(2009) Brides of year 2009

Hi Glam,
I've been surfing the forums and there's this place called Max Couture at Katong Shopping Centre that's well recommended. So I'm prob going to do it there together with my mum and future MIL. Hopefully can get a bulk discount.

My friend just refer me to this website, for renting jiemeis dress.
Seems not bad.

Its called bridal closet.

Actually, i also have thoughts of getting @ Bkk.
Saw some nice designs 2 weeks ago when i went.
Only problem is the alteration + size lor.

but really cheap la. and pretty also.
Each pc ard $15 for wholesale price?
Tempting....

Hi girls, i will only try gowns in dec and PS is next march. Seems like some of u are doing it earlier. Remember to share picts k!

I am still looking around for rings... any suggestions as to where i can go other than GH, LH, SK etc?? =)

Can I ask u girls your opinion on something?

I'm the maid of honour for my best friend's wedding in Dec. I bought my own dress (which she approved of course) - made of good quality duchess satin, looks quite bridal cos its white, satin, v-neck A-line floor-length, and has a black obi accent with a grecian belt in the middle. Was toying with the idea of wearing it again for one of my EG changes at my wedding dinner in May. Pple have advised me against it cos they feel I should wear new gowns and shouldnt' reuse an old one. I already have an WG and EG to wear for dinner. Toying with the idea of making my Kebaya one of my gown changes too.(so either kebaya or this dress)

Wonder what you gals think?

raine,

Me thinks that you should be allowed to wear whatever YOU want because it is your wedding! Everyone will have their own opinion so babe, go ahead and do what YOU want!

reinn, usually GDL is 1 or 2 wks b4 AD, so i tink mine will still be in dec. If you want, you can also ask the shifus to pick a auspicious date. i tink GDL no need to tink so early, next year then i tink will about it...hahah

Hi Reinn, Cube cube is right. GDL is usually done 1 or 2 wks before your AD where you will give out the invitation cards and cakes to ur relative.
From what i know, u will need to select a good day and time to do the ceremony where the groom will come to bride house and give the GDL things

hi babyfaery...we have decided to engage WL (Cheong) for our AD PG...we have seen his very recent portfolios (for a sept bride and groom)..v nice with some mini montage and special effects...

oh ya..my GDL is 21 Nov 09..last time my shifu pick the date..and then the an chuang is on 1 dec 09...i m now doing research on the things required so that my hubby can slowly get ready and my parents also can have an idea...lol...mi the youngest liao and my bro and sis alrdy married so long liao...they forget alot of things here and there.... :P

I agree with ene too! It's your big day, you can choose to wear whatever you want to suit how you want to feel!! Glam, traditional, your own private fashion show... LOL...
It's our once in a lifetime chance to do what we want. Make sure you don't regret not doing what you wanted after all of it.

geminiger: I saw this webbie in one of the wedding mags www.weddingcars.sg, can choose bridal deco too I think. There's another one, but I can't find the webbie liao.

else do normal rental like Hertz and get florist or BS to do deco? I had a BS package that inc. a merc. But in the end I didn't use it.

hi angeline,

i tried many EG but cant find one that i like, so decide to go for MTM. ya i am so excited, just 3 more days to my first fitting. am taking my PS 2 weeks later.

hi tricia,

I will be sponsering my jiemei on the dress. it will be a simple white dress, which i am still sourcing around now and they will decorate the dress themselves with a colour theme. most prob white and baby blue.

hi kawaii,

i do not have a multiply a/c. do i need to have an account before i can view?

verena

i dun think you are able to rent out the whole flat (you have satisfy a 3-year or 5-year Minimum Occupation Period (MOP)
, there are rules & regluations to follow for renting out the whole flat / rooms. Pls check with HDB 1st.

raine,
i also feel nothing wrong with wearing tat again.

if really so particular about wearing new one, then everyone of us has to MTM new WG le. hee...

renne ah...hmm...GDL list ah... hee hee..still researching...but i suppose it includes those traditional things like sewing kit and the package for hair-combing...still compiling the details and the pricings for my parents and hubby's parents to consider etc...hee hee...preparing for wedding like studying...so many things to research..

u all know where to get those nice wedding or "Xi" character wrapping paper? i am thinking of DIY my angpao box..i got the boxes but still thinking how to deco it :P hee hee...

desjO,
Just added you to the photo link.

Buffet i did some homework as well.
Refer to the spreadsheet. You might need to download a converter to view cos my office is in 2006 or 2007.
<center><table border=1><tr><td>
attachment_icon.gif

Buffet Catering Companies.xlsx (13.7 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Hi Grace, My WG is from Martini G. They have embrodiery gowns that will fit your budget. They are having a year end sale for their OTR too. You may want to check it out.

I'm surprised so many of the brides here go JB, I cannot trust the local BS here, cannot imagine going to JB, I will be so stressed out!

Thanks Mrs Ang..chim le..need converter ar?;p
I have shortlisted a few buffet 1) Elsie Kitchen, Neo garden &amp; Rasel Food Fusion.
thanks for adding me..shall check it up ur lovely photos

I also still in a mist of researching n hope to buy only those necessary things. Else if buy the whole sets, some of the things might be obsolete and waste $$$.
I think Plaza Sing 2nd Floor gt 1 shop sell wedding wrapper and precious thots in PS as well. I see if i passby i take snapshots and let u see.

