you can discuss this with your coordinator to start during dinner and end during dinner too since u will not start during the cocktail session. This is told by my coordinator that some ppl drunk during cocktail reception and create scenes, so she advise me to start during dinner session and only soft drinks before dinner serve,which I agree to her point. Usually dinner will end around 10.30pm latest.. if u r worry that it will delay, tell ur main coordinator (jie mei/ buddies) to make sure that all the guests to be seated at 8pm to start on time and help to speed up the group phototaking session. That's how I help my frenz' wedding and we manage to get it done before 10.30pm.

Food tasting will be one month before, but u can request to be earlier. My frenz taught me to go on the same day whereby someone is holding their dinner,ask them to prepare one table for ur food tasting with the same banquet cook team. Preparation for one food tasting table is easy, but the real standard u will only get to kno when the team is preparing alot of tables. She did that and turns out during her actual day, her food is up to a standard. That's what I am going to do too for my food tasting. Hehe~~ the no of dishes to taste think u have to negotiate again, if not, cold dishes and green vegetables dun taste ba.. since very common. Most impt is the shark fin and fish which many guest very particular.

The attendance apply same to my contract. If i going to reduce the tables, the cost of the guranteed tables still remains. So no choice but to think of ppl to invite. LOL... My advise is tell them the min tables u want to hold. For eg, if the ballroom min need 25 tables, just tell them 25 tables first.Once nearer, then tell them u need how many tables in total, from there increase slowly. Like that u will caught in the situation to invite guests to fill up the seats. =)

Mrs Chua> All the things that they promised such as the freebies, carpark coupons and etc must also be stated clearly in the contract.

ChingChing>Think it is time to shop for the wedding band. Keep procrastinating...Dun noe wat to buy.

Mrs Chua>Please remember to ask them what is the minimum requirement lehz...Very important so that you will know how many ppl you need to at least have...otherwise, burn big hole to top up those excess numbers...
Please also state all those freebies. Very important....

Anything, in doubt, must state down in black and white.

Okie..I will go and fill in the particulars!!!

Hi Mrs Chua, just my $0.02 worth

1. Beverage
-> jus wondering is it normal for free beverage to serve only during 1900 to 2230 hours? what if my dinner ends at 2300 hours??

>> Normally 2230 is enough de cos your guests won't really drink towards the end. I know many places indicate that drinks are provided for 4 hours (i.e. 1900-2300). If you are really uncomfortable with 2230, check with your coordinator if this can be extended.

2. Food Tasting
-> when should we go down for food tasting?

>> One month should be okie ba... I heard that pple normally go within 1~2 months before AD, but of course some will go earlier. My coordinator recommended 2 months though my contract stated one month. I guess it shouldn't be difficult to arrange your preferred time with your coordinator.

-> Does that mean if we only have 40 tables, food tasting is only for choice of 5 dishes? not all 8-9 dishes ma?

>> Yes... Hmmm your coordinator should have highlighted this to you beforehand le... Depending on your pacakage, it is quite common that the food-tasting "package" will be different according to the number of tables you have...

5. Guaranteed Attendance

>> Yea normal... it's better to cater less, but dun confirm too little just in case they don't have the resources for the last minute increase of guests
My hotel also requires me to confirm attendance 15 days before AD, i supposed by then we will have a good estimate on the number of guests ba... I also heard from friends that we should expect ~80% of the guests will turn up, dunno if it's applicable for everyone haha :P

Maoushroom, have you decided on your banquet venue?

wah suddenly so many new posts came out when I was typing my previous reply... hahaha....

Mrs Chua, thanks for posting the spreadsheet link again
btw, another idea is, instead of tasting just 5 dishes, maybe you can negotiate to taste all dishes, but for less pple (e.g. 5 or 6 pple instead 10 pple). See if your coordinator is flexible enough...

Ching Ching, your idea for food tasting is good... See if my hotel can arrange for that

Ellen> I'm going to Shang next next week to discuss things lohz. Think I'm going to drop Conrad liao. I hope to settle this banquet thingy soon...coz banquet venue is very important.

