(2009) Brides of year 2009

tksl

shir, when i asked my coordinator, she told me the exact same thing she told u..but now also cannot make changes le coz mine is not a perks issue.. but a monetary issue..

tksl

piggylover.. action very fast leh!! hee.. congrats.. can concentrae on working and saving money for next yr liao

claudia_lim21

hihi... i happen to drop by this thread.
wow.. can c that alot of BTBs also bk their banquet for oct 2009. means tat i still nt to early to source...

i also might b oct 2009 BTBs. still sourcing for my venue...
Price increase quite alot for next yr...

hmm. I got my dates fr a Shi Fu as the Tong Shu wun be out so fast...

having headache in looking for suitable venue...
any suggestions for cap of abt 30-35 tables?

desjo_11

Hi Shining,
I have view fotowerkz website..for the work vs their value is really quite worth..have you used their svc b4?I'm looking for PG & VG..thanks!!

piggylover

Hi Glamourous, i hav got mojoideas for my PG & VG for my AD. their pkg come with the animation too. Yup, i had confirm my banquet in Feb time, im getting OCC as my venue.

Hi Suza, hehe.. long time no come in le. so hw is every at ur side? okay mah? ya lor.. nw can rest my mind awhile till next yr to select my gown, schedule my PS n many other thing.

fifteenmay

Hi Glamourous,
Thanks for the advice. its really useful. However, i think we are still going for AMPM Photography regardless cos the photos are really good and there are quite a few good reviews.
We get along well with them as well.
Just my opinion.

noti

hi phaffia and mscupid11, i've yet to decide on the wedding banquet but most likely looking for a wedding lunch instead

glamourous2309

Hi Fifteenmay,

No worries, it's your wedding. Just do what U deem fit. =)
We'll be settling for one of the photographers in the WPN network though. =)

yanny5515

Hi mscupid, i went to GHA MS today, they told me all 3 branches gowns are transferrable. I think they are having a show soon in mid apr. so if i've decided on them, i will sign during the show.

weddingll

Hi Pingz, i had not confirm my BS, still sourcing around, already doing my sum and i feel wedding is a really expensive affair!

Mashi > You are not too early, alot of hot date for next year had already been snap up. If you have only 30 ~ 35, should be pretty easy to get hotels or other venue. Only budget concern

Dear all : Have anyone here calculated how much to standby for wedding? Is it worth it to spend so much such for a special 1 day? For me, i hope to cover my expenses, which i think is highly unlikely.

taime81

Hi Suzanna, maybe you can try to neg for additional perks throw in for you to compensate that extra amount you're paying.

kitty_princess

hi fifteenmay just go with ur heart.. first impression is very important.. u must really click with the photographer and like his style, feel comfortable with him etc..

we haven booked yet but very likely also from wpn.. ;)

veryvera

Hello fellow July BTB!! :-D

milky, actually I already got married in Jun last year in the UK but coming back to SG next year for the wedding dinner. I was just telling my husband that we should have it on the 18th of July!! What a coincidence! Our wedding anniversary is Jun 18th but since we cannot make it for June, we can have it on the 18th of Jul since it's a Saturday anyway!

claudia_lim21

wedding,
Wedding is really an ex affair. thats for sure..
u hv any bs in mind that u like??

yup.. budgeting. thats the part i always cannot get my sums rite. keke.. so i leaving tat to my FH.

hmm.. i tink better to standby abt 30k at least for wedding.. depends on wat is the budget for ur banquet.if lower then no need to prepare so much ba...
dun tink can cover all expenses. I got frens tat loses ard 20k for her wedding last yr.

so can I knw where u bk ur venue for dinner?

claudia_lim21

Hi Meow,

My AD is fixed on 16 Oct 2009. provided I can get the hotel. if cannot, then will have to change.
hahaha...(cross my fingers).

Wat abt u?

mscupid11

Hi Yan,

dats strange. i spoke with Cole from MS, Aileen from Yishun & Jessie from Tamp and they all tell me the same thing, only MS & Yishun transferrable but not tamp one.. have they changed regulations? hmm..

ya, just drop-by their roadshow in mid-april and see how attractive the package is. Actually there are quite a number of bridal exhibitions throughout the year too.. guess you can check from sgbrides main page for latest updates.. =)

gracelourdes

hahhaa...seems like we all moving on quite fast...

guys, welcome to join this thread too...lots of 2009 BTB & GTB there too..

