(2009) Brides of year 2009

hoonie

hi all BTB, i just signed with M Hotel on 26 Sep 2009 at the Banquet Suite. Guess the bridal package can wait a while before making decision?

claudia_lim21

kel_ly,
hmm... actually got. after looking thru their package. but then hor, i keep tinking still got where the ballrooms are nice n price reasonable.
time being my list to view are Regent, Le Meridien, Merchant Court, Novotel. dun knw wan to view oriental hotel or nt..

any suggestions fr BTBs here?

blurbaby

hi piggylover,

had not short-listed HIPV.. cos their price is not within our budget.. poor ahblur..

ya.. compare with the rest of d hotels.. their one is better perks.. called up Novotel jus now.. heard from Cynthia that tentative there is a booking.. shucks... got to act fast liao.. hope they decide not to take this date!!!

but she say they will call d person n check if they still wan d date anot if not will b given to d next couple.. which means got to make a deposit.. to confirm d slot...

but i wan to get a better perks from them.. like free flow of beer n some other nitty gritty stuff..

supergal

Hi Mashi,

Ballroom nice and price reasonable..abit hard leh..but also depend what is your range for reasonable price lor.

I used to be quite 'fan' over what I really want for a banquet..so depend on you and your HTB ba..I feel that every banquet will definitely invite 'gossips' one lor..so just go for one that you're comfortable with.

You looking at weekdays or weekends?

weddingll

Hi mashi and all, I am a Orchard Hotel Lunch bride. Thinking of all the $ is making me crazy. Which mean me and my hubby cannot be out of job!

claudia_lim21

HI..

hmm. my budget ard 1k per table. haha. hope dun exceed tat...

I looking at friday. so some hotels count it as wkday while some count it wkend... haiz..

Oh. Orchard Hotel.. heard tat its nt bad. but min tables like ard 40 is it??

For me also. meaning fr nw, we also cannot b out of job. If nt, i cannot tink wat will happen
haiz...

reallove

Hi Michelle, if you are looking for a garden concept, why not consider gardenasia? I'll be having my solemnisation there on the 28 sept 08 and we are more of a nature couple therefore, we also choose rasa sentosa as our banquet dinner. They have 2 ballrooms, one faces the sea. It looks kinda romantic but there are pillars in that room so I chose the grand ballroom instead but will be having it on a separate day on the 6 June 09. The bridal suite also faces the sea and they are different from other hotels in a way, the more tables you have, the cheaper it is.

Luckily for both areas, they provide transport in. Gardenasia has a forty seater bus 2 way. As for Rasa they have 3 different buses that can pick up from any part of Singapore to the hotel and the best part is all admission for guests is totally free, even carpark 100% free.

I told most of my guests to take the opportunity as a family outing and they can go in earlier to enjoy their day as well in sentosa.

claudia_lim21

hmm. not really.
becoz some places need min 40 tables.
but still lookin ard. haha.
mayb find country club ba.. haha..
heard that there is some nice ones ard. haha..
anyway, trying to keep as low as possible.

supergal

Quite true also...mine also stuck like in btwn..cos we wanted something like 25 to 28 tables but most hotels at weekends require a min. of 30 tables..quite strict with this..

How many tables are you looking at? Ever consider The Pine* or RTC?

emeraldbride

blur.. definitely NOT me..hahaha

i hv yet to even look at their hotel.. so i will not ask for tentative booking. Furthermore, they need min 30 table for tat..mine is too little lar..hehe

hi mstomrs

we looking at sep 27 but was told already got tentative booking by another couple
wondering if the couple is here.. hehe
so i have yet to discuss w hubby lor... sian... guess sep may be out of the choice le..
u signing up which day n which hotel?

angle done for me makeup for coy dnd, find her friendly not bad! =)

hoonie

hi grace, i was thinking to go down a few bridal shops to take a look at the different packages. usually wads the deposit amt for signing up the package?

veryvera

I've not booked anything yet! Will have to book them when I'm back in SG this June!
I have lots to do... must rent kua, get a cheongsam (hopefully!) and book the restaurant.. in between stuffing myself with food!!!

