(2008) Brides of year 2008

hi ladies :D

finally done with my tea ceremony, gate crushing & solemnisation. so happy. had enjoyed myself that day. will post more photos when gt the DVD from the PG this afternoon.

nw left with banquet to go which will be on Oct 4. hooray :D

Hi kokobrok,

Yup, my PS was last week. My BS is Emanuel B Couture. She ties up with my PG, John Lim. So we went to John's Studio and not BS for our PS. We actually asked a friend to go help drive us ard. At the same time, he can help to take photos, but John doesn't allow. He said only HTB and myself can hold our camera. In the end, HTB busy talkin to his friend, so didn't take much photos.. sigh..

oh hey,
is shenton way closed for F1 thingy?
my PS is on 28th

jo_vin.. i will be checking in the hotel early too at 12pm coz my tea ceremony ends abt 11+am den go straight to hotel to rest.. den makeup starts at 4.30pm le.. i tin u check in earlier coz dun tin enuff time.. attached my schedule let u see...

an chuang stuffs is by groom's side.. ya lor only $10.. keke... btw i tot ang bao shud give in denomination 8? I tinking of giving $288.. divide by 6 jiemeis $48 each... u tin ok ma??

Lost, yeah i collected my cards le... start pasting the inserts on the cards and folding them le.. wah siong lehz.. everyday i do abt 10 cards tired le.. hahhaha... i got 200 cards.. need to take 20 days.. =P btw which design u choose? mine is the red one... =D

jane = keke i agree oso tt buying gold is like good investment.. last time my brother less than 1k can buy 1 set of 4 gold lor..in 2005 now we need double.. phew...

haiz.. my HB is a teacher so its either june or december and june normally has all the remedial classes for students with poor grades and lotsa events and WITS and workplan etc... duhz.. almost the whole June 08 was burnt lor..only managed to find a day for PS. So december is safest lor..and anyway just nice, coz we wana see snow :P But i m afraid of cold oso! Got to borrow thermal wears from my frens :P

jojo = ohhh, your hse is premium ahhh? how much kitchen everything all ready de? wooo... ur dad in construction? does it mean can get discount when i reno my flat next time :P hahaha...

OG bedsheets ahh.. quite alot of designs lor.. if ya want plain colour oso good idea lehh :D haha maybe i shld go get oso ^^ Dont need all the Xi and stuffs :P But i thk good to be red..old ppl like it :P

i been jiemei twice... ehh different rates lor...1 gave as much as almost $400 and we end up bao another angbao and return back $300... coz we felt the amt is too much and i thk every couple need to spend alot of cash on wedding already so really shldnt taxed them further...we are not in for the $ anyway.. The other i really cant rem leh.. duhz... but i know coz i was the overall coordinator.. she gave me a big angbao of $88 so i wasnt v concerned abt the gatecrashing angbao oso...

But like said it all depends.. my frens told me it shld be $28 pr $38 for normal jiemei and if they help u with emcee or overall coordination then $68 or $88 lor...same goes for brothers...

jo_vin: thanksss...
keke dont worry la.. i oso v paranoid over the whole wedding

last fri i met the brothers and sisters and i thk i freaked them out... hahaha...i got slight occupational hazzard coz i m in events line so end up i thk i m abit perfectionist when comes to my own events...LOLz... aiyoh.. i must learn to keep it cool :P

jane = i also same!!! My friends were asking me how come i keep whining over the cards and i said i do a bit i bored and sian liao :P Hence i doing in batches or else will go crazi :p

Hmmm..must remember both parents will give the jiemeis another $28 wor... so meaning they have $56+$48 = $104.. Then wat if u wan to give them gifts and angbao urself oso? Hmmmm.. must consider k?

hi cynthia

oh no, means i am behind the schedule already.. my AD is on 5 dec, so by right i should already have in mind which printer i wanna go to.. i haven really go and look ard yet, but i tink will go the printer that my hotel has told us..

so by early oct i should have my card design selected and start with the print works already.. means these 2 weeks i must go and look ard le..

thanks thanks!

jolene.. ya lor buy more gold.. keke... oooo den ur holiday everytime is during peak period le.. keke...

ya lor the invitation cards so ley chey.. =P

for the ang baos.. parents need to give $28 mehz?? I tot $8 can le.. hahaha.. coz when im jiemeis.. my fren's parents also give me $8...

Hmm.....
Let's go with (in Plaza S):
A) Secret recipe (3rd floor)
B) Swensen's (3rd floor)
C) Xin Wang Hong Kong cafe (6th floor)

Any others?

wahh.. my frens parents each side give us $28 lor!!! OMG... spoilt market~!!! Now i stressed oso :P

Ehh then after the parents give u $8 hor, does the bride and groom give u another angbao apart from the gatecrashing?