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/6/496071.html?1207099910

i'm also searching for my AD PG/VG now...prices going way too crazy...i mean, prices must justify the artwork done...

anyway, just to add to wat Glamourous has mentioned above, do not just restrict urself to AD PG frm wpn or wpja cos although it's a known or well-known association, we do not know for sure their criteria to select...trust me, there are definitely better photographers who are not listed there...however, i'm not saying that the PGs listed on the websites there aren't good...just want to let u guys know that there's a lot of good PGs out there as well...only thing is, photography is an art...art is v subjective...

impt thing is, u can create good rapport with ur AD PG..also, his works r of certain std n style that u love n definitely can accept...lastly, prices...

all the best to those looking for their AD PG/VG...u'll find one real soon

april_baby

Hey catz, no worry i am not taking holiday inn parkview anymore, btw the crystal ballroom already taken up on may 09 left only may 10 2009 so u better to be fast..and the orchid room is located in the basement..i dont like it. importantly i dont like the co-ordinator as if she is not interested in our business at all..so now comparing between holiday inn atrium, furama riverfront and Hotel rendevous. Any advice please?

tksl

hi piggylover, i've booked Orchard Hotel le.. but still sourcing for PG and VG lo.. considering the one Orchard Hotel is recommending, but prices a little too steep for me

think still got time to source for PG and VG, so nowadays very relaxed lo

blurbaby

Hi Suzanna,

tks.. it's great to know that date r so good... had told hubby about the venue.. also proposed to him to make a deposit.. at least to secure the place.. but he wasn't sure of making a deposit now.. but really got to check out the place.. hw did u got ur dates? thru a geomancer? cos my fren was unable to calculate the date for me.. =|

as i very seldom come online, probably u can drop me a mail at [email protected]

Cheeky_chick,

hw had u been? hw u got the date? thru a geomancer or choose by urself?

Sorry can i also u all some question?

If the date is choosen by ourselves then how do we choose the auspicious timing for an chuang n d other rest?

supergal

Hi II and mashi,

Yeap, I think $30K should be around the saving that me and HTB will standby for our wedding in October next year. But don't think you should starting planning only when you hit this amount la..from now till Oct 09 still quite long, so can plan as you save lor.

Initial stages will incur less than $5K ba...for me, we only pay deposit for our bridal shop at $1K, ROM venue at $300 and maybe $3K for banquet venue...

But losing $20K for a wedding is really crazy leh..did they not plan her budget in the first place?

claudia_lim21

hi kel_ly,

so far, for us is 3k for bridal (but under installment plan) pay first then less things to tink after tat.
then banquet haven confirm. tink there will b 3k deposit ba. Only dun knw able to get our flat b4 wedding or nt.. haiz..

oh. they lose so much nt becoz they never plan. they prepare to lose so much as all their relatives ang pow for the dinner, they gave bk to both sides parents. thus, they never get much ang pow as abt 80% is their relatives...

piggylover

Suza, Ochard hotel is gd. i will b attending 1 wedding dinner tis coming 19 Jun. wat are their requirement huh?

PG & VG no problem de, can start to shortlist those u prefer de.

supergal

Hi mashi,

My $30K budget doesn't include flat yet..if need to include, I will say need about $50K at least..cos usually $20K is needed to renovate the flat plus buy furniture...my flat won't come by next year Oct, so planning to set aside the flat budget after AD

Did you frens borrow $$ from their parents in the first place? Otherwise, they don't really need to give the ang pao $$ to them rite? If they are using their own $$ for the wedding..for me, both me and HTB will use our own $$, so our parents will not be expecting any ang pao $$ to be given them after our banquet

claudia_lim21

mine also... flat is outside this budget..
but trying to save both at the same time. worse case. loan for hm reno lor.. no choice..

nope. my frens using their own $$. but i also nt sure y. tink the parents wants it ba. so they give lor. lucky ting is tat they save quite a sum for their wedding tat time. so can afford.
n they went to europe for honeymoon after tat...
so u can guess hw much they save up for their wedding...
some is like tat. my planning is same as u. but will c whether parents got say anything or nt. in anyway, we still have to respect wat they wan unless is very unreasonable ba....

just went to see shifu yest
gotten another date beside 20 sep. =)
next week then call grand cop to check it out. thanks gal!

cheekychick

Hi ahBlur! Sori abt dat time when ur pillowcase dropped to my window, lol. My hp has been spoilt for a loooong time. But hasen gotten it fixed cos no-one calls me except my hb & my mom loh -_-" Lazy to get it fixed & spend $.

