(2008) Brides of year 2008

gingerbread_gal

Sotonglet,
I haven't asked my designer to draw out the design we've decided properly...but on my multiply, under the fitting in Silhouette, there are some ideas of EG drawn....and my final WG sketch too....
My designer understands that I want flowy flowy feel, not too complicated design..
Are you meeting ur designer for EG design? Have you done your research??

Nec,
ya man!! those cotton satin ones are shiok!! hmmm, am thinking of jus buying what we like then use the more auspicious looking ones for wedding day....

ermmm

hi gals, my phone can't take photos in close-up, so will take a photo tonight (if I remember.. haha..)

anyhow, he brought me to a spa and proposed after the treatment lor.. ;)

SCL : Well, we are the usual SG couple who will get a place first and it kinda signify that we should get married. We kinda got pressured to decide on the wedding date cos of the CPF guidelines, although we knew that we will plan for sometime that period.

gingerbread_gal

SCL,
So have you signed up for dance classes?
Ya i think my appt is on 24th June....not very sure also cos Caroline is quite funny...towards the end, she'll say 'see u on the 20something june'...then I was like 'huh, which day of the 20something'... good thing my fiance caught the date each time.
How's your gowns coming along?

Sotong,
I actually told my fiance that honeymoon is all about the process of making babies but not the end result of the babies coming...ie S** :p

Luvz,
yep i went to both the maldives and bali thread but seems quiet at both threads.....
I see, i would want to go immediately after my wedding even if its jus for a few days.... then go for longer honeymoons after we've got out own place.

fumiko_neko

fortunemew, can understand hw u feel..
my granny and mum oso have been in out of hospital for the past few years..

btw...wat got fasting got to do wit us ah?
i ask my malay frens..they say fastin end at 730pm..so our dinner, they can eat wat..

leely

Erlina>> I went through the same stage as you.. Got a HDB flat, then pressured by HDB to ROM earlier coz the stupid HDB CSO refused to process our HDB application until we give him a print-out of our e-filing, which can only be done 3 months before our ROM date.. ARGH! I hate HDB procedures! So glad that is over and done!

Tokyo is not that crowded actually, I think Singapore is more crowded.. Just do not attempt to take their subway during peak hours.. unless you want to experience what it's like to be a sardine..

But Tokyo not very romantic ley.. It's an urban city, like Singapore lor.. but with much MUCH better technology, transport system and service.. But you will love Tokyo if you are either 1) a sushi lover, or 2) a manga/anime-fan. I am both, so to me, Tokyo is paradise.

Oh, but if your wedding is early Dec and u wanna go Japan in mid/late Dec (close to Xmas), don't forget to check out their Christmas light-ups.. It's absolutely beautiful..

tay_weiwei

Wow, seems like alot of brides to be are having photoshoots this month. Do share the picture once it is ready ok?

Hi Meiling, why is your PS separately into 2 days? Don't you need to pay extra?

Does anyone know where to get nice Si Dian Jin too? My MIL had given me a budget of $2.5k, BUT i feel like getting a diamond set instead. Anyone have the same thinking as me?

necrosis

jac,
aussino has an online catelogue.
check out the link lsntyl posted.
and also in the menu, click on catelogue to see their latest sale products. very up to date.

lsntl,
your EG looks good man...what is the color?

necrosis

ask you ladies ah,
what's the process of buying a resale flat...
am totally clueless...
how much cash up front?
and is it possible to offer below valuation?
and if the valuation price is xxx, and we need to pay some on top of it, how much will the bank loan?

ah, so many questions...hope you gals can shed some light for me.

pjan

Hi Qianqain,

I m leaving the house before 7am in order to please my MIL(she INSISTED i reach her place before 9am while my auspicious hrs is after 9am)

ermmm

leely : for us, it was more CPF and they gave us 1 year. Our lawyer prepared a declaration for us to sign that we will ROM before/on a certain date.

At that time, it was so uncertain wat was going to happen. 1 person in CPF say it is possible without ROM 1st, but need to ROM within a year. Then another person say totally cannot. Until we so stressed that my mum told us just go ROM first lar, can be done by the time paperwork is approved. But we really didn't like the idea of ROM just for the sake of paperwork. So we insisted, keep emailing to ask and calling lor (even went down to ask).. Anyway, that's ancient history.

