(2008) Brides of year 2008

LSntyl,
aiyah, i'm not robinsons member.
i'm a member of no shopping center in singapore!!
(only NUS co-op)
yeah, i find my purchases too ex also.
but my FH tried out one of my current sheets w threadcount 400-500 and he says so nice...
so i don't feel so bad abt all the $$$.

shy,
dont stress....think happy thoughts and pimples will disappear!

mei,
sari is good for the bak bak kind like what sotong says, so in the whole forum, only i qualify lor.
hee...you all can admire my rolls and rolls of tummy when i wear a sari.
(just look at the indian aunty next to you on mrt/bus/queue, then change the skin color to the chinese yellow, that's me!!)

sotong,
where is your wedding bands source?
FH and i tried to find those comfort fit ones, can't remember which shop it was....so fed up.
one day we were browsing one of those chains of jewelery lah, then found some nice rose gold ones.
now, with sales, we cant remember which shop.
in the end, decided to just custom make everything with the guy making my proposal ring.
(which is still 3 loose diamonds and a cert in a shop in park mall)

mmm...your EG, from chinese to indian or indian to chinese?
what kinda dance?
waltz: can have train,
tango/salsa MUST have slit or short skirt, forget sari/mermaid/tight skirt.
bellydance: must show belly.
need more info before can try to brainstorm together how to arrange your EG.

oh, and i posted up pics of my shoes in multiply. :P (cannot win mei's 7-8 pairs of bling, i only have 1 pair with bling)
ID: necrosi
check them out and then can ask me why i buy these shoes when i've not done any gown fitting yet and cannot match these shoes to anything. sigh.

shybride,
go buy herbal tea and drink! they should work pretty fast....and don't stress anymore....don't be stressed over what you cannot control.

Nec,
I'm sure you'll look really good in your saris

I also wanna go shopping for whatever can be bought in advance for the wedding...but how to buy bedsheets etc when we haven't even decided on what size bed to buy...hmmm

However, we did see a place at Paragon where we can get our sofas from...that place has very homely and comfy sofas...expensive though....

leely: Botanic Gardens got waterfall ah???? That would be quite nice!! Come to think of it, Bird Park also got waterfall right? The tallest man-made one...Haha, like that's sth to boast about!!

Earthsea: Wow, your hubby will be here for just 2 weeks, it'll be a packed 2 weeks!
But have a great time with him! Where's he from? And you have 2 WGs! How are you going to wear both? Join Multiply and share pics of your glam glam WGs! My ID is ent29

nec: I just saw your shoes...
Haha! So many pairs!!! How come? You gonna keep changing pairs?? I think the heel details are very pretty!! All quite nice!! So so so how much did you pay?

Earthsea> Yup, multiply is a great place for sharing stuff.. My multiply ID is chrysalids18.

Eunice> Bird Park also has waterfall.. But birdpark is a bit inaccessible, and you'll need to pay admission for you, your hubby, the PG and his assistant (if he has one).. maybe that's why ppl end up taking the waterfall at Botanic Gardens instead.. haha..

Princess Kitty> I haven't seen my PS photos yet.. After seeing still need to choose, edit and print.. Think it'll take a few months at least before I get my PS photos.. Will share when I *finally* get them...
.. But if you want to see photos we took ourselves, I have some on my multiply site.

Nec> The blue shoes are cool..! But like not easy to find a dress to match it... hehe..

Anywayz I went with my in-laws to buy 4-dot-gold today.. Happy..

hey relax abit..try not to be so tense up addy. At least gt yr PS done, same 4 polarwhite.

A fresh new mth means a new list of things to do also. I have to efile for ROM liao, if nt I become illegal wife b4 my AD..haha :P
I didnt knw that hv to solemnize outside the centre on wkends, guess hv 2 change my ROM date again for the 3rd time..from 14th => 13th => ??
sighz.

