(2009/06) ROM in June 2009

Butters & christy> Just curious. visited christy's t-blog earlier..we have to click at the post one by one in order to find christy's tv console pic ar? i dun mind la actually.

Christy> I njoyed reading your blog. =) Ur hse looks spacious. How big is it huh?

Wow, we are now on the renovation streak... HDB hasnt come and fixed my water stain and leak yet... so much as the reno is almost done, cannot paint yet..

Met up with fengshui master today as well... stove in wrong place and there isnt a right place for it... now we cannot use the stove... jialat

Val> Haha ya now excited than later when reno process you will faint¡­LOL Yes Royal Fanco is at Jln Besar just next to the famous soya bean shop if you know where is it.

But you still can get the IDs or contractor to quote you the wall paper to have a feel how much it cost¡­ if dun want than take it out and revised the quotation la

Did you log in as member?? Cause its easy you can view picture on the page itself no need click one by one. Thanks that you enjoy reading the reno blog¡­ it least you all know what to expect. My place is 121sqm

Butters> Ya I love wall decals very nice but still dun know where to put yet . We still have 1 more big item to buy which is our dinning table told hubby that end of yr than buy¡­ also at them mean time I dun need to clean up the dinning table¡­ Hahah. Some more hor only the 2 of us in the house nia we can use our breakfast counter to have our meals¡­ not very important to have the dinning table yet.

Feimei> Haha my reno blog like not much comment one... only you all comment the most... very touch. If you see pple¡¯s reno blog like millions of reply. I got few page but its easy to find my pics and in just a few clicks.. other pple blog you take some time to read they post cause got too much reply liao.

Oh talking about Ikea... I want to make a reminder to you girls here. Do not buy their furniture cause not that lasting (sofa)... seen their curtain material not so good will have straight come out one aft some time. On ikea pots, pans, spoon & fork.. will rust thou it states non rust. If you all do really buy their item keep their receipt for 100 days and you can get refund or exchange.

No... Uncle Soon and Uncle Jason is different person. If I am not wrong bother are related... Jason used to work under Ah Soon than he came out to set up own business. Erm.. haha where got prompt in reno blog... actually I still got some pics not up yet.. like my breakfast counter with the ikea stool... the few things still can be bought from Ikea.

Yes I have read some of blackcar blog¡­ the wall decal he paste himself le.. I think he got update his blog on the price but no sure if he mention on where he do the decal.

Wall paper & decal> Hahahah decal better cause made of plastic material and can wipe if it¡¯s the whole big piece.

Feimei> i r'ced uncle jason's template le...wah, alot dun understand. Wat is L-box light holder huh? I can't remember whether my premium flat comes with wash basin or not too. But i tink hav toielt bowls la. We may get those fancy toilet top cover though, but not sure this comes under "install toilet bowl" or not. And we wana change the wash basin to this bowl shape kind too. Headache...

christy> yap....blackcar reply me...he got the decal from Decorette...which i was enquiring my qns from....becos my dinning area...the celling got one rect box in...previous owner try to hv the country style feel... -_-" but we dunnu wat to do with it....sooo thinking if can stick something up there....soo enquiry to Decorette...but if my hubby like the buddha wall decal...dan we will do that n leave the dining area celling alone...kekekeke...dun wan to sepnd to much...slowly plan....

yaya...ur blog very interesting...i only read thoroughly ur blog...i just browse through other ppl one...others ones...very boring...hahahaha...no lah....urs is simple but still need time to write out all those stuffs...i hav been working full shift this wk n last nite went to gym somemore...my brain was like switching off..... =P

val> all new home come with those neccessities...like toilet bowl, basin, shower glass....is just a matter u wan to change them to ur own preferences anot....if save $$...can use it lol...anyway, they r oso brand new pcs...

Val> Haha go register la.. it free de la.. and its easy for you too need to ask question can ask mah.

FeiMei> My blog interesting mah... I think interesting on the part barang barang my sofa and my contract always give stupid reply right... Hahaha. Others de I onyl see pics.. LOL.. never read.

