(2009) Brides of year 2009

sorry typo...should be MORE realistic..
haha..just chat with my hubby (@ overseas..now 3 am) damm sleepy. so blur blur..

paiseh

hi celine

read ur blog. Very interested to know how to sign up for such courses? I will definately drag my lazy hubby to go there and listen. Cos i want him to know that he has no work life harmony now. Now all work no home life at all with his wife. Plus want to expose to him to the 'outside' world. Always felt he is stubborn 'old' man and think he is doing what everyone does..yah..except in actual fact..he is the one tat is the mountain tortoise. haha...

paiseh....i cant stand my own hubby at times.

perhaps you gals can share how long since you have first met your bfs/htbs/hubby?

We met for a long time ago thus we so used to each other...every week also argue for some stupid reasons but after argue can go eat and be happy again. Like old couples haha.

We knew each other for 13 years liao since Sec days.

Hi Aggiegal,
thanks for the info. wat abt ur lovenest? u wan to update where u staying after wedding???

thats gd. since ur AD still got quite sometime to go. keke...

Anymore want me to update? i will post the info that i hv first. U can give me the info on wat u hv first. then i can update...

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>ROM Date</TD><TD>ROM Venue</TD><TD>AD Date</TD><TD>AD Venue</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>Wedding Band</TD><TD>Love Nest </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashi Mashi</TD><TD>05/06/09</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>16/10/09</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>Dreamcatcher</TD><TD>Wowmedia</TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dover </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aggiegal</TD><TD>03/01/08</TD><TD>Goodwood Park Hotel</TD><TD>30/10/09</TD><TD>Intercontinental Hotel</TD><TD>EdmundLeong Photography</TD><TD>RedHat Media</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>Fairy's Inc</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

i will sort the details based on the AD date...

Wow, 13 years of courtship ^_^

For us we together for 5 years, sometimes always argue for stupid reasons, usually i in the wrong...but dun want to give in lor. Sometimes arguements will also bring the relationship to another level, but we wouldnt shouts, just ignores, later when cool down den speak out.

Recent arguements involve houseworks, he complaint i do liao not clean enough... anyway he do housework much better den me ^_^

hi gers, me gonna be nov BTB 2! 21 Nov 09
can add me to the list? =)

hi jaslyn - what a coincidence! saw that we taking same date and same bridal salon (i also signed up w bridal de couture) haha, also considering chinois (the other being mebe NCQ) as one of my options =D

may I check about the An-Chuang thing, is it a must to do it only before AD &amp; the bed cant be use till AD is over??

Kindly enlighten me ^_^

mashi &amp; aggiegal: i will still be taking pkg at here cos my oversea wan will only me outdoors. as i have already find a local BS there le. But some pple tell me take ala carte not worth leh. i heard tat if take basic pkg they wont use digital for ur PS. isit true?

II, do you mind tell me your name? cos till nw still cant recall. =) btw how ur preparation?

An Chuang is a custom for the meaning of having kids after marriage. Some kids are asked to jump on the bed. If it is done, no one should sleep on the bed till the AD.

If u are asking whether is it a must, well it all depends on ur inlaws and parents. If they wish to have it, just follow.

hi curious_btb

Just to let u know about my bridal package:
Basic package $1995
Top up $2500 for total 40 pages digital album with 85 photos selection. (all selected return in CD)
Outdoor transport plus $200 (optional)(no limit to locations &amp; no of places)

Package includes 1 AD wedding gown OTR, 1 AD evening Gown OTR, groom AD 2 suits, Fathers AD suits, trial makup, photoshoot makeup, AD 2 makeups, AD hand flower, car deco.
Photoshoot 1 AD gown, 2 evening gowns, 2 tradition, 2 outdoor gowns.

plus mini album. portrait or 3in1 montage
photos 4R 6*6

everything within $5k, cos i also dun wan to end up spending too much on photos, my friends ended topping up to ard $7k.

If u interested can try Precious moments bridal at Sin Ming Plaza, i not promoting, just feel that is value for $$$, cos we will be spending so much for AD, ang pao etc. Hope is useful ^_^

Also i just taken my PS &amp; done photos selection, quite easy to choose 85 out of 300++ photos. So just go &amp; c whether u like the gowns there &amp; their service.

They are not pushy ppl, unlike the few i been to, thus we signed the package after visiting as gowns selection quite similar ^_^

oic, my parents insisted, but my hubby want to get the mattress though... so i am sandwich between them... difficult to satify both, hopefully my hubby give in ^_^

Hi luvlove,

different dialects got different customs for an chuang. My family side is just lay the mattress and put side table lights and those red dates and so on. No young child jump here and there on bed. They say no need.

