(2009/06) ROM in June 2009

Christy> Yup...that's wat ppl said to me. 20k can settle liao. But till now still no ID contact me. mayb i'm jus ikan billis biz to them. hmm...am thinking to up budget to 25k if still no reply in 2 wks time. =)

Feimei> U're really power. Me not handy person but change light bulb is ok la. So think i will hire someone to do it. No choice, i dun want to spoil anything and spend $ on repair. Yup, will do the mbr, living rm and kitchen for now. thanks. =)

FeiMei> No la be frank to ID that what you are keeping and they will note down one. If ID dun do that he is not honest ma.. so you can drop him liao lor.

Val> No la we small reno also got ID. You know why ID dun reply or not cause its the hand over period now they are trying their best to hand over the house to owners before the 7th mth.

val> maybe jz try to give the IDs a call n check how is the quotation coming along?

feimei> i also think u very power leh..

christy> ya from wat i saw from the only quote we got, carpentry is really very exp.. kitchen cabinet is like more than 5k to redo.. walk-in wardrobe is 4400, shoe cabinet is more than 1500.. crazy! but i dun really hv anything else to compare to till get other quotes.. but prob will drop a lot of things from the list.. :P

butters> not sure abt the mkt rate for all these but sure looks ex to me as well. 5k for kitchen inclues sink, piping work etc?

Val> Carpentry is only the cabinet only le.. not incl of sink and piping works.

Butters> I was think 3k for kitchen cabinat will do.. I dun know if the ID have gone to your place to measure if yes its accurate.. if not that means they mark up to a estimate price only.

Our MBR warbrobe about S$1600.

Christy> Urs done up by EL design rite? Is ur ID creative and provide alot of suggestion? Coz we r those sort tat r clueless abt reno, themes and matching colors etc...

Val> Yes our place is done up by EL Design. Ours in not ID he is a contractor. But I would not recommand cause this Uncle with always have his own reason to over thrown your reason. I dun wish you to have the same experience with me. Unless you got confident that you can overthrown the Uncle.

As in creative okie.. we like our living & dinning room cause the fales ceiling he make is something different and we have not seen before. Other than that we give input
and steal idea fm other ID :P

Well most ID or contractor can give you all idea one so its not a problem.

I would recommand Renotalk, Colin he is the boss of the shop and I personally think he works better than my contractor as in we can click better. Another one is Inzen, Roy he did up my brother's home if you are keen you can say you are recommand by my brother Michael who is staying at Simei.

At Renotalk there is this Uncle call Jason I think his price is also reasonable.. now starting lots of pple are asking for him. But do bear in mind always ask to see at least 1 flat before you sign up the contract with the ID/contractor, both of you must click and dun give full payment to ID. The best is to have payment terms like 10%, 40%, 40% & 10%. Oh.... forget one thing very important.. ask how many project do they have in hand now... so you know how bz they are.

Christy> icic..we already looked at lotza magazines for reno ideas already. But realised that the more we look, the more unsure of wat we want. yup..will check out colin soon. We also shortlisted summit design, linear space and the interior place.

Opps hahah now I relized that I did not write Colin fm which ID firm :P Peisay Hahah

You can read on Colin @ http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=9264
PS: If colin say if he ask his ID to follow up ur project... I prefer not to cause Colin got the bigger say cause its his own company ma... how much discount upfront he also can tell liao. The other time he say want to pass my project to his ID I say dun want la.. cause pple recommend mah LOL.

You can read Roy of Inzen @ http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=6387

For the Uncle in renotalk his name is Jason read up @ http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=23148
His website: http://ubreno.blogspot.com/

christy> ya man.. tt was the 1st quotation i got lah... even without anything to compare it to, i oredi find it very exp.. now waiting for the others to come..

val> but must at least decide on wat kinda theme ya... country, zen, modern, minimalist, retro...?

someone told me today tt classic furniture is q good.. u heard reviews on them b4?

Val> We shortlist 3 quote than decided on it. Yes butters is right you have to decide on what kinda of theam you like. Like for us my hubby like wood furniture so we decided on simple relax resort feel. Cannot affort to go Bali so be bring Bali home

Butters> Serious its very ex... to me I think 3K for kitchen carpentry can do de... but I dun know is it market price change liao.

