(2009) Brides of year 2009

hi mashi!

I manage to get the quotes for that 2 hotels already, but still trying to find out more

As for BS, yet to search wor. thinking abt 4 to max 5k (after topping fotos). I heard of frds spending almost 10k after topping fotos, tats too overbudget.

Share with me?

hi glympse

ha no wonder marriot replied me that 11 july not avail, taken by u! hee.

how u find the plc n package? they need min 40 tables, so im really still considering.
Then they state in email that i'm first on wait list some more, think not much hope hoR?

Usually is only more photos, free rental of gowns/coats, no. of makeup, wedding car, etc..

the main thing to nego for is Photos!!

hi cymk,

I agree wif grace, all BS has its positive n negative feedback. juz listen only lor.
but most impt is that hw u feel abt the BS. most impt has to b comfortable wif it lor. tats wat i tink..

curious BTB,
ya. look for afew more lor. can compare n c wat u like. but most impt is tat the date u wan is still available. if nt, will b waste of time to shortlist the hotels that already been taken up.

hmm 4-5K after topping up ar. got alot lor. most BS start off the package ard 3k. so toppin up is abt there liao. juz control urself when come to select the photos ba. SELF CONTROL is the most impt. haha... i also will try to do tat when my turn comes.

10K is really too over unless u are rich lor. then can. haha... i saw my sis after topping up is abt 7K. which i tink still acceptable as some of my frens also spend abt tat amount. haha. but i tryin to keep lower for my case. hope i can do it.

mayb u can try to c the bridal mag to c which BS gowns u like then short list 3-5 then go visit n check out their packages. most impt is u like their services n gowns.

Hi desjo,

I am nearer to rivervale mall now. We got ours in july balloting last year... So as you can see... It's almost a year liao...

Dianna, thanks for the site... I am browsing now..

hi desjO,

ya as long got own love nest. I also dun wan to stay with in laws. I tell you I now stay near..I also scared..they often just 'pop' by at convenience liao. True your EA is indeed cheap. We also might take EA from hdb if we din get this 3 room at low cost of $160K.

Hi dianna,

Wow tats close. Seems we are all nearby to each other.

YUP! Photos are the top priority...hehe...if your PS has less than 4 gowns(2WG,2EG), then mayb you can ask for it...dun take like 5 or 6 gowns, cos its very tiring, and it will be more rushed, cos you need to squeeze more time for places for shoots.

Wow, so many month never come in here, the posts are too much to catch. So i will just start from here instead.

Saw something about honeymoon in the threads, I will be gg to Europe with SA Tours. Any chance anyone booked the same tour??

Got a qn, when are you all planning to start calling your friends to invite them to your wedding banquet as well as to get a verbal confirmation and get their addresses?

Mashi & aggiegal,

Understand. but cos i will be taking my PS oversea next yr so wondering should i book after i'm back or do it b4? Scared do it early then regert! hehe. headache now...

aggiegal u are flying to where? =)

Hi cosyouraremygal,
wow...same as luvlove also got it from july balloting.that period more units avail..indeed 1yr liao ;p

Hi Vallous,
EA from HDB is definitely affordable compare resale flats.But if next time downgrade have to pay levy..ur in-laws so ON ar?so on & off can hear ur hse "Ding Dong" ;p

Hi dreamz81,
I think I should be checking on their availablity in Oct ba?then late Nov take address.Infact those close frens of mine oredi been infd much earlier..keke
As for honeymoon,I should be gg japan.see got $ add italy. or hawaii? seems like alot takin SA tours,not exp meh?

whoa dianna,

saw ur webbie..think of baby's names liao. Anyway just curious..how old are you gals..?? Cos think of baby so soon. My hubby and I thinking of maybe one to two yrs later. We are both 27 yrs old this year.

oh same as us..we also 1981. Haha...good good.

my hubby not ready yet. But we agreed as long as its before 30 to have one. Cos we havent settle the dispute as my parents in law wants to take care of my kids. I dun wish..i want to take care of my own. So I held it back until they accept the fact i dun wan them to take care.

Hi Janice,

For hand waists, u can check with Ferisia de Floral & Gifts at Novena Square (62556628). Their price quite reasonable.

For PG, you can call Victor at 97608534 to see his portfolio. He is freelance PG, so can get better price.

mashi,

Yup for my AD lor. that y i need just a basic pkg will do. But heard u mention whitelink only have a basic pkg which need 3k plus too. so dunno what to do nw also... *lost*

i am 24, 1984. seems like the youngest here so far. I also wan to have babies! If not for the outstationed, it'll b quite soon after my marriage. Want to have 3... hubby nag, say cannot afford! how many r u gals planning? Guess got to wait till my job stabilise, no need to travel then can have babies. I hope 2 yrs frm now. Else, I must find another job or threaten my boss that i m leaving! haha...

btw, how u gals take care of ur kids when u need to work?? are u all going to be tai-tais?

heard alot of gd comment on signoria and i saw their theme on web n its beautiful.

shall go for the fair tmr to look ard. Hope i can get a gd pkg..