I choose the date myself. Nv see any shifu or wat. Cos i dun like to be restricted by dates & timing. But hor, u must ask both side of the parents, see if they mind anot. Cos they may be very particular abt dates & times. My parents are the bochap kind & my MIL did ask lar but i act blur. So u need to seek the opinions of both sides...

For the timings & dates for An Chuan & GDL, i will do it whenver its convenient for me, hurhur. Again, i dun like to be restricted. If i rem correctly, GDL is usually around the same time when wedding invitations are sent & an chuan is a few days before AD.

Have u shortlisted ur venues? How many tables are u having? Once u noe how many tables, cfm ur budget per table. Then shortlist ur venues. Call up & ask if there r any upcoming weddings so dat u can view the actual wedding set-up
I spent a few mths visiting a number of places. But before u call up to view the place, ask for the availability of ur date first. If they no longer have ur date, its no point viewing the place. Try to do it sooner hor...esp if u reali wan ur AD on 26 Dec
Its a very popular date...

mstomrs

hi Joleen, which date r u looking at? My fmil is pretty particular about the date so i think i will sign up with them without waiting for the wedding show..going dn next wk!

cheekychick

Btw ladies, the info below was kindly set-up by Suzanna in her excel file but i tot, juz copy & paste here, keke. Pls feel free to update ur info here so we all noe everyone's ADs & venues

01/12/09(tues)
02/12/09(wed)
03/12/09(thurs)
04/12/09(fri)
05/12/09(sat) - Teresa
06/12/09(sun)
07/12/09(mon)
08/12/09(tues)
09/12/09(wed)
10/12/09(thurs)
11/12/09(fri)
12/12/09(sat) - Andrea(HIPV), Cheekychick(NCQ)
13/12/09(sun)
14/12/09(mon)
15/12/09(tues)
16/12/09(wed)
17/12/09(thurs)
18/12/09(fri)
19/12/09(sat)
20/12/09(sun) - Shir(MM),
21/12/09(mon)
22/12/09(tues)
23/12/09(wed)
24/12/09(thurs)
25/12/09(fri) - Charmaine(HIPV)
26/12/09(sat) - Piggylover(OCC), Suzanna(OH), Emeraldbride
27/12/09(sun)
28/12/09(mon)
29/12/09(tues)
30/12/09(wed)
31/12/09(thurs)

blurbaby

tks cheeky_chick for ur advice...! trying to persuade him to book for the date too!

venues? yes! Novotel n Plaza Parkroyal @ Beach Road.. bride side will be more than the groom side.. my mummy did said that depends on hw much tables hubby is giving us.. then d other rest she will pay using d angpao received.. so if we give her 10 tables, d loss will b 8k... plus mil also wan 5 tables.. so total loss will 12k...

both parents alreadi 15 tables plus some of mine frens n colleagues n his frens n colleagues.. should b 30++ tables cos my mummy will definitely need to add some tables.. so stressed over d matters.. also stressed if d date r been taken up..

jus called up WL... so once i settle d stuff i will do d rest.. plus i am going back to sch.. i wana do everything @ d same x.. study, prepare for my AD, working.. n tidying the house..

Nvr mind bout d pillowcase.. cos i thot it drop to d ground floor but it got stuck at ur ledge.. not sure if u were at hme so tried calling n msging u.. but as long got it back can already... help me say thanks to ur hubby!! =>

cheekychick

ahBlur, u mean u need to give back the angbaos to both sides??? I'm keeping all the angbaos. Everything will be fully paid by us so im keepin everything. Im not giving my mum any tables also. My side at most 2 tables, lol. Eh, since u've already shortlisted, its time u call up the 2 venues to check the date. If still available, pls fly down to view the wedding set-up hor
Since u have 30+ tables, shld be pretty easy to get a venue as most places require a min of 30 for weekends i tink...

WL? U mean White Link isit? Im also gg back to sch! But not yet cfm as im waiting to see how much subsidy i can receive first hurhur. I've applied for UniSim. How abt u? I dun wish to do everything at the same time but i no choice leh. Work, study & prepare for AD very xiong u noe? Xiong on the pocket & on my health.

At first, my hb v reluctant to book so early too. But i realised its becos he hasen reali seen wat he likes. Bring ur hb along to view..once he sees something he likes, he will b more enthusiastic liao. Juz dat the process of having to travel around to view wedding set-ups can be quite tiring...

blurbaby

cheeky_chick,

yeah!! we will b returning the angpao.. no choice.. but my relative's side surely will overshort.. so jus hope can cover.. plus hubby's mummy also want 5 tables.. but she did mention that she will order buffet n pay for other stuff from there.. n she is not working now..

