(2009) Brides of year 2009

emily> thot 35 tables might not be enuff... cos my est. is 35 tables... n now my worries are not able to fulfil the min. tables for waterfront.. which is 40 tables... actually did not have the final number yet.. can only keep my fingers cross since already paid the deposit...

nat> any idea how much is MBR charging for AD PG?

Hi Tinkle,
IC should be able to meet your requirements of 35 tables...cos the min is 35 and if your est. is 35 tables, then why did you let IC go?

I peeped in the ballroom last weekend and there was a wedding going on. The couple had 40 tables.....
Anyway..min of 40 tables for WaterFront is really kind of alot...but dun worry..you should be able to fill it.

By the way, how many per table? Is it 10? And is the wedding package exp? :|

hi raine ...

so fast !!! actually i very kan cheong also. but also can give mi time to lose weight. did u manage to lose any weight, can teach mi? my flabby arm and thighs are getting out of control. did u choose ur MUA or they assign one to u ?

tat time i rom, one of the MUA make my eye one big one small. haiz, dunno whether can change anot. will they very impatient to u when u choosing the gown, cos i quite fussy la !!! haha

renne, i saw this at BKK too. Chinatown stuff cheaper than the weekend market (but clothes fashion a no no there) go there on a morning. lots of cute cute stuff plus there's a lane for wedding stuff, a lot of stuff there. take a look.

hi johra,

girl side to return the gifts on the same day when the male side give. The items are to be discussed and confirmed during the ti qing session.

wow dreamz81, 3-4 gowns one night really buzi leh. I spend quite a bomb on the dinner menu so i really want to eat something also. Plus need to mingle with guests haha..2.5 hrs change 4 sets of clothes quite shiong.

Hi reinn, i will bring a zip lock bag and help u keep a lookout.

Hi Suzanna,long time did nt c u le.do you still remember the lane for wedding stuffs? I thought og buying some GDL things over there like mugs, etc

Hi gals, any recommendations on tailors in BKK? that is cheap and gd. Plan to tailor some shirts for my husband to be for wedding.

hi geminiger, thanks for reminding me. yup, the type of hair style is impt too. many ideas but not sure yet. y u change the hair acessories to pearl the last minute? is it to match ur dress? i will look at the dress i select then decide, will ask u for opinions later. =)

hi poohise, i hav same thinking like u! he he. i m telling my HTB dat if there is no suitable ROM dress, i will get one from elsewhere. so i brought forward my fittings from 22/11 to 8/11 already! he he! =)

hi emily,
abt stephanie's service not too sure coz didnt really work with her yet lor... frankly speaking you will be disappointed with the neg part. cause IC really difficult to get extra perks. anyway you said you went to peek at their ballroom with a wedding going on at 40 tables. how was it ah? issit still spacious with 40 tables?

hi tydy,
you confirmed with mojoideas already ah? which package you took?

oooh...we will miss u, do visit us here..

btw gals,
any BS shop to recommend? so far i have shortlisted: Di Gio, Thomson Wedding, Bridal Concept & La belle

tinklefel> oh, u will b taking PS so esrly huh? to be frsnk, i havent set anything w MBR other than confirming the package w them. haha.. Was too busy w work n other things now. but think i wont b taking PS so early cos both my HTB n my work r v busy 1st half of e yr so prob aft jun.
not sure how much they charging for AD PS which i will find out prob next mth. will let u noe once i get e info k.

Esther> e feeling u got from MBR is almost exactly e same as me n dats y i ended up signing w them. But still think dat u might wana hold on w FB partly due to e deposit, $1.5k alot lei, at least to me Haha
Gg down a few more times n if its ok then thou u might wana stick to it thou, just my thought

Hi Wendy, yeah cannot be within 3 months. But my case was better just his elder coursin wedding, so we still go ahead with it. Just that we will not invite each other family members for the wedding.

My hubby bro did propose we change date but we book much earlier but i rejected it. LOL...told him everything book, cannot be change. But yr case has to be more tactful i guess.

Sigh.. have not decided on my VG/PG yet.. my HTB very fussy and like in no hurry to look for one.. i dunno why he's not anxious at all.. kinda frustrating..