Is the 5K for carpentry in the Kitchen new carpentry or you just relaminate the kitchen laminates??

thanks again, Christy.

i looking @ Uncle Jason blog....Ummm~~~will consider him....will submit my floor plan to him and i also taken some fotos on my exisiting kitchen, will send him as well...hope he dun faint becos the previous owner design damn funi....hahahahaha....

Butters & Christy> ya lor...i headache wif themes now lor. Coz hubby no preference and leave the decision to me. But i also no preference coz i find that each theme is unique and nice in their own way. I dun mind any of them as long as it look nice nice. sianz. But i dun tink i want country coz my hse area already v small, country may make it look smaller. U tink any ID can mix zen, modern, minimalist and retro tgt? haha...

Feimei> yup...i also find jason quite ok..am tinking of askin quotes fr him and roy. Watz wrong wif ur kitchen??

FeiMei> Hahah I dun think Uncle Jason will faint la... I believe he have seen the worst lor.

Val> Like that ah.. than you have to think of maintance lor.. like for us hubby like wood.. I okie la.. for me I want to buy things at good and cheap. For wood maintance is a problem... no direct sun shine on it hor else the wood will turn colour, must wax every now and than...so it look nice. No water to be left on the surface cause it will leave water mark and hot item cannot be place there too will also cause a mark. So if you like wood you got to protect it till siao lor. Like me :P

Lets talk about the kitchen surface table top... some will go for white cause if got scratch will not see so obvious but if you got food stain on the surface of the table top its quite hard to remove it lor.

Those who go with black also got problem scratch will see very obvious de but if curry or colour food is slip into the surface of the black table top you dun need to care about it cause its overthrown by the black table top.

So reno is also a knowledge de lor...

Give you another example: Normally ID/Contractor will advise or quote you tv colsole... and it cost very ex... I want quoted over 1K for the tv console than I told hubby to buy outside at 500+ only and we still can move the tv console out of the house if we happen to mover next time :P

butters> i heard of classic before. like kinda popular. my fren bought a nice diing table from there. So far no complaints. u heard of iwanagohome? Their stuff looks gd...but ex..

Christy> gd idea. I want easy maintainence. And something cosy and cheerful. +) Like that zen and country is out already lor. thank thanks..=)

Val> I heard of iwanagohome and some of their stuff is from Thailand cause my hubby used to work in Thailand so he saw some of the stuff in iwanagohome carry a brand call Index its a shop in Thailand just like Ikea in Singapore.

very True, Christy....reno is also a knowledge...mi n hubby will go for minimalisim or comtemporary lol...choosing the color is a headach becos roughly we know how the layout to be...as my home, living n dinning area is seaparate, soo is quite easy to design also...

val> the kitchen is quite dirty and it got those top cabinets and they are not in a row...they r up n down...very funi previous owner...anyhow do...

is there any website for iwanagohome?

feimei> maybe ur previous owner had topsy-turvy as their theme.. heh.. iwannagohome's website is reported as 'attack site', so better dun go in.. the shop is in great world city, can jz drop by..

val> actually like the shop in park mall, think its called xtra.. quite exp tho.. :P

think maybe u shud go for modern contemporary, put a lot of glass or mirrors so can let light in and reflect light so place looks bigger? and maybe hidden storage areas, so wont look cluttered?

but tot classic does reno? think i read somewhere abt classic furniture or classic kitchen tt does reno also, quite good?

christy> agree, think the guy also quoted tv console for over 1k.. think will prob buy outside also..

the quotation doesnt really say what they were gonna do with the kitchen, cant remember the exact words, its with hubby.. but think its to redo the whole of kitchen cabinets.. so think it includes carpentry bah..

meeting wif another ID this sat.. see how tt turns out..

butters> If reno, u referring to classic design? i went to renotalk forum last time...there's this home owner who had an unpleasant experience with ther ID there. but not sure wat happened coz many of his posts were deleted. Tink they are goin to settle it in court..can't rem.

Scary though. Anyone heard of it? Christy?

Link to Classic Design thread: http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=16941

FOr classic furniture> mayb can refer to the link to the thread:
http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=10519&pid=436448&mode=threaded&start=#entry436448

Butters> i want alot of hidden storage area. but not sure about alot of mirror...i might have 1 big one near behild the dining table.

Christy> Regarding Fengshui, ususally is get id first then see FS or the other way round huh? And is it necessary for the FS master to go to the hse to see see coz have not collect my keys yet wor..