Do yr mum countdwn for u gals abt yr big day? My mum does lor esp when a new mth starts..as if shes getting married for the 2nd time. Guess shes just excited that her daughter is finally off the shelve liao.

hello leely thanks for the webby...i noe wat photobook..something like coffee album le...

how abt punggol area? or can go east coast park as well...

Hi Ladies!

Shy: Your AD is so so near already.
Hope everything had done and prepared ya.
Don't worry and relax. Be the most beautiful you on the AD. Hope all the bumps go away!

Everyone has started getting some stuffs for the wedding ya. Now i just started looking for mattress only la. Haha...

Nec, so interesting and unique. U'll be doing a salsa for the march in? Must be real nice. Hope able to view the video of this march in from u

Jac and Luvz: Sorry for the super late reply since i last log in here.
Hubby made his shirt at Peninsula Plaza. There's quite a few tailor shop there. He went to the shop at level 3 - Men's tradition.

Headache me. Still thinking of where to go around Tanjong Pagar for my PS lor. Hmmm....
PS is this month!

leely: So exciting!! As in a waterfall would be perfect! :D And my FH was thinking of going on the walk on that new pathway, see what spots will be quite good for PSing! :P So what did they buy for your 4dotgold? Did you get to choose?

Simplejer: Punggol area where? Is it where they have the lalang field?? Is the lalang field still there?

xinyi, i m leaving for my honeymoon the day after AD.. don't think i will be able to come here.. until i come back from honeymoon in mid-june.. by then most of you will be MRS too

thanks for the concern and advice gals.. by the way the aunty who did my back treatment told me to drink jin ying hua & xia ku cao.

meiling, my CS is pink, long, with a short train (it just pools on the ground.. u know what i mean?) the top part (above the bust) is all lace. hmm that's all for the description, dunno what else to say :P

Eunice> hmm..? What new pathway are you referring to..?

Yup, I chose everything in my 4dotgold.. You can read about it on my blog on multiply..
.. Recently gold price dropped, that's why we quickly go and buy.. haha..

And yah, I think the punggol lalang field is still around.. But I heard must be prepared to feed mosquitoes if you go there..

Shy, yeah loh. drink more cooling tea and have lots of sleep or else cannot be a pretty bride. Where are u doing ur back treatment? I need help in tat area.

My wedding bands from D'meysons. 700 for both pairs, mainly comfort fit with a line on the top and bottom, with flat outer surface. Pretty simple and classic and no need to worry about scratches or watever to deface the ring design. FH dun look that nice in rose gold, so we settle on pure white gold.

Mei, I have decided to get my EG done with Kim, which does mainly gowns and EG. Going for a scallop bustier design with a small V at the centre and a full length wide bottom, with a removable sash and ribbon that i have to hook on to like a belt. Total cost including corded lace and duchess satin lining and satin sash and workmanship is about $350. I can bring back to her closer to my wedding for size alteration to fit my figure then.

Nec & Mei, FH was thinking we going to do something funny for 2nd march in. We march in 1/2 way music change from a chinese song to indian song and do the indian dance, where from 2 can multiply to many by pulling afew friends together to dance with us (meanwhile can dua some others by pulling them up with us too...)

FH can't dance to save his life either but I still can teach him some simple shaking of the shoulders (changing light bulb, petting dog style), while I do the coconut tree style with those stands that are always at some parts of the march in carpet. I just need to "transform" my gown suddenly to be more indianish, as FH going to wear those chinaman collar jacket inside can wear the indian style shirt can liao.

Cheryl, i think my mum can't wait to get me off too. Especially since after my bro's wedding in May.

Yeah ...i am abit of a kancheong spider. I worry over anything and everything. Sometimes i make my FH kancheong also... K will take a chill pill. I am almost there with reno confirmation. So once that is down, one less thing to worry.