This is so fustrating.....I still cant find a nice bridal shoe for my WG. It's either too expensive or too ugly haizzzz......

gals, sorry for late reply...busy with work lately...

wah, how come thread so quiet ar? yes, Lalaa...shd be cancelled liao lah....no one appearing in the thread leh

April, agree. Taking up space in my wardrobe. Hee. But still addicted to these gowns, dun know y. Maybe because, it's once in a lifetime affair so I wanna buy as won't get the chance again to wear it, after that. On the shipping, it costs about $30-40 for 1 gown but if we have volume, think it will cost only $20 per gown. :P

Ene, opps, sorry, typo error. Yes, u r right. For me, I intend to buy, just for some addditional shot &amp; will sell it off after my wedding. So, won't be taking up space in my wardrobe permanently, only in the interim &amp; one of my wildest dream is to bring my WG for honeymoon for another post wedding series. Haha

Agreed not to rent out..

Verena - Maybe can check with HDB to defer collecting of keys (duno can or not).. I duno if U are those "Pang Tang" person anot. If so, not to forget finding a good date and time to "Open Door" for New House. Find ID/Contractor. Bank Loan. Decide when to "Dong Tu". Think of a theme for your sweet home. Source arounds for ideas, furnitures, electrical appliances, curtains etc... All these will take up at least a few months. By then, I guess it will be after CNY if U are to collect your keys in Dec 08 to start off with the renovation. From planning to renovating to cleaning up, at least 4-6mths.

What I mention is " heng heng and soon soon". U need some buffer time juz in case reno cock up. By then, U will realise time is not enuff le

Mashi - My frd juz attended a wedding dinner at Furama RiverFront... she complaning about the services and food there... Me too had bad experience with them when I attended my cousin's wedding last year

The appetizer taste funny, the shark fins very watery, the yam basket is already cold when served and worst, the servers very slow. Ask for hot tea come lukewarm tea. Buay Tahan!!!! You have to be very stern/firm when requesting for good service and food...

My 2cents worth

Hi Everyone,may i join in as well??

ROM Date: 101008
ROM Venue: ROM/Tung Lok Signatures @ The Central
AD Date: 101009
AD Venue: York Hotel
AD PG: TBA
AD VG: TBA
BS: Sattine Bridal Couture
Wedding Band: Customized
Love Nest:Punggol Sapphire

Lorraine, u can try Leaping Lizard to tailor your shoes. Think it cost around $80 for a simple design n u can DIY those blinks, if necessary. I had custom made my shoe there &amp; love it.

Momo, do not worry, guys are like that. But, they usually buy &amp; select their shirts, shoes etc quickly. Unlike ladies like us, where we like to see here, see there, compare prices etc. Maybe he will be able to buy all the stuff at a department store like Taka or Robinson within 1 day.

lorraine: u can also try anns nucci at far east plaza...level 2 if i am not wrong...i bought mine there...

benjymocha: mu hubby has neen liaising with weddingcars.com... but they are requesting for 100% payment upon confirmation..is it norm?? i tot what we need to pay is a deposit first to confirm the booking of the moedel we want?

no @ chevybb... quite a number of BTB in here already booked their VG and PG. I'm still sourcing mine. It seems that some already increased their price. Sad

haha...another flop leh. cannot like dat lar.we hv to seriously set a date n commit to it.if not, by next yr sept, we oso haven meet leh...hehe

Xiaokeai, my uncle is oso helping me out with the sourcing. So the best quote wins lor.

The thread has been extremely quiet these past wk. Everyone must be bz. Hope to hear from all of u soon.

hi chevybb, we share the same AD...=)

actually, my flat is a resale flat so there has been a previous owner already. I wouldn't be able to sublet the whole flat, but if I keep one room for ourselves, then we'll be able to. HTB and I thought that if we can sublet the flat for 6 months, can make some reno $ and start our reno in July so it'll be brand new by our AD in Oct 09.

Hi June Brides,
Guess everyone should be busy with their prepartion or so.
Lately have been so busy with my work, didn't manage to have time to update here..
Since there are so many June'09 brides here, shall we all arrange for a meet up. Those who are interested, kindly reply...

Hi Rain,

Kindly find update :
Bridal Studio : Sophia
PG : Sophia in house service
VG : TBC
Wedding bands : Lee Hwa, Des range

Thanks for yr kind updates to keep this forum so interesting
Much appreciated, hope you will be able to join us for meet up as well...

Has been busy scouting for VG.

Now more or less know which one to shortlist, might go for a second preview to confirm that we did not have the wrong perception during the first visit.

After this, can really shake legs and concentrate on the minor details....

Then can start looking for ID as my house is the same situation as Mashi Mashi...

But think, can really wait for a while, cos no way HDB gonna improve that much on the time to hand over the keys, else i also worried about their quality in rushing....better ask them to take their time and do the house properly hor....hee....just joking...

i'm also a nov 2009 btb. please add me in your list.
name: charlene
date: 22/11/2009
hotel: intercontinental
and the rest to be confirm.
thanks...

iris,
tink hv to c when the time goes ba. so far got fren who attended wedding there feedback quite gd.. so nw is looking at the comments by the brides who held the wedding there. but will remind the co ordinator regarding the service on tat day... pray hard all goes well...

ChevyBB,
Welcome. i got mine PG n VG liao. sometimes its gd to act early. heard that the prices go up for quite a no. of PG n VG. keke.. so i get to sercure tis yr price. heng ar... save abit there.

Verena,
if u plan to sublet 6mths, i would say u better nt. as 6mths is very short. nobody wan to rent a place for a short period. unless tat person plan to stay here short while... tats my view...

Bryce,
HDB is gd to improve so much liao. but then hor,i still prefer to get my flat earlier then i can start my reno earlier. keke... can spend more time doing up my unit.

so nw still waiting to c. so far not much work can be seen doing for our blks. lol...

Sorry! Am back at work. Damn busy! I wont be in office (town) in the next 2 weeks. So earliest which i can meet up would be end oct alr.