(2010/01) Jan 2010 BTB

let me help let me help...haha. i m e hokkien bride. lol.

princess> my family didnt follow all items, more simplified already. below list for ur reference.

Groom
-To bring 24 cans of pig trotters ( bride to return some)
-Red packet $1200-$1800 ( bride to return $200-$800)
-Biscults/Cakes ( bride to return the number groom wants)
-2 bottles of Martell ( bride to return 2x bottle of orange juice)
-1 pair of Long Feng Zhu ( groom takes phoenix and bride takes dragon)
-Gold ( Si Dian Jin)
-Oranges ( bride to return some)
-Big Basket ( for groom to put things in, bride to put things in return and groom to carry back )
-Fa Guo
-Ang Pow for Match Maker ( if any )
-Rock Sugar
-Melon Sugar

Bride
-Pants for the groom
-Ang Pows for groom's parents and unmarried siblings
-2 bottles of honey/1.5L of soft drinks in exchange for the Martell
-Towels wrapped up as presents for groom's parents,grandparents and aunties
-2 lamps ( either battery operated or electrically operated)
-Comforter set, blankets,Pillows for brides, bedsheets, bolster ( tie together using red ribbons)
-suitcase to put bride's clothes, new set of pyjamas etc
-2 tea set ( for groom's side and bride's side)
-Baby Bath Pail
-Face Basin
-Xi Stickers ( includes 2 big ones to paste on master bedroom door and main wooden door)
-Ruler
-Ribbons 3 different sizes ( Big ones to tie pillows)
-Fans ( 1 pair) not for Hainanese custom
-Home slippers not for hainanese and cantonese custom
-Handkerchief ( optional)
-Spittoon
-1 Sewing box with 6/8/12 rolls of threads & needles & scissors ( to tie red ribbons on scissors)
-Mirror and comb
-Mouth rinse container
-Yan Ji ( 10 Big and 10 small)
-Red Strings ( 1 pair)
-Variety of gold Jewellery displayed in a box ( has to show to the in laws, then the bride keep after the actual day or depends on when mother in law returned)
-Longans, Red dates, Bai he, Lotus seeds, Rock Sugar and Yuan Bing
-Fa Gao
-Pig Trotters, red packets ( $18), biscults for matchmaker ( if any)
-Red Banner ( for bride)
-Red Packet ( for bride)
( All these above items prepared by brides to be taken back to groom side)

morning gals.. haven't had time to drop notes lately

hi princess & pinky, i'm a hokkien bride too. heard there should't be gatecrash for hokkien.. any idea? pinky, thanks for the list

cher, weekend is arriving.. hang in there =)

Wow thanks pinky! hehe i can use that lo..hehe but i heard we need to get a pair of shoes from him? Is it pants or shoes?

Also do i need to follow all on the list? If yes, i will let my mum knows..

Hong bao for groom parents? strange..hw much is that? Y we need to give them?

Suitcase & Spitton??? We dun noe that we need to get this? hahahaha can do away with this? Argghh

What is Yan Ji? Hahahaa

Gold? Y my parents need to show them gold ah? Strange le..haha

Hi cher, sorry did i missed out anything to send you? hehe.. Let me know what u need and your emails..

Hey girls, i am Hokkien Bride too! Pinky list is about the same as mine! hehehehehe for guo da li!

Hi princess, bride's parents will normally give the groom pants. hehe.. Nowadays, it is replaced with Ang pao.

Hi princess, traditonally, mummy will pack all your new clothes and daily things you use in a suitcase, then your groom will carry home.. seems you are marrying out.. The spitton is " zhao seng gui zi". =)

Your mum will buy gold for you and on guo da li will show to relatives etc.. haha.. A show of love.. =p

Hi Princess, i missed out explaining "Yan ji". it is small round pieces of lead pieces that resembles half the size of a 1 cent coin. It is needed during An chuang as Yan, means yuan in hokkien so that the daughter in law will have good relationship with your family. In tradition, the daughter in law also do place some yan ji in her shoes during the wedding day for better relationships. Can find in Chinatown shops.. =)

^5 eelynn, me too!

Haha Eelynn..means we r the same! me hokkien, u hokkien and our htb are hokkiens! haha..do u follow the list throughly?

