(2008) Brides of year 2008

rjwedding

hey ladies: i've just collected my cards yesterday.. very nice.. will show u all the pictures later when i reached home.. had my food tasting yesterday too, but pretty disappointed with the food.. not really up to my expectation.. will be making lots of changes to the menu... but luckily my hb says he will settled the menu.. so i don't need to bother about that.. now 2 things off my list.. next is??

~sblbee~

lsntyl,
oic....when it's done den i'll post it up on multiply, now still in wip stage :p my fh n i enjoy doing all d small designs for our wedding so it'll look different frm others but i wonder if it'll wk out :p
hehehe...same here, im tempted to spend on all these but was thinking no pt buying n storing up cos i dun even have a lovenest

gingerbread_gal

LSnTYL,
share how the whitening essence works for you ok?

Luvz,
don't worry, i think i got the least gowns - 3 from my BS then thinking of using my own dress for PS..... For me, one week before the PS, will meet up with PG to discuss on locations etc....I heard of some BS whereby the discussion of locations takes place on the day of PS itself.....check with your PS.

Meiling,
I've been busting every budget we set for the wedding
so gotta watch my expenditure....

lsntyl

Meiling>yeps, but I was thinking stuff like bedsheets and towels, we'll definitely need. So maybe can buy at GSS. Only furnishings cannot get... :p

Jac>no prob. If works, I'll tell everyone! :D

I only have 1 WG and 1 EG from my BS. Just confirmed MTM a short CS to use as tea-dress.

pinjie8275

Hi, anyone consider Mauritius?

We have shortlisted this place at the last Natas Fair. They usually have great deals and discounts for honeymooners. Most package include stay at suite, full board and FOC sea activities.

cutiephinphin

Hi lSnTYL
You're not alone... I also only have 1WG 1EG from my BS. I mtm a CS as tea dress which I will also be wearing to send the guests off.

Will be getting 2 shoes though. That was the advice from my BS coordinator. He said it's better to have 2 shoes. And in the case there are probs with that 1st pair you have a back up as well.

pjan

Me having problem with MIL. She told my mum that they are modern Teochew. so my mum when to check the auspiciious time for my wedding date(i can only left the hse after 9am). And last tuesday, she drop a bomb( she say she keep forgetting to inform us) insisting that i have to reach her place b4 9am on my AD as their teochew tradition(which she want to follow).

And my MU can only come at earliest at 7am to do my makeup as she already have a bride at 5.30am.

My mum is unhappy as i m the only daughter and my MIL refuse to give in too. my MIL always like to give me problems.

Haiz...i really don't what to do.

~sblbee~

jac,
same here, my budget for my wedding busted long ago :p have to control my expenditure cos my mum kept on nagging n said she didnt spend so much in d past etc :p

lsntyl,
sigh....think i'll wait cos i got no space to store all these things as well cos i'll b staying at my place until i got my own lovenest den my mum kept nagging...so dun think i'll b buying anymore :p
btw, i'll b going down to M&M tm to send my long CS for extra beadings....

polarwhite80

hi koyoyo,
need to go gym fast fast liao.... my membership will expire on 14th June 2008.... i going to bring my customise car plate for PS....

hi cyc,
u can go faceshop to buy their fake lashes.... $4.95 per pair.... can use like 2-3 times.... the quality much better than sasa wan.... for newbie like us, get cheaper wan, spoilt liao, not so heartache ah.... hahaha.... O2 skin shop also got sell but X, at $20 per pair..... then use shu umera de glue cos i dun "trust" faceshop de glue....

hi porsche,
welcome ! i am taking PS end of this mth.... is going for final fitting tomolo....

simplyserene

Hi R&J. I'm looking forward to seeing your invites!

Sigh... My fiance's down with fever. It's up & down and not really going away. I hope and pray it's not dengue. If the fever doesn't go away by tonight, he'll have to go to hospital tmrw. Feeling very worried for him.

cutiephinphin

meiling
It'll be 1 WG n 1 EG (both mtm) for pre-wedding shoots & AD.

There is complimentary tea dress or KUA but I dont want to wear KUA so that is out. There isn't size for me for tea dress too so that's why i mtm a CS on my own.

ermmm

luvz : I had always had that in mind since I saw an ex-colleague's honeymoon photos. If you really are considering, you may wan to try to find out more based on how he managed it. He claimed miles to go to Sydney and took a package from an Australian travel agent. I believe it is cheaper in Aus, cos lots of Aussies do travel there..

lsntyl

cutiephinphin>hee, we're really the same! I got 2 pair of heels too so I'll have a backup just in case.

