(2009) Brides of year 2009

glympse

PK - we're keeping the Swedish celebration simple, just one gown, concentrating on enjoying the company la! Having a wedding in Italy sounds so romantic la... am sure it's going to be a blast
when are u going to do ur honeymoon then, in btwn the 2 'weddings'?

catz - thanks for posting the 'database'! this thread is so organised ;)

penguinna

ROM Date: 06/10/08
ROM Venue: Changi Aloha Chalet
AD Date: 04/10/09
AD Venue: Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
AD PG: Damian Tan Photography
AD VG: N/A
BS: Golden Horse Awards Marina Sq
Wedding Band: Tian Po
Love Nest: Boon Keng

mashi_mashi

verena,

tats the benefit of being ks. haha.. bk early then can lock the prices. who knws that the price will go up de. keke...

jg,
welcome. care to update us on ur details??

fea.
u confirm ur venue liao ar. tats gd.
hmm ur ROM juz pass. congrats. kaka...
wow. venue at changi aorport. hmm. tats far end of sg. wats make u choose there? tats the new hotel rite?

lettingo

ya Kervin, heard them say Ray is more fun...
if u looking for artistic style, can find Deric... Ah Xiang is more of romantic poses...

for MUA, i personally find that Liffey is very good at hairdo... too bad i have no photos to show you yet....

graceyong

ladies, i remember someone posted a list of caterers (but due to i didn't have microsoft 2007 then) can that sweet person post it again? thanks thanks

taime81

Hi reinn,

I'm hainanese, Hubby is Hokkien. My family not so pang tang type. Most of the stuffs we decide on our own. You?

My hubby also say he wanna do montage himself but i think endup will be me doing it.

banska

grace.. recently used suan thai. not bad. What kind of caterer you need? Check out Marmalade and Kigi Catering. Hope it hlps