BTW, real wrist corsages be pretty but i guess for practicality fakies is better? Though fake but i saw some thats very pretty too. There are some brides who actually handmade. Errm...dun think it will be me. Me ain't that creative. heeee...

meiling, friday was a bad day coz boss not around so got to cover some of his work. Anyway, my EG is gonna be yellow. But becoz I'm afraid that it's gonna be too loud, the designer will 3 shades of yellow to blend in the colours. Then the long long sash will be similar to champagne gold with a little shimmering effect.

sotonglet, my back treatment is at The Green Sanctuary, Body Shop. got 2 outlets, 1 at paragon and 1 at hitachi tower (collyer quay). my therapist is Lynn from paragon. she's good and friendly
number is 67332221.

Asking those ladies who went JB before to look for wedding stuffs.

How much are their wedding lamps (for side tables) and their tea set??

crown>not sure as I didn't take note. Will be going in this Sat though so can help you check.

BTW, Rach's account has been suspended. Donno why. So if anyone needs to contact her, maybe sms or msn her?

hi gals!!

so happy that I've finished DIY-ing a few things over last weekends.. Felt very accomplished..
Done my ang box box & my montage.. Attached below is my ang bao box.. more photos on my multiply..

683049.jpg

leely, eunice,

yeah, the blue shoes not easy to match....but my fave color is blue and i've a blue sari...
aiyah, i just couldnt resist when i saw the shoes lah..
*guilty* hehe...

oh, must show us your 4 pieces of gold ah...

oh, i got so many pairs but actually only the boots and the blue bling is wedding-related.
the other 2 pairs are such a normal design, use for normal days also can...but i'll keep them as new shoes first...in case PS req diff color shoes...

anyway, since i'll be having 4 changes of outfits in the dinner, 4 pairs is just nice!!! haahahaha...

shy,
your CS sounds dreamy! cant wait to see it....in july!

flora,
wah, very brave to wear yellow EG.
i'm imagining sunflower yellow now..but i'm sure your EG will turn out lovely with the toga top and all....now i'm imagining pastel flowly soft yellow....faster show us the pic, my imagination is going crazy!
i saw one wedding hairstyle, with one sunflower in her hair, bun style, flower over bun....it wasnt too loud or weird, in fact looked really nice....if i can find it again, i'll post to show you for your consideration.

sotong,
i'm wondering if kim will do alterations and modifications on a gown/dress?
or does she only sew from scratch?
i'll need to alter/mod my fuschia pink tea dress and get a salsa type dress made...
so prob need a tailor too.
and your EG sounds really good....plus very reasonably priced. mmm...her workmanship good?
i feel excited laio!!!

tinkybell,
hi hi, long time no see, tot u MIA le, luckily we still got keep contact offline else we wont know wat's our update...

sue,
at least u settled d major reno le....now juz wait n relax for ur AD....cos u finished ur PS le which most of us havent :P pray for gd weather for me :P

addy,
no prob....in fact both polar n u look so great, wonder how will i look like when it's my turn nxt week....so nervous, gona die of panick attack, esp my flabby arms n thick waist, there's no way to hide :P
as for wedding progress, juz self-printed my ROM cards...den confirmed wif my JP dat i'll meet up wif him on 5 aug after i e-file....willb getting d GDL date n timing for AD frm my shifu soon...den prepare for my PS...dat's abt it :P

cheryl,
nope....my mum is d simply bo chup type....heheh, she even cant b bothered :P

Went to check out wine yesterday.. at TPY Euro link... the staff (think is the lady boss) service is great... you can feel they know what you looking for and tell you what other alternative option that they can offer you...Base on their experience (i.e they deal with quite many hotel before they also share what they know about the hotel policy) The price is also quite good.. 100% consignment.. n FOC delivery ... best is they will coordinate with your hotel cord. to deliever.. so.. one less thing to "take care" on AD!.... Should be getting wine from them.. din bother to go other shop coz this kind of services is hard to find :P

Princess Kitty> Your PM function is not enabled leh.. Anyway you can just go to http://chrysalids18.multiply.com/ and add me as your contact.