BTW, on travelling within EUR. We usually fly between cities (check out ryanair). If you book early, it is quite cheap, but you will be spending money and time getting to the airports (quite far from cities). We found that it is more worthwhile to fly then take train between cities as flying could actually be cheaper and time travelling is generally shorter.

There was once that we decided on where to go just by looking at the cost of the tickets.. hehe..

Having said that, will be easier to take train between rome and florence though. From Florence, you can take a day trip to Pisa. That's what I did last year.

leely

HDB very inconsistent one lah.. my friend bought a flat at the same time as us.. her CSO say she can submit the ROM cert after her wedding in Dec, whereas mine simply refused to process our application at all until we submit.. Just thinking back about it still makes me angry.. Hate HDB..

Anyway took these during the Christmas light-up in Kobe, Japan last year, for those considering Japan for honeymoon..
:

683961.jpg

683962.jpg

rayrachel

neko> depends how religious ur frens are.. my religious frens.. say break fast must follow by special prayers... obviously they can't pray at the BQ.. so... they choose not to go.... :p

fortunemew

spoiltbabe (or anyone), can share your song lists with me when u selected? if possible, do you mind if i get the songs from u girls through email (but MP3 files can email...? though file size very big like 4MB..)...

cos now i got to take care of my mum, so time is lacking.....i am trying to get a lot of things done... sorry ah...if too troublesome, juz let me know...

hi all, thanks for ur kind encouragement....i will try to come to sept forum more often to get back my wedding mood..n i hope my mum can recover soon.....chemo will take 4.5 mths at least...including other post-operation procedures to do....so hopefully she can attend my wedding without feeling so tired...

neko, that time i nearly want to sms you if you want to transfer your maid to me (if u no need her...i rem u say cos ur maid take care of ur granny last time) cos i need someone to take care of eldery parent n she got the experience..hmm...but of course i didnt do that in the end... manage to find a maid through a agent.

lsntyl

mine is ROM lunch so Muslim friends definitely cannot attend so FH and I will treat them dinner another time after the wedding. Oso good as it means they will be eating yummy halal food. I find the standard of Malay food served at wedding banquets really bad.

Annie>sorry, I don't have wedding songs yet. Just realised must find out what format of songs we can use at the restaurant. You take care of yourself, k? If you sick, your mom will worry more.

lsntyl

Nec>donno wad colour yet. :p Depends on what fabric my BS can find. The midnight blue I wanted is out of stock so they are looking for the maroon that's next on my list.

For resale, really depends on how big you want the flat and the location. Can try to offer below valuation but unless the seller is desperate, unlikely you can get it above. I've seen some really lousy flats asking for 100K COV! Bank loan depends on how much you want to borrow and the loan period. If you want, I can refer you to my housing agent. He's not bad. V patient. He brought FH and I to view many flats but we still haven't purchased as we're v picky. :p

qianqian

thias,me intend to borrow from my fren.. hee.. will be bring a small water boiler there too.. haha.. me alway like to drink a small cup of warm water b4 bed... how abt u... haha.. if i can't find one i borrow from u k.. oh junfraujoch it really a muz.. i told my hubby that all other optional trip can miss but this one muz go.. but sianz i need to bring the winter clothing too... cos i wan to make snow man haha... both of us together will be changing 1000euro and 1500CHF(more for buying chocolates.. hee)

Pjian, so u will be same as me muz wake up super early... lets pray the 2 of us won't get panda eyes.. hee..

foodietravel

hiya

i'm back from my honeymoon.. unpacking my stuff at my parents' place because my rented apt really small.

the weather in San Francisco, Chicago and LV was great.. thank goodness we didn't go Minneapolis (tornadoes), Texas and LA's Universal Studios.

will contact my PG and VG soon.. got a lot of work waiting for me (sob).

when i booked for my hotels, i left remarks requesting for nice quiet rooms for my honeymoon and two of the hotels actually left champagne awaiting our arrivals... one even left rose petals on the floor and bed.. very sweet. unfortunately, i don't drink so my hubby drank some only... should've bathed in the champagne!!

gotta go back to my hubby..and there's no internet access back there (sigh)

hope all of enjoy/ed your honeymoons too! i'm sure gonna have jet lag!

ermmm

for those who are thinking of going for winter holiday, do consider going to Paris disneyland. It is really really magical during X'mas period. I had loads of fun there then. However, do consider that a lot of places will be closed during X'mas eve/day and New Year eve/day.