Christy> registered already. Waiting for their confirmation email now. =)

Feimei> icic..thanks. Mayb i will keep them la. can save money. But my colleague keeps saying that the basin and the tile in the toilet v ugly. She suggested me to do a overlay of the tiles too. hmm...

val> look @ the condition 1st lol dan decide...u can't judge by ppl say...u need to see n feel for urself lol....but of cos if u got the $$ to spend...then u can no need to think whether to keep anot...just over-haul lol...hahahaha...if i hv the $$...i will also like that... :D

Butters> Not sure yet... the master say no way to counter it.... we are thinking of asking for a second opinion.. cos the stove technically din breach any bad fengshui rules.... totally upset... can you imagine fighting for a budget to reno and when it finally happens, the place cannot be used? *heart broken*

have been having a lot of arguments with HB about the wedding and house.. think we shd have sat down and budget for everything first... I am one of those stubborn pple who will react when have to compromise...

saw this v nice clock i like at about 150... tot too ex to buy, so thereafter we bought 2 a lot cheaper ones only to have me revert n buy the first one again...

blur_btb> dun be sad....cheer up!!! u oso can't forsee such thing to happen...hope there's some way to help... :D

that's always the case...wedding stuffs n hse stuffs r the prompt area for arguement to start between couples...when all these settle...next one will be when u got kids...ha...try to give n take lol...sit down n discuss...sure can compromise....slowly...mi n my hubby got alot of argument even before marriage...i really tire...soo now...i tone down...he oso noes...soo he oso tone down...soo now less arguement...will oso try to compromise each other...

slowly lah....*deep breadth in*....

blur_btb> yaloryalor. Feimei is correct. Me and hubby also alot of arguements too. But mostly i started first de la. Now...i mellow down already, so things getting better. Sure hv solution de. just cool down and tok peacefully. =)

Val> Hahah wah you very kuai le.. good girl... Hahaha

For bath room hor... depend on yourself de lor.. My current house for MBR bathroom I redo the whole thing.. cause I tell myself work so har shower time must enjoy hahaha.

As for common bathroom the wall and floor tiles is atill useable and clean so we keep. As for the toilet item like toilet bowl and basin all I change.. its personal hygine to me la. Last time the ex owner box up the toilet pipe.. I tell my contractor to take out every box up in the toilet and it looks cleaner and biger.. I dun mind seeing the pipe la.. bo bian we stay in HDB not condo.

Blur BTB> I think if you look for other FSM they give different advise one.... cause its like we go different school and the teacher teach different. So dun be alarm hor.

Slow... I also doing wedding and reno at the same time can kill de lor. Lucky I finish my wedding PS on Mar to cater to reno stuff. I also every other day argue with hubby... but once ur house finish back to normal again. Trust me...

Christy> reno=more arguements?? Sianz..hope my gd-temper hubby can bear with me during this time sia. heh. my PS in nov, hope to get it over and done with asap.

Hmm...FS hv different school de ar? I understand that FS is a science, not a religious thingy. But those who advise to buy those ornaments are more towards to taoism or buddhism izzzit? A fren told me that usually ornaments r not necessary. So dun understand y the other fren of mine bought so much. heh.

Val> Ya reno is more arguement one... thats always the case. For wedding lesser arguement as what I have went thru la.

FSM they lernt differently mah... just the same as how each parent teach their kids differently. Dun know abt the ornaments are more towards to taoism or buddhism I never ask.... Hahaha. But spending so much money on ornaments if for me I sure consider hard hard before I buy de... and I think I will not buy lor.. Hahah. I stingy one de.

Thanks much for consoling me ah.. Ya, we have asked another master to come and take a look for us already.

We do know that there are different schs of thought for FS... some are particular abt the things to buy, some directions and some about the way furniture is arranged.

The current one says no need to buy anything de and just use direction and time era to count...

