(2010/07) July 2010 BTB

Hi Anybody signed the wedding packages from Thomson at Tanjon Pagar? I already signed the packages from them 1 year ago, and i did my ROM already. Actually i had very sad experience of my make-up. I am from Korea, i didnt know that much about singapore make-up artist. i trusted them. On my rom, I have over 100 photos, but now i left my ROM album in korea, because i felt sad when i was looked at those photos. so put them out of my sight. Now i am v worried for my actual wedding and photo shots. I already paid to them the deposit, but.....
i hope they instoduced me better one. If u had Thomson packages, pls recommend me good make-up artist.
My actual wedding at the Fourseasons on 24.07.2010.

hey dione, met ur uni school mate today. can see that he is still new for weddings. we r listing down all the PG we met n deciding soon. VG is still a ? for now though... howz urs coming along?

hi fellcy, we tried balloting a few times den got tis flat de. btw, hdb balance flats exercise is on. see if u interested in any of them. or u plan to get from open mkt?

Hi EL, I'm not sure how many weddings he's done so far, but he's been holding his camera since uni.. hee.. We are kinda fixed on the PG we wana get le.. But then for VG, also still a ?? Met a few of them to view works already but none is the, 'Yes, we want their VG' kind lorz..

Hi kirara, welcome! =)

hi kirara, welcome to this forum. feel free to share ur tots here.

hi dione, can tell that he is into photography but his portfolio for weddings still young. anyway its great to hear that u r moving on for the PG... we r still undecided coz my partner n me have different expectations.. n they kinda dun cross.. so its hard to find 'common grounds' dat make the decision process easier. sigh~

anw, im still collecting contacts for VG... maybe can share them with u later. good luck~

hello to the rest of the jul'10 btb, where have u all gone to?

Dione: haha... you are funi ah... actually i have looked at a few samples online and i cant really find a difference between the rather cheap and more expensive ones... Maybe i just duno what to look out for... still looking but due to the flat being a bigger priority, the wedding stuff have taken a backseat...

Kiara: Welcome!!! Feel free to share your thoughts and questions here... we can always discuss... and we are SAME DAY brides... where you having your banquet? Which stage you at preparation.. This is so exciting!

EL: When is your AD ah... i saw that you have asked gerald for quotation... have you met him?

Hi leeda, I also signed up a package with thomson wedding. I'm not too sure which MUA is better, but based on the forum and bs recommendation, it seems that Jovin is the popular MUA there. So I also booked Jovin for mine...

hi blur btb, my ad same as dione. i haven met gerald but slowly meeting the PGs... our PG list is about a dozen now. hahaha~ we collecting VG list too... but actually if can get both from same co will be easier on co-ordination. we almost sign up with coffee n tea but they revised their pricing.. it crossed our budget by too much now so we give up. house coming so all our budgets revised.

hi girls... jus wondering...

anyone went for gown fitting when u have period? I scare will be too troublesome leh... any suggestion???

Blur > It's like the style they show their express highlights in.. Me and bf prefer those funnier kinds (and of cos have to fit our budget)..

I met up with IdealProductions today and I think their VG is pretty good.. Me and bf most likely taking them.. Their partner PG is good too but then they are taken by someone liaoz.. I think it's someone in this thread.. Derrick Than anyone?

Anyone else interested with IdealProductions can sign up together then we both get 5% off their package.. Hee..

EL and Dione: Seems like we are in the same stage now... Ya, I looking at Ideal Productions also. Stanley sent me 2 emails le.. hahaha.. and the others that I am considering are VoCare Media as they came highly recommended as well as Photowerke... can check them out as well also...

Mrs Chua: My gown fitting is really faSt at about 1.5 hours only, so wun be affected much by it... Photoshoot I think will be more troublesome. That time i went to the doc to get medi to delay menses a few days for the PS.

Blur btb: I jus scare is during the 1st few days den will be very troublesome esp when the flow is alot? haha... for me, 1st few days is very xin ku for me so I scare it will spoil my mood of trying on that day..

wow.. u girls all seem very interested in taking Ideal production as ur PG&VG. As for me, hubby & me confirm Coffee & Tea early this mth. abit out of our budget but we simply love their works so confirm them.. haha

btw, what stage r u girls in preparing ur wedding? As for me, bridal shop, banquet venue, PG & VG settled..

hi mrs chua, u can take medicine from doctor to delay if u feel dat it will affect u.. i almost wanna sign with C&T too but its really out of our budget now. so still looking...

hi dione, derrick than taken up by some1 here with the same date as us. i recall she sourced for him quite early. so i guess i cant go for ideal productions on vg now since u r signing them. hor?

i have seen loud's works.. not too bad for vg. due to some reason, they r not on our top picks. but maybe u gals wanna check them out?

so sad.. i feel like im not getting anywhere out ("yuan di ta bu") at tis point.