But as we moved in earlier and had the bed. My in laws says no need for an chuang liao. Just before the couple sleep on the new bed, no one else is supposed to sit on it. One week before the AD, you have to put a new set of bedsheets (preferably those red and the XI words on it) then shut it close.

Such customs is better to listen to parents n parents in law. For us we listen closely. Such stuff to follow to reduce conflicts.

Perhaps talk to your hubby.

hee. havent been here for a long time..

my BTO still building loh..

ask u all ah, if after married no place to stay how? can stay apart annot?

Me and my BF about another month to the 6th year. Know each other during Double O days. :p

We shouted, screamed and almost fought before...

I am more tired with work and the reno recently, no such energy liao... still, we do have some arguments sometimes...

From lots of expectation to telling myself to accept and let go of them... =)

Mashi> My love nest is in LA. If you dun mind, just put that as my love nest ba.

ll> Classic ones meaning I have to wear can can inside versions. I like gatherings on my pouf dress, not too much lace (cos can look pretty dated) since young. I don't have pictures, yet. Paiseh ah.

Mrswang> Digital depends on the PG's preference. But nowadays, nobody uses film since it is easier to see right away if the pics on cam is nice. If not nice, PG will request to retake again, that's what my PG told me. More convenient he said. But if you are worried, you can confirm with the BS before taking up with them. Better be safe than sorry. =)

haha guess most couples will fight or argue..its natural...

i remembered we fought quite severely twice and I threw back my engagement ring to him twice...there was a 3rd time that we nearly broke up due to my in laws problem..Fortunately it dint happen...we made it haha...

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD date / day</TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>Bridal Studio</TD><TD>Date for PS</TD><TD>Pre wedding PG</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG</TD><TD>Multiply </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chuababy</TD><TD>151109(Sun)</TD><TD>Inter-continental</TD><TD>BV</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>csc02 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fanny</TD><TD>151109 (Sun)</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Bridal de Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Mojoideas</TD><TD>Mojoideas</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stella</TD><TD>151109 (Sun)</TD><TD>Carlton Hotel</TD><TD>Bridal de Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Secret Haven</TD><TD>Secret Haven</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stersang</TD><TD>151109 (Sun)</TD><TD>Conrad</TD><TD>Bridal de Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ixoral</TD><TD>211109 (Sat)</TD><TD>Novotel Clarke Quay</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaslyn</TD><TD>211109 (Sat)</TD><TD>Orchard Parade Hotel, Grace Methodist Church</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>friend</TD><TD>friend</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>JO&amp;JY</TD><TD>211109 (Sat)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Sophia</TD><TD>Sophia</TD><TD>Mirage</TD><TD>lichun18 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kel</TD><TD>211109 (Sat)</TD><TD></TD><TD>Bridal de Couture</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>p0cc0</TD><TD>211109 (Sat)</TD><TD></TD><TD>Digio</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shjeans</TD><TD>211109 (sat)</TD><TD>M hotel</TD><TD>The aisle</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Apr_piggy</TD><TD>221109 (Sun)</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium</TD><TD>Bliss Creation</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>friend</TD><TD>friend</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>wendyzhou </TD></TR><TR><TD>Piggy</TD><TD>221109 (sun)</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lynn</TD><TD>251109 (wed)</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>JustMarried Bridal, KL</TD><TD>Freelancer</TD><TD>Aspire Videography</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>popprincesstrin</TD><TD>271109 (Fri)</TD><TD>Fullerton</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Avenue8</TD><TD>Avenue8</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tydy</TD><TD>281109 (sat)</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Attrium</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD></td></tr></table>

hiya! i am also planning my AD in early aug 2009. i am from hong kong and my bf is from singapore. we intend to have the ROM in singapore flyer then a wedding dinner afterwards (everything done in the same day). we are going to invite ard 50 guests only so i need some advice from u brides for a nice venue. i am thinking One Rochester now. but do u brides know somewhere nice near singapore flyer (western style)? do u brides also know where to rent wedding gown? any street or shopping mall where wedding shops concentrate? thanks!!!

wah, vallous, u already went for the marriage preparation, we wanted to go too but tat time was still far from getting married and we postpone till nw, we're too busy/tired to go le :p

i'm working with for my company which promotes worklife message across to organisations for them to implement worklife practices. heee... tats why im at the forum cos im working. its a talk for the organisations and get them to give worklife for their employees.

