(2010/07) July 2010 BTB

Jere's WiFe> So good~ Mine only got 1 sunday out of the 3 for 1st choice. The rest are weekdays, and one happen to be my anniversary. Haiz~ Lol..Did you take up his eternity package?

nope..i did not take the eternity package..just paid $100 for AD, GDL & An Chuan dates..
oh, coz i specifically requested AD only weekends..lol..

can someone tell me where to find e list for abbreviations?? I actually tot MUA is Muar!! but i tink it stands for sth else??

Jere's wife >> thanks! The pics look good from e webbi, r u getting e photographer from them too?

Blur btb >>I tink we will b so dead lo..seems like most weekends r booked?? esp for big ballroom n we haven't even decide on e date!

Felicia, here are some common ones:
1) MUA - make up artist
2) GDL - Guo Da Li
3) BTB - Bride to Be
4) HTB - Husband to be
5) BS - Bridal shop
6) AD - actual day
7) PG - Photographer
8) VG - Videographer

felicia: their PG is $1200..i have not decided coz AD still long way to go...lol..
you have not settled your venue??

Felicia: better get the date quick n then settle on the place first.. at least peace of mind... how big would you need the place to be? a lot of tables? I probably go with Tang Court with RELC.. I dun like big places with high ceilings.. feel distant

wow..one week and so much post already :p didnt really login as been busy trying to DIY invitations, save the dates and table numbers using photoshop. Decided to DIY the inserts as i find the hotel printer too ex (4.50each for 2 colour invitation inserts + 1 colour map inserts).

like jere mentioned i created a spreadsheet for everyone to view & edit. Will PM u individually the link. Feel free to add or edit whatever u feel is missing or incorrect.

felicia> i think u should try to get ur date n settle the venue asap. cause if the date u chosen is hot date then may not be easy to book. like what jere's wife said the biggest headache is the venue.

Dione> i decided not to get AD VG due to that i will not have gatecrashing and think that shld have nothing to show so i only going for AD PG. the shortlisted ones are tinydot, expressivelyjoho or lawrence from 36frames.

Candorian> No worry. Wah, most of u already have the venue liao, think i must act fast le. Hehe.I heard tinydot is going to increase his pricing liao, but his photography skills is good. Hehe~

Dione> personally i think they are good. but like all photography it is very subjective. i have also seen some higher priced ones but i feel that the photos too much touch up until look like fake..but then again its my own point of view. you can have a look at their portfolio @ http://www.expressivelyjoho.com/blog/ , http://www.tinydotphotography.com, http://www.36frames.com/blog/

price range from 3.5K to 5K for 10hrs with album plus highlights. Tentatively i am inclined towards expressivelyJoho cause since i have no VG i thinking of getting better PG. but then i am trying to tally up the other costs first to see if i can fit him in my budget.

if you interested i can send you the pricelist. let me know ur email if u want.

Candorian >> Wow, I liked Joho best out of the 3 too.. But 3.5k is too pricy to fit my budget for just PG.. And I would really want VG as well.. Hmmz..

hi all .. i am also a july bride ..
my ROM is on 16th July
AD is 25th July.. i think we have 4 gals on 25th July if i am not wrong !!
anyway .. i am still sourcing for venue..
my BS is Style Bridal & wedding.. any comments on this BS?

yap!! very relieved that mine is a hot date and got my venue confirmed.. =) coz most of the venues will be taken for hot dates...

Hi Ching Ching,

Yes is a hot date. Dun worry about the venue. Check what is your requirement some of the Space and Funtion room still avabliable.

i am still sourcing for venue .. currently i have ard 7 venue to visit (yoke hotel/pan pac/hilton/carlton/cop king's/concorde/furama city) is it too many ? how many place do u see before u confirm taking up the banquet ?

OH DEARR!!! We cannot even decide on the date!! The date I kinda like is 11 July but it's the same day as his bro's wedding day this yr...so kinda weird that we have e same wedding anni??

Jere's wife: Thanks!! It helps a lot!

We are startin to check up hotels already..He happened to see http://www.lyricalmoments.net
The pics look really nice...anyone heard abt them?

Heyo BTBs..

I am so excited.. I signed with a Taiwan BS awhile back for honeymoon PS.. But now we decided we dowan to go Taiwan for honeymoon so we going this July to take the pics and use it for our pre-wedding PS (in addition to the JB one).. Lolx. Abit weird.. One year before AD already take PS.. Haha.. But I am still so excited!!

Hi mistyinc> It's not too many to search, but it will need time to go around too see the ballroom, so must really plan well. Hee~

Dione> Wah, which bridal shop do u sign up with? how much are u paying?

Dione> Welcome to the club
i am also getting very excited for my pre-wedding this coming June 20. Makes u feel like ur wedding is very near doesnt it? Somehow because of the PS i keep thinking of various things to DIY for my wedding. Now have started to look for flowergirls dresses and page boy waistcoat already...LOL...my HTB say i super kan cheong.

mistyinc> i think what you have is a pretty comprehensive list. like what ching ching said, it is more important to go down and have a feel of the place before you decide. Also it helps to have at least 2 backups just in case. I only went to 6 hotels (in the span of 2 days) before i started negotiating for the banquet. Most important is to make appointments early and make sure that there will be a wedding that day so you can see the setup. the ballroom looks very different with a setup and empty.

