(2009) Brides of year 2009

applegal55

Ling> Is it? that is what i called them mah....

Ah blur & Jaq> Thank you. So i am done with another thing now. time to call HTB & chase him...he has not do the guest list.
Sad
nagging all day now....

applegal55

Guess wat? I more stressed lor.... my AD is on 30 Dec 09. My HTB goign to reservist during the 2nd & 3 rd week of dec 09. hahaha....he insisted he need to serve the country & dont want to change his reservist dates. OMG..... so now i need chase my HTB to do all the wedding stuff. Cannot take his own sweet time to do the guest list etc. Do anyone understand my feelings????

akino

my GDL date is on the 24th nov. tuesday, chosen by his mum. time around 11am. my mum told all the relatives to come if they can. so if can't i gotta wait till saturday then can send to them.

littlewoman> wahaha my mother in law ask me to go over to their house to help my hb to carry some GDL gifts to my own house. crazy? i repeated few times after she asked me. then my hb told saw me alittle piss off. he told his mum he can do it by himself. damn stingy one loh... i am the bride and i should be the one at home waiting.. then always demand my mother to call her, because she miss out something, and wanna add GDL things again. then i told MIL to call my mum herself since you are the one who wanna ask something. why ask my mum to call her? bossy... my mother told my grandma and granny quite angry. say: got like tat one meh? haha granny told my mother to request for Nappy money too, since she wanna add more.

saggiegirl

Apple> ur TQ very unique...

hmmm...sometimes reservist dates quite hard to change...u know lar... but 1 way to do is to ask him to do as much as he can...
of coz i can understand ur feelings... *pat pat*...

Jaq> wah ur bf so nice to do preps bef he left for wallaby ah

applegal55

akino> why yr MIL so unreasonable!!!!
If i will you, i would have quarrel with her liao....hahaha....
Do you live in with her after AD?

akino

no i wont be staying with her after AD. i'll be staying in my house first. we are only getting the keys around 2011.

ya she is unreasonable. talk as if she fork out the whole dinner, but actually is both of us sharing. my mother always tell me to endure, because she is my MIL, without her there wont be ur husband. i tried. but she always demand my mother to call her and say those stuff i really cannot take it!

taime81

Apple > My hubby also going reservist for 2 weeks or so. Refused to change too. LOL

Have been searching for buffet pass few hours too.

akino: looks like most of the MILs aren't easy hor?

Apple: your TQ is good..

Ling: my mum didn't say much, jus say something like to fan away all the past...

applegal55

akino> lucky you can stay at your house first not at your MIL. otherwise quarrel everyday & face black.....
Must endure lor....
What to do?
Tell your HTB to be the middle man la.

applegal55

Why singapore like to call our man during our wedding days huh?

charmaine> wow you htb also need to serve the country like mine! We are in the same boat. hahaha

jascmy

I just done up my sitting arrangements for mu wedding lunch. Very nicely leh. All table having 10 ppl liao. Hope no more late replies saying they will come. Only hope they reply saying cannot come. hahaa..... If not big headache ah.

akino

i used to stay in MIL house after my ROM. quarreled once. then come home liao... cannot see everyday... sure got conflict, our way of living very different

piggylover

hi ladies!! wow.. sure a long list ur hav nw.

im nt having any thank u speech cos htb dont wan. haiz.. me alone doing seem odd, so ended giv up.

Apple, really sad lor. me too aft wedding next yr htb got 2 reservist n somemore both 2wks. *faint*.. i will be left alone with my dog..

taime81

Piggylover > My hubby reservist twice this year too. Each time dunno 2 or 3 weeks. He say 1 for last fy, 1 for this fy. They fy start dunno apr or what.