me and my fh met at 1sept04 and we celebrate on the date every yr cos its more special than v-day. :p

Hey suzanna, parents/parents-in-law's place cannot? when u say married u mean after ROM or after customary? i guess sometimes if ROM is few months before customary, ppl do stay at their own parents' home first, until after customary then they move in together.

btw everyone.. i just signed with my BS this evening.. hubby and i only looked at ONE BS. i dunno whether that was wise man.. n none of u here signed up with them. haha.. crossing my fingers and toes really hard :p

Just now my heart almost drop out cos I was booking my ROM date. I was choosing 3.15pm slot but it was quickly snap out by another person. Lucky I still manage to get a later time slot. *PHEW*

Suzanna> I think is ok to live apart for the time being, cos I will be doing that too if I still cant get my house after my AD next year. Else you can consider renting a place to stay first?

Pebbles> Which BS you sign up with?

Does any of you ladies know where can I find a tailor to make my ROM dress? Cos I went shopping today and I cant find a dress that fit me. Firstly, I'M TOO FAT. Secondly, my chest is too big. So all the dress I like cant fit my both. *super sad*
My budget is about $100-$200.

Hi Mashi,

Here's some of my infor...
ROM date: 11.10.2008
ROM venue: Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel
AD date: 31.10.2009
AD venue: Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel
AD PG: TBA
AD VG: TBA
BS: SG Bridal
WB: eClarity
Lovenest: Commonwealth

Thanks for your effort

Hi Celine,

Yup we went before we ROMed. It was because we went through quite a rough patch before we got married so we decided its better to go learn. It serves us well indeed. Many things my hubby finally understood that he did wrongly and he was not putting our future first place instead he still stuck listening too much to his parents' ways.

In the classes, we are taught to build our own future home and build a new system different from our own families where we came from. We learn to resolve conflicts so now we have better relationships with our families.

wow you ppl really can remember such exact dates. We just cannot. All forget liao.

Hi Mashi, add me in!

ROM date: 08.09.08
ROM venue: Peony-Jade Restaurant
AD date: 25.10.09
AD venue: Carlton Hotel
AD PG: TBA
AD VG: TBA
BS: TBA
WB: Love &amp; Co
Lovenest: Punggol

*wave wave*

Hello gals,

Yesterday we went to the wedding show at Marina Square, intending to look at all the bridal shops but ended up too tiring, only managed to view 5.

1. Bridal de Couture
2. X-Zen
3. Bliss
4. White Link
5. Golden Horse Awards.

I have some questions to ask all of you here.

For the photo albums, are you choosing the separated, that means with border or the no borders and joint at the centre of the album. Initially, Company A said good to have no borders and joint, the photos will look better but Company B said ya, good to have but after some flipping of the album, the no borders, joint at the centre will have white line/ crips/ folds along the centre, very ugly.

What do you all think?

Then for the wedding gown, most giving MTM but restricted to only basic design and additional charges involved if full lace/ embroidery/ beading used. When the bridal shops said off-the-rack, does that mean, someone else had worn it before for wedding? What's your opinion here about wearing 2nd handed gown?

And seems like going overseas for photoshoot is quite in trend now. Most asking us to go overseas for photoshoot. Are you girls going to do that?

I quite like 3 bridal shops that we had viewed.

Bliss - for best package. Was quoted at $3388, included MTM wedding gown and even bridesmaid and best man suit.

White link - For the most creative gowns. i think their gowns very funky. Was quoted $3988 and topped up $288 during their road show to go Bintan for PS. Was quite tempted.

Golden Horse - They have the kind of photos I like, but package is just so-so.

Any comments to the above mentioned bridal shops?

Lastly, do you think this is true? Those bridal shops keep telling us to sign with them on the spot. They said, can only negotiate during road show, other time, walk into their shop, less bargaining power.

And do you think bridal shops allow us to try on their gowns before we decide whether to sign with them? Is it a norm to try first?

hope to hear some comments from you all... many thanks

desjO> i think most agency the prices abt the same ba. I didn't really go research also. just that i went to the sa tours fair and saw the package not bad so just book. dunno will regret a not cos i nv go on holiday with a tour group before, dunno SA tours good a not.

