(2008) Brides of year 2008

My package is more expensive ($100 more per table) than the current one offered by my hotel. Because it includes free flow beer and 1 bottle wine. After calculating, it's cheaper to bring in own beer and wine.

Nevermind, I signed liao. Just hope the banquet staff do their job nice nice on my AD

Dor,
My bf is buying the pinjin himself cos his parents no $$$. I asked bf not to buy first cos gold price is very high now!

Waxie,
Wah lau, u so "song" drinking at work! haha

I peep at your gowns. I like your evening gown! Definitely better than my getai MTM EG.

Eunice: Thanks! I really hope everything turn out well too on my wedding day! =D
In fact i find the name *shy shy* haha!

Jules: Yup! I totally agreed with you!! Pin is such a nice guy and ver humourous one too!! I totally fell in love with his gowns!!

Hi, Ladies

OMG, we left only about 1 months... Look like a lot of stuffs left undone. I just sent some of my invitation cards. For relative side, waiting my dad to write...

Hi, qianqian
We have the same day. We facing the same timing too. My HB will be going out only at 9am... The journey is ard 40-45mins.. So timing is quite tight. Since the VG told us by 2pm need to leave in order to do the express highlights, i forgo this express highLights.
Gather guestlist n confirming the guest is headache... I end up so stress even cant get a proper sleep...

polar: I didnt see any "accept" but saw u & wendy in my outstanding invitation list. Gosh!!

Addy: thats the way..Ah ha ha..I like it. Here comes weekend!!

green,

pinjin is "angbao" cash. the gold is 4 dian jin (for teochews). My MIL "buy" for me liao... by trading in her old jewellery. But sigh... she's not exactly generous at all... =(
it's really a case of "it's the thoughts that counts"
Pinjin is usually given by the groom I think. eg. the groom gives 10k to the bride's parents, then the bride's parents will keep some and return the rest to the groom.

green:
mi too! 1 week drink 2,3 times :P the bubble tea shop is at our office building so temptation is too hard to resist :p

is pingjin a must? Heard from my mum that it can also be from the no. of tables in the banquet. Meaning if she requested 5 tables those 5 tables angbao she will take.

My MIL is the modern type dunno if she knows and 4 dian jin. Actually i am happier if she give mi angbao :D

Lex, koyoyo, im planning to go LA, LV & SF for abt 10-11 nights. We are going F&E so that i have more time to visit the factory outlets there hehe. Im still waiting to see if there are any airline promo... keeping my eyes open everyday. Lex, when are you planning to go?

Talking abt PS, my PG also mentioned to me to bring some props along which are memorable to us. im thinking of bring soft toys too but i have so many from my hubby, i dont know which to bring along. And my sis suggested bringing our laptops along coz we were having a long distance relationship then. It might look like a advert for our laptops instead hehe.

spoiltbabe,

I prefer rolex... haha... But no lor.. got gold instead. good also, nxt time broke liao can sell for money haha...

I thought table is on top of PINJIN.. anyway. It doesn't matter lah. We're in the year 2008 liao, no need to be so traditional.

Where did you go for PS? looks good leh...

dor:
i dun mind tat too :P gold... hmm... now gold price is on hike so its not really worth to get it now. See how bah, juz accept whatever she buys for me
My BS is whitelink, very satisfied with the output of the pictures, somemore they are unedited ones. Have you done your PS?

hi gals, I really bad at multiply..saw all yr invitations in email (polar, mrs chiew, wendy, ana) but nt in my multiply acct. I dun see any "accept" invitation at all. SOS...

Rach, Congrats to you on your ROM tomorrow.. Enjoy yourselves..

Green, My hotel provides one barrel of beer and one bottle of wine per confirm table free.. And the hotel quotes me $25++ per additional bottle of wine(if I remember correctly).

Spoiltbabe, The gold price has drop slightlty le.. My MIL had bought me the si dian jin last week from poh heng.. BTW my BS is also whitelink.. hee.. when is your AD?

hi gals, I really bad at multiply..saw all yr invitations in email (polar, mrs chiew, wendy, ana) but nt in my multiply acct. I dun see any "accept" invitation at all. I add u all to my contact, still in my outstanding list.
Help..sos!! any advise?

spoiltbabe>like your photos and your gowns. Esp the short gown you used for your outdoor shoot.
Thanks for sharing.