Haha wendy! Wah if i were to follow the tradition, it is so troublesome.. haha i wonder if i can skip them cos i just wan a simple customary as my house - we dun pray at all - my dad christian & mum buddism but we dun pray at home..hehe

Hi princess, same here.. we dun have altar at home.. well, alot of of brides actually do away with alot of traditional things.. it actually depends on both sides parents.. need to discuss with them!

My mum is very traditional when it comes to guo da li and she expects to see most of them.. and i will be helping to source for guo dali items for both sides.. cos my boy and his parents dun know anything about it thus i will be doing both sides.. haha.. alot of things to buy and i will be putting a list of things together so i dun missed out!

How do you girls replace the things that you want to do away with with Ang paos? As in how much to give or include in the dowery $$??

Also what is included or what does Jia Zhuang normally consist of?

princess> parents to give gold is to show that bride side is rich too, not selling daughter but marrying.

bride parents buys pants, not shoe. i think we cannot give shoe to ppl.hmm..just like couples, buy shoe means let him go

dont have to do everything. yes, let the elders decide wat they want to do. else, use angbao to replace can le.

besides some of those that we follow, my dad still buy 1 doz of towels (small n big), ask me to sew together with the 'yan ji' on top, its token of gift for me to give my hubby's side. to have yuan.

as for those spitton thingy, those chinatown shop they actually sells in a set, w big/small containers all in there.

starfrost> actually up to individual. i m doing gatecrashing, more fun. so long as parents dont reject n hubby is sporting.

odie> these replaced angbao shd not be put together with the ping jing. some ppl write on e back of angbao on what it replaces. amt dont have to be big too. i think $8 per item or what can le.

oh ya...n i also heard from my dad, those yan ji is to use some to throw inside e cupboard. something to do w yuan with the family too.

and on top of all these, on our AD morning when going to get bride, they still need to give another set of pig trotter, oranges, etc. n when going back bride's home after tea ceremony at hubby's house, we need to bring cakes n pastries along.

Thanks all..think we will not follow everyting cos my mum and my MIL, they prefer as simple as possible..else vry complicated for them..hehe..

Btw come back to the shoes tingy, we r suppose to wear shoes the whole day as in till the whole ceremony ends? ard 3pm plus? Am i right? Or shoes can be taken out onces we arrived at groom;s side?

Then at night can change shoes?

hi princess, Do not take off your shoes until your chinese wedding ceremony is over. The modern custom is to remove the wedding shoes only after returning to the groom's home or bridal home after the bride's home visit to her parent's home.

Wedding Taboos to share:

We came across many hearsay about what wedding couples should do and not do within the three months of their wedding. In these modern times, it is really up to the couples whether they want to follow the customs and observe the traditions, or go accordingly to their own wishes and beliefs.

1. Clash of Luck
To avoid clashing of luck, for three months before and after their wedding, the bride and groom will not attend a funeral or wake; attend a wedding; visit a lady who is in confinement.

2. Death of one parent
If one of the parents passes away, the bride or groom has to be in mourning. Should a wedding be conducted, it must be done within 100 days of the death, or postponed till 3 years (1000 days) after the death.

3. Bridal Bed
It is preferred that no one sleeps or sits on the bridal bed after its installation and blessing for fertility. If however, the groom needs to sleep on it before the wedding he should be accompanied by a young boy preferably born in the year of the Dragon. To leave one side of the bridal bed empty is considered a curse on the health of the couple.

4. Clash of Brides
If the bride meets another bride on the wedding day their luck may clash. The matchmakers or the bestmen from the two bridal parties will exchange red packets on the couple’s behalf to neutralize the effect of the clash.

Other not so taboo Wedding Taboos - up to individuals..

1. Meeting one day before wedding
Chinese believed that the bride and groom should not meet each other the day before the wedding. However, this taboo is no longer strictly observed. A modified manner; the bride and groom will not sleep under the same roof the night before the wedding.

2. Removing Shoes
As mentioned to princess, Do not take off your shoes until your chinese wedding ceremony is over. The modern custom is to remove the wedding shoes only after returning to the groom's home or bridal home after the bride's home visit to her parent's home.

3. Taking care of Roast Pig
If a roast pig is included as part of the bride’s home visit gifts, be careful not to break the ears or tails accidentally. An imperfect roast pig implies that the bride is not a virgin.

4. Use Even Numbers
Even numbers are used for joyous events. All red packets should contain even numbered amounts.

5. Avoid Mourning Colours and Flowers
White, blue, green are mourning colours and should not be used for weddings. Chrysanthemums are for funerals and not to be used for weddings.

