(2008) Brides of year 2008

Hi all! Completed the wedding at last! Phew...

The guys were very good sports. They took on all the games that we prepared very well. Best man poor thing tho... He ate 4 wasabi-coated biscuits and ended up in the toilet a few hours later. Otherwise the morning part was very fun.

Dinner was good. The surprise 2nd march-in with me singing went on well. Hubby was very surprised and touched. Thanks to our emcees, helpers and restaurant mgrs for working together on this one. Apart from the rain (which caused some delay), otherwise all went well. Quality of food was good. Hee...

Hoping to get some of the pics fr my friends first... then can post

Lost, the metallic pics look like works of art, very nice.

Mary, my HTB also has the same views as your HTB, I think it will drop slightly but not to 2003 prices, so it'll drop a little then reach an equilibrium.
The AMK DBSS has all the rules of a brand new HDB.

Hi Earthsea

I am now attending a Marriage Preparation Programme organised by Touch Community. They are taught by a Husband & Wife team in their own residential.

Do consider cos' I find their experiences more relevant. Somemore, the instructors very flexible. Though mine is group programme, they actually arrange extra individual sessions to meet us to discuss on our personality. I thought is quite good.

Course fee is S$200. 5 lessons. Mine is at Bishan. Once u register, they will match u to the nearest instructors in ur areas. Otherwise, email them to check the current courses available. They filled up quite fast.

I really recommend everyone to attend Marriage Preparation regardless from which organisations. You will definitely learn something out of it...

After 3 lessons, I seems to be more bonded with my HTB in term of thinkings and expectations. Recently I just learn how to have a good a fair fight. hehehe....

FH and I also think the market will drop. Hard to sustain at current prices. But HDB prices might not drop so much.

Meiling>good luck with your balloting too!

polarwhite,
hehehehe.....yah lor, shdnt b so KS, hehehe, nvm i take bus there lor, when they say 8.30 - 9.30 am means any time in between or d whole 1 hr?

melody,
dun worry....d inserts n cards r oso sitting in my rm now until i have sorted out d guest list :P

Hi Mary Poppins, I have not confirm with them for the time to start the makeup yet.

Yup,i did watch Jia You Xi Shi on Channel 8 earlier this year. Yes, the main reason why Teochews has to get married earlier mainly not to disturb their daily routine activities, that is why they carry out the wedding customs before daybreak. But this custom only applies to Teochews, other dialects does not really follow to this rule.

Xiaohui oso showed us the ampoules that she used, these are Made in Germany. I bought it over the Internet. But those I bought only printed the brand and the word "Germany" on the bottles. Xiaohui say should have "Made in Germany" then is considered to be of better quality. I am satisfied with the one that I had bought but have to see it after the photos are ready. If you are interested, I can email u the contact of the person. She is the local wholesaler for ampoules. I used cash-on-delivery mode. She is selling other ampoules as well.

I am going for my photos selection on 02-Aug. Maybe I can see you at Sophia then. Purposely postponed the selection day to weekends cos some brides said that if choose after work, there is a tendency to choose those that are not so nice as well. Haha.....

hi nec.. welcome back.. how's ur wedding?? update us..

welcome back s'rene!!! gald ur wedding went well.. u must have enjoyed urself.. congrats!! enjoy ur newly wed life and being a MRS now!!

meiling,

too kiasu liao lah.... hahaha.... ya, any time btw that 1hr.... but i think reach b4 9am better, think need to take Q number ?? actually i not sure... hahaha...

providencia n lsntyl,
thanks for d gd luck! hopefully when i gathered all ur well wishes den i'll have lotsa gd luck!

providencia,
given d situation, i doubt d property mkt will drop drastically, mayb by a little...well, to get a location dat we like is a price dat we have to pay....heheheh :P

lost,
heheheh....yah wat u showed us is wat my cousin has in his album...looks v nice, do show us ur pics soon ok?

mary poppins,
hehehe, if u wana stick to 40 poses den im sure dat all will b super super duper chio chio pics de....cos i was alrdy drooling over ur angela zhang's lookalike style alrdy
think u'll top up a few at least :P
i oso wana take anniversary album leh but my fh feels dat it's a waste of $ cos he prefers to use d $ to go for a holiday

florabliss,
yeah!!! thanks! hope dat i can get lotsa gd luck n i can b ur amk khaki, i better get a gd queue no. cos tis is d reason i forgo my chance at wis seng kang flats 1 yr ago :P

viva:
same sentiments. People will not keep invites, i prefer to spend the money elsewhere

prolly my side the xi bing will be cake voucher. It's up to you, no right or wrong. Of coz, get your parents' advice, some prefer to have those traditional type of bing.