Btw, which catering you are using?

applegal55

akino> better stay away from each other. otherwise, more conflict. I think yr HTB is having a difficult time too. We have to give in to MIL some more.

jan2910

hi gals, me need some advise.does anyone know that for covering of d veil, if one of d parent is no longer around can d other parent just cover d veil for d bride or muz d parent plus older siblings?? Oso if i were to have tea ceremony for some relatives in d restaurant, isit after my solminsation?? arrghhhhhhhhh me really feeling veri stressful as my big day is getting closer & closer. Can someone out there help me. thank you

sillycouple

janet: my dad is not around anymore. so my MIL says my mum cannot do it. bu ji li... so must find a fortunate couple to help me cover veil. my mum says in that case must find a couple who is happily married, got kids ... if got grandkids one better. For hao zhao tou.

as for tea ceremony, u can do it anytime when u think its convenient to do so lor. no restrictions on when to have tea de. what my frd did was after her 1st march in, solemnize on stage, 1st dish serve.... after eating 1st dish only she go n serve tea to the respective elders le. but hv to finish it quickly so that she can go change for her 2nd march in

blurbaby

akino...

lucky not living together.

just now at mil place for dinner.. was talking to her about GDL & an chuang etc etc..

cos i kind of remember that need kids to jump on the bed.. but not sure is which an chuang or something else..

she say if get kids to jump on your bed, next time children very *active*/naughty (can't really remember what she say...

but i'm a person who do the talking.. & expect people to follow my order.. definitely i won't let her lead me...

apple..

i understand... the kind of stress where everything falls on u..

babyfaery

ahblur: I heard abt letting kids jump on the bed.. I tot is to make sure have a boy next time or sth? Me headache.. don noe find who to jump.. muz be relatives? Any criteria? Age? Haha.. Don noe go whr find..

blurbaby

babyfaery...

think i'm a direct person.. if i don't like means don't force me.. think it's the normal me.. even when mil cook something i don't eat, i just don't eat that dish.. she will give comments that i don't eat alot of stuff.. but not really leh..

actually i got my eyes fixed on my 2 baby cousin which is 3 1/2 yr old and 1 yr old...

regardless of what she say don't bother me...

i do thing my own way..

Jaq...

yr hubby a reg??

applegal55

QuestionS:
Must we prepare Ang baos for sister & brothers for parents to give to them for both side of the parents of mine & HTB?
is it mean, Jiemeis & Xiongdi will get 3 angbao end of the day? 1 from my parent, 1 from HTB parents, 1 from us????????
very mixed up now.

taime81

Hi Apple,

According to my colleague, they told me more than that. All the jie mei will get ang pao from:
1) Groom (Gate Crashing)
2) Bride
3) HTB Parent
4) Our Parent

I didn't ask about xiong di thou. But i think xiong di get 3 ang pow. Groom, htb and our parents. I always distrub my guys friend who always kanna xiong di. Jie mei job easier and more ang pow. LOL...

akino

ahBlur>yup lucky not staying together, aiya MIL sure got something to say.... cannot keep quiet. once she said i very lazy but not infront of me, i overheard she told her daughter over the phone. the fact is she doesnt want me to do the housechores. not even washing bowls/cups( she's afraid i would flood the sink).

ooh... i tot its only from us. meaning
jiemeis> from me and hb gate crashing
xiongdi> hb.
so parents also need to prepare angbaos for them?
i only know parents give to the driver.

akino

Apple> so sweet... i seen your webby. how do you do it? i also want... i remember i learnt in my secondary school dayz i think. but i really didnt pay much attention. i'm a comp idiot.

junel

Apple your pledge is very meaningful!!

From the latest wedding that i went on 3 Oct, AB to be given :
XD -> Bride parent, Groom parent, Groom
JM -> Bride parent, Groom parent, gate crash

Drivers of all following car -> AB and orange (in addiional to the AB they have)

cheenapork

wahahha akino no wonder your nick in FB thread so familiar! cos u are also a dec btb!!

aiya seems like everyone got their own problems with MIL. i am no different. my flat will only be ready in 2013.

at first my MIL said get a resale near them (serangoon). but cos of the property rush the COV for resale was super high, so when we got a flat in Punggol, she encouraged us to take it. now, after signing the AOL and paying approx 30K, she wants us to get resale and even said she will pay us for our losses. even better, at first she asked us to stay in their flat after AD to save on rental costs.. and in the past week she has been saying we need to move out after AD since we are forming our own family.

i have no idea how to please her. and what bugs me especially is when she makes comments like "you like that your parents nv say anything?"

i am so old liao, of course my parents don't say anything la! simply because we have mutual respect, unlike in her family, even in normal communication they are shouting all the time.

bliss_bb

akino> i wonder is it most MIL so unreasonable de, but I know some who are very good..