Yeah la.. no choice, if i wan travel with HB got to be peak period... but hor, i still can go travelling with my frens during off peak mah ^^

I already planning for 2 trips with frens next yr :P hohoho...

hehe sensitive qns = who is gg to have a baby soon after wedding? If not, why? And when will be a good time? If yes, why?

By the way, how old are u all ah? Wonder if i m the oldest here

haha ur frens parents good le.. keke.. dun have le.. only the gate crashing and the parents one... the brothers even worse.. only from parents one $8 nia.. keke...

wah u go so many trips.. keke rich lehz.. we at most go 2 times per yr nia.. hehehe...

for me nope.. no baby till 3 yrs later.. i dun wan so fast got baby.. keke... i haven even got my own flat yet.. =(

Wah, you gals are fast and your AD programme is out ah!
i have not gotten the timing for my AD, an chuan and GDL yet!

For the bedsheets, was told can buy the traditional dragon pheonix red ones at Chinatown market near keong siak road, a set for about $50. Will turn out really nice in photos
But will only use it once for an chuang.
Argh, need to buy all the barang barang soon once our parents meet next tues for food tasting.

Oh, friend told me must remember to get 1 of ur jiemei to accompany you for the dinner's makeup. MUA will only help you for the 1st hairdo, and then instruct you which hairpins to remove for the 2nd hairdo.

aiya very headache lehz.. my MIL say their relatives cannot come so early... so will serve tea to the in laws first.. go back my hse den go back hubby's hse again to serve tea to the relatives.. so troublesome...

den my gown also dunno need to change back to the wedding gown or just wear the tea dress serve tea to the relatives?? so headache!!!

Yoyo!

I done my schedule too
But hor, ermmmm... looks abit detailed.. :P And my cocktail starts at 6.30pm.

$8 for brothers v poor thing lehh.. after all they fu4 tang1 dao3 huo3 for the groom!!! i thk the groom must throw at least a thank you dinner or party for the brothers after that lor :P

But i thk if bride giving and parents giving then dont give so much for gatecrashing or if only parents giving then give more lor :P since they work for it ^^

But hor, will there be a minimum sum to be given out and a maximum sum? Like you budget max is $388 but jiemeis are not aware and happy with $188 then u save $200!!! Or will u give the full $388 no matter wat? keke...

by the way, do ur jiemeis know ur HBs and brothers? if they do, will they be too paiseh to sabo? :P

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif
AD Schedule - Jolene
wedding schedule for sharing.xls (20.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>

ahhh.. so troublesome ahhh.. aiyoh.. can ask ur relatives go earlier to the hotel then do the remaining tea ceremony there?

ehh i thk must follow the traditions and not nice to go back to do another round of tea ceremony... so weird...

ohhh i added jo_vin and jolynn in my multiply
Sorry ahh! Just saw the invitation :P heehee.. Thanks for the comments
Ur pictures are so nice too!!!

Hi Jane,
I collected mine yesterday and 200++ cards all done up.. just need to write the names and post out or give out.. i never take the cards from the hotel.. i went to tdragon and selected other card..

hihi summer ice
i suggest you go brash basha (sorry not sure how to spell)if you have time. their prices about the same. i know t-dragon, and lil'art quite popular.
mine is $120 for 200 tracing inserts in gold print.

checking of artwork normally takes quite some time. cos when you send your corrections to the printer, will takes about 9 days before it is finally correct..

hi xesthir
my PS was done in late sept where my ad was on 23/12..no worried gal..

Hi everyone.. to all the brides who got married to live happily ever after and to those whos big day haven arrive all e best !!

for me i m saving up for tat nice proposal ring.

Hi everyone.. i have a lobang for catering. they specialise in peranakan food. But variety of chinese , malay, indian, fusion, etc..

If anyone need i can share the info around..

Lost, ya so fast!!!

How can u sit there and do the same thing for 200 times??? OMG...

Ahhh how come nv take the hotel cards? Most cards printed by tdragon rite? Mine oso from there..i thk our cards will look more or less the same ahhaa

cynthia,
thanks for ur kind offer! it's ok, im wking on my copy now....it's abt 75% complete, juz need to wk on d evening prog as well as to add in some more details :P
thanks for ur wonderful ideas! will need to look at those suggestions n see how i can incorporate it into my plan

nelle,
i dun mind all 3 options at PS, even more convenient for me :P

Hi gals. Wanna ask opinion. My mum has passed already. But still I would like to include her on my invitation card (as a form of respect). So how do I phrase it? I can't indicate "Mr and Mrs Ho XX" coz it'll looked as if she is still around. Can put as "Mr Ho XX and the late Mdm Tan XX"?

hi florabliss
in my 2 cents, pls dun put your late mum's name there at all. invitation host is living people invite living people..
sorry for being offensive...you can check with hotel ppl to double check.