6. The First Purchase
It is said that the first partner who buys a new item after the wedding will be the dominant one in the relationship. Haha...!

princess> ya, dont have to follow everything. thats for guide...hehe. as for shoe, yes, have to wear thru-out till tea ceremony ends. actually before going bride's home can change le. eg. some ppl wanna wear kua, they wanna wear e red shoe to match. (in older days, go back bride's house is 3 days later 'fan san jiu'. now we shorten everything in 1 day)

on timing, no fixed i guess. i check mine thru tong shu. e uncle say he can only step into my house between 9.01am to 10.59am when fetching me.

If i m teochew n my htb is hokkien so shld i follow teochew or hokkien customs huh? or half half?

Jan: my htb picking me up ard 730 to 800..

eelynn: r u gg hk immediately after ur AD? i might be gg there too becuz my htb got assignment there..

joii: high 5...my htb also hokkien. Apparently the person who calculated my date and time din even check with me which dialact we belong. For our timing, i need to reach his place after 8am

wah confusing sia ... like si dian jin i thot is only for teochews? whereas cantonese have dragon phoenix bangles, hokkiens i think also a pair of bangles, etc .. teochew got rock sugar and melon candy de ar?

faintz ... seems it's so complicated ..

Those i have in my list are as follows:

Betrothal Process 纳彩, 下娉 or 过大礼

• Xi Bing – Wedding cakes/pastries (depending on how many boxes are being requested by the bride’s family)

• two bottles of Hard Liquor

• even numbered of tangerines or oranges,

• peanut candies

• at least six tins of canned pork legs

• two pairs of dragon and phoenix candles 龙凤烛,

• Si Dian Jin (四点金) from the groom’s parents to the bride. It comprises of a pair of earrings, necklace, bangle or bracelet and a pendant or ring

• Bride’s Dowry 娉金 wrapped in Red Cloth or slotted into Red Packet

Return of Gifts 回礼

• Some of the Xi Bing – Wedding cakes/pastries (depending on how many boxes are being requested by the bride’s family) – in even numbers

• Two bottles of orange syrup

• Some of the Oranges – in even numbers

• Some of the Canned pork legs – in even numbers

• Two phoenix candles

• Portion of Bride’s Dowry 娉金 in even numbers

• Red packets for the in-laws to buy shoes

• Towels for the in-laws

Bride’s Gifts å«å¦†

• Double Happiness 喜喜 stickers to be used to stick on to all the wedding related items, house and bride’s room/bed etc.

• Beddings – pillows, bolsters, comforter set, blankets, bed sheets, etc.

• Baby bathtub, potty, face washbasin, tumblers, toothpaste, toothbrushes, mirror, comb

• 2 pairs of embroidered pink or red colour satin slippers / red wooden clogs

• Sewing set with scissors, threads, measuring tape, pins and pin-holder etc.

• Tea pot set for Tea Ceremony on the Customary Wedding Day.

• Gold jewelry

• New clothes in a suitcase for the bride

Hi eevee, you are correct. For Hokkien is bangles.. called "long fei zhuo".. =) Your list is okay.. actually everyone will have a different list then others.. cos some might omit certain items.. I will share with you guys once i have tidy my list..

joii: yupiee... i will be leaving on the 4th at 3plus pm.... coming back on the 10th... =) Wah.. if you're going there... we can shop shop together.. =P

Jan: my htb is suppose to reach my house at 7.00am... then i'm suppose to reach his house at 9.00am... have to wake up early... haahaa...

Wow thanks gals for all the wonderful information
At least nw i can pass my mum the list for hokkien

Btw she didnt manage to get any dresses from the place which u all mentioned cos its all cheong sam mostly..

Think she will need to make a trip to OG / people's park / beach road area for her clothes..else she will tailor made..anyone noes of any good tailor? Budget below SGD 400 per dress for them?

eelynn> i m going HK too. u book your tix already? i will go macau 1st, then ferry to hk on 6th. meaning sin-macau-hk-sin via jetstar...going 4th, back 9th...maybe we can shop together too? hehe

hi gal, what is the market rate for the red packets for the jiemeis, bros and helpers? need to give ang bao to photographer & videographer & solemnizer right? what's the rates like? thanks

eelynn> i haven book any hotel yet for both place. most prob around jordan mtr. my colleague just went nathan hotel, he say its good (just reno not long). there be few days we in hk, can eat n shop together. 1 day i wanna go ocean park. if u going maybe we can acc? hehe

starfrost> jiemei usually is thru gatecrashing give, bro usually around $68 kind of range? (see ur budget how much u can give). PG/VG i think $12-$28 can le.

