(2008) Brides of year 2008

Eunice>> Yah, being a teacher means you'll never get to experience springs and autumns and you pay a bomb to travel with screaming kids.. You're going to be a teacher? Are you in NIE now?

I think it snows in some parts of Aussie.. The ski regions lor.. haha.. If not New Zealand should snow high up in the alps too.. I got to see a bit of snow when I was in NZ in May some years back..

Earthsea>> I heard rail pass is really ex.. and that it's cheaper to go by domestic flights.. is that true..?

YL... got it... arigatou!

ah net> you are right... those who dun wear are the not so religious ones.. coz by right, if they are religious.. they would wear liaoz...

its not coincidence.. it tells..

you mean totally sold out liaoz meh? at Aussino?

YL> really?? issit nice?? haha... okie.. shall check it out sometime..

wow.. this thread is moving fast with so many updates and discussion from PS to photobook to honeymoon and now making babies!

Guess i have to start thinking of where i want to have my PS and planning my honeymoon.

leely: you are very efficient. So fast got your 4 dian jin already. My MIL was telling me she bring me along to choose mine in sept, buy earlier better. Still need to wait for 3 more months

hana (himawari): we got the same coordinator! i selected my AD gowns, but dont really like the EG, have told jeannie also. Will be choosing my gowns for PS next sun. Hopefully i will be able to find something that looks slim on me. And if there is time then i can select my AD EG.

XavJess> Buy earlier also no use actually.. Coz they'll only give me during guo4 da4 li3 two weeks before AD.. So now it's just sitting in MIL's cupboard.. We buy earlier coz dunno what will happen to gold prices few months down the road.. The way things are going nowadays, more likely to head up than head down..

leely: By at least 1 thing down. Then now have to worry the price of the gold go up and i dont even know the budget of my MIL so don know what i can choose also.

Now i am getting abit worry. Looking at so many things your have done and i havent do

rach>Threadcount is 260 I think but still feels comfy and we like the colour. There weren't many stock left on Sun though so if interested, should go down soon.

Straylamb>you're welcome. If you do book with her, tell me, k? So I can ask her if I can get any perks for introducing friends. :p

thias, me got winter clothing, but my hubby dun haf.. or maybe he dun need cos he got many layer of fats for protection..lolz... me so evil... oh u wan hotwater, no problem.. take from me if my room is not too far from yours.. lolz... i got bring a few cup noodles too.. haha.. Kiasu rite.. cos i at nite easily hungry one.. hee..

apple, my master only ask me to avoid 7 to 9am leh.. anyway me teochew so have to chu jia early also.. will leave home b4 7am.. then go photoshoot and reach his house after 9am...

at first i wan to have it after 9.. but seem very rush.. cos my hubby stay in sengkang and i'm in jurong

Hi florabliss, which blk did u get? can c Spore flyer & firework!!! So great!!! I'm staying at blk596D, AMK st 52, also near mrt. Thinking to get somewhere nearby as well since AMK is so convenient.

mary poppins,
i oso gotten a yukata but in blue, my fh got me as a bday present last yr....i havent got d chance to wear it n i got another hanbok....hehehe, i got enuff international costumes but my fh doesnt have so it's a waste :P

XavJess>> No worries lah.. I'm settling things early coz we're going overseas later this month, then my hubby is going to reservist in Aug/Sept and Nov.. and we quite 'pan-tang', don't want to do anything during the hungry ghost month (July/Aug)... So that doesn't leave us much time to do any preparations later on.. So other than things associated with banquet (since the hotel does't want to entertain us until 2 months before our wedding), all other stuff we settle now lor.. hehe..

Europe experts out there, I have a question.. if I want to go to Spain (Barcelona), France (Paris) and Italy (Venice, Pisa, Rome), which city should I fly in to from Singapore..? And should I be planning to make a loop so that i fly in and out of the same place..?