Nec> blue sari..? Then it'll totally match your shoes..!
.. How come you changing so many attires for dinner..?

Put a pic of my 4-dot-gold here.. Not very clear, coz take using handphone.. More photos are on my multiply:

683074.jpg

My fave is the pendant.. My hubby didn't like it, but I like it a lot.. Particularly the chinese knot above the words..

Anywayz it's all 916 gold from Poh Heng.. No diamonds.. Just good solid gold.. haha..

mary poppins,
dun worry, will post my CS pics up soon....

nec,
aiyo, u r not as bad as u had described....nonsense, who dare to say u r an indian auntie figure wif yellow skin, u think u r far better than dat...in fact u r sexy n gorgeous ok?
wah....shoes!!!! im going to login to multiply to chk out ur shoes now....hehehe :P

jac,
same here....hehhehe, i dun intend to buy anything for home n deco until i get a flat on my own, perhaps i'll shop for dat during d nxt GSS ba cos now no storage space for so many things n furthermore i havent even decide on wat size is my bed....must depend on d size of my future bedrm :P

xinglin,
aiyo, at least u can start on mattress, i dun even have a bed to start wif....how's ur wedding prep?

shybride,
hey....omg ur long pink CS sounds juz like my long CS except for a different colour....is it similar to mine?

sotonglet,
wah....at least u confirmed 1 more thing....it sounds so gd frm ur description alrdy, u using d maroonish pink lace to make dat EG? when will u b wearing tis pc? but i must say d price is really cheap for a EG....cant wait to see d end pdt now...hehhe
ur 2nd march in really sounds so interesting, i wish i had d same courage as u, think if i got too many things to handle at d same time, i'll b distracted n landed flat on my face....i like ur instant transformation idea, will b a refreshing change, guz nec's will b as fun as ur

florabliss,
guz yellow is d IN colour now, my mum juz attended a wedding wif a bride wearing yellow EG n den 2 fellow oct brides r wearing yellow too....but frm ur description ur EG is really nice wif different tones of yellow mixed tgr, sounds so flowy n dreamy like a goddess

Hello ladies!
Am sure all of you are excited! AD is just 12 days away...soo Im getting all jittery though. I went for a hair trim yesterday but woke up this morning being shocked that 1.5 - 2 inches of hair was snipped
Not too sure if still can do the bun which I wanted to do originally. Oh no... now Im freaking out big time..because the shorter the hair - the lesser volume one can create right? It was below bra initially (the back of the hair)...now its like 1.5 inch above the upper strip of the bra. Sigh! Any advice? Any shampoo that can accelerate hair growth?

hi all, im going to bi guan xiu lian for 1 week, leaving a note in so sgbride forum will keep sending me alerts from this thread

Shy, really happy for you that the day you've been planning and waiting for is so nearby! You will be the most experienced one amongst us, so tell us more about the AD! Remember to enjoy the process so you can mentally document the details that matter.

Flora, wow not everyone dares to wear a yellow, you must have the right skintone, but for those who looks good in it, it's gorgeous! Peektures! Try not to work too hard ya...

SotongLet, sorry ah, but what is changing light bulb, petting dog style???

nec, luvz, yeah kim is at tampines, but I am not sure how much she will charge for a short dress. But should be above 100 bah. Better call her to check. You have to buy your materials and lining to pass to her.

nec, I dun think kim do alterations. You can get your dress altered at Judy Khoo's place at people's park market. I think she charges about 10 onwards for alteration services. You can also talk to her about ur salsa type dress too, as the materials can be bought at the shops below. She does 1/2 days on sat and close on sun.

Flora, It sounds like a very avant garde design, and should be lovely and cheery. ^^. nec's idea of a sun flower or daisies will make a difference too.

shy, how much it cost ah?

msclaire: changing light bulb, petting dog style is coined by the show "Pride and Prejudice" the with tat indian beauty queen starting with A watever as lizzy.