Felicia> dont worry so much, i think the best thing now is to short list the hotels first, so u have an idea which one u prefer and once u have ur date u can book immediately rather than start looking for venues then.

Ching Ching > I signed with this Taiwan BS called Marry-Me.. It was their first exhibition in Singapore so I got a very good rate being their first customer.. Cos I din need all those barang barang, I oni have 2 day photoshoot + small album with 20 poses + 2 night stay + 5 gowns.. It's ~1k..

candorian >> wahahah.. actually i haven tot of flowergirls all those.. even my jie meis not fixed! U are really kan cheong! Haha.. But good la, makes u feel happy doing wedding stuff right? Hehe..

saturday going to Yoke Hotel Bridal show..
then following week i will view carlton hotel. but abit hesitant cuz carlton still under reno for new wing..

Dione > u going taipei ? hope u have fun...
i love taipei .. esp in their weather in january ..

mistyinc >> yea i heard the weather beginning of yr is good then towards apr, may can see pretty flowers.. but i'm going in july.. gonna be super duper hot weather.. =P but it's ok.. haha.. i get to go to taiwan.. anything also nvm la.. lolx..

Finally shortlisted some hotels n emailed them for availability. We have yet to set a date but at least short listed some. Gonna range from June to early July..

suddenly feel that 1 yr like nt enough time...

My FH's bro gettin married in July at Grand Copthorne, we tot of e same place but he said dun choose there...anyone hear any bad feedback abt the place??

I just contacted the Taiwan BS to inform them of my arrival.. Hehe.. Have told them I want to go to Sun Moon Lake as one of my outdoor places.. Hehe.. They say no problem.. Ahh.. So excited.. Err.. Anyone knows if take PS need to get nu bra those kind?

Dione >> I heard from my friends they jus dun wear bra, or the bridal shop jus put padding for them. Never hear about the need to get Nu Bra..but no harm bringing one along??

I think I am a 25 July bride too. I think becos I am still looking for venue.

jere's wife, I wanted to hold it at grand copthorne too. But you got it! Haha. When did you book? May I ask Grand Copthorne consider it a auspicous day?

I checked and Marriott say auspicious day charges apply. 25 July 2010 is Lunar Year 6th month?

Felicia >> Ooo.. If wana bring must buy ma so if buy le no use then waste money.. One is abt $50 right? Hehe..

Edit: I just checked with the BS, she say recommended to wear that.. So must go buy le..

hi flowerbride, i booked on April 8/9/10th..cant remember the actual date.. yes, it is an auspicious date by at grand copthorne but i was not charged the auspicious date rate..

I'm also a July 2010 bride.

I was just wondering which date do people usually refer to as the wedding anniversary? Assuming ROM and Customary are on different dates.

My wedding day will be on 10th July 2010.

Does anyone recommend a good caterer with nice decorations?

Hi Pebz,

thank you but my fiance is ang moh and they will be ang moh guests present and so I can't have too asian food. Their menu so so only.

thanks jere's wife.
You have been most kind and most lucky to get grand copthorne's without the additional auspicious day charges.

Btw, 25 July is what dates in the chinese lunar calendar? Why auspicious? I was still worried that it's the hungry ghost month?

Jo, There is this shop at Shaw towers ( opp suntec) which sells very nice, chic, modern cheongsum. Very elegant looking and can even take u through chic cocktail functions. It's cheongsum with a modern twist and nothing too revealing.

However, if you want something that's more vava voom kind of sexy cheongsum, then u can try this shop, mazzario. It's located at far east plaza but i think they also have a shop at centrepoint.

hi flowerbride..the fengshui master asked me to faster calculate a date and faster book venue...i headed for his advice...luckily still avaialble...i initially wanted fullerton but it was booked already...i'm already 16mths early but somebody still earlier than me....so wad i suggest is really book venue early...

i dun think 25th july is lunar 7th mth as the fengshui master told me he had eliminated Ching Ming & Lunar 7th mth...

Dione >> I think watson sells nu bra for < $20. I bought mine from far east some shop for <$30. So it's abt $50 if u get those really good ones like those selling in the specialised cart.

flowerbride >> 25 July is lunar six month.

mistyinc: i visited Hyatt, Sheraton, Fullerton, Four Seasons, Grand Copthorne &amp; St Regis before deciding on my venue..
1) Hyatt low ceiling but pillarless, making the ballrom looks small..cant accomodate the no of tables i have..

2) Sheraton has odd shape ballroom.

3) Fullerton does not have availability for my AD.

4) Four Seasons does not throw in projector. Projector not from ceiling. If someone stands up and walk pass the projector, the screen will be blocked.

5) St Regis is individually plated. A little over budget also..

6) Left with Grand Copthorne..pillarless, foc function room for rom...price is right..available...so we chose Grand Copthorne..!!
I believe there are many factors in choosing venues too...however, its worth the effort and we felt so relieved after paying deposit and signing on the contract...