Hi Earthsea,

Your champange mermaid gown sounds lovely. I'm also looking to MTM a mermaid EG. Initially, thought the design is too body hugging. But when I tried it on, I feel the design looks good on me. The design which I tried on is a heart shape, velvet black EG. I love it to bits but was considering to MTM a different color. Could you share your design with me for reference. Please email to me at [email protected].

morning mei nu men..

gg for trial makeup later.. so excited!

weiwei, congrats on ur getting a gown from Allure. yes, agree the gowns are nice. went to see once..

btw ladies, i rem some time back there was discussion on Nubra, but i lost track when.. can anyone just tell me where i can get Nubra besides online? tks!!

leely : not really expert, but looking at the map, I will try rome, pisa, venice, paris and barcelona. If you will be flying, do look at whether the airline will fly to the next city though. My guess is you shouldn't have such problems since the cities you have picked are quite popular.

SG > Rome (Fly in) -- 1 day
Rome -- 3/4 days
Rome > Pisa (Train+Bus)
Pisa -- 3 days (including Florence)
Pisa > Venice (Train/Fly)
Venice -- 3 days
Venice > Paris (Fly) checked before, train tickets super exp when I wanted to do this last time
Paris -- 4/5 days
Paris > Barcelona (Fly)
Barcelona -- 3 days
Barcelona > SG (Fly out) -- 1 day
Total about 18/20 days, so your 3 weeks still have some spare ;)

Hi ladies, have uploaded 2 lousy photos of my proposal ring onto multiply. ;)

Hi leely, Erlina's plan sounds good. Railpass was not ex for me back then as I was under 26 (sigh). Not sure how much it costs these days- but one thing to consider is convenience. For most of these historic cities, the train stations are in the heart of the city, which makes it convenient.

Ryanair and other budget airlines are cheap, but fly to generally out of the way airports. So, I guess, you need to do your research to see what's the best combi
for all.

Keer, wow, a dark velvet mermaid EG sounds sexy! You can see my gown on multiply (soratian). Join us lah, a lot of us are there already.

been terribly busy.
Haven't done anything for the wedding! This is bad.

Shall we hold the 3rd meetup (dinner) on 27 June? Do suggest some places for dinner. I am fine with most places.

cyc: wah rember take pics of yr makeup..wah another pretty bride! huh u wana buy online? I will prefer to buy from shops, at least u can try them on & knw whether comfortable a-nt.

Koyoyo: U have a mail!! Check it out..

Mei: Counting dwn to 10 days liao..wow we have alot of common date: birth, year & even PS date..too bad AD nt the same hehe

Hey gals, any1 else wana the list of GDL cakes? PM me..

leely : Earthsea is right. Budget airlines will be at airports which are out of the way. Generally, you need to cater for 1 hr to travel to those airports. So including checking in 2 hours before, need to take the bus 3 hours before flight time.

Oh yes, do note that the luggage limit for budget airlines is 15KG only. Need to plan well. If going to shop more in a city, best to plan it to be last stop.

Hi qunqun... yah. we face same situation. getting restless. It's june!!! faint! ha!

Maybe one reason for this is I stopped preparing for AD for the past 2-3 weeks cos my HTB was bz furnishing his house 2 prepare our new room. He's bz n I'm not. So feeling abit weird. Ha!

But it's ok lah. This saturday we planned to go through the songs n "order" jewellery. This sunday we'll b having video shoot to re-enact our love story... Most invited guests have replied my sms invitation. so things are moving on... sometimes jus think too much. ha!

Looking at our schedule now, yah rite, every weekend will be packed from now onwards.

Being anxious, I called the bridal shop yesterday to check if we can get the photos earlier. But unsuccessful. ha! can only get the softcopies in 2 weeks. Abit disappointed. Ha!

Hi R&J... your ang bow box very nice.

Oh, since most of you are getting the bubble guns, y not share the items together? Can save cost (even though it's quite cheap). Don't think u will use it often after wedding rite? Just a thought only. But don't think can share the pig. ha!

Jac, the thread is not as active as this thread.. =) coz most of them have been through that phase and that thread din really talk about it anymore. bt ok lah, some of them will really contribute (especially Wu, he has been a great help) and they really make you dream n drool of that plc.

