(2008) Brides of year 2008

leely : EUR in June is great! So nice.. How long you intend to be there? Sounds like it is going to be a tiring trip with all the places that you will like to see... ;) We also planning to have our actual honeymoon next yr at Santorini, Greece instead cos of EUR weather in dec. So will just take a short trip nearby in Dec. ;)

florabliss, earthsea : Have invited you in multiply ;)

To everyone : HTB has finally proposed on sat after couple of mths of wedding preparations.. well, at least he did.. ;) absolutely love my engagement ring..

sue,
thanks! kinda worried bcos of d unpredictable weather nowadays :P im so nervous abt my PS...help!!!

weiwei,
congrats on settling on ur WG....can set ur heart at ease

Hey ladies,

my ad also on the 15 Jun.

Qianqian,

Mine is to avoid 8-9am. My an chuan is on the 13 June. GDL is done.

Hi Weiwei,

Congrats. I like Allure gowns too. Their design is nice and slightly different from the popular Daniel Yam gowns. Not so commercialize.

Hi R&J & BBIguana... ever tried looking around those wholesale shops around Middle Road and Tekka Mall? They might have... I'll try to keep a lookout when I'm in JB.

kyoyo: not my designer lah..cyc's designer who say those mean comments.

Wei: geat bought yr gown liao..

Mei: mine PS is in 11 days, counting dwn also. Yap just hope weather is good.

Mrs Chiew: Does FH got makeup prior PS? Just curious..

Hi S'rene
thnks..

Hi qunqun,
What I did was that I confirm the attendance of my guest 1st.. then i send the invitation card to them.. so will not waste the card..keke..

Leely, thanks! I might take you up on your offer. Neither of us can speak Japanese at all, so it's more of a look-look-see-see thing. But we want to stay at ryokans.

Honeymoon discussion is so much fun
I've been to some of them while studying in UK, so just to share my thoughts:
Paris is a city for lovers, so it's super-romantic for the atmosphere, esp the Eiffel Tower. People have mixed feelings tho depending on experiences with the French- mine have always been really positive.
Venice is very picturesque, and so is Rome- try going to both together. One is romantic while the other one is fun. A lot of gorgeous men... ;)
Santorini rocks. It's packed with tourists (being a small place) but the black and red sand beaches are unique. It's also easy to go around the islands by boat for day trips.

There's also another great place for a honeymoon, esp if you like Gaudi- Barcelona! One of the favourite cities I've been to. Also very romantic and beautiful.

Wow Erlina, put up a pic of your engagement ring in multiply- we want to see :D

erlina, congratz!

leely, europe in June may be alittle warm at the western side or pretty crowded. School usually ends about late May, and you will have an influx of student travellers from June to Aug and back to schoolers from Sept to Oct period. If you can go during late april to early May, that would be good. It will be mid to late springish around that region and there will be less people too.

Oh yeah, rome and paris are filled with child robbers, so need to keep all impt docs and money hidden in the clothes too. (Sorry to pour cold water...)

qianqian > mine is wedding lunch so can still rest a while n fly off the next day nite..
I intend to get a LV bag over there.. as a momento lor..all the way there, buy 1 to keep

the optional tour, which one u intend to go? ve to change more CHF if u gg for the Interlaken -Junfraujoch which costs CHF179 per pax..tink tis one must go cannot miss..

Erlina> Congrats~! Share some pics with us on multiply yah..

Earthsea> A stay at a nice ryokan with private open-air onsens (hot spring baths) in your room is a MUST for honeymoon~~! Something like Hotel Konanso.. With superb views of Mount Fuji.. Looks really romantic..
.. But I think stay one/two night enough lah.. coz it's super expensive.. haha.. Anyway the website (japanguesthouses.com) has a list of nice ryokans throughout Japan, will be useful if you're looking for ryokans.

jac,
im lagi worse...i dun even wana splurge on a new bedsheet for my super single bed cos wont have any use for it when i move out...gona save d best for my future home...anyway im not v particular abt such things currently :P

florabliss,
will wait patiently for ur sketch, frm d way u described it, it's so breath-taking, wif so much effort put into ur EG in d design n selection of colours, im sure it'll turn out gorgeous which u wont even need to worry abt it :P

lsntyl,
dun worry, im sure ur EG will turn out nice too, i oso pick my colours frm d swatches, it's slightly different frm wat i had imagined but still passable :P

I think some of my friends don't really like my shoes. Hee. But I bought them anyway. Hope I won't get blisters!!