Blur btb >> If u decide to take Ideal Productions let me know.. =) We are going sign up with him prob in the next two weeks, once we confirmed our PG..

Mrs Chua >> I'm now done with BS, venue, bands.. Now going thru PG/VG.. Aft this will be MUA.. I heard solemnizer also need to book well in advance?

EL >> Yea I think I vaguely remember it's Ching who engaged Derrick Than.. Err, yea, sorry, Ideal Productions told us if another couple with the same date approaches them and wana sign, they will check with us first and give us priority..

I've seen ClipProductions, imagesofwisdom and uniquecolours.. ClipProductions is not bad.. The videographer has 13 yrs experience doing videos.. I really love works of Yang from Substance but he is super duper overbudget!

EL... I just made an appointment with my bridal shop on 26th October which by then my period would have end or abt to end. So dun think will have any big prob... I'm just afraid is during the 1st few days when the flow is alot. maybe like what blur btb said, gown trying is onli abt 1.5hrs, so shld be still ok unlike PS, an whole day event....

Dione.. seem like most of us are in the same stage.. for mi, my wedding bands will be the same one which we bought for ROM. at the most is bring it for some cleaning b4 wedding day... As we held our Solemnisation @ ROM itself, I'm nt so sure how long in advice u need to book the JP. But from what I heard from some couples, some JP only allow 3mths in advance booking whereas some are alright with booking 6mths ahead... so maybe u can check with the JP 1st. From what I know, some JP are so hot that u will have to book them as early as possible

hi dione, i was using the wpja website to find my PG initially.. but the good ones really dun come cheap. the one i like quoted me >$3k for AD. *faintz* :S

no la dun worry, since u going for ideal productions i dun think i will go to them.

yes u nid to book the solemnizer in advance. 3-6 months before your rom date, depending on popularity. cant book him too early coz he usually have own schedule n dun wan to commit yet. if u wan JP den probably nid to contact him earlier.

EL... PG for AD is >$3k??? that is exp... I signed up with C&T for their AD PG & VG ard $3k.

I think one of friend had signed with aother PG.. their works oso nt bad.. let me check to see what the name of that PG & try show u all some of his works...

EL... this is the one which I mentioned earlier abt my friend's AD PG. From what I know is that he onli do AD PG, no video. He is a freelance PG. charges is $200 per hr (check with him his current rates as $200 per hr is quoted to my friend who got married last yr)

his website is www.thepeepingthom.com

Wat is the criteria for engaging a JP ar? How come one JP can be more 'hot' than another? I tot all just follow script read one? Sorry, haven started researching on that.. So abit unfamiliar.. Hehe..

Yea, some PGs in the WPJA list are very expensive! I only asked for rates from 2 of them..

Mrs Chua >> Did u take their animation in ur C&T package?

I oso duno why some JP are more "hot" than the rest.. this one u got to check from those couples who solemnise outside ROM.

Dione: I took their animation.. simply fall in love with it.. haha.. I choosen the full cartoon animation.. during that time I sign up with them, their package has a complimentary live gatecrashing which I would be able to watch the gatecrashing live from my room.. so interesting...

hi mrs chua, didnt take it up coz its blown my budget sky high if engage him. anyway looking at others now... thanks for the website, will check it out later.

hey dione, not necessary must engage JP. can engage any licensed solemnisers. some more "hot" than others coz more experienced... n not so fierce ba.

EL... u looking for both PG & VG or jus PG? I took up C&T for their PG & VG. hubby find that if would to take up PG or VG alone, it cost abt 1.5k to 2k each so might as well choose C&T where they offered PG & VG @ 3K+. furthermore, we got attracted by their animation.. haha

Hi all.. i a bit lost in this thread le... suddenly so active...

Same with you all bah.. I have booked BS, banquet and done PS le since is in JB.. better start early... Now having a lot of headache with VG and PG... I abit worried that if i sign too early, i might change mind again... cos pic are v intuitive for me...

So far, VG that are in consideration would be Vocare, Ideal Productions and Photowerke... Yang Substance is really much too expensive... HB and I are thinking of a storyline.. wonder if there is anyone who can film some parts before AD and then match it up with the express highlights on that day... but think will be ex

Mrs Chua.. i think you dont be too worried abt your period ah... the medi is can dun take, try to avoid.. cos when it comes later rite, i almost died lor... cramp like siao... so if there is a way, i rather recommend painkillers if got pain or if not, just go change more frequently bah.. at least is not PS, you can get to change in and out of gowns fast... so can go washroom also... no issue.