mashi_mashi

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>ROM Date</TD><TD>ROM Venue</TD><TD>AD Date</TD><TD>AD Venue</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>Wedding Band</TD><TD>Love Nest </TD></TR><TR><TD>Xiang</TD><TD>02/10/09</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>02/10/09</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jenny Dew</TD><TD>03/10/09</TD><TD>Changi Village Hotel</TD><TD>03/10/09</TD><TD>Changi Village Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>French Bridal</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Sengkang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ashes</TD><TD>17/11/08</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>03/10/09</TD><TD>York Hotel</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Soo Kee</TD><TD>Pasir Ris (Still searching) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Princess</TD><TD>03/10/09</TD><TD>Ritz Carlton</TD><TD>03/10/09</TD><TD>Ritz Carlton</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collection Pre wedding PG: Expressively Joho@Aussie</TD><TD>Lee Hwa Destinee</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>iris</TD><TD>14/02/09</TD><TD>LoveNest</TD><TD>03/10/09</TD><TD>Park Royal @ Beach Road</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Sbroadway</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Bedok </TD></TR><TR><TD>poseidon_gal </TD><TD>03/10/09</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>03/10/09</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Thomson Wedding Design</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Christy</TD><TD>28/09/08</TD><TD>Marriott Hotel</TD><TD>04/10/09</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>Melvin Ho Photography</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD>Love &amp; Co</TD><TD>Nil </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bryce</TD><TD>04/10/09</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>04/10/09</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collection </TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collection</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dover Crescent </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fea</TD><TD>06/10/08</TD><TD>Changi Aloha Chalet</TD><TD>04/10/09</TD><TD>Crowne Plaza Changi Airport</TD><TD>Damian Tan Photography</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>TianPo</TD><TD>Boon Keng </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrswang</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>10/10/09</TD><TD>Bliss @ S'pore Expo</TD><TD>Foto-u</TD><TD>BS provide</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Buangkok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jacqueline</TD><TD>14/02/09</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>10/10/09</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Simon Video</TD><TD>Simon Video</TD><TD>X-zen</TD><TD>Meyson</TD><TD>Fernvale Court </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sylvia Lim </TD><TD>07/09/08</TD><TD>Kia Hiang Restaurant</TD><TD>10/10/09</TD><TD>88 Restaurant</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Soo Kee</TD><TD>Jalan Membina @ Tiong Bahru </TD></TR><TR><TD>ChevyBB</TD><TD>10/10/08</TD><TD>ROM/Tung Lok Signatures @ The Central</TD><TD>10/10/09</TD><TD>York Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Sattine Bridal Couture</TD><TD>Customised</TD><TD>Punggol Sapphire </TD></TR><TR><TD>Verena</TD><TD>10/10/09</TD><TD>Wesley Methodist Church</TD><TD>11/10/09</TD><TD>Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel</TD><TD>Daylight Pictures</TD><TD>Big Day Pictures (Yow Siang)</TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Toa Payoh </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chan Hui Shan</TD><TD>07/07/07</TD><TD>Hotel Reddezvous</TD><TD>13/10/09</TD><TD>Novotel Clarke Quay</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Goldheart Celestial</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Karen Lim</TD><TD>14/09/08</TD><TD>Parkroyal Hotel @ Beach Road</TD><TD>13/10/09</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Sattine</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Sattine Bridal Couture</TD><TD>SK Jewellery True Love</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>paradise </TD><TD>07/07/07</TD><TD>Changi Village Hotel</TD><TD>15/10/09</TD><TD>Regent Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>BP De Silva</TD><TD>Northeast </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashi Mashi</TD><TD>05/06/09</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>16/10/09</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>Dreamcatcher</TD><TD>Wowmedia</TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dover Crescent </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stacey (Daffier)</TD><TD>11/10/06</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>16/10/09</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Poh Heng</TD><TD>Sengkang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Christinawong</TD><TD>16/10/09</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>16/10/09</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel - Atrium Ballroom</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>La Bell* Couture</TD><TD>Ling Jewellery</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Raine Tan </TD><TD>17/10/09</TD><TD>Church</TD><TD>17/10/09</TD><TD>Merchant Court Swissotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>La Vie</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Risis</TD><TD>18/10/09</TD><TD>White Fence @ Rasa Sentosa</TD><TD>18/10/09</TD><TD>Rasa Sentosa</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Julia Wedding News</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nai Thiam Hock </TD><TD>07/06/08</TD><TD>StarDuS </TD><TD>24/10/09</TD><TD>Pioneer Spring @ SAFRA Mount Faber </TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Felice Jewellery </TD><TD>Yung Sheng </TD></TR><TR><TD>Supergal</TD><TD>24/10/08</TD><TD>Rendezvous Hotel</TD><TD>24/10/09</TD><TD>Grand Plaza Park Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Fi0ri/Jazz @ Liang Seah</TD><TD>Soo Kee's Jac Laurent</TD><TD>Punggol Sapphire </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bubbly19</TD><TD>08/09/08</TD><TD>Peony-Jade Restaurant</TD><TD>25/10/09</TD><TD>Carlton Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Love &amp; Co</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Queen</TD><TD>21/05/07</TD><TD>Peony-Jade Restaurant</TD><TD>25/10/09</TD><TD>Novotel Clarke Quay</TD><TD>Daniel Beh</TD><TD>Big Day Studio</TD><TD>Julia Wedding News</TD><TD>Fairy's Inc</TD><TD>Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD>Des&amp;Jol</TD><TD>25/10/09</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>25/10/09</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Thomson Wedding Design</TD><TD>Lee Hwa Destinee</TD><TD>Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aggiegal</TD><TD>01/03/08</TD><TD>Goodwood Park Hotel</TD><TD>30/10/09</TD><TD>Intercontinental Hotel</TD><TD>EdmundLeong Photography</TD><TD>RedHat Media</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>Fairy's Inc</TD><TD>LA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Troy&amp;May</TD><TD>28/10/07</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD>30/10/09</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>French Bridal</TD><TD>Lee Hwa Destinee</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peareys</TD><TD>11/10/08</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>31/10/09</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>SG Bridal</TD><TD>eClarity</TD><TD>Commonwealth </TD></TR><TR><TD>||</TD><TD>20/05/08</TD><TD>Home</TD><TD>25/11/09</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>The Aisle Bridal</TD><TD>Cartier</TD><TD>Queenstown </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