Eunice, nope I don't have shoes for evening gown yet. I have no idea what my evening gown will look like. Will sort that out when I get back to Spore. Yah, agree with Jac abt relaxing honeymoon. After all the preparation etc, just want to go somewhere to rest and bum. I think if we go Europe, we might quarrel about directions, where to go and if I spend too much time shopping!!

Jac, I have not decided yet. The contact person at mal-dives.com said the prices for resorts in Jan will only be out in July-Aug. (Maybe the resorts are not really fully booked but some rooms are allocated to such websites/travel agents etc? That's what I hope.) Anyway, I think Bulgari hotel in Bali is beautiful!!! If I go Bali, think I will choose that. Check out the website:
http://www.bulgarihotels.com/home.html?param_id_lingua=1 - click on bali at the bottom. I didn't really check out the other hotels! (But I think Ritz or Conrad (can't remember which) & Four Seasons etc should be nice too

Thanks Pin&Jie for the website. Will check it out! Am considering Mauritius as well.

Leely, lots of lovely places to go in Europe in June!! Other than those already, you should definitely check out the French Rivieria/Cote d'Azur area in the South of France too. But if you want to shop shop shop - Italy will be great!

My HTB is supposed to plan the honeymoon but he's busy and I'm not sure I can trust him to plan. Haha. We would have loved to go Greece but don't think Jan is a good time to go. It's too cold in Jan for Europe, US or Japan I think!

Erlina, congrats!!! What did he do?? How did you guys start planning wedding before proposal?

Btw, any of you planning to dance (waltz etc) at your wedding?

SotongLet> My hubby is a teacher, so impossible to go late April - early May.. :P.. And yup, I heard about the pickpocket culture in many Europe cities from my friends (some of whom have been victims themselves).. Which is why I haven't visited Europe all these years, coz I'm not a very alert person, sure fall victim.. But nemmind lah, ask my hubby to take care of the valuables.. hehe...

hi everyone, i am back after missing from more than 1 week. my mum was diagonsed with 2nd stage of ovarian cancer n went a major operation for 10 hrs till 1am. thank god that the doctors did their best even it is a very difficult operation as the tumor stick on the intestines n have to cut off 8 inches n connect back. for the 1 week plus, things are very tough n it is a emotional turmoil for me.

She juz check out from hospital yesterday. well, she has to go chemo of course for few months....so i suggest...for your parents...if they keep complain stomach bloating or some symptons that last quite long or not right...better bring see doctor or specialist n make sure they got a good hospital coverage or insurance coverage.
i say that cos the bill for my mum is more than $15k up to-date after deduct mediashield...not sure of the final bill amount too....her bill is larger due to operation n stay in hospital for more than 1 week (including few days of ICU ward too). and she only want to stay in B1 ward so we let her stay..

===========

i think i will get a very good makeup artist for her on my wedding day.... and of course she keep telling all the doctors (total 7 doctors operate on her) that she may not want to attend my wedding as scare she wouldn't look good... anyway, let see how things goes. i will get a good make up artist for her as i heard chemo will make hair drop....hopefully it wouldn't on her.

i manage to get a quite good english speaking maid n she is coming in by next week to take care of my mum.

so now, i dun have much mood for my wedding now.....actually......hopefully the wedding mood will pick up again soon..

also don't know my wedding day that day, maybe i will end up looking like a stress bride.. haha..

==========

we manage to go down to my bridal shop a while, n do my hubby-to-be man suit.....finally realise why my friend say silhouette MTM mansuits are really good.....when he try one of them with the "scarf" thingy....i dun know what it is call...but it is not a tie,i was like "wow"...