Hi Vivienne,

I didn't manage to lose any weight.. after weeks of jogging 3x a week.. but I think I did tone up my body a little. I also watched what I ate, but I fell SICK instead. AGAIN. sigh... Just want to lose that little bit to fit into my dress and look good. I need more weight loss tips..

French recommended me an MUA, my designer says she's good, but I'll see on Friday how she is (trial make-up is then). I think you can change MUA if you tell them your feedback and INSIST.

Think depends on your designer/coordinator when it comes to choosing your gowns. Mine was quite ok, but mainly cos there's not much gowns to choose from for big-sized brides like me... :P

vivienne,
Hmm... by right they wont be impatient, coz, its the only day in our life we can wear WG!
Of coz must choose till we found something we like!

But one thing abt my BS is... good and bad.
My AD WG has to be one of the WG in my photoshoot.
Meaning i have to choose it early.
Thus there might be a possiblity that I saw a nicer gown yet cant choose that for AD.

good thing is... Its nice tat my WG for AD, is used for photoshoot. make it more special ba.

piglit21: haha..no worries!heh..i also prefer my oct date..but the thing is no venue..so sad..=(

oh..i signed up for bridal concept..coz i liked the service there..hahah..=) Thomson wedding my hubby say also not bad..coz his fren took there..heee...but if u goin to bridal concept..look for sally and tell her xiaohui recommend de..haha..hopefully she give u better price..haha..=p

ya, busy at work. final year exams coming. rushing out assignments and stuff...

err, i dunno which lane leh. but I think u ask the ppl there, should be able to ask for directions. i took a namecard for one of the store, coz the things really pretty. i try to dig it out for u. need to gimme a while.

renne, if tailor express service, quite ex wor.. usually need about 3-5 days to tailor (for a suit). u can try MBK, price upper range, but quality assured. my bf's friend tailor like 2 sets there, he told us quite worth it.

Hi Girls.... Have not been here for some time liao. How is everyone?

All> Like to check, if any one is going for their gown fitting/selection as early as Dec 08?

Sharlene> First we also plan to go gown fitting.selection in Jan/Feb 09 but hubby's grandma is not doing too good... so am thinking maybe take the photo early maybe can show her she will be happy or more cheer up lor.

desjO> wow your $15 is to change hairstyle for you? then like that the MUA charge how much for ur mum and sis?

Yup I had to top-up for the MUA to stay. haha i planning to get the hotel to save our portion of the food and bring it up to our room after the banquet. keke cos i think during banquet i also will not feel like eating one.

Vallous> no la not in 2.5hrs. cos i was thinking of wearing my tea dress to mingle with the guests before the banquet start so that during 1st march-in then got the wow effect. keke. but must see how my tea dress will be like first. then end of 1st dish I will go up to change to EG le. until maybe the end of the 6th dish I will go change to kebaya lor.

but I was thinking like that my WG like wear awhile only during banquet. so debating between wearing wg longer or to have the wow effect better.

As for the dinner, will be getting my hotel to save the food to be brought up to my hotel room, so at least i can enjoy the food in peace keke. during dinner i will not eat one la. scare later mouth dirty la, got food stuck in between teeth, lipstick get wipe off. so many things to take not, will not enjoy the food. that is for me la.

Wow, so much action here! OK, here's my 2 cents:

Mother/MIL's dress - mine are settling their own dresses, so not too sure what's a gd place.

Rings - HTB and I are getting platinum rings, main reason being that they won't discolour. Disadvantage is that they are costlier than white gold, and have been told that they are harder to resize. But yea, at least for my HTB and I, we're more willing to spend on our rings (since it's to last a lifetime
), and save on other stuff. HTB's ring is bought off the shelf (we caught a perfect ring at 80% discount!), and my own ring will be customised, likely with a diamond, but will see how the design turns out

Josie - what's ur multiply acct?

PK - how did ur 2nd makeup trial go?

Btw, I just signed with TWP yesterday, and had the design session for the WG ... very very excited about how it'll look
a bit of headache re EG tho ... currently gg for a design that is kinda cheongsam-greece fusion dress. Just hope it turns out as nice as we envision it to

Iris> Erms... I already eyeing one of the BS gown its for their fashion show... only available for me to fit aft the show lor.. which is Dec 08. So hopefully I can get what I like in Dec 08 else have to spread it till Jan 09 which we had original plan la. Hopefully is nothing happen to my hubby's grandma than can liao. I am just starting 1 mth early nia so actually not much of a difference lor.