Imagine I have all the things in place...then forget...It will be super funny lohz

Anyway, ladies...have all of you ROM liao? My ROM is on the same day as my banquet lehz. If a few of you is having ROM + banquet on the same day, can we remind each other to register our solmenization date? I scare I forget....

maoushroom, I'm having my church wedding in afternoon and banquet at night, so you can consider me having "ROM" and dinner on same day ba

actually hor i haven't checked the ROM website on what to do hee hee... What you mean by register our solmenization date? *blur*

maoushroom> Yes~ time to buy wedding bands, but buy during sales... really got difference. Maybe u go and see which one u like and enquire the price first. When sales, then u go and buy. At least the saving can use for red packets. LOL

Same here, my solemnization will be the same as my AD. yeah yeah, let us remind one another on the registration of date~ I also scare that I forget... Hee~~

Ellen> its always better to have friend who getting married first before us. At least they can help to remind us what to look out for. wahaha. I will be doing that 3 mths before my AD. =)

Ching Ching, maybe becos today is Friday? LOL... Actually now many pple doing ROM and AD together to same some $$ leh. One less date to remember too... haha

maoushroom, okie... I think that's the online thing that my church secretary reminded me on (which i haven't read hahaha). I'm having the church wedding at my own church, Grace (S.C.C.) Church at Queen Street. I suppose you are member of Newton Life Church then?

Ching Ching... good idea from ur coordinator on the beverage part. think I will discuss with my coordinator on that...

my colleague dinner in dec'09, she had went for her food tasting somewhere ard Sep'09. was thinking it was too early but guess her wedding in Dec'09, a super peak period... so that is y they would need her to go down earlier

that time I think my coordinator did mentioned that food tasting will be on weekdays, cannot weekend de. can't rem whether she said or I read it from somewhere... Is there anyway where can negotiate with them that food tasting to be on weekends? when they have banquet, they still can prepare food tasting ah? scare they will tell me, cannot...

Thanks Ching Ching.. u gave me the idea of what dishes I can request for to try for food tasting. but is it norm cannot try all the dishes????

ok.. think I need to check with them on my how much is their minimum... inviting too many guests also prob... too little, oso problem haha

Mrs Chua, so far from what i've seen, it's more common that they let you try all dishes but for less pple (say, 6 pple instead 10 pple). it's the first time i heard about less dishes but for 10 pple haha...

Also, it's normal that food tasting will be on weekday... but i guess you can check with your coordinator... try your luck...

maoushroom...Ok, I will rem to ask them the minimum requirements tmr when I meet up with them.. oh ya, get them to include every single freebies in the package to the contract... think tmr wont be able to sign the contract one, tmr go down discuss den get them amend anything if necessary den go back read through again throughly b4 signing on the dotted line...

Ellen.. not 2 cents worth la, is valuable advice to me lo

-> Banquet : will try to ask them if can extend to 2300 hours.

-> Food Tasting : I think ur coordinator recommended 2 mths b4 as to give them ample time to order the food supply etc etc.. I think our food tasting can be treated as mother day dinner since mother day is 2mths b4 our wedding.. haha
-> choice of 5 dishes : they did state in the wedding package but I thought normally is give 1 table for all the dishes to be served in the banquet. in that way, den we get to try all the dishes... but it seems I'm wrong.. haha

-> guaranteed attendance : my banquet venue shld have ample space. from what I know & had seen when I drop by the place in Sep, they will open up function room 1 plus the restaurant for us if we have 30-35 tables. Function room 2 can be open if we have more than 40 tables.. what we worried is that the function room belong to Yishun Safra, if we ask for 30 tables now, they onli open function room 1 for us. but last min we increase to 40, they cannot give us the function room 2. it might be booked by other guests thr Yishun Safra. Guess have to check with them on this too.. dun wan later cannot increase den got prob

-> food tasting.. another idea too to try all dishes for smaller number of pple per table... will try to ask them tmr *wink*

Ladies.. I had already ROM in 2007. that time thought must ROM le den can apply for flats, so went to ROM 1st.. haha as for dates to rem, I think mine shld be easy to rem. MY ROM is on 2nd July, wedding 3rd July.. 1 day apart... so I was telling hubby that we can have 48hrs of celebrations.. haha 1 stone kill 2 birds *wink*

Ellen> Ya hor..today is friday~~ but I still in office doing my stuffs.. tml still have to work... haiz... but at least can 'chat' here. lol.. still not that bad after all. Hehe~

Mrs Chua> that's clever of you to have ur ROM and wedding date for two consecutive days. LOL... no excuse for forgetting and can have 2 presents~ lol

You r most welcome, hope our ideas really help you for your banquet. =) No worry abt having the food tasting on the same day where ppl hold their wedding. I believe ur coordinator will be accomondative and understand that. I have ever heard of some places that only offer to taste a few dishes, so still quite common. I think it's better than u have a discussion with ur hubby on the invitation list and who may attend before deciding the no of tables as it will affect when to take the function room 2 or not. Ask ur coordinator for advices and see in anyway can solve this problem.