Meiling>good luck with the beading. You will be meeting Nicola? Maybe can ask her if got discount since you bought a few pieces from her before? :p

lexilicious

porsche
my PS is in July
Don't worry, I'm probably one of the last few peeps as it is

cyc,
I've heard good things about shu umera's eyelash glue.. to the point that everytime I go ask, they're completely sold out~

koyoyo
dear girl, which gym are you with? I'm signing up with Planet Fitness from May to Dec heheh... one more extra one to go to...

tinky,
my stomach says go for the caterer with better food, never mind the face. Would be worse if people comment the food is not nice in front of the "home caterer" lol.
BTW hollywood tape is similar to doublesided tape except it's made for skin(?). I'm afraid I'm a bit cheapo about this and i just use normal double-sided tape usually. I feel it works just as well and without the ridiculous pricetag
Basically what I've read is some models use normal masking tape to "shape/lift" their breasts aka tape up from bottom and side and push in for the cleavage and use normal doublesided tape to make sure that their clothes stay on. Would suggest you go try out all options

sue
I like chocolates for wedding favours! My only worry is that I would eat up my OWN wedding favours because I like chocolates too!

Melody
ooo which part of US you guys going? Me also wanna go! Actually considering between US and doing the Alaska cruise (this one is next year though). Shopping is so super appealing but so is eating non-stop on a ship with full room service! *greedy pig face*

~sblbee~

cutiephinphin,
actually it's gd oso to have less gowns, can concentrate more on ur poses n photo taking cos no need to rush for time n change up n down :p n oso less pics will b taken as compared to many gowns one...so wont have to spend so much $ to top up :p
oic, u went to mtm ur CS like lsntyl? gd leh...got any pic to see? i only buy OTR...so will b v common design de

lsntyl,
hehehe....thanks gal! i duno if i'll b seeing her tm cos alst sat she was not ard...i'll juz drop by n tell them wat i want for d CS den have to rush off le, duno if they'll give me a discount though cos i bought 4 pc at no discount at all, apart frm d pc on 50% sale

princess_sue

Hehe lex, I love choco too… I am a choc fan man… love it to bits. I agree with you.. I think I will eat my own favours :p

Koyoyo/mei, you can bring props to take pics … I bought balloons from (centrepoint) 5th story I think. You can customize it. ïŠ But do only collect it on the day itself if you have the time. Otherwise like me… the balloon kinda lost its air … So xian…. So didn’t really take much of it. To think the gal still say can last a week… ( ya last a week looking deflated)

I brought my soft toy too:p hehehehe

cutiephinphin

meiling
we don't hv intention of topping up our photos as I think it should be relatively enough for the album. We will be getting all our images in digital format too so no need to top up lor.

As for CS, I met with the designer and he's done a sketch & 1st measurement. However we will only finalize the design when I go for my confirmed measurement in june / jul afterwhich he will start doing my CS. Too many dates to remember so I can't remember the exact month
But believe he'll call me...

Initially I had the intention of doing a short CS too but the designer convinced me to do a long one...

cutiephinphin

Hi Jac

Not kidding you... my coordinator said he had this bride who went barefoot for the rest of the wedding event as her shoe heel broke and she didn't have another pair. You know how some shoes are or can be when you're walking on carpet etc. Anyway she was a bubbly person so she just carried on on barefoot. (reminded me of Mentos ad. Hee...)

My BS is with BV and pg is with tri-angles.

lsntyl

cutiephinphin>mine is the opp of yours. Initially I wanted to do a long CS but was persuaded to do a short CS at M&M. Oso good. save me $. :p

Jac>maybe can get a cheap pair? The shoes is just in case bah.

Meiling>you know what kind of beading you want already? Maybe you can call Nicola to check if she's there? I can pass you her number if your dont have it.

providencia

koyoyo, I have a silly idea, we can help fill up the seats in your church wedding. lol

MeiLing, so finally decided to add more beadings? It'll definitely look nicer. Are u sacrificing a coach bag or some shoes for it? Hee

I have one 1 WG, 1 EG, 1 kua and 1 short CS for AD. Prob will only use the WG and ROM dress for PS.

I'm also bursting budget for this wedding. I have concluded that a cheap wedding is an oxymoron.

2 pairs of shoes is reasonable, ya, cos really more safe.

