(2008) Brides of year 2008

I just had my GDL yst... really tiring to go ard whole of singapore to deliver wedding invitation cards to relatives... at least one thing settled.

Hi Porsche,
We loan 2 baskets from the Xibing shop where we order the traditional xibing. My husband try to stuff all the things (except the boxes and boxes of xibing)in before bringing over to my side. it's easier to carry.

Hi Mrs Chiew,
Thank you for the wine shop recommendation, I brought from Susan last saturday. She's really a nice lady.

How many bottles of red wine do you think you'll get for a wedding lunch with ~26tables? I have about 16 tables of friends and the rest are mainly VIP and relatives table. So far, I have 38 bottles, but my sibling said it's not enough.

I have getting 30l of beer from my hotel, my husband colleagues are good drinkers of beer, do you think I should get addtional 1 or 2 cartons of beer beforehand since my hotel allowed me to bring in max. 2 cartons of beer.

hi annabella,
congrats! 1 more thing down on ur list for u
seems like yest was a gd day for GDL as another btb i know oso had her GDL yest

it depends on which day is ur AD, if it's wkend like fri n sat den u better cater more red wine n liquor e.g beer, if more den shd b ok....they wld estimate dat 1.5 bottles per table wld b enuff :P im worried abt mine now, i got 53 bottles (plus a couple of bottles on my own) n 50 litres of beer for 35 tables on a fri :P

florabliss,
den u better avoid those areas for ur PS cos it's definitely going to b closed earlier....think of some other backup places whereby u can go for ur PS....btw when's ur PS? must b excited....how i miss those days :P

porsche: For my GDL coz is really very little things so I only have one small fruit basket of fruits they just carry everything over in paper bags or so. Normally.. what I know is couple will rent the traditional basket like what annabella mention. so your fruits and ping jin (money) + anything that can put into the basket just put in and carry over
If you have little things and your parents don't care much.. then no need lor
is just nicer, easier to carry things over with the basket.

annabella: you are welcome! yeah susan very nice hor
That's the reason why after going there I also don't bother to find other shop since their shop and servce is good. On the wine thing.. yours is wedding lunch so actually lunch time ppl dun usually drink that much... you got to roughly know your guest pattern... u can judge them by how they drink when they attend other ppl's wedding (esp relative)... Personally feel is enuff... but then again since Euro link there is 100% consignment.. you can have a few more to standby if your family really feel not enuff.. Anyway the wine come in 6 or 12... so u may consider to round off to 42 bottle, or 48bottle.. if have extra just bring back to refund..

For me Sat nite dinner 38 table I have 64 bottle of red wine. I am also using the 1.5factor to do calculation. Should be enuff.

Hee Hee just went to cut my hair yesterday :P so happy with it now... just 19more days for me.. is getting so near ... in 2 weeks time I can off work and rest loooo :P

yest accompany my MIL to buy the GDL stuffs... guy's side so cheap.. only cost $33.. haha... including stuffs for an chuang...

den when nearer to date den my FIL will buy the 2 bottles of liquor, oranges, some teochew biscuits... dats it le.. =D

Was busy with the house (again).
Plus a difficult mum and sis didn't help matters. Both are so 'nyeow'-this bag/shoe/dress don't like, that don't like...
Seems like I am being the troublesome person by getting married.

26/9 slipped out of my mind! Maybe we should avoid that part of town and go to somewhere in Orchard area.

if sending card 1 month b4, the guests should have reply within the first 2 weeks. I will start remind those have not rsvp on the 3rd week.

Thanks BTB: we have gotten a flimsy basket so not sure if can hold... we have very little items too...jus liquor and fruits...

SDJ also bring over on GDL day or separate day?

Hello everyone, i finally have a chance to log in. Last 2 days was so busy. Yippe, my AD is finally over. For those brides who are still waiting, dun worry, it's gonna be over soon

My AD was in a mess. Morning, my hubby was late in fetching me cos it was raining. My photograhper was late also but luckily everything is still in time.

The dinner was also in a mess but luckily nobody notice it. Everyone was busying catching up with one another.

Haha, now i am waiting for this thurs to go honeymoon.

No need to be stress, jus relax. If anythin happen, jus follow the flow. Nobody will notice one

porsche: Not sure about the SDJ ... but I thought the SDJ is your MIL help u wear it when u have tea ceremony at her house on your AD? so I am not very sure on that.

Oh ya ladies, rem to check on credit limit issue if you are paying by cards ya... it need time to get approve also I guess... so better do it earlier.. if not wrong should be able to ask them to activate only on the AD itself... that's the next task on my list too :P

Thanks Mrs Chiew....

MIL is preparing something else for tea ceremony..hmm...

Anyway my coordinator advise us to call the credit card company abt 3 weeks b4 the dinner...got anything ask the credit card to call the coordinator to confirm or verify... Fyip...