==========

Kailing, yes i think i saw u and ur wife at eClarity. u are the guy who wear spectacles right? quite fair looking?

for those who asked, iDear collection is at Far East Plaza, #04-32. Pls see the map directory at level 1 first before you go up n hunt for the shop.

==========

i haven't convert my room into bridal room.....it is only to be another "big project".....and so many things in mind cos have to take care of my mum's health n quite a no of hospital visits to acc my mum too..

SCL> I know what you mean by quarreling about directions.. My hubby (bf at that time) and I quarreled like siao when we went self-drive in New Zealand.. haha..

I'm more of a sightseeing person than a shopping person.. So my hubby need not worry about me spending too much.. But he'll feel like a PG rather than a hubby coz I'll keep asking him to take photos for me.. haha..

Japan's winter is not as cold compared to US / Europe, unless you're talking about Hokkaido.. Tokyo/Kyoto/Osaka not very cold I feel.. I think New Zealand's summer is even colder than Tokyo's winter.. haha.. But if you're really scared of cold, go to Australia.. it's summer there!

rachel, you know when the fasting month for malay ends? my banquet dinner on 29th sept. i got a few close malay friends..

ah net, congrats that you look beautiful in ur PS shoot.
alamak my PS is next month...i better start to put on masks,etc so that i will look good for my 7th july PS. hopefully the photo shoot wouldn't shoot me as a tired n stress looking bride....

hi s'rene: thanks!! where is the wholesale shops u mentioned?? don't understand the direction? any specific building name?? me road idiot.. i only recognise buildings..

i also did the same for my guests.. i confirm their attendance 1st before sending the invites out.. don't want to waste the card and my effort..

Leely, I like Australia but not for honeymoon! Hee. I'm actually in Sydney right now for abt 2 months and my HTH was here for about 10 years. So Aussie is out!! I went to Hokkaido last Dec! Love it!

And don't worry too much, I've been to Europe a couple of times but have never been mugged, though I have heard horror stories. Just be careful and don't wear all your gold pieces.

fortunemew>hugs. Hope your mom recovers soon. It must be a difficult time. Think of your wedding as chong xi? A good distraction for her from her pains?

If you want, I can pass you details of my MUA. I saw the makeup she did for moms. Quite nice. But she's not cheap. I think she charges around $100 for mom's makeup. PM me if you want details.

Oh, the fasting month ends on the last day of Sept. Because Hari Raya is on 1 Oct. :p

Meiling,
finally found something which you don't splurge on.....for me, comfort is of utmost importance, so i'll splurge on these things.

Hmmm, will prob buy new pillows to go along with the new bedsheets....so exciting!!! can't wait for this weekend to pass.....
Cos i'll be going to KL...so will window shop this weekend and then shop again in KL to compare prices....but then if things in KL are good, will be diff to lug the bedsheets back....

Nec,
sianz, i;m not ocbc or robinson's card member...
so robinsons is the place to go right??

Lsntyl,
so the Aussino bedsheets you've got, they're from John little? Other Aussino outlets not having the sale?

Meiling>then where you and your FH going to stay after marriage? Hee, I think the EG should be ok lah. Just curious what it'll look like.

floraliss>no leh. I din get that kind of treatment from my BS. You are lucky! Choose fabric already so professional, the final product is bound to be good.

fortunemew,

Hope your mum can recover soon. God will bless her. Cheer up for your PS. I think your mum dont want you to worry for her and want you to be a beautiful bride

Jac>nope, Aussino bedsheets were bought at Aussino outlets. They're still having their sale. You can see the outlets at http://www.aussino.com/ss2008/SG/main.html. We went to the plaza sing outlet as that is bigger. The centerpoint outlet is really small.

The bedsheets we bought at John Little is also from the Plaza Sing outlet. They are having a moving out sale so some bedsheets were really cheap. Not much selection left when we saw them last Sat though. Not sure if other John Little outlets have the same promo.

Have fun in KL!