jy27

hi ruachgall,

I paid quite alot for my geomancer as well. But my HTB's siblings says that the dates given were no good. Nevertheless, we still went along with the dates that the geomancer had given.

My friend had the same experience as well. He went to the geomancer and in the end, his parents chk the tongshu &amp; say the date no good. But, he still went along with the geomancer's advice.

I think most importantly should be your own mentality. Since you had gone to the geomancer, perhaps you might wan to have some faith in his advice.

Alternatively will be for u to change to another hotel where you can have the date which you will feel comfortable with.

sg_sc

hmm..not mi. Any idea if his thread is posted on SG Brides as well? Din come across his name here lei...wat's his pkg like?

blurbaby

piggylover..

yup.. is the ad.. got a little gal n her grandma.. the english song.. think got numbers in the song..

cannot remember if it's the front part or the behind part watching tv one.. i thot its the same song???

correct me if i am wrong..

desjo_11

Hi dreamz81,
Previous thread posted some places ; Vivo City, Mama and Misses at International Plaza, Avana at Shaw House, KaKoo at Novena Square,Marks &amp; spencers.I'm also going to racky these places with my mom..including OG..

Btw anyone have source around the prices for petals as confetti?

desjo_11

Johra,lolx..going pre-honeymoon first in dec ar?keke..at least u got some items done liao

me starts to push myself le..is like 3mths time to countdown..

queenly

yah verena, cos i very kiasu then my bestie wedding is dec 08 so i just book together with her loh...

fea, u booked ur venue already? good, at least 1 thing off the list.

livinginsg

Josie &amp; Catz, THANKS for posting the database! It feels great to see so many April BTBs here.:)

Glympse, am looking forward to the party in Italy too.:) I reckon your family will join u for the party in Sweden. How about your close friends? My family will go and i am hoping to enlist a small entourage of 10-15 so that we can enjoy the party and the scenery together.

Re the HONEYMOON. We have not gotten around to planning for that and i think it will not happen in 09. Way too many trips (because we return to Italy for X'mas). How about U? The other girls? Do share your honeymoon destinations!;-)

Okie, am off to meet my invite card printer. First mockup of the card is ready.

Happy happy weekend, girls!:)

vallous

hi desjO,

actually no worries lah abt who to invite. Usually only relatives will get offended. Friends mostly will understand due to space constraints. Colleagues can just pass them a box of cake at work then all share lor. Thats what I am doing.

For mum's gown, is better to ask your mum what is she comfortable in. Dont buy too wayang for her, cos the whole night if she is not comfortable then not nice. Dont over grand also lah..if not ppl will say why mothers so vain. Mothers should still maintain the matriach look.

yup desjO, for those like me for 1st Jan wedding...haha its already less than 3 months and counting

penguinna

hi mashi

sori, my ROM was last yr !! i must be tired!! 06/10/07....hahaha

yah, it's a new hotel...i like the ballroom...so all the other factors also agreeable...so we took it..

penguinna

queen....

yeah man...finally settled the big issue liao...now i can slp soundfully.....was so stressed up the past 1-2 mths........

desmondtan

Hi Fea,

whao, Crowne Plaza Changi Airport! tats the latest hotel around. at least most of your guests have not been there for dinner before your wedding day. good choice!

initially, i was thinking of maybe can hold my dinner at the new Marina Bay Interated resort (IR). but it wouldnt be ready till 2010.

raine24

Hi Jaalie,

Don't panic.. no worries. when is your wedding date exactly?