And the fees, juz spoke to a colleague who engaged a FS master recently. Not sure who but she said her master appeared in advertisement alot. Anyway, she spent a whooping 7k altg, inclusive of FS ornaments. The consult'n fees alone is 1k plus. Is that the mkt rate huh? Her hse abt same size as mine, both of us 4 rm flat...

Butters> For me, i may do the tv console. Coz my area v small. build in mayb can save abit of space. anyway, will decide again when get my keys. =)

FeiMei> Actually quite simple w the wall colour for my side. The MBR I take care most of the design and colour… the study room & tv 1 slab of wall colour my hubby decide. So will not fight over colour… the rest is those cream white colour… ceiling is white lor. My MBR is purple ash.. the study room is stonecave (grey) and the tv feature wall is like the biscuit colour

Val> You can do the conversion Index website is http://www.indexlivingmall.com/en/store_location.php I check with my thai frnd she told me that the place quite far.. cause she went 1 time and got caught in the traffic too.

Ya heard pple complaint of reno matter… I am one of them lor.. Hahah sure have de la there is on perfect ID/Contractor. At least 10% got problem.

Usually is get FSM first than ID… cause you plan according to the FSM advise… Yes FSM need to go to your house to have a look and than advise from there…. Cause thet will see the surrounding too than advise you accordingly. Haha ur frnd FMS on adv?? My dad appear on newspaper again.. today at the eveing Chinese paper.. (the blue colour I think) he say 090909 is a good date to get married even its in the 7th mth. Yes FS is 1k up and it go according to the size of the house that you are quote with… Wah ornaments she buy so much ah??? But thou I am FSM daughter I dun follow lots of thing.. like open door... knock the tiles for reno operations.. Haha All this is personal preference.. most important is both couple agree than do lor.

Butters> Well if you get your house key liao you see where you want to place the TV than from there you start to measure at least how long the TV console you want so its easy to look out.

I think it’s a new kitchen cabinet from the way you say. Cause if you have done your homework and request to be quote for re-laminate only the price also not cheap you know… its good as make a whole new cabinet. I came across the some ID can give price at S$80/sq ft for the kitchen cabinet so you see how much is that on you quote and also ask what kind of laminate you can choose.. cause some laminate you got to top up hor.

Christy> I see. Like that time v tight. Coz i'm collecting my keys btw oct-dec(date not confirm yet) this yr. And hope to get the reno done before march 2010. Ya...my fren bought quite abit of the ornaments, supposed to be gd for her hubby's career. Heh. Ur dad in the papers? Ok, i go check it out. thanks thanks. =)

Val> Actually quite easy la... you got floor plan?? Than you draw out where you like to place your furniture than.. I help you see lor... hahah the basic one like position of bed I still know
And draw your wardrobe.. have to indicate where you intend to put mirror in the house... cause not every where can put de lor.

Stove and basin cannot be side by side be.. must leave some distance apart. My dad did not see my house FS before I reno... but I manage to get the fact correct.

Only one thing is in my room is morning sun facing de so I first few nights sleep near the window that side (left side of the bed) feel uncomfortable... so I change to sleep on the right side of the bed.

By the way do you know you place got beam or not... the ceiling beam. If you know can indicate in the floor I help you see too...

Christy> yup i hv floor plan. =) Wif my hubby though. But have not decide where to place e furniture yet. Wah...u very power also. But if u help me c, watz left for the FS master to do? Make sure i place the stuff at the rite place? IS there a need for the master to look at our birthdates b4 seeing the hse?

Val> Hahaha the basic one I can help look see la... of coz FSM more accurate than me not to mention cause they see your area too... if got what building good or not maybe got road beside ur house good or no good they will tell you one.

Ya if you get the Pro FSM they will ask you and your hubby's date and caculate accordingly... as per my dad he will tell pple what to paint their room colour so its suitable for them.

wah..colour for the room also impt ar? interesting. Actually, we already got our birthdates calculated before. Is there a need to recalculate again? I tink previous master also got mentioned our lucky color, number etc, written somewhere.

Val> Different le.. cause for house I remember my dad say some part of the house belong to wife and some belong to hubby. Than frm there will advise the room colour.