Can also consider going skiing or to see northern lights.. ;)

straylamb

fortunemew... u will get through tis difficult time... get ur mum gets well soon!
take care!
LSnTYL... can give mi the mum's MUA contact too? the MUA will come to the hotel to make up or we haf to go to her place?

leely

Paris disneyland..! *adds it to my list of Europe to-visit places*

Skiing is not my cup of tea.. Tried it once and could hardly stand, ended up aching all over only...

~sblbee~

weiwei,
yah mine is over 2 days, nope it's not charged extra cos i forgo my bintan shoot....
im oso thinking of getting a diamond set but hor it depends on my mil's budget which i duno how much :p

~sblbee~

jac,
yah lor, i'll have a terrible headache thinking of moving hse nxt time...must do everything by instalments :p how i wish i can get a unit beside my current home n i can slowly move my things bit by bit everyday :p

lsntyl,
wah ur EG is really nice n it looks similar to d pink EG i tried during my fitting :p same here, i need lotsa wk to tone up my flabby arms, guz there's no hope for me as my PS is nxt week le :p

simplyserene

I also sent email invite before sending any physical invitation card. Don't waste, don't waste...

Hi R&J - ICB Bldg Middle Road. It's opp NAFA... or Tekka Mall Serangoon Road. Shd be same bldg as Sheng Siong....

rjwedding

oh.. i know this one ICB Building.. they got sell decoration stuffs and party stuffs too right?? i went to search for my balloons there.. but didn't managed to see whether got bubble guns anot.. anwyay will try again.. thanks s'rene..

plug

Hi Ladies, anyone gg to do ur own wedding car deco? or u r getting pple to deco (not fm the bridal package). May i know wat's de budget like? Thank you!!!

leely

ask your hubby sponsor you lor.. who else.. haha..

Anywayz I have narrowed down to Spain (Barcelona), France (Paris) and Italy (Venice, Pisa, Rome).. You think I can go all in 3 weeks.. ? Does it sound a lot..? heh..

apple_gal

Hi, qianqian

Actually on 15th June 08, the auspicious time is 5am to 7am, 9am to 11am & 1pm to 3pm according to Master.
5am to fetch the bride is too early, so i choose 9am to 1pm, according to master, 9am then my HB step out the house, & before 11am need to reach HB house. So it is quite rush. We need to avoid timing like 11am to 1pm.

apple_gal

Hi, qian qian

My GDL is on 9 June & An Chuan is on 12 June. So will be busy lor, cos we left only 12 days... Time is running short

ermmm

hi leely, previously I have done 7 days in Paris, including 3 full days in Disneyland. Also, did Rome in 4 days and 3 days for Florence and Pisa. Venice took me abt 4 days. Considering flying in and out, u prob have abt 2-3 days for barcelona. Should be ok. Of course, u need not spend as much time as I did in Paris. We went during x'mas so spent more time there as we were worried other than disney most places will be closed. If u r in eur on boxing day, do spend some time shopping. ;) this doesn't apply to Paris though. Maybe u should try to plan to fly in and out from diff cities, not so much travelling but tickets more exp lor.

But travelling may be quite tiring though.

mary_poppins

My fave colour is yellow. But never know it is the in colour. I had asked my Japanese colleague to help me buy a yellow yukata from Japan and I already had a yellow long CS from M&M. Intending to use the yukata for PS. The CS will use it for tea ceremony. Florabliss, really looking forward to see the pix of the mock EG. Remember to snap some pix to show us, ok.

As my HTB might want to change the mattress that we placed order for, we cannot shop for bedsheets until we made a final decision. So have to wait for the next robinson sale. Btw will cotton satin crease easily?

xenxen

qianqian > no prob..we can share the adaptor.. i dun tink i'll b bringing small water flask.. dun ve one at home.. if i nid i go over ur room take warm water k...

dkaren

Hi People,

Anyone getting married on the 28th June ?
After gone through my ROM cum Church wedding last Oct. I dun feel anything for my customary wedding.
How? What are the things that i really need to bother about?

flora_bliss

Jac, I cant afford to extend my leave till mid Jan coz I'll be away from office starting from 17 Dec. That's why can only afford 5 days max for honeymoon. Also a bit cash tight after doing up the house, so can't afford holi in far far destination. I'm thinking of going some resort in Thailand for 2days then go back to Bangkok to shop for some household accessories to decorate our new home. Another alternative that I'm thinking would be leely's suggestion - Bali. I wouldn't be surprise if we meet at the airport.