Hi girlywurly, thanks! I love to share watever i have with you girls.. =)

Hi princess, me will start to source for guo da li items in October hehe.. You can start to source for the following at the meantime:

More to decide and shop:
- Justice of Peace (Solemnisation) and Booking of date in ROM website (can file online in mid Oct for Jan Brides, Oct 16th for Jan 16th brides)
- Makeup artist and Hair Stylist for mum and sisters
- Bridesmaid Dresses and wrist corsages
- Decide on Xiong Dis shirt colour/tie color
- No of hotel rooms needed for overseas guest
- Mum's Dress
- Shoes for Ben
- Wedding shoes
- Certificate Pen
- Guest pens
- Flowergirls' Dresses
- Ang Pao Boxes and wedding decorations like bird cage etc
- Florist (if necessary)
- KUA/Tea dress shoes
- Ang Bao red Packets
- Guest Books
- Wines and hard liquor
- Wedding March-in songs
- Thank you cards
- Wedding Favors

And of cos, start drafting 101 ways to tekan the groom with your bridesmaid.. hehe.. not to forget the actual day programme schedule, assign duties on actual day - AM and PM etc

pinky: heeheee.... i have booked the hotel liao.... at Tsim Sha Tsui...Butterfly on Prat.... =) no problem.. we can go together... heehee... will be fun for sure.. you meeting us on next monday???

wendy> u r really power!! u have done so much homework...

eelynn> next monday? hmm..i think i missed that. where u gals going? only know there is uncle selling angbao on 29 sept which i cant join.

at tsim sha tsui, is it ex? was thinking jordan area cos cheaper. dont intend to get good hotel since we will be out most of e time. n trying not to spend too much cos hope to go 2nd honeymoon to hokkaido in aug (if pocket allows)...hehe

pinky: heehee.. u have msn?? maybe you can add me. then we chat there... heeheee..... I should be going Perth/Gold Coast/etc in March if time allows... heehee... . next monday is going to that uncle's house and dinner lor

Agreed with piger! As for ang paos i will give auspicious amount.. i am intending to give $18-28 for makeup artist, AG VG, AD PG, my emcees as they are already paid for their service.. But normally bridesmaids, brothers, wedding car driver, the boy who open the car door will have higher ang pao than rest. But if you are sponsoring your girls' dresses then the amount might reduce.. And they also divide the gate crashing ang pao too.. so have to add into calculatons.. Some people might give gifts to them or treat them to dinner after the wedding when they felt they deserve more. =)

Hehe.. today dunno why my emails are quiet!! so lucky.. no calls from boss yet, that why i can be here.. !

Thanks wendy! U r power! haha

Pinky, for Hong Kong, i stayed at holiday Inn before..not too bad..It is near tsai shai tsum mrt:P 2 mins walk

Also uncle is on 28th sept..not 29th :P
Btw we have nt seen u before right pinky? :P U gt multiply or facebook? so we can take a look? hehe

Oh.. One thing, the standard rate for jiemei or groom men need to at least cover the taxi cost your jiemeis/groomsmens spent in reaching your place on your AD.

But if you can afford to give more, you can give more. Usually jiemeis are your close friends so they are very understanding if you are on tight budget.

For gate crashing, you can either prepared 1 BIG hongbao that can divided equally among 4 or 6 jiemeis, for example $x each or more.

OR you can prepared 3 hongbao for them to use in gate crashing which normally groom will slowly give hahaha.. The amount in the 3 hongbao will normally added up to be even as well!

Date: 28th SepTeMber 2009
Time: 7.00pm
VEnue: Kovan MRT or Buangkok MRT (TBC)

List:
1) Princess (Shawn)
2) Wendy (wendycsk)
3) Pei Jia (Aeriss)
4) Janet (KenJan)
5) Eelynn (piger)

eelynn > I will try to see if I can join u all on Monday cos got something on ... The place is in Sengkang right? If I do join u all i will meet u all directly there bah ... but u will need to give me the address loh ..

wendy/pinky: so nice of u 2 ard..great help n advice!!!

eelynn: den dun tink we gg to meet cuz very likely me gg after my AD

chercher: u ok? wat happen?