My mom and my MIL agreed to have cash instead of the 4 dian jin cos the gold price is now so high. :P

apple_gal, ya.. left 1 mth.. my friends and colleagues side.. invites are mostly given out already..

i agree that confriming guestlist is big headache. i am also stress over the job allocations for the helpers. haiz...

gina:
hey! maybe we rub shoulders at WL :P my AD is on 14, and yours? Tat day my mum went to buy a necklace for me at poh heng and she said tat cost $800+.... my jaws dropped. Hopefully the price will drop further.

YL:
thank you
something different lah, actually i kept taking those simple design on the rack but my coordinater told me to choose something more 'kua zhang' so end up my fh chose this piece. No regrets

eml: What's the package offered at Blush Blush? Is it like some posh posh place with ex ex gowns?
Do share photo links if you managed to take photos of your gown choosing!

spoiltbabe,
You AD is same as mine! you hvn't say where u go for PS shoot huh. Ponggol issit?

My PS is in July... not so soon.

Hi Gina,
Long time no see.

YL,
We bought our gold around $90+ tt time... so only bought small pieces...

Dor,
Typo in prev post. My bf is paying for pinjin & 4 dian jin on behalf of his parents. My mum has nothing to give me cos dad stole all her jewelleries!

Spolitbabe,
Yes pinjin can be in the form of banquet tables

I drink bubble tea abt 5 times a week. Office canteen and MRT station have 4 total bubble tea stalls LOL.

Dor,
Haha I think the pics are taken at Punggol too. Agree with u that Spolitbabe looks very cute and sweet in short dress!

My AD is on 25 Sept. Is it too rush if I take photoshoot in early July? I feel like postponing my PS which is scheduled in mid June cos I still haven't selected my OTR EG and gained too much weight 4-5kg recently :-( Body can hide with gowns but face how to hide? haha put a pig head over me? Dunno if my coordinator will kill me as this is 2nd time I am postponing PS and I also giving up MTM EG?

hi s'rene, thanks for your tips. hope ur fiance will be fine soon.

hi piyo & berry egg,
I personally don't find them snobbish at all just that their English still not very good hee. personally i have met many friendly French.

LV is about 20-25% cheaper. Other European brands, esp French brands, are cheaper there too due to tax refund. Some common brands to buy from are LV, long champ, ferragamo, gucci, agnes b etc. All the prices are standardise so all the shops sell at the same price. rest assured that it is cheaper than online.

to get tax refund, each purchase must be >175euros. You will need to stamp the tax refund form at the airport AFTER you get your boarding pass. The custom has the right to ask u to show them the items u bought so remember must hand-carry. http://www.globalrefund.com/default.asp?viewFolderId=2061&viewDocumentId=4426

I have never been to factory outlet in Paris as it is not really a popular thing unlike in US. my colleagues who stayed in Paris nvr recommend us to go there. for local market, i've been to a few but nothing much to buy. for sightseeing still ok la.

it is pretty easy to get around. the metro system is very convenient and quite easily understandable. most people can speak a little bit of English. But I think it is important to learn some basic phrase like "Bonjour (good day)", "merci (thanks)" etc. some restaurant don't have English menu so be careful when you order.bring along a small travel guide book with useful phrase should suffice.

The disneyland in France is ok just that everything is in French, just like in Japan disneyland everything is in Japanese.

Places of interest: Seine river cruise, Latin quarter, Montmarte (with a nice cathedral-Sacre Coeur and an artist market and can get a panaromic view), Versaille, Opera (there are several large departmental stores nearby), Champs Elysées (Paris's orchard road with all the branded stores), Arch of Triumph, Luxembourg Garden. day tour from Paris to nearby places like Champagne, Giverny, Fountainebleau etc.

