(2009/06) ROM in June 2009

Val> Hi still around and kicking
Congrets on collecting you house keys and a step near now...

Saw u all there at feimei's t-blog. but too bad me still waiting for confirmation fr Renotalk. TOt i registered before..funny duno y cant log in so hv to re-register again. Btw, any idea wat color for tv console better?

And any feedback for city furniture?

color scheme ar? i'm going for basic colors like beige, white, brown and a little black perhaps. =)

Funny...still have not rec'd confirmation e-mail fr renotalk. Something wrong wif my hotmail? werid...

Butters> which ID u sign up with in the end?

val> try another email account lor.. think 1st time i signed up didnt get verification email too.. not sure y but the 2nd time i signed up but with a diff acc, got the email quite fast..

me gonna sign with intradesign on mon.. the ID intro by hubby's frens so he trusts them... also her quotation seems pretty reasonable judging from the things she uses.. other IDs quote me at least 4k over my budget.. :D

val> still cant access ah?

me getting keys on 5th nov!! woo hoo... hopefully can start reno straight away.. n move in by christmas.. hehe.. :P

Butters> Gd for u. =) Ur design ok already? We r still working on the design of the hse leh. Wanted a full height mirror sliding door for wardrobe but ID said lift cannot go in. But they can climb the stairs rite? Hmm...hv to talk with my ID again. heh.

haven't register for a new email account yet..too busy at work to do so. Mayb this wkend. But i still go to renotalk to look see postings sometimes la. =)

Christy> thanks. Went there last wkend. We will get our dining table and coffee table there.

All> We bought a air-con on sat from Gain City @ Marina Square. It's a Mitsubishi Inverter System 4. We also bought a lorenza leather sofa on sat. Feeling super broke now..=(

oh cool.. we got a mitsubishi inv sys-4 also from my ID's air-con guy.. got it for $3500 leh.. how much was it at gain city?

we still need to to get sofa, dining chairs, kitchen appliances, lights, etc.. will be more poor..

Val & Butters> Hmmm... I would suggest you all to get your furniture in batch... eg. like me we do not need the dinning table and chairs yet so till now we have not got it. It saves a bit of few thousands... here and there.

Eg. if you are getting tv that means the sofa got to come in at the same time... so do the coffee table... thats what happen to us too.. so we just use the coffee table first to makan lor and sit on the floor (cause during that time we still did not got any barstool for our breakfast counter yet.

Lights is a MUST so no choice cause it comes in the reno process. As for Kitchen appliances.. can get it later if you dun do cooking daily... also remember to get those green label energy saving item
it helps to reduce your bills too

Gals> U all doing the anti-slam system for kitchen cabinet here? How much does ur ID quote? Not sure whether want to do or not...coz like v bo liao and abit waste money. The system is interesting though...heh

Christy> yup, thanks. Might do jus that. Hmm..I dun want a coffe table but Hubby wants leh. Coz feel that may make the living area looks even more clutter and small...see how la, hv to compromise somewhere.

Butters> we get ours at abt $3700 w/o the extension of guaranty (Coz need to pay 4ooplus). But i heard their service is quite gd..so get fr there lor. heh.

Val> Kitchen I did not reno... but yes for all our cabinat we change the hinge to soft closing and we buy it ourselves... the contractor charge us a fee for the change nia.

No need to get those branded one also work the same le.

If your living are is small than you might want to opt for a smaller coffee table. We got our sofa first than last pic is the coffee table cause we want to know how much space is needed for the table..

Gals> u all doing the glass backsplash at stove area? Is it difficult to maintain? I heard if wipe with wet cloth immed aft cooking will break the glass...

Val> Lift up one I did not buy but I got it install in my bathroom by my contractor. Its call Hydralic Hinge. Lift up one hor I think you get your contractor to do la.. cause there is this one time I try the Hydralic Hinge the contractor install and it do not hold.. I still got to support with my hand.. by right it should stay there. So I tell my contractor the issue he than explain to me that its not strong enough so he will change and got it change lor.