Anyone going for the DBS card bazaar? Vera bridal, Vera maid, alldressedup and some other big brands are having sale up to 80%. Wonder if I should go and have a look, not that I'll buy anything. ;)

gingerbread_gal

Oh well, since you girls said it... then might as well use the excuse to get the Nine West shoes that I saw.....

cutiephinphin,
BV is by Michelle Huimin right?
what's your gown gonna be like? have you started the mtm process? I kinda like the gowns featured in the ads by BV....but I didn't it during my BS shopping....

cyc

lex, fakies glue from shu umera is such a hot item?! k.. better grab it soon!

sue, you brought ur soft toy for PS? so sweet...

koyoyo, i dont blame mum for short eyelashes lah.. (just kidding) hee..
well, thank God I have eyes to see! not handicapped.. that's a blessing alr!

mei, single eyelids are attractive also! i'm proud to be the only one with single eyelids amongst my siblings.
don't need double lah..

vividz

I will collect my cards today. R&J which menu u take, how come not up to ur expectation, can tell me y? so I can take notice during my food tasting next wed. Thanks.

s'rene, better to go hospital to check out wat's wrong? I guess might be the weather not so gd lately, many ppl got sick. hope ur FB will be fine soon.

~sblbee~

sue,
hehehe....think i'll bring a truckload of stuff to my PS given dat i got to bring lotsa shoes n accessories...hehehe, better bring a suitcase :p hehehe, balloons r nice but im not so much a balloon person, duno wat else i can bring apart frm my toys...hehehe, im gona to bring my card games n nintendo DS so my fh n i can feature in our pics as well :p

cyc,
hehehe....i dun really mind my single eyelids too but smtimes will really feel sian dat i kinda look tired w/o eye makeup...n oso beside my fh who has big eyes n long eyelashes den my eyes appear super small :p

raragal

crown> really?? hahahah... then congrats!

YL> oh.. i mean the red wine.. the one i should be getting.. likely is $16.80 per bottle..
i have full waiver of corkage.. so.. yup..

dor.. yeah.. its fri... tmr is sat.. my ROM.. hahaha.. :p

FH forbid me to be online tonite.. to sleep early.. so. dun think i'll come in tonite liaoz.. see ya all tmr nite!! haha... :p

~sblbee~

cutiephinphin,
oh dat's great...at least u wont burst ur budget like me...my cousin used BV last yr for her wedding n my jc fren is oso using BV for his wedding in jun tis yr
d gowns r simple yet elegant
i remember my cousin has a lovely pink EG, it really brings out her elegance

michelle huimin was so chic as she was dressed in tailored vest n pants wif long sleeve shirt
i remembered her cos was helping my cousin at her reception n she actually attended my cousin's solemnisation n wedding banquet...wah, i cant believe a designer actually attends her own client's wedding, it's so cool

u got ur CS frm BV too? or u got it frm elsewhere?

jac,
juz buy 1 more pair which is not ex one, nine west has pretty nice shoes as well cos dat is for backup only...hehehe, now u know y i need so many pairs le cos need backup mah...*dat's juz my lame excuse* :p

lsntyl,
hehehe...i shd b asking for d same type of beading used on d button ba....i've got her namecard, tried calling her but no answer...will call to chk wif her again, thanks for ur reminder!

providencia,
yah i finally decide to add more beadings alrdy, at least have 1 more thing off my mind...if not, can b stressful if i keep thinking abt it :p hope it'll look nice too...dun think it'll b as ex as a coach bag or paradox shoes so shd b ok :p
my cousin's who's wking at shangrila said she'll b going to see d bridal showcase by vera wang on 25 may...said d lavender series is out...den asked if i had chosen my gown den i told her i got no $ for vera wang

sairalinde

HEY OCT BTBs

I am back, still abit croaking due to my very manly voice. But feeling MUCH much better. Thanks alot.

Polar...Heee you and me next in line for PS. Gosh...i am still no where near to slimming down. Still feeling fat. in a way...lucky i fell sick ...cld not eat for a few days. How is your prep??

cyc,
My MUA recommend for me to use her eyelashes @ $25 bucks. So thought just use it. But i had heard raving reviews of Shu U from my gfs too. May consider...

Sue: I already got my flat in Admiralty. Anyone here also got flats there? Mine is a resale 5Rm. So far been trying to pin reno down at $30k but so far quotation back seems around $40k to $50k...
My reno target to start on 31st July before the actual 7th mth begins.

KUDOs to all of us for making through so far- All Prettiest Oct btbs!

bedazzle

haha...
Rach, Hope you have a GREAT day tmr!!!!Wat time's your ROM?

So good you have free corkage. My corkage is $20++ per bottle of wine *faint*
If buy from them is $38++ per bottle of red wine. It's more than those 5star hotels liao...
=(

Crown,
Yes agree about BALANCING SKILLS! Haha I always keep losing balance whenever I wore my 3 inch siletto heels with gowns. I tend to wear 1-2inch heels normally.

Nevermind, u can wear the shoes for formal occasions in future. Then the money not wasted

Rach,
$16.80 is good price. My hotel quotes $32 but the wine is higher grade than average.