First is to settle all big things like venues, BS, PG &amp; VG, etc. What have you settled already? One of the first things to do is to set your budget. How many people are you inviting? What is the style/theme of your wedding?

If you take a look at the chart poohise ingeniously created for us, we have all our BS chosen there.. I'm sure we chose different ones for different reasons, styles and others. One way to start choosing BS is to look at various bridal magazines and see which BS gown designs you like. Make appts with the BS you've shortlisted and go try the gowns. Don't make hasty decisions (i.e try them all and go all out to find the best gown or deal) though I know you're a little short on time.

Then decide on your choice BS and make sure you bargain and get everything you can on that one visit. The bargaining power only lasts before you sign on the dotted line.

My advice is to get one with an MTM option just in case. A lot of brides sign packages at road shows and to their dismay, find that the BS they signed with don't have many gowns or don't have any of their size. I wldn't advise going to road shows either cos 1) you can't try the gowns there 2) most of the time u speak to a contracted salesperson and not the designer 3) you have a limited amount of choices and time to decide on the BS. Making a hasty decision more often than not leads to regret.

So good luck with your search, I'm sure everyone of us would be happy to help with any specific questions you have. :D Cheers!

pebblydiamonds

hey everyone.. i didn't know down here still so happening! i was wondering y this thread so quiet for so long, cos i didn't get the usual email notifications. until germaine told me it's still active.
anyway my ROM changed to same day as my AD already. haha. the hotel providing function room for us before the cocktail reception.
and i see u all discussing about GDL stuff. check out this website, it's co-hosted by my friend. think i learnt quite abit from it. haha.
http://woyaojiehunle.blogspot.com

mashi_mashi

fea,

noted. will amend on the list. keke...

wow. gd for u. new place. ur guest can also go to changi airport for a walk also. haha..

too bad. i cannot take so far end. as most of my guests stay at the west. kaka....

wow... raine babe, your advice is fantastic!

jasmine: will the shoes look too 'worn out' if you season the shoes? I'm worried that my shoes will 'bite' my feet if I don't wear them in, but also scared they will look worn out. LOL, I sound so silly.

I finally got all my shoes cos my BS says need them to do fitting. I saw quite a lot of shoes with 1 to 1.5 inch heels while looking for my EG shoes. Is that low enough? Saw at quite a few places, C&amp;K, Tangs, Taka (there are alot there), shoe shops at FEP (mondo, heatwave etc). Hope this helps! I also found out that those shops with other branches in the non-town areas will have higher chance of having more sizes available (learnt this the hard way. :p)

jaalie: don't worry, you still have time. Just remember to keep your options open cos some PG, VG and venues might already be booked. Always remember there are many choices to suit your needs out there. Jia you!

desjo_11

Thanks Vallous.I actually re-confd my ex-kolic hp with another ex-kolic.so she was saying "wah..u so long nvr keep in touch with her want to invite her,not very nice coz so many yrs" abit pai say also..i was like oh dear..I was thinking she wasn't lost in the picture in a way..still hv msn &amp; facebook.afterall she's my supervisor that time..hmm..pai say if she saw my facebook w weddin details n i didn't invite her..haiz..

Ya..agreed that mom's gown better keep it simple.my mom dun like over grand too..but i want mk her prettier than my mil..keke..

Yes, urs is really counting down..feel the excitement for you also..very gd...u can sit &amp; relax n wait for the moment liao..
hv u bought petals for ur confetti?how about those 'pops'?

dreamz81

desjO> thanks

getting frustrated with the wedding stuff. alot of things i want to get it done fast but the older folks keep saying still have time. best of all they don't want to state wat they wan up front and in the end we plan already, they say we trying to be smart alex. arghhhh.

zer061zer0

Haha.. I see some of you looking for 1" to 1.5" shoes.. Me, I need to look for 3" and above! I'm about 1.55, and my HTB is about 1.69. BS says since I have no problems wearing heels, go ahead and buy high ones, but I can't find any that I like!