Hi Jane

went to the shop u recommened and bought the gal side stuffs liao.. no bad.. alot of variety.

compare to the shop nearby it is quite big.

Hi ladies, saw in Multiply that a few of us had our PS last week. I did too... really can't wait to see my photos.. hehe.. We didn't take any of our own photos that day, cos PG said cannot..

As it is, I keep sneaking a look at my bouquet every now and then when I am at home these few days already.. the flowers are dying, but I still like them so much..

waaa good sia half of the brides completed the misssion . 2 week more week to my . I also have feeling I fallin sick , thsi few day keep having vitamin C to control it

RSVP can start as soon as you send the first SMS to them. some ppl will tell you immediately that they can't make it.

hi ling ling
by right, they should respond ASAP when they receieve the card. by right..you never know...

I wonder if there are any suitable cafes in Ngee Ann City or Wisma Atria.

There's a new TCC at International Bldg (don't remem how big though) and the one at Shaw Centre always crowded.

Mine is next Saturday and I still have not finish giving out my cards... damn... and I am so busy packing.... this thurs is my GDL.... i better hurry... think must work overnight liao....hahaha..

Hi Lilacbliss, i read that you did ROM at Grand Copthorne. So you did your ROM at one of the indoor room instead? How was it? Any pictures to share?

Coz i also booked the promenade for my solemnisation, but very afraid of bad weather and i might have to move it indoors that day. Just wanna see how the indoor deco is like. Hope you can share with me some photos. You can PM me if not convenient to post it here. Thanks!

meiyi/soliloquy7

<font color="aa00aa">heehee my AD is over too... finally!!

agree with crown, nobody will notice... cos mine, also alot of screw up exp at night... but everyone i asked said it went very well.. hahaaa...

even gave an impromptu speech, in 2 languages, and just talk nonsense, but also pple will say it's good... lol

so relax!! everything will go smoothly, go with the flow, trust your xiongdis and jiemais to amke the event wonderful for you! =D</font>

yvonne, i thk the treelodge is a nice place..low level but near central mah
cheaper oso :D i bought the punggol lodge #14 at $230K lor duhz so expensive.. Actually wan Damai Grove coz nearer to waterway and LRT but then we at last got a 3 digit number tts why we are afraid to let go of the chance lor... haizz..

Sanriobtb = i thk SDJ is mainly for teochews rite? Ehh.. coz my in-laws got financial problem so most of the thgs all paid by my hubby (even GDL items, AnChuan and cakes etc), even the SDJ.. if ur in-laws cant give u and u feel u wan, then ask ur hubby pay for it lah :P

Wah, u all making me worried, i asked my hubby go buy the GDL thgs with my mother one coz my mother wan the male and female side everythg same pattern, same size (candles) so safest is my hubby follow my mother to buy all the thgs and paid for the male side.. i thk they are gg tis wkend..lets pray they dun fight ah... Coz my hubby nt into all these traditions thgy..haiz..

Are u all doing ur own hand corsages for the jiemeis?

meiling> My PS is 25 Sep. Juz 1 day before the F1 race. I've got no time to feel excitement about the PS leh. More worried that I may not have enough sleep.

Thanks charma97 &amp; Jolene for your comments.
Hmmm... think i phrased my Qs wrongly...i dun need SDJ or expensive jewellery from MIL, just tot that usually MIL will buy small gift to the daughter in law as small token... cos it's the xin yi that counts... not sure if i think too much..

so wat's d decision now? where to meet? heheheh :P im anything one cos i shd not have any prob...will orchard b closed too?

florabliss,
heheheh....oh, it's 1 day b4 our gathering...dun worry, i think u may get insomnia d nite b4 ur PS cos i couldnt slp d nite b4 mine n was tossing n turning d whole nite....do try to get some slp so u'll have lotsa energy on ur PS day
remember dun drink too much water d nite b4 ok?

gd news! my BS called n they said my wedding albums r ready for collection n dat they r gona give me d softcopies for d PS i did for them foc....den offered me tickets to d swissotel merchant court wedding show on tis coming sun :P

i understand wat u mean dear

Its always nice tt ur MIL buy smthg for u.. like my mum bought smthg for my hubby oso... but i doubt my MIL will buy anythg for me coz she isnt even sure abt the traditions... haizz.. U see la, even SDJ is bought by my hubby

but u checked with ur hubby tt ur MIL nt getting anythg for u?

hi mei.. ya i booked the promenade den rained lor.. so sianz.. so they gave me a function room.. but i still have to pay for the promenade.. so suay le.. the pics are in my multiply.. u go see lor.... normal room le.. nt ugly nor pretty..

jolene.. male side very little only.. haha.. candles is male side one ma.. he will need to buy 2 sets.. the shop pple will explain le.. the shop i went to.. the pple there quite helpful.. anything i ask them they will advise.. u dunno wat to buy also they will tell u...

basically only 1 design so they wun have much tins to argue abt le.. dun worry... just tell ur hubby to buy watever tins he's told to buy can le.. keke... guy side very little only..

my MIL also nt very rich.. so the SDJ she juz spent abt $1k on it only.. but at least better than nothing le.. at first she also dunno need to buy one.. den my hubby hinted her.. maybe u can ask ur hubby to drop some hints also.. haha.. coz sometimes MIL nt sure wat to do also...

den my parents bought some gold jewellery for us to give us during the tea ceremony lor..