There so many things to share but don't want to flood this forum. If there's anything else you like to know can PM me
Especially on shopping, details on place of interest, how to get around and communicate with the locals.

dor:
ooh...! hot date isnt it
can the album be in time for your AD? And thanks for your compliments ;) Yup, we went to seletar and punggol for PS.

green:
wow, i tot mind is extensive -_- i dun dare to drink too much, if not tooth decay then my orthodontist gonna scold mi liao :p keke...! actually din tot of wearing short dress, juz tat the coordinator brought up so ok loh, chose a short dress instead. The pics turn out well

How long your BS needs to do up the design for your album? For mine it needs 2 months which explains why my PS is earlier. I think is better to take early as you still have allowance to amend designs and stuffs rather than rushing through to get the album in time.

hey sleepycat....i do pop by once in a while but guess everybody is busy wif post married life...mayb bb making in the process...kekeke

Green,

My mum and my whole family jewellery stolen by my brother. haha..
But she say will buy me some jewellery as gift, I hear liao also heartpain. Mummy is still the best.

Bubble tea will make you fat. Stop drinking that!!

I dun like sweet drinks, but I love tidbits. Eat non stop when I hv nothing to do.

Whether it'll be rush to have your photoshoot in July depends on your bridal shop/photographer. Whether they can deliver goods.
But since you are taking OTR gowns, it shld be v fast. just need to do alterations nearer to your photoshoot date. You can still hv photoshoot in June.

My photographer promised he needs only 1 month to do the album. And we dun like those fancy layouts. We requested for just 1 pic per page or splash over 2 pages. W/o any border, "picture-in-picture" etc, so it shld be a piece of cake.

Cross my fingers...
Net has been quiet today, wonder how's her fever...

cheryl
should be on the right-hand side of your multiply inbox page... something like "you have etc no. of invitations". Just click on it and accept/decline accordingly.

melody
we're thinking of heading up the east coast becuz FH has an uncle in California.. i'm tempted by the factory outlets too.. especially tempting is Victoria's Secret! Heheh.. I heard some of the factory outlet stuff is really worth the $$!

spoiltbabe,

No joke. used to such dramas already. My atm card was stolen once and all money wiped out by the bastard. He also dig all the locked drawers to find money or whatever he can find to sell.

Sometimes I go holiday, leftover currencies eg. ringgit, USD etc, he see liao he'll also take.

I used to bring my wallet n put under my pillow when I sleep, or into bathroom when I shower.

He also "borrowed" a substantial amt of money fr my bf before, but my bf nvr told me. and Of course he nvr returned the money.

Now he move out liao. But still nvr fails to "extort" money from my mum every single month.

And there's nothing we can do about it.

enough about him, makes my blood boil..

hi hi, wow so many discussions about gowns. was thinking hor, most of you gals seem to have so many gowns.. but how come the wedding dinners i attended, the bride only had the WG and 1 EG? Hmmm.. it's now 3 weeks to my AD and i m STILL thinking abt MTM CS.. think i muz be mad.. :/ But my fren said i no curves to wear CS and told me not to waste $$.. boo hoo.. envy you gals have many gowns!

Dor,
I feel sorry for your family. My dad always threatened to kill us etc and he is still in the house. It's good news that your brother has moved out. Your mum is so sweet to u! I'm not expecting anything from my mum, sigh she only treats me as ATM machine all this while. We are keeping my wedding secret from my dad. I'll marry off from hotel's room.

I'm going for 1 pic per page too! Haha I like things simple and natural. I dun like too much computer effects on my pics though I'm in IT line.

Dor and Spolitbabe,
Thanks for your advice. My coordinator told me that she only needs 1 week to alter my gowns before photoshoot. I'll ask coordinator for my photographer's contact, and call him to ask him how long he takes to edit my albums. Btw I change photographer to a younger one, who just graduated from NAFA. He appeared to be much more sincere and ethusiastic than the other 2 experienced photographers, so I'm willing to give him a chance
His sample photos look ok.

Wah lau now suddenly hear thunder at my area! Hope it doesn't rain on our PS days.

just went to meiling's multiply to see her CS.. so lovely!!! ok i m going to call M&M tomorrow liaoz..!

but this is bad, today i just spent $1300 buying things for FH.. cos tomorrow (or rather this afternoon) is our guo da li!

hihi, finally the 'wedding' is over. Very tiring, but at least it was a good rehearsal. You guys shd watch the movie, sweet ending.
I manage to convince my parents not to serve shark fins, who here is not serving?