Nec>your bedsheets sound nice too. Can imagine them actually. I never looked at so many bedsheets before last weeked. :p But my bedsheets have smaller threadcount than yours.

jac,
heheheh....i'll still splurge on these items after i got my new home cos i hate d hassle of moving all these things frm one place to another, alrdy have lotsa barang barang to move alrdy :P do have fun shopping in KL :P

lsntyl,
i'll stay in my old rm until i gotten my own place...so really no space for new things to b added in
gd luck! hope dat ur EG will look fantastic :P

meiling, I put in a lot of effort in collecting pics of designs. It took me a few weeks/ months. But my designer just need 1.5hrs and voila the sketch is out. That really shows the difference between bridal designer and ignorant BTB.

LSnTYL, you mean you still dunno what fabric you using? I tink mine will be satine? Or is it chiffon? Organza? Or combi of all? Dunno leh, she explained and showed so many until I oso dunno which is which liao.

Meiling,
ya, i can imagine the load of hassle you'll have when you move...imagine all the shoes and shopping stuff you've got...

Lsntyl,
my EG design is similar to Flora's....got the deisgner to bring me the swatches of fabric then decide. Otherwise, diff to visualise.
Hmmm, will go shop till i drop from this weekend onwards

Flora,
i believe the main layer will be satin then the chiffon/organza will be the top layer. I also took a lot of time to do research on EG then when i showed to my designer, she did in 15mins?! Glad that our designers can understand what we want

Nec,
I also want high threadcount bedsheets........must be so good to roll on...hee hee

florabliss>I don't know the fabric I'm using at all. :p Just chose a few colours that FH and i like from the many swatches she showed us, then she went to check if the ones we like have stock. Last I heard, the midnite blue colour I like has no stock so she's checking for the maroon colour.

I wanted a greek goddess gown too but she felt that it won't look nice on me.

SCL> If Australia is out... How about New Zealand? It's summer too..! haha.. But I think NZ more for adventure lah.. not so much for honeymoon..

If I ever go Hokkaido, I'll go in February for the Snow festival..! But that will be without my hubby since he can't take leave in Feb.. hehe..

SCL, must gimme more advice on Europe neh.. We wanna go F&E, so need advice on how to travel between/within cities.. And yup, my gold pieces are definitely staying at home! So is my wedding ring.. Will not risk losing it..

Florabliss> How about Bali..?

Flora,
my honeymoon period is kinda lke yours....intend to come back on the 1st Jan....will go for longer honeymoons in the future - hee hee, whoever said there can only be one honeymoon right?? :P

SCL,
we are quite similar in our thoughts huh....so many similarities in our wedding....i'm thinking of doing a dance but will finalise only next week if we're doing it...are you doing it? I love to have a first dance like those hollywood movies type.
i think the Rtiz at Bali is full already cos i tried booking but it's not accepting anymore bookings

FS is expensive and somehow i'm less inclined to spend so much on FS in Bali...don't mind if its in Maldives

Most of you avoiding the cold? I would love to have a winter honeymoon....but we cannot afford the time....but i keep thinking cuddling up in front of the fire in a log cabin totally makes a honeymoon....*dreamy*

I actually considered Mauritius too but flight hours too long for my liking considering we have a short period of honeymoon...and SQ doesn't fly there.

Oh, Erlina, congrats on the proposal!!

Flora, seems like a short getawat is the best option for us...wat type of honeymoon do u want?
Know what, if we end up going to the same place, we might meet at the airport!

Leely, don't worry you have one year to plan your honeymoon! I went to Europe when I was in Uni so that's like quite a few years back. Haha. Gee, makes me feel old saying that. But there are definitely trains/budget airlines that you can take to travel between cities.

Jac, having more than 1 honeymoon soons good! Yah, quite a lot of similarities! Except that your reception is lunch! If all goes well, we should be doing a waltz. There are beginner classes starting on 8 June http://www.rpmerleon.com and 14 June http://www.johnjosephinedance.com.sg/danceClasses.html
Your appointment with Silhouette is on 24 June? Maybe I should fix an appointment that day too.

Good for making babies..? hahah..

Hmm.. Think my hubby and I are a bit different.. We're not so much into resorts / beaches, so we didn't even consider places like Bali / Maldives.. We love to move around and explore.. Explore new places, new cultures, new FOOD.. So I think Europe is good for us..