Vallous, Dianna> me &amp; my hubby also 27 this year, same as Dianna I don't want to have baby too late, but our main problem is only ard 2010 then can get our own house so now dunno to wait till then or wat.

grace> for me i would like to have at least 2 kids. hoping to be able to not to work but i thik very hard la.

cosyouaremygal> hmmm sept seems like a good time frame. i want to do everything fast so that during end of the year holiday seasons no need to be rushing all these things. Everytime ard end nov i already holiday mood.

vallous> same as us, actually when we confirmed the date my future MIL already started to inform.

luvlove> i will not be having an chuan as according to my future MIL, after an chuan the bed cannot be shifted out but we are only getting our flat in 2010 so we are not having it.

well dreamz81,

haha having a baby is a commitment between the couple. So depends when got house or not, can still have baby just tat maybe a little inconvenience as later the renovation and moving of house and tidying can be a hassle if there is a baby in tow.

Thanks. I have went down to take a look at Margaret's Brides gowns and I quite like her design. Anyone taking her package?

As for the venue, FH and me are thinking of Raffles, The Lawn.

Tentatively has 2 dates in mind. Either 21 Nov 2009 or 06 Dec 2009.

FH is based in US so it is tough to plan the wedding together.

Hi Mashi,

Here's some of my information:
ROM date: 28.09.2008
ROM venue: Marriott Hotel
AD date: 04.10.2009
AD venue: Nil
AD PG: Melvin Ho Photography
AD VG: Nil
BS: My Bridal Room
WB: Love &amp; Co
Lovenest: Nil

Thanks for your help

hi stersang, the PG and VG only got one booth which is Lightbox productions. quite exp so didnt take up. now searching again...

ur AD is at conrad.. is it exp?

today got a damm interesting article on straits times titled baby bust: Blame the men.

written by a male editor, it states that asian men are just too chauvinistic. They view their worth by their jobs, their cars and other shallow display of wealth. When we women rush work whole day then rush home, tidy the house, fed and put the kids in bed. the men are busy propping the workplace because you know the business will collapse without them.

whahaha..i read till i laugh and laugh. I make my hubby read it cos he is very much egoistic too. Always say he need to work, work very important..without him like the whole office will close shop, war will outbreak and Singapore will die..(because he is in the SAF).

Its all plain BS. They sometimes want to shirk responsibilities. SO how to have babies.

Well my hubby says he will help...but its just plain talk...we shall see...not long I guess he will suggest dumping our kids to his parents or mine to look after...

Hey Gals,
Just a wkend &amp; there are so much to catch up here..taking my time to read every msg here..keke..so fast switch to bb liao..
Grace is the youngest &amp; I bet I'm the oldest bride here 33 ;p I hope to have 2 bb &amp; hopefully right after my wedding coz my age dun 'allow' me to wait
I noe my hb 7yrs ago during clubbin..we got rom in 2006.been waiting for a flat b4 we hold our customary coz i dun want move in with in-laws..after getting married,realised I'm marrying not to my hb but his family too..that's what my gf always tell me..indeed..
Being tai2 is my childhood dream ;p i working for my hb,so if can I will wk from hm &amp; tk care of my bb,else I will prefer my mom tk care instead of mil..keke..

Dianna, didn't noe u already a Tai2, no wonder u join so many prog..enjoying life wor..envy

Vallous,workin for gov quite gd le..u can go on 2yrs unpaid to take care of ur bb without worry can find a job after 2yrs.I do agreed bonding with bb is very impt..close to heart
btw sometimes i also cannot stand my hb ;p

luvlove,i think u can get ur hb buy a temp mattress to sleep first.till dec then buy the mattress for AN Chuan.That will satisfy both sides ba?

cosyouaremygal,
what u mean Double O days?u mean club DoubleO?keke

Attending marriage preparation is gd,but sometimes still need both party to 'hands-on'..is not easy to maintain a gd marriage life &amp; live under 1 roof..If got time,i wish to attend too

Yeah lor, the gold drops to 44 per gram. :-( Anyway I alriz bought mine..so no choice.

Oh my gosh, thats pretty expensive. I sign up for Venus BS package which is around RM$4k++. Of coz my package consists of lesser photos. I am ok with it, as long as I am not spending too much. I heard from most pple that the photos will be eventually kept in the storeroom. Haha..

Actually I hired a freelance PG for my ROM the last time. In the end, the photos turn out to be horrible! Even my fren took better photos of me.
My face in the photos appear dark (like tan instead of fair when I am fair in person) and having oily face. :-( So I learnt my lessons. This time not gonna hired any freelance PG. Will hire the one from the BS instead.

had just confirmed my banquet on 1 nov 2009... would like to join you ladies in the discussion...

am wondering how to add my name into the table...