Hi ladies.. have been pretty busy lately.. will be leaving for my honeymoon next wed.. and will only be back in mid June.. will update again.=D
ops.. manage to see my bb's heartbeat last Sat.. super touched.. =P

dor> haha.. 3pm sharp will start.. and i'm leaving home soon to go MBR to MU and change and get ready.. hehe.. sooo exciting.. :P
Hahha.. i have a super detailed excel sheet liaoz.. its $60++ k.. hehe....

$10K?? u wish la....
prob just $1k.. hahah...
coz give 7 tables liaoz...

green> no need so high grade la...drink liaos also liek that. haha...
pinjin is not si dian jin.. pinjin is ang pow money to give.. hehe...

straylamb> thanks. :P

YL> thanks. :P

hahaha.. drinking session?? make it ladies nite then.. hha..thur???

Gina> thankks...

Alrite ladies... 4 more hours to my ROM>. tata!

praisey>glad the 'wedding' went well for you.
FH and I are not serving sharks fins. Parents didn't really object.

shybride>Best of luck with M&M. 3 weeks is a little short for MTM, I think, based on what I was tld by Nicola. But its a good idea to try out the CS then you can decide if you really like it. Who knows, one of the OTR gowns might fit you perfectly then you can save $ too.

Rach,
Enjoy your romantic moment!

For my wine, I'm not buying extra bottles. Only half of them drink red wine. 20 bottles provided for 20 tables should be enough. Of cos dun need to buy high grade wines, all goes out at the end of the day haha.

Hope our AhNET has recovered. Me having flu for past 2 days. On friday, I had 7 meetings. After my last meeting ends at 5plus, I was so tired that I slept 2hours in office before going home! LOL

Prov,
Cos think my HTB's braces cannot be taken off in due time for PS in July...aargh i hope we don't have to rush for the albums if we take PS at a later date

LSnTYL,
I like Melody's gowns too....simple, classy and sweet....

shybride,
i guess the gowns we are talking abt includes those for PS too....But you girls seem to have quite a number of gowns for AD as well...some of you having a gown for sending away of guests right? And I just decided to make an EG for my AD...otherwise I'll just have 1 gown for AD
How come need to spend so much $$ on guo da li?? I thought the things that need to be bought for guo da li are the relatively cheap ones? oh dear oh dear....let us know how ur guo da li went okie?

Praisey,
any pics to show us?? How come its tiring? But i'm glad that you had a good rehearsal

gals, i need ur help .... where do ur go to ask for the counting of ur wedding dates ???

Cuz mishap had happen to my geomancer, so i'm now lookin for a new one to assist me with the timings of all the procession ...

Ur can email me the details of ur Geomancer??

dor & green:
i felt fortunate after reading your true stories. Though i come from an unhappy family too but it still wasnt tat bad. Sometimes i tried to put the burden down but when hatred becomes a habit it is hard to let go...

rach:
you rom today??? grats! the weather has been kind so far. Enjoy your day!

Rach, today's weather is so good. You're lucky. Remember to post your beautiful pics

I asked my FH about gg JB with you gals to print invitation card, he dont allow

hey gals, saying hi from kl! I just bought 2 pairs of shoes from Vincci for about 60 sing. Quite happy with them. but just for casual use, not for wedding

oh i like melody's gown too. it suits her really well. But i dun think personally i like something so simple for myself. maybe just for ps.

crown,

Let him be, since he's the one paying... keke.

I told my boyfriend, he was surprised it's so much cheaper... then he told me, he paid deposit to Tdragon liao *faint*

spoiltbabe, green,

I used to it liao. When I was a kid, I'ld think why God give me a family like tt. I feel so ashamed of them. But everytime I'm down, I just pray to God to see me through and He has nvr failed me.

Now I feel, it's bcos of all these that I've gone through, that makes me who I am today, and my life is not too bad now. I'm stronger, more optimistic, more faith in God and I've learnt to appreciate my mum and my sisters and my bf more.

Although I'm still v angry w him, but I still pray everyday for him to change and have a better life. I don't feel sad anymore. In fact, I love my life now, and very excited about the future.

I feel more sad for those people in Myanmar, who has no food, no drinks, lost their families and their homes...

green>hope you recover soon!

crown>no choice lor. Maybe he worried about the safety. He's concerned about you I guess.

dor>since he paid the deposit le then save you trouble lor.

Gambatte, green and dor. You 2 are strong.