Jolene: me also thinking if i want to do the wrist corsages for jiemei. Friend commented that it will look nice in photos. With so many things to do, i am feeling abit lazy now. hehe

And also thought of giving them a little gift bag, still looking for ideas though. Saw in mag DIY watches.

jia yo for all d girls that preparing for their GDL, im not doing those ...
but, sounds like complicated things to prepare, buy n rent ...
so jia yo girls, remember that u all just doing this once a lifetime ...
hehehe

Meiling, wah good good. so u can make ur own album in ur own free time ah.. ^^.. Eh.. take pic horrr.. i wan see gownsss...

I was thinking how about hans near raffles place mrt, tat one opp hong lim? It is big and not tat many pple.. Just a suggestion ah.. ^^

Flora, dun worry too much. You are already slim and pretty.. relax and enjoy the time.. dun stress urself too much and the pic will turn out well.. ^^

Hi Jolene..

ya u r right not to give up punggol lodge for damai grove... 3 digt q is gd... omg..... huh
230k for 14th floor . then treelodge is x liao. i bought 211k for 3th floor wat u think ...

u can buy ur GDL thing wif ur mum 1st, then bring ur hubby another day to buy his... i am doing that..

up to u... actually the price not bad liao for the corsages.. i search ard simple design already cost $8.90 tat web is nicer and cheaper...

Hehee
My mum say just need the cakes and an angbao for GDL.
And just the tea ceremony and roasted pig for the AD. No need hair combing ceremony.
Hopefully my parent in laws are OK with it too. If so, will save lots of work. Just have to buy the essentials for Anchuang and the dragon/phoenix candles.

Any idea how many days/weeks before hand do we have to place order for the cakes?

TanLee = I think 2 weeks before the GDL can order the cakes. Wah so good..all the thgs in angbao form is good lor!!! My MIL said everythg in angbao can or nt then my mum face turn black lor.. *shakes head*

Keke u can consider the corsage website i posted.. its really cheap there and very pretty..cost from $3.70 lor..so pretty..

gift bags for jiemeis is definitely one lor.. must thank all the helpers for the hardwork..other than angbaos, gifts is a must!!! keke i DIY earrings for my helpers for my ROM.. thking if do the same is it very lame :P haha maybe will go shop for materials one day... my friend gave us each a bodyshop perfume!

jane = ya.. i thk little bit of token also better than dun have lah...the most ask the hubby go hinted. My case so funi... my hubby after buy liao then go tell my MIL then she remembered must give..make them paiseh... dont knw if they will compensate with any small jewel or nt on the AD. But not impt la.. already got the SDJ frm my hubby
Quite pretty coz i get to choose :P And think i wearing it with my AD evening gown!!!

keke the GDL i thk i leave it to my hubby and mother go buy the thgs... me and my mother nt in gd r/s... better than my hubby settles coz she dotes him more... dun wana quarrel when buying the thgs.. coz my mum v fussy...she said candle got diff sizes one even if same designs.. funi... let them settle...

actually my BS got provide corsages..but i thk its nice if can ownself DIY coz my fren did and then we all can keep as keepsakes mah.. the BS provide de must give them back rite? If can let jiemeis keep the corsages..so nice rite?

Yvonne = I thk i heard tt treelodge more expensive coz of its special design and also the recycle concept right? i thought its really cool wor...Maybe tts why more expensive.

But how big is ur treelodge? Mine is 90 sq ft..nw all the flats all so small.. but lucky the design i choose no weird angles... i saw some same size de but weird angles end up look even smaller than it is...

Jolene: Tks for sharing your tots

hmmm.. think i will not check with hubby cos a bit sensitive..if MIL reali din prepare anything..think it's ok la.. anyway it's not a must also.

woah.. i was lucky i've got a few un-noticed hiccups.. i forgot to arrange dinner for my band.. suppose to have rose petals throwing for march in (dunno where the petals).. best one was.. I stretch out my right instead of left hand for ring wearing.. wahha.. no one noticed it except my PG.. was sabo to do a dance~.. that's about all..

dun have to worry.. play by the ball.. like the rest say.. everything will fall nicely in place

Hi Jolene

yap it is .. but i think mine slightly bigger than urs.. 93sq if i still remember. i guess the one i choose look retangle or squarish kind...

i think urs got the toliet bowl flushing system same as tree lodge right got basin on the it.