Seriously, I am not sure if the next one helps... he is very into furniture arrangement de... I am also worried that he will say what we have in mind is no good... then got to change our plans again... Even if he say it is okie, I wonder if everytime i buy a new piece of furniture or rearrange smething, will it affect the FS of the house or not.. sigh...

Head very big... I am gg for PS on 10 Sept.. .get it over and done with bah... hahaha.. also v sian le...

Blur BTB> Dun worry too much you are stressing youself only.

As for the FS thingy... if after placing the furniture and you dun feel comfortable abt it than you shift yourself la than see if you feel okie or not. No sick and pain and loss of money is consider good basic FS already.

I did not get my dad to see my place for me... when he reach my place he say good ok... so I get the basics right... you can read up some FS thingy in the internet and get a feel of whats good or no good. But of coz I want to say.. do not believe thingys fully else you will be relaying on it too much. If you get what I mean.

blur_btb> yayayaya....christy is right...follow ur feel n heart...most impt, both of u r comfortable...of coz FSM will be more particular on the things but u r not mahh...to follow is of coz good but if can't fulfill...just do ur best...i think i m more lucky...i dun need any FSM...my MIL n hubby already FSM...they very particular on things...sooo they think it good...then i m fine... :D

dun think too much lah...pack up n throw away those unhapi things n preserve mei mei for ur PS...

blur_btb> ya lor.. dun really need to argue so much on all the FS thing leh.. if my hubby didnt hire a FSM, think i also won't bother.. jz use general knowledge then can d lor.. only now since he hired then we jz follow but if the FSM starts to recommend buy tis change tt, think i wont really bother.. :P like christy said, as long as no sick, no pain, no loss of money, its good enuff d..

must learn to compromise a bit lah.. anyways, its easier to get guys to to see ur point when its put across calmly (and sweetly helps.. :P).. they dun usually respond very positively to screaming partners.. tts wat i observe from most of my guy frens..

dun stress so much lah, so will look pretty for PS!!

Morning gals! =) Went to visit 1 ID on friday. We were quoted abt 4k plus for our built in wardrobe. He proposed a L shape wardrobe to maximise space..but charged us price of 2 wardrobes. Hmm...

val> my current wardrobe is a L-shape but i m hacking it away and just put a normal one...so i can save space....Uncle Jason visited me last wkend...i told him i gg to hack away the wardrobe and if get him to do, he charging from 1K abt...i think that ID charging u 4K...abit ex worr...see how other gals advice u lol...i think is ex for me...

Feimei> normal wardrobe can save space? U mean space for wardrobe or the room? I need more storage for wardrobe, that's y they proposed L shape. ya..i also tink 4K too ex le..

hi gers.. thread seems slow today..

i met wif 2 IDs today.. they seem q nice.. had quite sound advice.. jz need to wait for their quotations and layout.. which will be 1.5weeks again..

val> u got a lot of clothes ah..? :P

christy> how much is ur celling fans? which brand? i finding KDK one but seem like all metals blade...ur's is arcylic, right? if so, dan i think i false celling can take the weight lol....

FeiMei> Is about S$230 my ceiling fan and yes its arcylic blades. Brand is Crestar... no lighting on the fan but got pull string.. the pull string we take out its detachable. We using fan regulator but I heard dun everytime use the regulator else will spoil easy not too sure if its like that lor not. Fan regulator cost S$30 each.

Just note I check with Crestar they say their fan regulator direction is the other way round.. meaning 1 is big and 3 is small... usually you will see that 1 is small and 3 is big de.

christy> Ummm~~~i think the price is reasonable...ok, will check out the distributor outlet...anyway...i getting one pcs onli.. :D

thanks ya...