Yup, White Link.. really regret not going to Sophia.. their price is higher.. but every yr can go back take pixs.. if got child then can take together.. like mine fren...

subsidy? i thot from the recent budget 08 they will b giving more subsidy for Uni student regardless of full time or part time? i still very slow.. i will b going to SP to take my Bus Ad.. But i really wana take their at least it's recognize.. no choice lar.. now if u don't upgrade urself.. there won't be a road out for us.. Hope there will b more subsidy for u...

ya.. guys r all like these one.. think they r those visual animal.. u must show them d item or place.. then they will get enthu in what they r doing.. like buying house too! at first he wants to stay with parent.. but i very enthu... n went to queue overnight.. so he see me so enthu.. he also very enthu.. okay lar.. cos i only short-list 2 place..

did u also short-list HIPV & M Hotel?

jus now when he came back, i show him d posting...! they need to b show visual products.. if not they don't understand..

think i will call the hotel tmr.. =>

milky_kio

cool wat a coincidence..And femme is having like one week before us =) in fact july 18th is 2 days after my bday! Choose that cos the next earliest date is Oct 09 but Carlton will be under reno.. so tt's why having it early =) Have u girls booked anything?

so V, are u in SG now or UK now?

xtrogal

Pre-wedding shoot in Perth between end June -Early Aug 2008
----------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi, I posted on 14th March about pre-wedding photoshoots.

Not sure if you are having the same headache as me! I am considering doing it outside Singapore for more fun and interesting scene. But a lot of such packages from the reputable SIN photographers I like are way above my budget! I wish I can stretch my budget!

If you are keen, let's plan the trip together to get the economies of scales.

If there are at least 2 couples, it should costs about SGD$2500.

This estimated costs includes:

* 1 Photographer (member of WPJA) & 1 Assistant for 1 day of photoshoot in Perth
* Professionally processed photos and digital editing services (45 photos)
* 3-5 mins Photo Montage
* DVD video slideshow
* ONE 12" x 12" deluxe coffee table magazine style album (20 pages - fits about 45 pictures) or 12" x 12" hard bound album (10 pages - fits about 25 pictures)
* All images returned in Mid-res digital copy & Hi-res digital copy

This photograper has been featured as one of Malaysia’s hippest wedding photographers, along with other renown photographers in Malyasia.

For more information, pls email me [email protected]

I am really keen but will need to look for another couple who is keen so that this price is valid. Else it will be more expensive than this. The Hip List

641160.jpg

xtrogal

Hi Jan 2009 Brides-to-be,

I posted on 18th Mar. I am re-posting.

Pre-wedding shoot in Perth between end June -Early Aug 2008
----------------------------------------------------------------------

I am getting married in Oct 2008 and is also looking at pre-wedding photoshoots. Not sure if you are having the same headache as me! I am considering doing it outside Singapore for more fun and interesting scene. But a lot of such packages from the reputable SIN photographers I like are way above my budget! I wish I can stretch my budget!

If you are keen, let's plan the trip together to get the economies of scales.

If there are at least 2 couples, it should costs about SGD$2500.

This estimated costs includes:

* 1 Photographer (member of WPJA) & 1 Assistant for 1 day of photoshoot in Perth
* Professionally processed photos and digital editing services (45 photos)
* 3-5 mins Photo Montage
* DVD video slideshow
* ONE 12" x 12" deluxe coffee table magazine style album (20 pages - fits about 45 pictures) or 12" x 12" hard bound album (10 pages - fits about 25 pictures)
* All images returned in Mid-res digital copy & Hi-res digital copy

This photograper has been featured as one of Malaysia’s hippest wedding photographers, along with other renown photographers in Malaysia.

For more information, pls email me [email protected]

I am really keen but will need to look for another couple who is keen so that this price is valid. Else it will be more expensive than this.

641247.jpg
641248.jpg

roomfulofstars

Nope, haven't booked anything officially. We've been recce-ing the various banquet places and deciding on which church (I'm Catholic).

Headache. My HTB and I have very diff opinions!

milky - think Carlton should be not bad, right? Heard good things about the food.

piggylover

hi cheeky, long time not hearing from u le. hav u been back to our 1st topic when we 1st talk there? hehe.. we are planning for some event there, do drop by okie? hehe..

hi ahBlur, r u looking at 26/12/09 too?? welcome!! hmm.. r u shortlisting HIPV? tis date had already been taken since jan08 BOW roadshow. hehe.. i ask b4 there, abit sad... cos their perk really alot there. but also due to their max is 40 tables which i mayb adding, so return to my 1st choice OCC.