Im planning for 1 at the moment. My bf prefers 2. I told him if we are financially stable after the 1st kid then we can have another one.

im those type everyting have to do myself, i suppose when i have baby, i will be a hdb tai tai le. LOL~! Right now, im also till my wedding day though. ^_^

i planning for 1 too. OUr goal is 2 . but have to see our finances, we want to pay off this house first then have kid. So should be in 2 yrs time.

I am also like dianna. I want to be close to my baby. Dun wan grandparents to teach them nonsence and spoil them. I very selfish one..i will get hurt if my child says " i want grandma more..dun wan u" think i cry.

I am a civil servant, so i can take 2 yrs of child care leave after maternity. After tat can put in child care then go back to work. tai tai..can not be lah..husband where got so rich. just housewife with little pocket money hahaha.

hi dianna,

you housewife liao..so no wonder you alreayd think of having kids,no prob mah. not like us need to worry about our work now. But dun wan too early yet..time not right. This yr spent so much, wait till we save enuf for our little one then we have one. but should be soon..cos we only got hdb loan and the loan should be paid off in a yr's time. we din take renovation loan and we fully paid for both in cash too.

Hopefully by end of next yr...try for one.

Wow... talking about giving birth liaoz... I am 1982. HTB 1977. He is very keen in setting up family but I am not so.

A bit paranoid. Afraid I couldn't take care of children. Furthermore, if I am going to give birth, I want to be full time mother, which so far HTB cannot compromise with me on that. So no plan yet.. Won't give him chance to. Hahaha...

I think a good place for Honeymoon is Italy. You can go Rome, from there then venture to Venice (spelling check?), Florence... and so on... =) But I will still prefer a resort or somewhere that we can R&R. Don't even mind just Bali but must be Banyan... Haha... Eh.. no lah, actually just dun feel like rushing on honeymoon.

Hi dreamz81, we are planning to email, text or by any means to inform and RSVP from all our friends for their attendance in September.

We are planning to send out invitation in November. =)

Hi dreamz81,

Actually in early of the yr CNY, we already informed everyone abt it. For relatives, I will send out late November and ask my parents all to confirm attendance. For friends, it be like adhoc, most of them has blocked the date for me already so no worries. I will also send out the cards for them in November.

hi cosyouaremygal,

haha cos i saw dianna already chose her 2 babies names liao on her website. But gets me thinking. Then I remembered, actually way back when we got engaged in 2005, we already tot of the names.

For boy is Skyle. (Somehow my hubby likes the sky..he choose the names for the boys)

For girl is Jo-Ann (I choose gals cos i favor gal more. And I like mine to follow my Capital J down ward..my name is Joleen..so my little girl should be Jo-Ann. My mum's name is Julie...heehee..all the Super Js.)

Cool

mrswang,
if juz for ur AD only, mayb u can go to visit the BS. n tok to them. c wat they offer.
3k plus comes wif PS de. so mayb u can get something cheaper...

i tink u need to borrow gowns n MUA for the AD only lor. unless u also wan to take local PS.

Juz visit the BS. no need to commit so early. as urs is quite diff fr us. check out wat BS offers if u need for AD only....

Hi desjo, u can visit Sin Xiang Jun at Changi branch, lots of displays for taps, basins, shower heads to toilet bowls etc. I got most of the stuffs from there, cos my hubby wan those square taps, small shops hard to find many design. For toilet bowls & bathtub I got from Nah Wah. U will take half a day to shop & shortlist... enjoy ^_^

Hi Vallous & Dianna, i also 1981, very qiao ^_^

Wow, u all have already start planning for kids... my parents more gan chiong den us... but we dun intend to start family... add on burden... kids nowadays also very stressful... my mum-n-law no comments, she loves my dogs more than my hubby ^_^

I finally saw the wedding pics, mostly very nicely taken, esp those at railway track & sunsets. Love most of it, my hubby saw me taking out so many photos, he so gan chiong. 1st round abt 150++, den reduce to 87, so just nice for the album, need not top up... but only can preview layout in 2-3mths time... *Hai plus together with the soft copy ^_^

Whoa luvlove,

haha u made it...no need to top up..i think ur hubby must be sweating inside. haha. Mine also..he kept reminding me dun top up before we walked into the shop. I told him no worries as I am like him, will not top up one.

I guess most of us are in the age of getting hitched. Some gfs of mine are already mothers. Yes children must plan well if not will add burden. Also if hubby doesnt help out , its worse. My hubby often works a lot in SAF so I not so keen on having kids also as he is often away on trips and late nights.

curious BTB, yea i liked marriott a lot, service was excellent, and package was reasonable. Yep min 40 tables for weekends. I can tell u tho, quite unlikely that i'll cancel my wedding dinner on 11 Jul 2009, so u might wanna reconsider hving marriott as ur only option if u wanna do it on 11 Jul too

ya lor, he mus be sweating... & i told him need not top up also. my gfs also already mothers, some even have 2 liao, very fast.

Vallous, civil servant can take 2yrs materity leave ar?? so envy...