Leely, what a nice night scene...

leely,
do you really want to go to so many places in a short time?

my friend and i had to go to poland to attend a friend's wedding.
so we decided to take 2 weeks leave (include the wedding)
for those 2 weeks, i toured around poland.
one country with my FH.

she and her FH went around europe,, prague, Amsterdam,etc.
and she felt poland was so boring ...
cos she only went to the city where the wedding was held (warsaw) which is pretty boring. :P

of course she saw much more of europe.
like 1-2 days in each capital, with half day travel between each capital.
but i experienced much more...hiking, canoeing, wooden cabins in pine tree forest, drinking beer in the afternoon watching horse carriages, salt spa....within one country...many things to explore off the beaten track so to speak.
(of course i'm more naturey sort, she's more city sort)

guess what you want to do in europe is the main thing...if you want to see the main highlights of each country, then hopping around is a great way to see them all.

if you would like to soak up the atmosphere...maybe can consider spending more time at each place and hopping to fewer places.
(my friend did say she felt pretty rushed sometimes, cos there was limited time per city and they had to see x, y, z, before leaving)

Luvz,
you are right! Wu has been helpful....checked out the places he suggested ...all fully booked...seems like its gonna be Bali for me. Maldives is such a lovely place.....

thanks flora and lsntyl for the advice on flats.
cos FH is a PR and doesnt have his own place,
nowadays rental is like xiao, so we were wondering if instead of paying rental, we pay a loan and end up owning the place, if tat will make sense.

dont think we'd do renov that kinda thing. not gonna settle down in the flat if we do get one.
and for sure will sublet it out.

nelle,
you're back!!!
we can always count on you to organise our gatherings. ;)

nelle,
finally u r back!!! tot u MIA le, im cool wif 27th jun
location wise, any preference? do we wana stick to city hall/suntec? i think most brides here juz survive on air....i cannot tahan, i need solid food :P

cheryl,
yah lor, we have so much in common...for me it's 7 days n 10 days to go for my PS...so nervous, duno wat to bring for my PS...took 1/2 day to go facial n will b colouring my hair on fri n doing my mani n pedi on nxt wed, wat abt u?

hi piyo: thanks for your comments. so nice to re-enact ur love story.. nowadays alot people doing the same.. remember to show us when your wedding is over.. i'm fine with sharing the bubble guns.. but the last person using will not have enough bubbles leh.. so we need to get the refil too right??

k, 5 June is tomorrow and still not as many interested brides as 16 June. Shall we meet up on 16 June instead? Current list is:

16 June (Mon) - LSnTYL, rach , strawclare, neko , straylamb, spoiltbabe, waxie

I suggest Ms Clarity at Purvis Street cos its near to both Bugis MRT and City Hall MRT and is relatively cheap. Got salads for those who want to diet and more substantial food for the rest of us. :p But if anyone has other suggestions, please share.

qianqian > haha same here.. my hubby oso belong to the round type..he sed he dun nid winter clothes.. it's me who nids it..oh yeah shld bring cup noodles too..i'll write in my list of things to bring

btw, where's ur new house at ?

Wow,, the thread is really getting more n more interesting.
Sorry, have been missing for quite some while as I am on business trip...

Enuice> I am going to be a teacher soon too...

And I also finally got my shoes for both day and night. Will try to upload the pics when I'm back home... ;)
Will also be going to try my MTM EG on 29th Jun... So excited.. Can't wait to see the gown.. hehe...

To all BTBs>
I am thinking of buying some crystals to decorate my heels for the night. Feel that the black lace might look abit dull.. Wondering if u all got any place to reckon me to buy? And I also wanna buy some material for my ang pow box... Let me know if u have any suggestions ya! Thanks in advance!

Regarding honeymoon, anyone of you are planning to go Taiwan? My HTB is very keen in going there... We are planning to go Taipei, Hua Lian and Ahlishan( not sure if its spelt this way, ha!)
Is the place suitable for honeymoon? haha,, I only been to Kaohsiung and Kenting for my BZ trip.. hehe...

Hi rachel,

There is one shop at people's park centre selling all the crystals stuff. I think it's @ level 2, cant remember the unit no. The shop name is golden dragon.

I been to hua lian abt 10 yrs ago. Er.. Nothing much, just went up to have dinner and watch culture dance performance then go back to taipei le. The journey up the hill is terrible. If you have car sickness, better prepared yr medication.