viva> my hotel provide helper's room overnite. just that my HTB ask to let his parents use. he has indicated to his parents and they will be staying overnite.. too late to ask my girls now.. maybe they use during the day if neccessary, then overnite his parents use.

vivaciousViv : I want those traditional butter cakes (10 in a box ) nowsday quite trendy leh but problem is I must distribute it within a day else will spoilt ,

SO is not advise to give card on 7th month ?? I thking of giving my frenz and colleague is it too early as my AD is : 28/9/2008 or should i give it on the either end of aug or 1st week of sept . I will start calling in early Aug

waa u all make yr angbao box already me still lazying around . heehee .

oh, I've a seahorse contour pillow. Not bad. Quite comfy and supportive.

Ivy>FMIL has distributed most of the invites for her side and FH and I have distributed most of our invites to friends and colleagues.

Viv>My GDL cakes are fully taken care of by FMIL so I've no idea what she is getting.

Cyc, you serious about joinning?? hahahaha min pax is 15 to go ...(plus 4 of us also only 6pax) you can check out Chanbrothers package http://www.chanbrothers.com/index.cfm?id=ebro_tour&tour_code=EU10G&p=comprehensive.gif&t=most\ch
me wanna book for 20/10/2008 fly by Singapore Airlines $3,199 + $428 tax... there will be $100/pax off for early bird if u book now (before NATAS ba) then if u pay by citi bank got another $50 off total bill. So is 3.5K

But I think you can't coz your wedding is 23Oct right?

melody: ya got think of other option.. F&E is good but then much more ex.. just tax alone... got such a big difference.. group package is 428 for greece at the period we go.. if F&E got quoted $600-800/pax ~~~ almost faint when I heard that.... then also did check the Insight vacation and Trifagar... they are good but ex also.. plus the air ticket.. can end up 4K-5K for the same thing... That will be our back up choice ba... will still keep seeing the F&E one.. wait the tour really not ONZ... then waste leave and feel disappointed... so better be prepare for the worst 1st :P

If you are having your ceremony at ROM, it's better to go early and register. You need to wait for your turn after you register on that day.

vivaciousViv (crayonv), you dun have to bother the jie meis abt the $8888...normally jie mei normally happy to see a few $50 notes in the crash gate angbao...

dor, let us know ur bf dad condition if the diagonsis is cancerous...sigh...look like wedding planning is quite tough for you too...

hi annabelle,

meiling n mine are solemnisation outside ROM.... we need to go down to get the cert n make some declaration.... so do u know will it be a long Q ??

polarwhite,
den we'll go n camp there early ba....since so ma fan, anyway we'll take leave on dat day n try to do some last min wedding stuff b4 d AD :P

Won't be THAT too long a Q.. they got time slot for couples
They got few counter also at least 3 I see last year my time
Will have to wait but won't be that long... 30min should finish everything (waiting + declare) Will be good for you to bring a folder there together with all your doc and also for you to bring back the cert and stuff so it won't be too messy :P

praisey,
v nicely done! wah, u look so beautiful....ur wedding is full of interesting ideas....military in d morning n star wars at nite....wah wah, ur birefcase is full of cash....bet ur JMs will b a happy lot
den ur hubby is so game to wear a costume so unusual....
ur pics behind r so interesting, did u do on d same day? i wana do sth like dat too but den i dun care to kiss in front of so many ppl leh *shy shy*

er... I can't really rem everything... the main one is you the letter signed by your JP, couple IC...forget if the witness IC's copy needed or not.. better check back the ROM website for what to print the knowledgement page should have write all that you need to bring

but still looks v impressive! will suggest the idea to FH. :P ya, I like the star wars. pity u didn't dress as the princess. (forgot her name. :p)

viv>agree with fortunemew. If they are really your friends, they won't expect to make much lah. I normally give back the amount I get from them in the morning in the angbao I give them at the dinner anyway. Think they are just joking around. the last time I was jiemei, we also joke that the groom must give min $999 each but we were not serious at all.

meiling,
i am taking leave on 15th Oct for the declaration cos no point to go back to work liao since i will be on leave from 16th Oct all the way till 22th Oct... hahaha.... ya, the acknowledgement got say wat to bring etc.... dun worry, we will read together n remind each other wat to bring.... hahaha....