Dione: what you mean by criteria. I just look thru the forum and found some recommended ones, usually by what they say (other than the speech) + whether they are nice or not... if you have religious requirements, must fit what you need also. Otherwise, it is just the language and whether he or she is available on your date.

You can directly email or tel them and ask them for availability. They might ask you to call again about 3 months before but at least that point in time, they can already let you koe if that date is taken or not. Then abt 3 months, you can meet JP up to sign form and then from there online register.

Ask for one availability first and then if dont have then proceed to the next. I think it would not be too nice if you mass mail.

blur_btb... Thanks for ur advice. I oso know the effect of taking that med.. that time took it becos of travel den after which when it comes, so painful lo & flow is alot..

btw, what storyline u referring? if u wan to film some parts b4 AD & match with the express highlights... maybe u can check with the VG to see if this can be added. filming can be done on ur own ba, if u have to get the VG to do, they normally will charge a nominal fee unless they willing to do it for u FOC or is ur friend... I would think u check with them if such thing can be added if u would to do the filming urself and pass to them.. jus need them to add into ur express highlights...

ladies.. may I check when shld we go for our PS? from what I heard from some friends.. they told me, 1 mth after PS will be choosing photo, 2 mths after PS will be able tp get the album... so does that mean our wedding in July, our PS will be in Apri, May choose photos, June get album?

hi mrs chua, PS is subjective. depends on ur bridal shop. call n ask them ba. for my bro, he did PS abt 5mths b4 his wed date but choose foto only 2mths later n got his album another 2mths later.

i suspect the shops go by dates... meaning if got 2 couples take PS at the same time but their wed date is different. they will do the one that is nearer first. logically...

Mrs Chua: Ya... i was thinking of doing some parts before AD and then match with the express highlights.. but i think it might be a little difficult.. ahhaha...

Depends on where is ur BS bah.. mine is JB de.. so i tot i better do half a year in advance... for those in SG, i hear that about 3 months will do...

blur_btb.. I think u can always check with ur VG whether is it possible to add in some parts which u record urself into the express highlights. they might nt able to do the filming for u but it might be ok to add it in if the format is same or what... I think no harm asking ur VG. I think some VG may even give u a better advice on what u can do with it. Just like hubby & me initially wanted cartoon animation but we do not know what to put in, scare have cartoon animation, it will be too much for the wedding but after speaking to C&T, we got a better idea on what we wan and makes us start on our planning more smoothly.. so I think VG & PG are professional so no harm asking them to seek their advice

Thanks EL & Blur_btb... I will check with my BS during my next gown trying. that time they did tell me that PS will be ard Mar'10 provided my MTM gown can be ready by then. I dun wan to take too early as I wan to slim down as much as possible b4 taking PS.. haha

Hi all, I'm new to this forum
Will be having my AD on 31 Jul 2010. ^_^

Seems like all of you have already done a lot of planning! Kinda stressed now cos still haven't confirmed a place for my banquet~~~

Hi BTB/HTB, there will be a wedding workshop this sat 24 oct 2009 at holiday inn parkview...
heard the participating vendors are sattine bridal house and coffee n tea dreamworks...powerhouses + newly reno ballrom!

hi ellen, welcome to this forum.
u might wanna start looking ard for hotels cos its like only 9mths away. year end will have a few wedding shows, u might wanna catch them to get better deals if they are ur targeted venues. think i saw OCC having wedding show too...

hi chen, didnt see u ard here b4. u r a jul'10 btb too? yup hipv has a new ballroom... didnt noe its C&T tis time coz they worked with some1 else on the last few wedding shows.

strezzing out at work n at preparations.. HELP!

i'm a 31st July bride.. gosh.. seems like there r certainly a lot of things to b done and i've really done nothing much to date except putting down deposit for the banquet n solemnisation venue..

wedding preparations r so stressful! really can't cope with this and holding a fulltime job too.. been working late and unable to do anything like sourcing for gowns, PG etc on wkdays... anyone with some quick tips to share on time management?

I settled my PG/VG woes today finally..

Our initial plan was to take a PG package with 2 photographers, then take another VG package..