I think everywhere is suitable for honeymoon. Just the 2 of them enjoying the trip.

I'm going to korea for honeymoon but my MIL want to go along. She kept saying that she have not seen any snow b4. If dont go now, dunno next time can go a not. Worrying abt she cant walk later.

Do you think i should let her go?

Hi Rachel,

I know u can find lot of materials at wholesale prices from Arab Street near Bugis. Do check this website out - http://www.shck.com.sg/.
Otherwise, can try Spotlight.

I am also looking for crystals to decor the heels of my shoes. Am thinking of making my own ring pillow hence need to get some laces and ribbons too.

Hi Rachel, yah heard a lot of ppl recommend Arab St for beads and crystals. My friends say Taiwan is fun- and now they have a lot of gorgeous hot spring spas.
Check this out: http://www.smarttravelasia.com/taipei.htm

I must say the wulai spa looks gorgeous for a honeymoon.

Ling Ling, I think it will spoil atmosphere if your MIL comes along, but understand the need to be filial. Why don't you take her to Korea as a family trip but go on a separate honeymoon somewhere else?

Thanks! Yeah, will go check out both Golden dragon and Arab Steet... ;)

Earthsea>
Thanks for the taiwan webby.. will go check it out too...

I think I should go start up a Multiply website so that i can share pics with u gers... ;)

pinjie> making your own ring pillow.. Wow... your arts and crafts must be very good... I used the ring pillow (free gift from Citigems) during my ROM.. I am only planning to make my own ang pow box.. hehe...

Ling Ling> I agree with Earthsea that you can make the trip to Korea as a family trip and plan for another honeymoon trip. Kinda wierd if the MIL tag along, how are u going to arrange the hotel? You can't possibly ask her to sleep alone, right?

I was in taipei for a short trip last month. Very fun for bf and me though! We did very very little shopping and we only contribute to their tu chan (metal eggs, sun biscuits, tea plums, etc) industry.

Earthsea, wulai itself is really lovely and beautiful. The spa ranges from 2 hrs to ah whole nite. We went to a middle low range one and it has a big poster bed with curtains and pipe in soothing music.

Please note that if u doing F&E, remember to bring oilment to massage your legs. Though FH and I are physically fit, we came back with tired feet and limbs everyday.

Ling ling, better to have a proper honeymoon without ur MIL. Just tell her Korea more for ski-ing and winter sports. If wanna see snow go Japan more beautiful and less tiring.

YL> I'm fine with 16th June.

Fine with venue too...

The thread is soooo qquiet nowadays.. haha... coz i never post much liao also....

Just waiting for PS to edit my PS photos to use for printing invites...

Next will be to print invite and write invites before GDL on 26th July...

The rest still taking PS???

great. ya, think brides taking a rest before chionging nearer the date.

ask you arh, normal gold pens can use on the invite or do I need to use a gold marker? Cos you use same glossy paper as me.

pin,
that site super useful.
thanks man.

i'll be making my AP box....and prob modifying my invites somewhat, so this site is just what i need.

as for ring pillow...i dont think i've a little boy to carry it...so i'll just keep the rings in a plastic bag or something. :P

Jac,
The idea of new bed is good but i think can twist a bit from the traddition. I am having the same prob so most prob will only get a new bedsheet at most mattress for AD .. Get new bed when i have my own love nest. Hello everyone,,, mia too long now busy reading all the post!!
Nec,
Agree with Meiling. U are sexy lor who so blind dare to call u auntie???

koyoyo,
i'm getting warm to the idea of jus getting new bedsheets the more i think abt it...like that, can splurge on bedsheets first

27th june - friday? shld be able to make it....wonder what the weather will be like then...if its rainy days during that time, would love to go for steamboat

wahahaha.... I am so happy & grateful to know that I am missed...hahahahah :p

hmm.. let me see. Orchard/Suntec got what food is good? Do anyone know the Fish & Co near Parkmall still around? Actually, even Delifrance is good enough for me....

nelle,
i dun mind orchard for a change....hehehe, if at plaza sing, lagi better for me but orchard is fine too....i think park mall's fish & co still ard lor....delifrance???? u gals really can survive on salad n roti n make me feel guilty abt eating proper food :P