SotongLet, ah... babies... but not at the moment loh. Dun want any 'accident' to happen lah.

SCL, I would really love to go Japan. But 5 days not enough leh. I need more days to catch up with my ex-colleagues and ex-bosses there.

ahnetsan

fortune, u must stay happy ok? everything will be jus fine. dun worry.

my malay colleagues cant attend my wedding dinner cos they need to go mosque pray after they break fast one. i've got 2 very close malay frens, they say they will break fast at my dinner. i dunno if it's coincidence or not, but i find that my malay frens who dun wear the head scarf thing are not very religious. haha.
and those who dun wear head scarf one all promised to break fast at my dinner.

btw, those planning to buy bedsheets for wedding can forget abt buying them from Aussino...
jus nw me and colleague went to check out Aussino, the staff say no more liao... the next batch will only arrive during fall/winter and dat is OCTOBER... sad...

anyone know wat other brands got sell besides Aussino?

lsntyl

Net>har? are you sure? I was at the Aussino at Plaza Sing on Sun. Still got a lot leh. Maybe you try the bigger branches and not the smaller branches like Centerpoint? Should have more choice then.

I also bought a comforter + bedsheet set at the John Little moving out sale at Plaza Sing. Only cost us $65! Best of all, FMIL likes it too.

eunicet

Wahhh so many people so excited about honeymooning and making babies eh? :p

leely: Ooh, so you have a teacher HTB too! I'm going to be a teacher too though...Haha, guess you're not one right? But sadly teachers only get to travel during the sch hols!! And it's more ex then!! Grrr...

Anw ah, I would love to go for a winter honeymoon!! But Aussieland, though winter in June, will not snow!! Where snows in June?!?! You all so excited about so many places!! I wanna go to Europe too, but it really is super ex leh. I guess will leave it for future holiday plans lor...

earthsea

Hi leely, it's not as hard as it seems- easiest way to go around I feel is by rail pass. I think Paris has direct trains to Barcelona, and I've previously taken a direct train from Barcelona to Milan (from Milan, you can go anywhere). If you want to save time, can take overnight trains- it's not comfortable, but it's quite romantic in its own way
aka drinking thermoflask coffee to keep warm, watching sunrise from the train...

I did my mega-backpacking trip thru Paris, Spain, Italy, Greece (40 days, $4000) in uni days- best time of my life :D Don't worry, June is definitely not too hot to go, it's hottest in Aug. For me, Europe is safe as long as you're careful and watch out for gypsies (Italy, particularly).

leely and eunice,
I'm a ex-teacher, hee...

flora_bliss

nec, now is still the seller's mkt. So you may not be able to get the flat if you quote below valuation. And 95% of the seller will ask for a price that is above valuation, i.e. the COV. The COV will usually be higher if the flat is younger, in a good location and the decor/ reno is in good condition. From my 3 mths of house hunting experience (after looking at 24 flats), the COV ranges from 30K - 50K. I've encountered owner asking for $120 COV.

In addition to the COV, If you are getting a bank loan, you'll have to pay at least 5% of the purchase price in cash. And the maximum that the bank will loan is 90%.

If you are getting an agent, then it is likely that you'll need to pay them commission, which is usually 1% + GST.

Another thing that you need to take note of is the renovation cost. When you buy resale, most of the time the flat will need major overhaul. And that really cost a lot. For a 4rm flat, you could be looking at least 40K - 50K in renovation.

lsntyl

Ya, the market is still quite bad for buyers. FH and I are on the verge of giving up for the time being. Wait till market is better before going in.

Oh, even if you don't get an agent, chances are you still have to pay commission to the seller agent for the paperwork done, etc. Unless you are lucky and manage to deal with a seller who's not using an agent too.

flora_bliss

Mary, you've gotten a yukata? Tat's nice. I should have ask my Jap ex-colleague to get for me when she went on home leave.

nec, if you can wait, then don't buy property now. Wait the property market improved. And yes, the commission that I'm talking abt is payable to the seller's agent.

I'm lucky to pay only $28K COV for a location tat is within walking distance to the AMK MRT stn. I get to see the Spore flyer and fireworks at the balcony oso. But the bad thing is now I got to spend a bomb to redo the whole place. Looking at abt 45K for reno and furnishing. So upfront cash that I need to pay is $78K (COV + Reno + Agent commission).