You can go to this shop call Shanghai Tongli at Textile Centre that side and buy.. I got my soft closing hinge, door nobs, main door lock set & gate padlock.. there got lots of things there and its cheap

Hmmm.. Tradehub21?? You looking for furniture ah?? I dun like the range of things there..

I plan to do backsplash in glass I dun think its easy to break la... if easy to break no one will make liao.. Most of my glass like table top glass I make tempered glass in 6mm at least..

Christy> u doing for stove area only or for the whole cabinet area? I was quoted 600plus. Reasonable or not?

As for tradehub, i heard from frens that the furniture there quite ok..but not been there yet coz v far.

val> cool tts good.. my kitchen splashback n soft-close hinges are all included in my quotation, so not able to tell u the price.. its for the whole kitchen cabinet area.. :D

butters> so gd...we were quoted abt 600plus i think. Am thinking to forgo that le since we want to cut cost..=(

All> I'm thinking of doing the splashback nxt time when we hv more money. Anyone know whether itz possible to do so when the kitchen cabinets are up?

val> yup shud be ok.. saw in another forum this guy DIYing his flat and his cabinets already up but he will be doing his splashback lata...

but i'd rather do it altogether.. save me the hassle of adding things now n then... :P

Butters> thanks. i will double confirm with my ID again. If he can gif me cheaper rate, then i may consider. heh..

Gers> U all doing kitchen door? Intially dun want to do coz i dun cook much...but scared later regret in future. Also worried that the living area difficult to cool down also if i on the aircon. And by then, too late to do sliding door liao coz the kitchen cabinets are up...Any advise?

My mom suggested me to put up curtain or blind at the entrence of the kitchen. Cheaper and can help to cool down living area too. Wat do u think?

Thks Christy. =)

All> Btw, i will be installing aircon in my living room, MBR and 1 common BR. Decided not to install aircon in the other room liao since we will leave it empty. My concern is whether it is possible to install another aircon in future in the other common room? Any problems or issues that i shld take note?

val> i m also not installing a kitchen door leh.. but getting a stronger hood.. :P

i think the only issue is tt if u dun have an a/c ledge (meaning u have to put a bracket) then the future a/c condenser cant be stacked on top of the one u getting now..
cos bracket not strong enuff to hold 2 a/c condenser.. m i confusing u... :P

Butters> abit confusing. I hv aircon ledge. Outside my MBR. But window very small. Duno whether possible to put extra bracket or not. How abt piping issue? i heard that the e existing piping may have to undo. Also, the piping may have difficulty to conceal in the other room, thus will be v ugly and spoil the whole renovated area...is it true? Sianz, if v complicated, we may opt back to System 4 again.

Val> Not too sure on the aircon le... but if cannot than you can opt to install the casement window aircon else can opt to take the movable aircon lor.

Butters> So u got ur hood already? U heard of the brand EF or Hobz? Many suggested techno or rhinnai to me though..

ya they might need to redo piping, depending i guess, whether tt room is near to the water outlet which wud be in ur kitchen..

im planning to get the fujioh hood leh cos think it has the best suction for grease FX900 - abt 83%.. so if bundle hood n hob wud be cheaper, then will jz get everything fujioh..

feimei is using hobz hood n hob, u can chk wif her in her renotalk thread.. her kitchen is in finishing stage.. :D

All> bought a fridge and washing machine last wk. Any feedback on hitachi washing machine? Intending to buy electrolux initially but they dun have 8kg type.

hi hi..

im intending to buy bosch leh.. washer machine n dryer n sharp fridge.. not sure abt hitachi but think electrolux is actually quite good.. need 8kg meh?

where u bought from? now trying to compare prices.. :P

Butters> i bought from ever joint @ AMK. That place has to pay cash de. But no GST and free delivery. My mom said bigger better. Then can throw curtains in to wash too....heh

But i'm buying bosch or electrolux vacuum la. =)

Christy> how are u? Howz marriage life?

Feimei> finish reno already?

Butters> Start reno already?

Me selecting bridal photos today. Will b spending my wkend getting stuff like sink, cooker hood etc. =)