Sharlene>
My FIL have sound out to us have our AD early but hor I dun like changing the dates to so early... cause with the AD on Oct 09 we can save some money also.

So to make FIL a bit better I am think to go for gown fitting/selection early and to get the PS done early for the grandma to see lor... hope it brighten her mood. My mom also say to go PS early done up first and see how lor.

Congrats Glympse! U must be relieved now.:-) A cheongsum-greece fusion dress sounds really exciting! Did the designers inspire u or you had that design in mind?

Am happy to share that my trial with Liren went well. At least, the foundation that she used is very close to my skintone. And she managed to make my very small eyes look brighter.:-)

Queen> Oh... your time and my time abt the same if I spread to gown selection/fitting till Jan 09. Any reason that your doing it early? Care to share?

Sharlene, of coz we dont mind, the more the merrier...

Charlene, we took the $2988 with cartoon animation cos my hubby like their cartoon.. I will be paying 1K deposit on monday, quite alot for deposit..should have signed up long ago but keep considering the 1k deposit but couldnt find another one which fits our budget so took the risk. Hope he dont run away with deposit. Hee. I find them quite strict on the photos and freebies. Nth to negotiate further cos their pkg is actually quite comprehensive.

Girls if u not in a hurry to sign for bridal studio, why not wait for BOWS2009 somewhere held during January.Lots of bridal studios will participate and u can in turn bargain for more photos and poses. I got a $300 rebate and still neg for more poses photos.

PK - thanks
haha yea glad that at least firmed up one more thing. Actually, TWP had a cheongsam dress on display that I thought looked great, just that it was a bit too revealing, and the cut was more suited for tall, slim girls (I'm on the petite side). So the designer suggested tweaking the cut to make it seem more 'floaty'. Should be interesting ;)

Glad to know that ur trial with Liren went well! U deciding to go with her? Got pics to share? TWP told me to get ready some photos to show the makeup artist in terms of what kind of makeup i'd want, still quite clueless abt that haha.

haha cute dreamz81.

Me told my hubby to arrange for changing gowns after the 2nd dish..I die die must eat my sharks fins soup. haha. I tot of after dinner then eat..but i guess by the time everything is done..i be too tired..and hubby most likely gone drunk...supper also no use. haha.

For me..i love my WG...i mean we dont get to wear our WG anymore..if can..i will wear longer. heehee

ooo..so you are a nonya. I tot of getting a kebaya but i went to a shop at East Coast Road..a really good quality one can range to $1200 manz..but its damm lovely. My maternal grandmother is a nonya.

okok, i very lazy to exercise, so went to see doctor for slimming pills. the pills nv make mi lose weight but make mi very short temper and difficulties sleeping at night. tat why i give up. my cousin even recommend mi to those chinese clinic to ZHEN JIU, can see the result. im going down to try this saturday. hopefully it help !!

so have u all found ur actual day photographer and videographer ? looking for one but must within our budget ...

im so looking forwards for my first fitting on november. hopefully i wont make a fool out of myself.

btw, raine who is ur coordinator ? mine is Jane ..

Sharlene,
Tats good.. finally u got a venue :D

piglit21,
I personally like La Belle gowns n my HTB like their PS but its up to individual lah.. :D maybe u can go to the BS to have a look b4 making ur decision ba..

most probably will go for gown fitting after CNY n PS in May cos May have better weather *fingers n toes crossed* lolz..

Glympse, do show us the pictures of your EG when it is ready.:-) What is the colour theme of the EG?

Yup, i have decided to go with Liren. Haha, my "after" pictures are with her, got to get her to email me. Basically, i told Liren that i wanted a more glamourous, elegant look but i still want to look like me! I did not have pictures with me but she has many portfolios to share.

iris,
Ya, have dogs @ home.. all my baobeis.. tats y I prefer to stay near my parents so tat can get my maid to take care of them when I go to work.. =)

Wow so much action here...

For the rings, we got white gold rings from Lee Hwa. Mine is a wedding band with a row of diamonds. for my hubby, he prefers plain white gold wedding band. He finds that guys wearing diamond seems gay.... lol...

Hi Glympse

Good choice for your BS because I got my ROM dress from The Empire and their service was generally good.