Eg. Kitchen belong to wife de.

haha.. christy u the unofficial FS master for us.. my FS master said can do any color except for red.. not good for us... there goes my plan to put a bit of red color in the kitchen..

also he advised us to slp in the common room next to our MBR cos better for both of us.. so turning MBR into walk-in wardrobe.. now trying to decide if shud hack part of wall and put a door between both rooms and close up one door. wat u think? didnt wanna hack initially cos wanna keep costs down but need to rebuild a storeroom the previous owner hacked so since hacking might as well hor..

val> there's this thing call the wealth area also tt the FS master calculates for u with ur birthdates. we need to put some sort water feature or plant or maybe fish bowl there. trying to figure out which has the lowest maintenance.. heh..

Butter> Hahah put red in the kitchen I also dun like.. cause kitchen belong to the lady of the house. Than if put red later will get hot temper cause "fire" for red mah.. LOL but it also depend de la.. some pple are good with red.

Sound funny to stay in common room.. the common room is next to your MBR is the MBR bathroom also next to the common room that you all intend to stay??

Hacking will be costly le... and common rm no bathroom difficult to... and do you plan to have kids soon?? cause you may need room next time wor.

Butters> hack one wall? Oh man, hope this dun happen to me too. Mine is new flat wor..duno whether can hack or not. heh

Yup..heard of the wealth area thingy. did u buy any FS ornaments?

was reading the reno in singaporebrides.. this ID seems good.. 17degrees..

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/409/1120203.html?1250833726#POST3873318

no lah.. i saw somewhere they put white and dashes of red in kitchen, looks very nice.. maybe now will go for white and light brown or silver.. :D

haha.. actually he said stay in MBR also ok but the other room better.. thinking since engaging a FS master then dun listen to his advice a bit no point rite...

was thinking maybe not hack the whole wall.. jz put a door connecting the common room to the MBR so still not as inconvenient bah.. cos currently still both of us onli.. still hve another room when kid(s) come.. :P

val> not planning to buy any apart for the wealth area thingy.. will prob let the FS master see the layout 1st b4 cont with the reno, so to avoid the need to buy any ornaments.. heh..

Christy> funny that kithchen belongs to wife coz i dun cook. None of my frens do anyway. In any case, tink my hubby a better cook than me. haha...

Yup, will go and take up cooking soon i guess. will b cool to be able to whip up something decent for my hubby nxt time. =)

Butters> yup, my fren's kitchen also red and white. V nice. Bright and cheerful. But white, grey & silver also nice. Soothing..

Oh...me also planning not to buy ornaments, if possible. So ex..=)

val> haha.. i also dun really cook. the onli thing im great with is pasta with olive oil wif chilli flakes n pine nuts..
dun think hubby can survive on tt 7 days a week, so need to learn how to cook proper..when move in new place.. haha..

blur_btb> saw ur gowns selections in ur blog.. u like halter necks huh.. really like gown 4 though.. are u excited for the PS? its gonna be so fun..

Hi all.. I m finally back... After returning my work laptop on my last day, i din have anything... so sad.. just managed to grab laptop from husband and a modem that works...a bit lost in all the reno thread... Hope everyone is fine...

Mine is almost done reno-ing when we realise that the previous owners got a paint job on the ceiling just before they sell it too us.. there is a bad water seepage from the unit above... quite a bad stain that we are trying to get HDB to fix now before our aircon and furniture arrive next week.. its a big headache...

Hi Butters> I love gown 4 too... so sad that i cannot choose it.. cos the location i choose is a big colonial building... the coordinator say that the big place might make gown 4 seem really small.... so ask me to choose a big gown... Gown 5 has the layering and is an extremely long one too... I m wondering if i shd change back from gown 2 to gown 5... hELP!!

blur_btb> cant really see details on gown 2, it looks nice tho.. but if they both have long trains then might as well get gown 2 cos its lighter.. gonna be way troublesome to walk in a heavy gown on a hot day...

blur_btb> care to share ur website...want to c how ur gown...i can give 'feedback' (shld be k-po...hahahahaa)...i not gg to hv customery, so will not be wearing any gown...but i like to c frenx wearing...they look so beautiful.... :D

christy> i emailed uncle jason last wk, till 2day, he haven reply me leh....Ummm~~~maybe i doing kitchen onli...too small project...he not interested.... =P

just came home...hv another round of cleaning just now...ha...although it's tiring...but u can c things slowly get clean and feel more like a home....hahahahaha....

FeiMei> You email Uncle Jason ah... I got his tel le... I can pass to you and you give him all call to bug him. Cause usually contractor need reminding lor... and of coz bug them.