Flora, yeah it depends on what type of honeymoon you want! There are beach resorts in Thailand, Bali, Philippines. There's a new banyan tree resort in Sanya, Hainan Island too! A friend recommended this place: www.theracha.com

Alternatively, maybe vietnam? Tokyo?

lsntyl, well can try on some of the greek goddess gowns and check if you think it will look good on u or not. So what the designer designed for you? We can start imagining loh. ^^.

Jac, so you had decided on yr design liao ah? Got pic????

I am meeting my designer tomorrow. I dunno what am I going to be getting. I do wish I have a X figure for clothes. ^^"

scl,
very pretty n elegant shoes.
waltzing is certainly a very graceful dance, esp with a long flowy skirt... ;)

honeymoon....i would love to have one right after the wedding...then it'll be a white christmas... ;)
but no can do, have my bestie's wedding 7 days after mine.

sotong, the sarojin place looks dreamy....good a short pre-honeymoon honeymoon...lol.

thinking of visiting greece in july, any suggestions?

lsntyl,
the aussino sheets have print?
cos i keep thinking their sheets , at least for the maroon colors, are plain.
and i didnt want plain sheets...mmm...a bit picky when it comes to sheets.

jac,
wah, shop here and in KL!! shiok man...
good idea to compare prices, but the prob is carrying everything back!!
i think the nicest to roll in is those cotton satin sheets....really feel like satin...esp when the aircon is on, the sheets get chilly...
oooo!! saw this in robinsons, but they only had white....if you're not pantang (or parents), can get those...

ChEryL: you can request the BS to do make up for your hubby, very light kind.. but for my time.. did not touch the face... only touch the hair

nec, it is a super cool place for being pampered, but it does cost a bomb.

Scl, tokyo is crowded, unless u wanna go to the countryside areas around tokyo.

I hope the political climate in nepal and tibet will be cooling. I would love to go there for my honeymoon though.

I was in europe for my studies as well. It is also the place I learn to hate winter. >.<.
Eastern europe is really beautiful and the architecture is very different from the western europe(I also think that it is more beautiful than the western europe). But do take note that after seeing a few churches or castles, you will start thinking ABC (Another Bloody Castle/Cathedral). LOL.

ahnet:
ho ho ho... quite hard not to top up photos isnt it. Initially i told my fh to juz stick to our 32 poses but end up it was so hard to omit the photos coz we like so many of them :P But this is once a lifetime thingy, next time can show your children how pretty and suave their mum and dad were.. keke!

fortunemew:
oh dear.... this is the time you gotta be stronger. Take care ya. We'll pray for your mum too.

rachel:
i invited my muslim friends as they are my very very good friends. And they agreed to break fast juz for mi. So happy!!

ahnet:
i am selecting our wedding songs
Now listening to the oldies and also recalling the love songs tat is significant to us. I will be having a mixture of english and chinese songs to cater for both older and younger generations :P

hi cheryl,

for my fh, MUA got do his hair n do some foundation for him.... so that the skin tone look even.... maybe my fh face very uneven tone.... hahaha.....

Annie> do take care of urself and ur mum.. so she's resting at home now??

I dunno when it ends.. i guess see when is Hari Raya??
Okie.. just checked. Hari Raya is 1st Oct. so the month of Sept is out!

But if good frens..they should be coming..

>

Jac,
I saw you at Maldives thread.
i am gng ther for honeymoon, bt nt right after that coz it is super x in Jan. so we postpone and will go in may so that we can spend more days there..

sotong>I got some greek goddess inspired dresses from Mphosis. I find looks ok leh.

No need to imagine lah. My EG should look something like http://www.flirtprom.com/dress.aspx?style=P2213&amp;backUrl=%2fcollection.aspx%3fshowAll%3dtrue. I tried on a WG shaped like that at the BS and it looked good on me so decided on that as its good for hiding my tummy. Only need to really tone up my flabby arms. :p

Nec>yes, there are prints at aussino. Both the bedsheets we got are printed. You go http://www.aussino.com/ss2008/SG/beding.html look under printed. Both the bedsheets I got are from that range. FH and I paid a bit more to get the cotton sateen range as it felt better then the normal cotton range.