Anyway, my details are:
AD &amp; Solemnisation: 1 May 2009
Hotel : Novotel Clarke Quay
BS : The Aisle
AD PG &amp; VG : The Aisle

glympse

PK - hope the invites turned out nice!
yea, have given an open invitation to my friends to come to Sweden if they wish to
so far, got a handful that are interested. But given the current economic situation, am not pushing them to come la
but yea, my family will be there in Sweden, an oppty to have a family holiday la!

As for honeymoon, am leaving HTB to plan for it! wahahaha ... we may also just go for a simple one nearby after the wedding, and go for a nicer, bigger one the following year or something, cos of finances. Lots of costs sunk into the move to Sweden, so

And yes, would love to hear from the rest too re honeymoon! Have u all started planning for urs yet?

mashi_mashi

iris,

dun tink the price will drop. the most maintain only. if nt tink nt fair for those who bk them earlier. n also no matter recession or nt, ppl still will get married. sure will use their service. keke..

fea,
ya. share wat is the offer to u. quite interested. altough no chance to have it there. keke..

penguinna

for crowne plaza...min 20 tbl, max 25 tbls...high ceiling, pillarless, with 2 projectors given...

for me...it's a sunday dinner, therefore it is SGD908nett per tbl. sat dinner will be 948nett....cant rem mon-thurs.....

quite a standard package that most hotels offer:
- 1 30L beer complimentary
- 1 btl house wine per confirmed table
- corkage waived for duty paid liquor
- the standard bridal suite 1 night, wedding favour, complimentary wedding cards excl printing....

additional perks which i manage to humbly "bargain" for:
- 1 more night (deluxe room) stay (because my wedding is held over 2 days, so i request to check in on the 1st day, so 2nd day i can comfortably prepare at the hotel liao)
- waive wine corkage, duty paid...

cons:
- no complimentary parking coupons because carpark is owned by changi airport, not crowne plaza... but hopefully they can work out something along the way, given that they are pretty new at the moment.... crossing my fingers....

location is also a consideration.....but my husband and i were joking...those who come, really "you xin" lor....hehehe.......

me0wz

hi Gylmpse.. thinking of a few place:
1. Korea
2. Australia
3. Taiwan Free &amp; Easy
4. Turkey
Should be going for around 1 wk aft the wedding..

Got budget lor..

kv24

grace...i have added you in multiply le.. my id is Kervin024

so venus is ok for us to take pics of the gowns ourselves when we doing gowns selections or during PS?? i see some shops don allow... i wan to takes somes pics to use my mummy, sis when i get home.. hee..

thinks get flowers from far east flora @ thomson rd is cheapest ba...for petals confetti..

for my rom..i wondering to do something "special" ...like getting somes of the 80s era toys to put there for kids to take (eg, bubbles soap type or those glue type one, the fire light up one to use at nite, party style..?? ok ?? will it become too messy.. also tot of putting extra food as tibbits before my actual solemnisations eg sweets,lollipops, choco, crackers.. ytd i tot of getting some peanuts muachi even cos my bf fav.. and today i tot of putting ice cream too .. catering from http://www.cremeofdreams.com/ ... hmm.. am i crazy??

chanll

geminiger, yaya very qiao. same bridal studio and same car rental company. maybe we rent the same car too? haha. i'm renting Chrysler 300C. Wat abt you? BTW which shop did you get your shoes from?

My hubby is also slightly taller than mi too so i can only go for 2" shoes. haizzzz. So difficult to find nice white 2" shoes.

lettingo

kervin

my advice is... just take pics... dun ask them whether they allow... my experience is... when i asked, they say dun allow... but when i dun ask , just take, they never say anything also