Are you bringing hard liquor in for banquet? I know old folks drink it.

lexilicious

hi addy
hahah oh dear.. manly voice? Never mind la.. it'll pass in a couple of days, glad to know you're feeling better
LoL using your sick days as a slimming method ah? Kekek... better drink more water to hydrate then..

About renov - I heard that prices are going up in this quarter due to inflation thus material cost increase and etc etc.. We're like to get a flat too but prices are so not nice now.. looking for a 4-5room resale in the Bedok area cuz we're both easties

sue
yah man I agree with mei.. the first and last thing I see all the time is your stuffie! LoL.. he's cute but the love of my life is my towel/blanket - i'm like Linus from Peanuts/Charlie Brown... drag it around and around ahahah..

Mei
You carry so many things, better have someone to carry all! I don't thin it's going to be fun to be sweating, wearing a gown and tottering around in 4 inch heels with a truckload of stuff le~

Dor,
Which banquet venue u having?

My hotel quotes $32 for the wine alone. My corkage is waived for first 10 bottles. Corkage is $14 per bottle. $38 is exp. Are u having any wine provided in package? Hope u have! Every table needs 1 bottle of wine.

cutiephinphin

Well I can't say that my budget is not burst. Maybe not on the bridal package... on the other stuffs for the wedding. It's difficult to compare as our BS & packages are different. Like for my case, I sourced for my own pg. So that is already at a diff price compared to most of you hving inhouse pgers.

Yes I knew right away that I wanted BV as my BS. Although I did enquire with another BS but it was just more as a comparison to make sure I'm making the right choice and to know the current package prices.

Yes although some ppl commented Michelle has airs etc but she is actually rather friendly and pleasant to talk to and even though you may be just taking the cheapest and simplest package, you can still be assured of her 100% commitment to your gowns. Erm I've not officially met her for my gowns designing. Just spoke on the phone so far. My appt will be next month. Can't wait for it to come...

If you know the celebrities Melody & Randall, they just had their wedding last month and their BS is also BV. I really loved the gowns that melody wore so I can't wait to see my own...

Jac
I saw some nice shoes from nine west too but I didn't get any yet as I don't know what my colors for my EG will be. Will just get my shoes later once at least the sketch of my gowns are out

Thanks for listening to my rambling about my MTM gown.
I'm not asking for any compensation (refund or extra pics) from BS, so they make no loss if let me give up my MTM gown. That prob explain why they agree lor.

xinyi_reiko

Kittyng, yaya.. getting nervous day by day.. like not enough time to get things done.. hehe..

pjan, maybe you consider to change your mua?

~sblbee~

cutiephinphin,
glad to know dat u have a wonderful experience at BV, sure my cousin shared d same sentiments as u...wah i didnt know melody n randall is a couple, but they do look gd tgr...any chance of their wedding pics featuring in bridal magazines? i wana see...

ebride

Meiling Jie jie: Im also single eyelid, when I smile cannot hardly see my eyes..unless I open it really big like this @.@
Nah check with Hilltop liao, they dun provide & no contact given. So ned to do own hunting.
Same my HTB pays my meals. But my mum says hw he feeds me until so skinny whereas he gain weight instd..hhaah

Ai ya women says dun want verbally, actually inside the heart means "Wo yao Wo yao"

Aya: try k**L already, prices still too exp after discount.

Koyoyo: wow u gt the ink!! Sound so Qim..mine at hilltop dun provide favors. Hahhaa its me lah 4 the IPL thing, its in my notebook. Err..fake nails sound pain to me..no way man!!

Porsche: share acct means he will see what we write here?? U gt a spy here...just joking

Lex: I owe u the IPL info also?
Any1 want? Kindly PS me..

Props for PS sessions?? Seems that u gals r talented to come up with such good ideas, can join TCS crew team liao..

cutiephinphin

hi meiling
Erm i don't have the links but you can actually search on yahoo on their wedding. That's what I did. I actually found out by accident that their BS is BV too.

Not sure if it's themselves or they paid someone to do a video using their still photos. Very nice...

annabella

Take note that if you buying fake eyelashes for photoshoot, try to avoid those with bling bling on the lashes, my MUA advise me againtst using those for PS becoz he said it will look sort of dirty/messy in PS, prob becoz of the studio lihtings.

He said it's okie to use for AD.

lsntyl

rach> Have a great ROM tomorrow. Hope it goes smoothly.

Green>I need to source for hard liquor cos FIL and his friends drink.

PJ only gives me free corkage for about 12 tables. Still wondering whether to get from them or source my own. They quote 22++ per bottle.