Butters> yup...alot of clothes. Another ID got back to me thru e-mail..Quote abt 16K plus, which seems reasonable. Tink will arrange to meet up with him. Who ID did u approach?

val> yap...he visited my hse...took down the things that i want him to do...give him a call lol...but he has been very busy lately...give it a try, but u got floor plan already, right? email to him and follow by a call, shld be good bahhh....

gers> U all putting a tv in ur mbr? Am intending to mount the tv in the mbr. My colleague suggested me to hack a wall to fit the tv (If i'm not wrong) instead. Is there such a thing huh? Her description kinda werid..coz the wall that she suggest to hack is the connectin wall to my comon bedroom 2.

val> think wat she meant is dig a hole on the wall n hide ur tv inside....or hack the wall n build a fake wall with pole, so that ur tv cam swirl....i tink something like that bahhh....i shld be hving tv in mbr for sure...becos if not...i will be fighting with my hubby...i m tvb fan n hubby like play game...will be buying WII...soo he will be using living rm tv for game so i will be watching drama in mbr lol....kekekekeke

Val> Than what happen if no TV liao... got one hole there?? I got small TV in my MBR actually dun intend to put in the MBR one but than feel so scard at night alone at home so I carry it in lor.. I got a old bedside table which is for the small TV one I just use back lor.

Feimei> then e mbr tv will be hidden in the common bedroom 2 lor. lol. Hey, me a tvb fan too! =) wana hv tv in mbr is bcoz hubby soccer fan. So 2 tv is gd. He can watch his soccer while i njoy my tvb series.

U mountin tv in mbr too or placin the tv on top of tv console?

Christy> ya lor. i also worry abt this. Some more i heard that flat value will decrease if u hack wall...

val> i saw 17degrees and classic design.. the guy from 17degrees seems q helpful.. but need to see his layout and quotations..

ya think if u jz hack a hole in the wall for tv, then when sell, buyers will maybe neg lower cos they wud need to fill the hole up..

feimei> i was also thinking if wan tv in mbr leh.. was thinking no so i can slp in peace.. :P

christy> dunnu worr...i did came across ID design n saw alot of such design lol...dig a hole lah...hide the tv inside...or hack the wall, make a pole, so that tv can swirl wor....damn creative lol.... -_-"

val> yayaya...i used to be a crazy fan of tvb but now tone down becos quite busy @ work n when reach home...already half dead liao...so only cheong on drama on wkend...esp when i iron clothes...will watch while iron clothes lol =P my hubby oso crazy wif soccer...so better to hv two tv...becos i dun like to watch 22 stupig fellow chasing one ball....hahahahaha...
i most probably will mount the tv in mbr and bot the suspended tv console from ikea (act is just a piece of wood lol...)..just keep it simple n minimalisim...

butters> i tink if u r damn tire...no matter wat noise...u still can sleep, right? hahahaha...i tink becos of ur job...u need to be mei mei horr.....soo must sleep well is impt...i used to me panda lol...soo i m ok...i can watch till sleep...dan hubby will turn off the tv...becos he is an owl...hahahaha...

feimei> ya i also saw tt swirling tv thing in some mags.. think it shud be damn ex lor.. im actually quite a light sleeper.. sometimes even if ticking sound from clocks i also cant slp.. only if i am very very tired, havent slp for 24 hours then can slp no matter wat noise there is.. haha..

i really dun wanna hack any walls if can help it but since i will not be slping in the mbr, so most of the IDs suggest hack the wall between the mbr n the common room i will be slpg in.. still thinking abt it.. cos it will only be 2 of us dun think tt inconvenient if dun hack wall.. or maybe jz put a door between both rooms.. hmmm...

Val> Hack wall house value will drop ah.... how come I buy my house so ex LOL...

Feimei> Oh make a pole ah... like those pole dancing type right... Hahah next time dun want the tv can do pole dancing in the MBR hahaah for hubby yo see nia *LOL Dirty minded me whahahah*

butters> u r totally opp as my hubby...no matter wat...once lie on the bed...he sleep...hahaahaha...but yet...he is oways the one who wake up to switch off the tv for me =P

christy> u bery noti horr...actually no pt do such thing...unles u really damn rich...got $$$ n no where to spend...dan u do all these things...for us...comfortable will be the best of value already, right?