Anyway, i already spoilt my dogs, so my hubby said better dun let me teach my kid if got any, sure spoilt brat one... ^_^

hi luvlove,

not 2 yrs maternity leave. 2 yrs of non paid leave. I under MOE..so we can take non paid for 2 yrs then return back.

I dun spoil my pet cat...but i feed it a lot

Oic vallous, thanks for clearing my doubts, but unpaid leave for u, meaning ur hubby have to work extra hard liao.

But its quite good also, can take care of ur kid for 2yrs, more bonding. After 2yrs den send to childcare.

ok lah..see how also.

our house by then will be paid for so shouldnt be a problem. I dun spend a lot. I am very stingy..haha...I think i stay at home can save more than i go out to work.

hi cosyouaremygal, i am yr 82 too. hee..

quite a few of my gfs are already a mother wor. very envy. I'm also the kind who would want to stay at home to bring up the kids on my own. i just had a worklife forum where i heard mothers loud on their woes, very sad. can read frm my blog http://celinerella.wordpress.com/2008/08/05/work-life-forum/

and my hubby & me haven even got our house yet, so most likely wont plan for kids yet. cos i wouldnt want grandparents to spoil them. like vallous said, they would run to them and i will cry too..

Mashi> Let me start first.
ROM date: 1.3.2008
ROM venue: Goodwood Park Hotel
AD date: 30.10.2009
AD venue: Intercontinental Hotel
AD PG: EdmundLeong Photography
AD VG: RedHat Media
BS: Golden Horse Awards
WB: Fairy's Inc

Any more addition just let me know, I will update you whatever info you need =) Danks for the effort!

Twinsfairy> I get the idea of what you mean le. Yeah, it will seem like another mini version, better to get something different. What more you would like to wear it together with your PR right? =) I did see some ladies wear it with a simple white gold band, also pretty nice, not too flashy. Up to you de, I give thumbs up to you too if you want an eternity band =D

My HB didn't set any rules, cos he finds that as long he finds that his gift is of good quality, he is very proud of it le. But due to my job, I have to constantly wash hands and carry stuff, it's not very practical to wear the PR and the eternity ring to work. So I will wear during weekends or weekday nights when we have a gathering or just meet each other up for a drink, to show my appreciation that he bought me a ring and that we are married. Likewise for him too, he will wear it only during weekends and that 1-2hrs when we meet to have supper. So I'm pretty touched.

GG> Yeah, your PR is really big and of good grade . When do you wear it then since you don't wear it to work? I think during dinners, your ring is very nice de wo for show.

Verena> Wah, yours also very big de wo. But I believe when you wear it, you purely feel xin fu that he bought you a beautiful ring right? =DDD

Mrswang> When you say you are going overseas for PS, are you taking ala carte like say gown and PG are under different companies? I do see some overseas PS linked up with BS in the mags, maybe you want to check those out, then you don't have to worry about gowns for your AD.

We just got to know that he is going to LA.

Mashi> My BS allows me to change my gown if needed when nearing my AD (my coordinator is very nice). But I won't bother to cos I'm quite happy with the classic ones that I have now. & it's quite tedious for me to try new ones again. I'm not really the girl's girl, don't really want to go through the trying of gowns anymore. Scary I thought, hehe!

But don't quote me that I can update my gowns in my case, to other BS and ask for the same. Cos ours is a special case, thus many freebies. We are lucky. =P

Hi Celine, I do have a few friends who have had children already. But I am the first to tie the knot among my closest gfs. Sooo.... I am not sure. I felt like a child myself also. How can a child take care of a child???? Ha...

Vallous, I noticed u attended marriage preparation course. Where was it held? Can share some information? We are quite interested in attending one. =)

I attended a short 2 day marriage preparation course at fei yue.You can go to their website. It was held in a group of 8-10 couples. We were taught to enter marriage with less expectations n be less realistic about a perfect marriage. Be tolerant of each other.

We learnt about what is marriage, manage our finances, how to divide household chores, how to deal with in laws, what to say and wat not to say. Sexuality and Preparing when to have kids. The difference between men and women, how to resolve conflicts between ourselves. How to create space for each other and how to respect each other habits and family customs.

I felt its good. I am glad my hubby sign it up for us. He was the one that went to look for it and we join it. We had fun and realize that a marriage takes a lot of effort. We do hear a lot of woes from other couples and felt that financial and in law problems tend to come between them. Therefore, we makes sure up to date, we dont have any loans and try to pay everything up. If you do attend one, actually I have learnt that sometimes men do bear a grudge that we girls spend money like water. Then after marriage will blame us for doing so especially in a heated argument. So to avoid that, must discuss properly. The other one is the in law problems. Thats very sensitive, but we learn from the workshop that us comes first, husband and wife comes first. Still do respect the elders in a certain way by doing our duties.

Therefore it was tat time we realised we made the right decision to move out on our own. Less conflicts. It is to show them that we are old enough to start a family on our own and stop them from still mothering us.

My advice is to go for such courses. Although many will know what it covers but nothing beats to real life stories of crisis from other couples.

Like celine, when you attend forums then u will realise that being in a marriage isnt all rosy, there are much more woes to come.