We shortlisted 2ofusphotography and was going to sign up with them and their partner VG but they told us their partner VG is unavailable on our date.. So we had to source our VG elsewhere and nothing caught our eye during our search until we saw IdealProductions.. However, their price was going to put us overbudget.. So, we decided to cut down our 2xPG to a 1xPG package so we could take up IdealProductions..

But then, now, 2ofus told us that their VG is available again! So aft thinking it over, me and HTB decided to go with our original plan of 2xPG and 1xVG and have signed with 2ofusphotography..

EL, if u are looking @ IdealProductions for VG, we wun clash with each other le.. I strongly recommend him if he's within ur budget.. U could pair up with blur btb if she decides to sign up with them too and get a 5% rebate.. =D

Sorry for being so fickle-minded.. =P

I wld have signed up with them together with 2ofusphotography if I had the budget.. But then again, we normally dun get all that we want..

Wellz, one less headache for me now.. Jiayou the rest of you! =D

Next on my list, any recommenations for MUA?

Welcome Ellen & Slic... so happy to see more Jul10 brides here..

Ellen.. do u have any idea in mind where u wan to hold ur banquet? if u have, u can check to see if there is any wedding show coming up for them or call/email them to check with them ur date availability and their price list for 2010 (guess most banquet places had start using 2010 price list instead of 2009 but if they are still using 2009, that would be good & beta secure the price @ 2009 rather than 2010) I think I have some pointers on sourcing for ur ideal banquet venue.. if u wan, leave me ur email add. I will email it to u once I find it.

btw, have u selected ur bridal shop? if no, u might wan to do it fast cos if u wan to MTM ur gowns, would advice u to do it fast if nt it will be too rushing for the bridal shop to MTM the gowns for u...

Slic.. ur bridal package includes MTM gowns? if yes, u might wan to look through www.brides.com for some gowns designs ideas. This is just to give u an idea on what u wan for ur gown but if nt, ur bridal shop would be able to advice u on the kind of gowns that are suitable for u... after u go down to try, u shld have a rough idea on what u wan.. jus rem, dun be shy to ask the bridal shop for various gowns to try. u have to try more to know what kind suit u... these are advices from other brides which I had chat with...

Dione.. r u looking for MUA for ur AD? UR bridal shop dun provide? I'm thinking of looking for a MUA for my sisters & mummy... mummy already told me she wan to have her make up and hair done by my MUA. but I'm nt sure whether my bridal shop MUA can do it for my mummy, if yes.. any additional charges?? btw, anyone know what is the market rate for make up for mummy?

Hi BTBs,

Anyone interested in going to Perth next year April for a pre-wedding photoshoot?

I've found a photographer who is offering $1800 for photoshoot in Perth inclusive of wedding gown rental and makeup.

We have to pay for he and his assistant's air tix and lodging though...

I'm hoping to share the cost with interested couples.

Please email me at [email protected] if you are interested.

Mrs Chua.. thanks.. the website you gave is pretty helpful since I've not started looking for gowns yet.. vera wang is a dream of course!!

Hi EL & Mrs Chua, thanks for your concern ^_^ I have problem on the banquet cos my no. of tables is odd: only ~12 tables... a bit "not here not there" haha... and some hotels that can do small weddings are out of our budget
Currently looking at Carlton and maybe Meritus Mandarin.

I'll have my photoshoot in HK... Anyone else taking pre-wedding photos overseas?

Mrs Chua... I always assume that the price is based on when the AD is held and so 2010 pricelist will be used for 2010 AD... You mean some places still use 2009 pricelist? That will be good~

Mrs Chua >> Yupz, MUA for AD.. My BS is in JB so if I wana engage her, I need to fork out another sum of money.. So wana do some comparisons and see if there are any good and cheap ones around.. =D I think if u were to add one person, if the MUA is flexible she shld be ok to do it, but if ur mummy and sisters wana do makeup, I think u'll need to pay extra/engage another one.. I think for non-bridal makeup MUA, it would comparatively be cheaper? Not too sure myself.. Am also looking for MUA for mummy and sisters.. Let's share our research.. =D

Ellen >> I took my PS in Taiwan.. =D Do share with us ur pics once u have taken it! I haven seen any PS with HK as background before.. Hehe.. Very kpoh wana see pretty pics!