yayaya...i heard also...hacking of wall...difficult to sell next time unless u will find buyer like christy who don't mind... =P wait...abit confusion leh...hacking of wall...will cost the unit price to drop but yet, y ppl still buy expensive? Ummmm~~~ @.@

Feimei> Hahaha sometimes life need to be spice up wahaha. Dun know le the value of my house is 403 and cov is 7 lor. No store room and 1 slab of wall for study area is already hack.

christy> 403 for 5 room is bukit panjang ok leh.. urs got parquet flooring oredi in leh.. think my area is ard there for 5 room also..

feimei> think even though hacked walls, as long as condition of house is good plus wat type of reno u put in and the buyer likes it, then wont really drop tt much bah.. cos still have the cov ya...

christy> no lah.. but i think its ok cos ppl always comment tt ur place very spacious rite.. plus cos of the parquet and granite.. need very minimal reno, so worth it mah..
if flat was original issue from hdb and need to do lots of reno then think its quite ex lor..

christy> i think i even stingy than u lol....my cov shld be 8K...nego...till 6K dan we told agent still too much becos the unit will need so touch up...if 4k-2k will be Best...who noes...my agent said he will tried no cash for us or even below val....we like...realli anot...but god blessed...owner really agreed lol...no cash but still need to sell @ val, cannot below....mi n my hubby is like...can't belief...the house condition oso not that bad lah...painiting is of cos plus the kitchen lol...soo...no cov dan we can use the $$ for reno lol...realli lucky...

after 2nd appt...agent joke wif us...ask if we wan to sell? he said now alot of desperate buyer...no matter how high cov is...also willing to pay lol...we say...no..no..the unit to me is consider good...unit unblock...windy...on 15th flr somemore...last floor 16th...dan last unit of the floor...MIL 1st time commented not bad....she went with us for viewing a few times...she each time got comment but when viewing this unit...she not in town so FIL tag along...FIL also say this unit not bad..can consider...tat's y...we r like...finally...can stop viewing process....hahahahahaha.... :D

Butters> Hahah thanks for the comforting words :P

FeiMei> Aiyo.. I should have ask for no COV too.. but hubby ask agent how much they asking and mention that actually a buyer already want this place and want to pay 7k but hor their bank application rejected so no choice. So the agent say can follow the previous buyer offer.

The other mistake is I should have cut the agent fee cause I give 1%... okie not going to think too much abt it... else I keep thinking also no use. My hubby say everytime I think too much and give myself too much stress.

My SIL also view this house before (when we first view in oct 08) but 5yrs ago they did not buy. Than she commented she dun like when she view with us... I was like what the hack... she not the one buying what. Was kinda of flaming during the few day.

MIL also view the house with us most of the time but hor.. she did not choose this house... she choose another unit. Then I know my hubby like this unit a lot and as for me I got okie lor... but I tell him that must reno certain part if he take this unit. (Can you see I give myself stress again even before buying the unit plan so so far away)

christy> agreed w Butters, u indeed got a good deal lol...soo dun think the past...

actually i think the agent onli trying his luck nia...wat if owner die die wan cash??? hahahaha...dan we hum lol...becos we like this unit and after viewing...we too lazy to arrange for more viewing...just wait n hope will get this one lol...kekekeke...c how lazy we r... -_-"

we oso gave 1% to agent but agent say no need for the gst...Ummm~~@ least save abit bit lol...few hundred bucks lol...

yalo....dun tink back of wat ur SIL commented lah...u n ur hubby living in it...not them...so long both of u hapi...thats the most impt....when took keys liao...my MIL 1st time stepped in...she started to comment fr door steps till every corner of the hse...i oso like tat...anyway...not for her to stay...soo just let her *sing* lol...i will clean up all n make sure she will give good comments when she come next time...i m like tat...u challenge me...i will prove to u...becos she compare my hse n her 2nd son hse...that time they bot...very clean...n mine is like soo dirty lol....
nvm...dirty is for 1st time...need to see in long-term...who can maintain the cleaness....Hm~hm... =P

i very bull horr...