For my case,my food tasting is consider one of the freebies. A bit lugi, but my coordinator allows me to add ppl, but with the same portion for 10 servings. Mine is also during the weekdays. Great ideas to have during mother's day~~Oh ya, wine is always impt for celebration/dinner. I have get my coordinator to waive off the corkage charge if I bring wine for food tasting. So maybe u all can tell ur coordinator on it~ Kekeke

Ching Ching.. actually both dates were given by the fengshui master.. 2 yrs back, we went to see one fengshui master for our ROM dates. date given was 2nd July.. den we went to see another fengshui master early last yr... he gave us a list of wedding dates from 2008 to 2011.. initally thought of getting married this yr.. but due to my wai po & ah gong passed away last yr.. so I wait till 3yrs b4 we hold our tradition wedding. den out of the dates given, we saw 3rd July 2010 as one of the good dates for us, hubby & me decided to choose 3rd July.. so is easy to rem & can celebrate it together hee hee

Hey did you gals go out today? I just came home and guess what. I was supposed to buy moisturizer (usually buy better brand. Now for the sake of saving money...I went to buy Vesaline, 3bucks). Wondering if it is okie to use........ I came home early to prevent from shopping!!! Haha.

Anyway...

ChingChing> I hope you left your office liao lohz. Otherwise, very late to stay at office. Although it is abit sad to work on Saturday but imagine the pay we will still get
I'm also working 2mr (but at home though), got work to clear. You are not alone

Hey if I buy the ring during sales...will it compromise on the quality of the ring? I saw some solitaire on sales, wonder if the quality is bad???? Any idea when will the sales be?? But those established brands dun have sales one right?? Ladies...ChingChing bought her ring from Poh Heng, what about the rest of you.....wanna have some reference.

Ellen> Me and my HTB not member of the church but my future father-in-law is a member. We attend the service there though. So not a problem to get the place. Grace Church sounds sooooo familiar...... Anyway, are you still have gatecrashing? Me and HTB have decided to scrap that off (coz he is not a fan of gatecrashing) so I will meet him at the church directly...thought quite sweet. Walk down the aisle where he will be waiting.

Mrs Chua> Wish you luck to your negotiation 2mr. Update us again!!!!!

Ladies....how many bridesmaid/jiemeis you all going to have? And what kind of incentive are you all giving your jiemeis (like paying for the dress? paying for their make-up,etc....) And most importantly, how much ang-bao you all giving them (if they are helping the whole day)???? Need to start planning so that I know how much more money I need to save!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dione: Are you still around this thread? Long time no see you. I am planning to meet up with Stanley from Ideal Productions as well. Have you signed up with them?

erm I went shopping today... Haven't shopped for sooooo long haha... Bought a pair of shoes... But I need shoes okie cos the old one broken... *excuses*

maoushroom > Not surprising if Grace Church sounds familiar... Cos SG Chinese church circle is quite small... And there are so many churches called "Grace Church" haha. I've been to Newton Life Church a couple of times too.

Anyway, I am doing away with the gatecrashing too, cos we both not really "on" about the idea, and lazy... dun wanna plan... can wake up later on AD etc... Haha. But my HTB will still "fetch" me from my home then we go church together..

Ching Ching > Jia you... Hope you can finish your work soon and dun need to stay too late on Saturday

Dun think I will have many jiemeis... No need so much manpower since no gatecrashing haha. erm, i heard the "market rate" for ang bao ranges from 28~68 now, is that true?

Yea Dione really MIA for quite a while liao. Where are you~?

Wah~~ I am so tight up that no time for shopping. LOL... but yesterday after work, I go to my BS (walking distance to my house) and confirm my MAU!! Hehe~ At least one thing down.

maoushroom> Actually they always mark up the pricing, so that when sales they are able to give a bit more discount. But one thing is gold prices keep increasing, so their selling price will also increase too. So better go and buy early and put aside as gold price nowadays are really too high to tahan. U can consider to buy from Soo Kee Bugis. My HTB buy the proposal ring for me from there and can BARGAIN. Same to my frenz's husband who go there and slash the price. The service there is better too. LOL

I have shortlist 2 jiemei already. Ideally for me is 4, but depends on my HTB's no of buddies he wanna find. Buddies are harder to shortlist as need to find those who can hold their liquor well and super onz for gate crashing~ Angbao depends on urself. My frenz gave us $60 each and treat us for a meal as her jiemei. For me, I will treat them a meal when gather together to intro one another and if can afford, will pay for their dresses. Hehe~~ If la...

Ladies,have you all start thinking of what type of gowns and hairstyles for your PS and AD???

I am thinking of those greek type gowns~~ and glamourous blue evening gown for dinner~ =p