cheekychick

Hi Ahblur, my BS is at JB, lol. Sophia is indeed very nice. If i can take my BS locally, i will choose Golden Horse Awards or Sophia. I have 2 frens who took WL too. Juz rem dat with them, u have to be firm abt wat u wan. Oh, u taking SP? Dat will take 4yrs isnt it? Yes, at least its surely recognised in the govt sector
If i do manage to get my degree, i will move out of govt liao. Subsidy is valued up to 40% of the total fees for undergraduate programmes. So pray hard lor~ I nv shortlist HIPV & M Hotel. Partly becos hubby dont like and becos i only intend to have max 20 tables. So alot of venues, i have 2 strike off already. Was deciding between Grand Mecure Roxy & Novotel. I've been to The Regent, GCW, PJ, 88 restaurant, OCC, Hilton etc. So many until i cannt rem...zzz...I like Hilton very much but i cant afford the weekend prices. And we very much prefer to have it on Sat...so...end up with NCQ, lol. U shld view the set-up first. Alot of times, i went with high hopes but always go home disappointed. So unless u've viewed the actual set-up, dun cfm anything first
This wkend u gg down to see?? Juz to let u know dat NCQ is very firm on perks. Dun give means dun give. No-one gets better or worse 'perks'..all the same. But i wish u better luck, lol.

Hi Emeraldbride, u got email? I can email the package to you. As for pics, i dun have...but u can refer to my earlier post to Charmaine on 1 April '08
U same as me...lol. I dun intend to have anything over 20 tables. So alot of places are out for me already...

Piggylover, i go take a look at the thread, keke...paiseh, v long nv go there becos it moves so fast i totally cannt catch up! :p

emeraldbride

cheeky, can send to [email protected]

Hui Ling on leave till 6th Apr so sunday morning i go see the ballroom also cant do much.. but see the overall room - then mabbe after qing ming, go see the actual wedding setup.

cheekychick

Hi Emeraldbride, sent! Do visit the NCQ thread to see if coming weekend got any wedding. Then go there to view..if u like it, at least u can cfm something...

claudia_lim21

hi kel_ly,

me looking at ard 30-35 tables. but might burst tis budget. haha.. so hv to make sure that the ballroom can cater up to 40 tables. in case..
dun like The Pine n RTC as the locations like nt so accessible.
haha.. i need more accessible places..
i very ma fan de...haha

apr_piggy

Hi Chuababy,

thks! Oh btw, my Hubby and I already decided on Orchard Parade Hotel..cos we liked there service for our solemnisation package..now still in the midst of discussions of terms..so how abt u?

tulipmelody

melody> i might be having the same date as u 15/11/09,still need to confirm with my MIL. juz found out tat it is Deepavali day on tat date.

p1ngz

Hi II,

yup, I agreed that wedding is a very expensive affair!! Imagine all the money that we have saved all just goes into the wedding costs..with little to carry on with our new life/marriage..

in addition, i've also got a house to take care of..the reno (which i haven started) n all the furniture/elec appl etc.. gosh, practically all my savings will be gone after i get married! sigh so now hav to try to save more money..

anyway, have you got your house too? have you renovated ur house?

taime81

Hi, HIPV got a smaller ballroom which can cater appx 18-20 tables in basement. I did went to see the setup 2 weeks ago, it is pretty nice with 3 huge crystal lights hanging. Just that the march in is rather short, or go L-shape etc. And if you're lucky, the main ballroom is available on yr wedding date, they will do a free upgrade for you, the main ballroom if close the low ceiling side is super nice but max cather to 18 tables.

My buddy friend taking up hyatt function for banquet too, appx 900 - 1k per table.

I just attended a wedding at hotel intercontinential, the couple only throw 23 tables, and the place is lovely too. I love it but a bit out my budget.

milky_kio

i havent pay the deposit for Carlton yet.. just get my coordinator to block book for me 1st.. femme, u are right.. the food suppose to be good.. my mama went before and commented that it is not bad..

I have also gotten my bridal package from Julia Wedding Package.. GOing taipei this May to take my photoshoot.. if need, i can refer u..think both of us will get 2 extra free photos..

anyway, my sister n friends also went to other bridal studios.. hopefully will be able to help ur if needed..

maybe sometimes we nhave to come to some agreement.. at least now only HTB and your opinion.. worse if parents' opinions come into place..

my sister in law is making her cheong sam frm this seamtress who stays in Tampines.. cheaper n good workmanship.. else can drop by China if u have any chance.. heard the quality is not bad

tksl

Hi ahblur, i got my date from a geomancer. he provided the times for guo da li everything. recommendation from piggylover actually. a lot of us went to him

ahblur, you're looking at 26/12 rite? i wanted NCQ too. but the person in charge told me that day someone booked already.. maybe that person changed his/her mind.. lucky you!

supergal

Hi mashi,

Hmmm...up to 40 tables...you can consider Grand Copthorne Waterfront (Grand Ballroom). Think they can accomodate up to 65 tables!