Normally, if u book earlier in 2009 for a 2010 wedding, most hotels/restaurants would not have come up with the 2010 prices yet, so u get to 'lock-in' 2009 prices for 2010 dinner.. But normally, later into the year, they will start publishing 2009/2010 rates which are already adjusted upwards.. If u are lucky, some still use 2009 prices.. =D

Shangri-la has a function room called 'Waterfall Terrace' which is just next to the pool and greeneries.. Full glass, very nice cozy function room for small weddings.. (I used to work there and I love that function room) U might wana consider.. =D Maybe can try something exotic like botanical gardens or fort canning? =)

Dione.. but r we too early to confirm with MUA nw? I still nt sure if my sisters need MUA but my mummy requested for it.. so if onli my mummy wan MUA, den I will ask my bridal shop MUA. actually I have a freelance MUA for my ROM, her skills nt bad but I'm nt sure how r her charges... maybe will give her a call to check on her charges..

oh ya, I do rem last time we have a table which update our wedding details such as wedding dates, BS etc.. where is it huh? think now we can fill in le...

Dione: I'll be doing my PS in Feb. Have you had your PS already? Thanks for your advice, maybe I will call the hotel up these few days ^_^

At first we were looking at some unconventional venues (in fact, I really like The Pod @ National Library) but the idea was sort of "rejected" by my parents.

Mrs Chua: Found this link in an earlier post. Is this the table you are talking about?

http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=pgLJTHZAf3KDe-JdTH-d3Xw

Mrs Chua >> Hmm, I think we are ok starting to research ba.. Then maybe like end of yr or early Jan we can confirm already? But is it safer to go for trial makeup first? I also dunno actually.. Hmmz..

Ellen >> Yupz, I did my PS in July this year oredi.. U can see my pictures @ http://www.mywedding.com/zhengyuananddione/galleries.html.. I got another PS with my main BS in JB in January.. Hee.. Who did u sign up with for BS?

Thanks Ellen, that's the one.. I've updated mine! =D

Ellen... ya that is the table. anyway I had updated mine as well.

wow.. there are 3 whitelink brides here... & hot date for July 2010 is 25 with 5 couples

wow... u all going for PS so early ah?? I'm going for my PS only in Mar. wan to slim down more b4 PS & furthermore I have MTM gowns so need to give my bridal shop 3mths to sew my gowns..

Ellen.. u going for unconventional area? what u mean?

Dione.. ok, we start doing research ba.. we shall update each other our updates here
as for trial make up, it would be good to have it as to know what kind of make up is suitable for u & test the skills of the MUA? haha... oh ya, I think I do heard from some couples that some MUA do charge for trial. some will charge but we can use it to offset the actual payment if we confirm them...

Okie I've updated the table too ^_^

Dione: I signed up with Mona Lisa in HK. Btw are you looking for AD packages for WG/EG + MUA?

Mrs Chua: My friend told me my BS will take 4 months to get the photos ready, so Feb should be just nice ba...

My search for banquet venue is a long story... Maybe will share next time :P found hotel wedding kinda boring and wanted something different, so was looking at places that are not hotels/restaurant, that's what I mean by "unconventional"... Anyway, now seems like this may not be feasible after all

Mrs Chua >> Yupz, we were advised to take abt 6 mths before so can slowly do no need rush, but I think 4 mths wld be enuff le.. Shld be just nice.. =)

Yea, I think going for trial will be good, but then, must have gone to several then can compare? If that is the case, trial cost have to pay a few.. Lolx.. Hmm..

Ellen >> Oooh, a HK BS.. Do they provide ur AD gown too? I got a package with SG Bridal in JB for my 2nd PS and AD stuff.. Now need to look for MUA cos it's not included in the package..

Ur parents abit more traditional? We wanted to do like a simple affair, buffet or something but was 'rejected' also cos 'not nice' la, and both of us are the eldest child so parents wana share joy with 'everyone', buffet 'not so nice' lolx.. All the words in quotes from them got hidden meaning one.. Lolx..

Ellen.. I just check with a friend, she told me 1 mth for PS, 1 mth to choose the photos, 1 mth to select the layout, 1 mth to collect the album so if to add up... that is 4mths in total b4 wedding.. in that case, I think for us to take our PS latest is Mar'10. if would to take in Apr'10 would be too rushing le ba... btw, how long in advance do u all book ur PS date & confirm MUA if ur package is included?

I can understand that u wan something different.. I oso wanted something diff from others.. jus dun wan to be the same as others to let pple say I copy them or what.. jus dun wish to hear something like this..

Dione... going for trial is good but prob is money haha... btw, I had checked with one MUA. her charges for make up & hair styling for my mummy on my AD night is $95. wonder what is the market rate...

LOL same here... "not so good" was what they said haha....

Actually it's not my parents that mind, it's my relatives... and my parents know what they are thinking so they warn me first lor...

My HTB said, he thinks most couples started with small budget and something simple, but all end up spending a fortune on the wedding... haha