Hi SotongLet and Pin, you should enjoy your marriage prep courses- so thorough! I would love to have so many sessions but as my HTB is based overseas, he's only flying in for 2 wks and we don't have the time for so many sessions. That's why compromise and look for a short one

Sanza> thanks again. yup, the bridal/ROM gown is chosen by my fiancee herself. I just gave my comments whether it looks nice anot. =P

yah, having a chinese banquet instead coz of the presence of the elders around. else i might opt for the buffet at the white fence area, more suited for the youngsters!

Viv,
Dun worry about the Angbao lah. My jiemeis also kept telling me they wanna squeeze my bf dry. haha... I dun really care man. When the "Shi Chen" (auspicious hour) is up, they hv to open the door one lor. Just give them an amt u r comfy w and also to show appreciation for them lah.

You are right. The most important thing abt the invite cards are the information written in it. Nobody really cares abt the design lor. As long as not too "orbiang" can liao.

My mum know of a place in Jurong west tt sells those old time rectangular cake w colourful cream on top. So she'll be getting those. But I dunno where exactly is the place leh.

msbean,
your AD is 280908. You can actually do your rsvp first and distribute the cards in sept. if you wanna avoid the 7th month.

For me... I might heck care, still give cards in 7 mth to my friends. C how lor...

Ask u huh...

What ink to use to write the names on the wedding card inserts? I mean the cards for friends. Don't hv to be v formal right. eg. "Mary and John" dun hv to put "Mr and Mrs Tan Ah Seng" like tt right.

Those cards for the elder folks will be written by the pple fr the clan association, so tt one I dun hv to care.

Meiling,
so the AMK DBSS is not EC? I always thought that DBSS are EC...so they are not built yet? Good luck!! Think this time round, should have better luck!!

Praisey,
congrats!! Joho did a great job!! out of curiosity, why did you guys go to little india area for some shots?
I noticed quite a few kssing shots- they're cool!!
i like the case which looked like its full of cash!

Lsntyl, the princess is called Leia i think.

Jac>princess Leia is Darth Vader's daughter wor. I thinking of the one played by Natalie Portman. Amidala? Darth Vader's wife lah. :p

DBSS is not EC. HDB hasn't been building EC in a while. Its subject to the 8K limit but the asking price is so high...

Praisey>The little India shot is interesting wor.
Whose idea?

Ya, both hotels are v nice. Didn't know Taiwan love hotels so high-class de. But a bit difficult to book cos no email... Trying to see if can fit it into my schedule. Maybe we explore Chingjing then go back to Taizhong for the nite...

thanks mrs chiew!

polarwhite,
thanks! i'll b taking leave frm 15 oct....die liao, i'll b away for nearly d whole week until 20th....ok, i'll look at d acknowledgement slip n see wat to bring....have to go home n prepare d documents 1st

jac,
thanks for ur well wishes! it's v hard to say cos there's only a limited # of 4-rm units, dun intend to buy 5-rm units cos i dun wana b heavily in debt for d rest of my life :P

my mom says i need to give some $ (angbao) to PIL to buy clothes for the wedding.. how come ah? not hubby give to his parents meh?

also, whats that thing about the dragon & pehonix candles? we're supposed to light it & let it keep burning till it extiguishes by itself is it? does this mean we need to light the candles vy early like 9am? or can we light at 11am?

see the problm is my PIL WANT to hv the tea ceremony & buffet at my love nest (the family quarreled over it! none of my biz.. who ask them so troublesome!) well, ( i hate this but) their suggested agenda is .. I reach PIL house at 930am, light the candles & bai shen. Then 10am ,i leave for my photo takings. At 11am, I head back to my love nest for tea cremony (lunch buffet ready there), after that i change to kua at my love nest. Then i go back my mom's place at 12 noon for tea cremony (and their lunch buffet).

Issue is their relatives will not be there when i reach my PIL place at 930am as they are not coming so early. They're only gather at my love nest at 11am for the tea cremony. So problem is when I reach PIL house, it will only be a handful of people there only (immediate family). Is it true no need relatives to be there, just family members will do - when I first step into PIL house? I feel its strange.. like not enough people to welcome the bride.. any ideas?