For Sun to Thur, min. is 30 ($908.00 nett)and for Fri & Sat, min. is 40 ($1058.00 nett). Auspicious date on 20/09/2009 is $1,388.00 nett!

Let me check through my list again to see if there are any other venues that suit you

emeraldbride

suz..so how did ur discussion wif the coord fr orchard hotel went? They gave u additional perks?

Aniwaez, now is Qing Ming, no one holding wedding dinner - so even if go down to the ballroom of any hotel, oso cant see the deco

hey chaos!

nopeyz, had a rough list of the guests coming and it added up to 1.5K! Dun think I'm that rich to hold a wedding at a hotel for such a number!hee..;p

so mine will be a normal Malay wedding, thought it'll be good too 'coz 90% of my friends are non-Malays and quite a number of them have not attended one before..hope it'll be as memorable for them as it will be for me!

P.S. You gals got ur places to stay already? Can't remember whether I've mentioned it before but mine will be at Punggol!=)

claudia_lim21

Hi Kel_ly,
thanks for the recommendation.
But then hor, my sis tis yr wedding took tis place for her dinner le. so dun wan to take the same place.

N also tink that their min requirements is 45 tables. which i also cannot mit for their ballroom.

But i muz agree that this is a nice place to hold the dinner. haha...

thanks in advance..

supergal

Hi mashi,

hmmm...well, too bad that your sis took the place already...but the wedding packages that the hotel sent me for 2009 only require 30 tables for weekdays and 40 for weekends leh..think if 45 tables hor, they very hard to get business liao..but anyway, you won't be considering le..

claudia_lim21

haha.. tink so ba.. anyway nt taking. so dun tink lor.

nw tinking whether hw to keep the tables to 30 tables. haha.. tinkin to take out some of my nt so close ppl liao. haha... still pending. headache

haha... cannot imagine. nw already like tat.
when AD getting near, wow, sure very stress...

aaronjas

Hi libralgal, you can start sourcing for your bridal shop and banquet first. Look around and call or email the hotel to send you some quotations. There's been lotsa wedding shows in the pipeline so you can sign up for them if you're intersted in the hotel.

kitty_princess

hi angel,

i will be having my rom on the same day as my lunch wedding too.. rom, tea ceremony and lunch all in one hee.. no doubt it will be quite rush.. so we are thinking of going straight to the hotel for tea ceremony instead of the usual practice of going to and fro each other homes.. no gatecrashing also.. i dun like anyway.. hee

chaos

Hi Fluttering Tails
i just got mine at tampines from the recent bi-monthly matured estate sales. Now waiting for HDB to schedule the appointments.

Punggol isn't far from Tampines ya? haha

gracelourdes

hehehe...Meow...^five!! i'm doing it the same way as u just that mine is wedding dinner...ROM, tea ceremony n dinner together frm afternoon onwards till nite...no gatecrashing either

Angel, it's not difficult...just plan ur timing well...cos ROM is just abt 15 mins only

hoonie, so sorry...cos i didn't take my BS frm s'pore...not too sure abt that...other BTBs can help hoonie??

blurbabylsp

Hi Hoonie,

I went to a few BS before signing up.
The normal payment mode is 20%-40%(depending on the shop) for the initial deposit. The rest is further break down upon yr PS and collection of gown for AD.

i.e I pay 40% initial deposit, 20% upon selection of gown, 20% upon PS and last 20% upon collection of gown for AD.

bvlgari25

After much deliberation, I have finally decided to take up Hyatt's Mag/Van rooms. As for the pillars, will play around with the table layout so as to minimise blockage cos I won't be using up all the space. Anyway for your info, Pan Pac is going to increase its price for next year by $100. And I heard that intercon's food and service is not really worth the price, esp on an auspicious date as the price is really high.

Finally something off my head for the moment. Coming up next would be bridal studio! Another headache. Gonna go BS shopping in Jun. In the meanwhile gonna flip through wedding mag for gown design.

Chaos.. I'll be staying in Tampines too! You know the Design & Build scheme (DBSS)? I got a flat there. Think should be ready by end of this year or early next year.

cheekychick

Hi Charmaine...Intercon is like 1.3K per table for weekend after all the +++ rite? Actually for me, anything more than $900 per table is waaay too ex. Add on the alcohol & dats it liao..haiz.

Hi Emeraldbride...U can try asking for another nite's stay loh. I even suggested dat i can dun take their free bottle of wine per table but waive my corkage for wine. Cannot..practically everything cannot. Wish u better luck in negotiating with them
From the NCQ thread, got a wedding at Phoenix on 19 April (Sat).