Mei, yeah it is the purplish pinkish maroonish lace. I am using it for my church reception and sending my guests off. Dancing not tat tuff, just always keep it simple inuff to "motor" remember can liao.

Hi BBIguana and qunqun... One of the most famous stalls selling roast suckling piglet is the one @ Tiong Bahru market. Price range shd be from $168/188 onwards. What I did was to ask the fella selling roast stuff at the market near my place. He's able to help us order which will thus save the time and hassle for my fiance. The guys just need to pick it up from the market before they head upstairs on the actual day.

Hi R&J I received several updates from your Multiply over the weekend. Must hv been real busy huh. Cute ang pao box!

cheryl, my mom will kinda "countdown" too... she will now and then when touch on wedding topic will ask me this done that done? when invitation card ready? hahahha not is I will auto update her my progress.. ahhaha ok la.. think they just want to be involved...
Happy for us ma

hi s'rene: yup.. busy over the weekends.. but still got time to go IKEA with my parents on Sat cos need to get the bedside lamps.. finally got very nice ones at IKEA... Sun whole day stayed at home to finish up the montages & ang bao box.. pretty happy with my progress now.. think now most of the weekends will be very busy preparing for the wedding... coming weekend is my GDL.. next weekend need to re-confirm all the music n songs.. then next next weekend meeting up with hotel co-ordinator.. wow, looks like really got alot of things to do..

YL> so u confirmed going in this sat huh? then i cant go liaoz...

will try 14th June if hubby still ard... if he's not going reservist

Wah... now even roasted pig got website! Funny how the prices are different from what I used to see at the stall itself... I think need to check with them the sizes...

Meiling,
Not sure if I understood you properly...you mean you will not buy a new bed until you got a flat? The next HDB sales is in Oct and that's your AD month right? I thought we have to get a new matrimonial bed for our wedding? Cos if that's not the case, then I'll postpone buying our bed too cos my fiance was wondering who's going to help us move the bed when we have our own place....

Flora,
Yellow sounds good...i wanted a yellow EG but designer suggested bold yellow which is not what I wanted....and think my skin tone doesn't suit pastel yellow...in the end, decided on baby blue....I certainly didn't expect to have an EG of that colour.

For back problems, my therapist told me that we should shampoo and condition our hair first. then when we are done with the hair, clip it up and then proceed to clean our body with a foaming body wash. Body wash with foams will help remove oil from the body and clipping up the hair prevents the oily conditioner from clogging up the back further. Hope this helps.
Btw, i've got an exfoliator from my therapist for my back. Will let you girls know if it works well.

I'm told that if we want to dance for our wedding, now is a good time to start attending lessons. Not too early and not too late.

xinglin,
we went to peninsula plaza before but can't find any tailors....we then hopped over the peninsula shopping centre where there are many tailors there. Will go to the plaza and check it out again. Thanks!

rach>ya, I confirm going in this Sat le cos both my parents and FH's mom wants to go in with us to look look. Sorry cannot go with you and Ray.
Now, cracking head where to bring them makan. :p

leely,
i like your pendant very much too!!!!
solid gold...wow, nice man.
;)
the whole set looks very good ..

oh, my MIL bought some silk sari for me and she knows my fave color is blue. ;)
but of cos, i cant wear that for wedding...
parents n ILs are super traditional only red kind of pple.

is 4 changes a lot? i tot quite ok. :P
maybe i can't really do 4 lah... just hoping.
see the timing and how the dresses lor..
my sending off one is a red brocade sari, so that will take >5mins to wear. (wrap and wrap and wrap)

ashwa rai or something like that.

oh, i was planning to get my sisters n his bros and all of us do a bollywood number
long long ago, we had wanted to go to india itself and hire a producer and make an MTV there, bollywood style...prob lip sync some song.
now, we will just do a short dance routine ....you know, the boys dance one part, the girls another part, then flirt a bit, run ard a pillar/tree, then together the boys/girls conclude the song.
;)

sotong, talk to ya more abt your dance routine online. ;)