You may register under this website : http://www.mywedding.com and you can play ard with it. Quite easy to use.

cheenapork> I also got this comments like "you like that your parents nv say anything?" hhummm I wonder what wrong lor since my parents are modern type so long we like it then it ok ...

Littlewoman> oic.. so better buy the fan... gonna check with the person whether can our mummy dun pick up the fan after it is thrown away by us..

cheenapork

ling> i've checked out your website too. it's nice! i'm just too lazy to set up something like that. as it is i'm still struggling with the guest list.. my parents and ILs haven't reverted on their total number of guests also.

yeah i've heard of the super nice kind of MILs. very easygoing and sweet! my mum was lucky, my grandma's a very sweet lady.. i guess this only added on to my shock when i really got to know my MIL

saggiegirl

for angpaos... i just prepared for my morning helpers & evening helpers (small token), drivers, car open door boy (he is my nephew), some extras for groom/hb brothers .... and of coz not 4get my MUA, PG, VG...

blurbaby

for mine... is different from you all..

when i stay over at my hubby's place... i only overheard my sil complain about me... we seldom talk to each other.. just general matters.

think mil & sil same thinking.. that time the sink is spoilt.. when i am doing the washing, i'm blur blur that the pail of water overflow..

but @ times will say nice things but no matter what they are not our mum.

ahblur & Babyfaery: for my case, I will be getting my younger bro (in Sec 1 this yr) to sleep on the new bed on the eve of my wedding.. I guess it helps ba?

haha.. I am also in the midst of finalising my wedding website..

saggiegirl: I am a little confused, MUA, PG & VG are included in our packages, still need to give hongbaos?

Ling: let me check with my cuz on the fan.. will get back to you soon.

octo

Hihi all,

Wow, you all really very on the ball with the preps. Make me slightly ganchiong, cause I tried to sum up the list of item that you all had done. I came up with the below long list of what I had not touch yet. *gulp

a) collect wedding cards from hotel
b) look for printer to print insert
c) select my AD gowns
d) look for jm
e) prepare for GDL items & date
f) book food tasting date
g) prep our wedding shoes, groom's shirt accessories etc
h) look for songs
i) look for cakes suppliers
j) help my mum with her outfit
k) book mua for my mum
l) start my dieting and also start to do facial (er.. still in time?)
m) check with my colleague on their attendance
n) view my album layout, confirm the layout
o) select the hand flowers for the AD and car deco
p) select ballroom decor and 'door-gift'
q) start on thank you speech
r) start collecting pics/photo for montage and work on it
s) do up the Angbao box and cosage flower for jm
t) work on AD schedule
u) ask about the teapot to be use on both side
v) start to check out buffet caterer
w) buy the 4 dian jin
x) settle on the guest list
y) prepare the table arrangement
z) prepare angbao for AD

*gulp.. gulp.. gulp.. er... seems like Im in deep trouble.... I kinda managed to fill the list from A to Z. Oooops....

cheenapork

ahblur> ya we should start support group for brides who live in terror of their MILs and other half's families hahaha! see who got the most hard life can be chairman liao!!

shir> don't worry, i was just saying yesterday that it's time i start my diet.. ideally i need to shed about 3kg. i managed to only eat a small kueh chap for lunch but by dinner i went mad.. went kim gary and ate a combo hotplate set plus cakes at secret recipe!!!!

i guess i will start dieting next week!

Shir: you may want to set certain datelines to complete the things: eg: when will you be doing the collection of the wedding cards frm the hotel, set the date to printing the inserts, get the date for GDL, the date for food tasting etc..

cheenapork: I have managed to slim down 1.2kg over 2.5 days by purely cutting down on carbo and doing yoga.. but guess will be breaking the rule tonight when I am out with colleagues.