Nelle, actually manhatan has awesome food too. But if have to choose from the 3, it'll be secret recipe. More open, good food. Xin wang seems to be awfully crowded most of the time.

agree with ms claire
xin wang..is really "wang"..very crowded.
we play by ear lar..after dinner, i am sure the place sure exploded with people and the waitress will can't wait to chase us out.
maybe we can go to park mall for a drink..its less crowded there. there is a cafe..can't remember the name now...ops...

jolene.. ya lor i also tin so.. but my hubby's relatives so troublesome lor... tell them to come earlier they say cannot.. i wonder it's our wedding or their's.. so irritating... =(

Lost.. icic.. wat design u choose? let me see lehz.. i went to Tdragon cant find anything nice so choose the hotel one coz got the map behind.. keke... still under Tdragon.. and they print the inserts lor..

wah u really very fast lehz.. i still taking my own sweet time to paste the insert.. hahaha... anyway my GDL is 17 Oct.. so still got time le.. hehehe...

MeiLing, cool, so you got the soft copies free, ha ha, at least can compensate for some of your posing efforts.

Flora, the gals have given really valuable advices on the to-bring for PS. As for the invite, really need to check with printers, they got lot of experience. For my case, a bit easier, cos it's my dad that's not ard, so my invite says Mrs xxx - My mum's name.

Nelle, I vote for secret recipe. Ha ha, got another suggestion, if we want to avoid town and crowded places,can go to Great World City. Just kidding. A bit inconvenient though

Summer_Ice:

Usually the one that your hotel picks should be the cheapest already I think...Another option is printing in JB, which I read on the forums is quite a cheap option...I also haven't printed my cards! Am quite disappointed with the PanPac designs leh, not very pretty...But oh well!!

Also Cynthia talked about Bras Basah, but I went before and only found those printing postcard type...And I think price-wise not particularly cheap...

Yikes, I am also panicking about my invites. Guestlist not even confirmed yet lor!

^5 xesthir.. my AD is on 5 dec and my PS is only on 2 oct lo.. im also very late le... only worry is that the photo album will not be ready on time.. why you dowan to call your BS and fix an earlier PS date?

hihi cynthia,
bras basah is the place near to bugis with the big 'artfriend' shop one is it? my hotel gave me t-dragon's namecard... think this sat i will go and reccee the printers le.. no time to lose!

hi eunice,

yes yes, my guest list is not confirmed too! i was actually thinking of doing rsvp first before i print my cards coz i dowan to end up with not enough or overprint.. anyway my hotel was telling my t-dragon and t-dragon is kinda ok from the feedbacks, so this sat i shall go down and check it out..

when is your AD?

hi summer ice,
yes, the place has artfriend.
i suggest print at lil'art..mine print there, not bad.

my album ready in november, they took about 2 months to process, no worries..

if you do RSVP now, i afraid might have a lot of last minute changes. its really hard to get ppl to commit during festive session... either last minute D&amp;D, travel, or...whatever reasons..blood boil manz...

does lil'art have any website? i wanna browse their catalogue leh.. so your $120 for 200 tracing inserts is from lil'art? will it cost differently if i want to print in other colours?

but without the rsvp, i cant do the table seating arrangements too..

hi summer ice
some tables you know will attend can plan table arrangement. those not sure one..then u dun plan first and let them sit towards the exit.

wooo.. Jane my GDL is one day difference from you :P 18 October and final fitting on 19 october

but my food tasting very late only on 2 October... And only can choose wkdays.. wkdays go sentosa.. so ma fan!

Alamak..i just remember i need to give my MIL the list of items to buy and the list of dates to remember.. aiyoh... must give her tonite :P

ya Lost, u are really fast :P keke.. i got it in late august and still not even halfway thr :P but i m gg to send out in batches and meet some frens to give them personally oso

Jane, wat time u need them to be there for tea ceremony? So early meh?

hehe when's ur AD?? mine is 7 Nov.. final fitting still not fixed yet.. keke... i got 2 evening gown for AD.. any suggestions when to wear which one?? like during which part of the nite??

my food tasting last mth also can choose only weekdays.. keke... ya the timing for tea ceremony is early.. coz we teochew ma.. =(