(2008) Brides of year 2008

tks polar on the fakies glue info! will pop by a shu umera counter this weekend to get!

mei, will update you if it works! wah.. if i can do it myself, then can wear it everyday for work and look prettier! haha...

cheryl, that shop in delfi orchard not ex meh? me too still thinkng abt wedding favors.. for church ceremony. what abt gg across the causeway? i thought of that but also dunno where to go to get best deals.

sharon, i thought abt thailand too. but checked out the air tix prices.. not worth the price and trouble i guess. busy trying to do up house, get furniture, keep fit, stay in shape, get accessoriesm, etc.. the list is long!!! ;p anyways, welcome to Oct brides thread!

lsntyl,
heheheh....i alrdy kena scolded for buying so many pairs of shoes le so i cant comment anything...hehehe :P ok, dun see alrdy, im trying to stop my roving eyes for shoes too :P

Jac,
we are going to a Jap restaurant later.

LSnTYL,
stop buying stop buying stop buying.......
Oh Meiling, this applies to you too.

cheryl,
u need to get wedding favours? tot d restaurant provides? cos i got a nice key holders frm my colleague's wedding last yr :P i think to spend extra on wedding favours dat's too ex is not worth it...cos my frens commented dat they'll juz chuck it aside if it's not practical which i agree oso...all my wedding favours dat i got r collecting dust in my drawers :P

sharon,
welcome to d oct thread!

cyc,
hehehe....i cant even manage to do fake double eyelids...so i gave up on fake eyelashes cos i'll sure rub my eyes de...perhaps when i use it during my AD den will look more drama n can see d difference :P

llyn, but i was already sick during my PS. and it jus get worse after the PS over. imagine i PS from 9.30am all the way up to 9pm leh. i din even feel hungry at all. only drank a can of soyabean milk in the morning on the way out and a slice of ya kun bread in the afternoon only. then all the time was phototaking, changing clothes and change hairstyle.

my bf's mum brew liang teh too. started drinking it ytd. now the medi i take liao got no effect liao, wont even feel like sleeping anymore.

yet the cough wont go away and i still feel a bit feverish.

somemore the clinic downstairs a bit sian de, see the doctor 3 times, each time see different doctor there de. all the doctors in the clinic are part timers de. not even one is full time there. sian. dunno wat management is dat lor. the only good thing abt the clinic is that its under my company listed clinics, so i dun have to pay when i see the doctor.

llyn, where in JB did u all go? for the invites and stuff for GDL? is it really better than wat we have here?

dor, wat supplements to take?

ive been taking vitamin c from doctor in the office de. if i din take vitamin c, i think i sick long time ago le.

wat other supplements do you recommend?

thanks crown

lsntyl,
as u see, nelle is our finance controller so we must listen to her else she'll nag n chant at us...hehehehe, she'll make sure we r as rich n debt free as she is :P

nelle,
shi fu bie nian le....hehehe, juz joking....thanks for ur reminder else my hands, legs n eyes will get itchy to buy things again :P

hee, thanks, nelle. I just splurged on a whitening essence yesterday. Cos I heard it really works. Then when I told FH I bought it yesterday, he say he like my freckles.

Now cracking head over whether to print own invites or just print inserts in JB. :P

Anyone have lobangs for wine? Need to source for that soon...

Net>wah, sounds really bad wor the clinic.
Like this no followup, how the doctor help you. Can change doctor or not?

We went City Square in JB. I won't say it is better but it is certainly cheaper. I haven't looked at the GDL shops in SG so cannot comment. For printing, TnT definitely works out cheaper whether printing invites or inserts. I find the paper for the invites not thick enough but FH and his family feel it is good enough. Inserts is standard lor.

End of the day, depends on which you can spare more - time or $. Go JB can save $ but more troublesome and takes more time. Don't forget you need to go back 1 week later to collect the cards/inserts. But then in SG, will have to wait for a few weeks, I heard.

ask you ladies, did anyone went outdoor shooting and had insects trapped in the "can can"??

heard fr my friends that they encounter grasshoppers trapped inside while they're taking photos on those areas with grass

Eeek, after hearing it, my hairs all stands.

wah... so much in just one day.. i missed soo much man.. faint... hahaha....

neko> hahhaa... Its ok la.. i very detailed.. so the address bothered me alot.. i like perfect.. i was telling my FH my Cert not perfect liaoz..
hahhaa.. then he dun wan me to nag him for life.. coz i told him to go change his NRIC coz he got add in his christian name after water baptism..
He lost his cert.. then didnt managed to get it replaced on time.. we were running madly yest.. then finally got a lawyer to do a deed poll.. $80!!!
Then today went to sign and went ICA change new NRIC... then went to ROM change cert, change name change venue...
So now its nice nice liaoz.. hahhaa...
we were originally thinking to change or not.. but knowing me.. he said better spend that $15..else i'll nag him for life.. which i think i will..
Hahha.. so clever of him to go thru the short term hassle for long term happiness.. hehe...

YL> haha.. yah.. just gotta watch what i really put in my mouth.. really discipline.. and do crunches.. haha.. but dun think there's much effect..
Coz only 4 days.. but i think..maybe a little bit la.. hahaha.. :P

DrX??? sooo ex rite?? SUntec?? my Pedicurist was telling me yest that she had a package with them.. $1800.. faint...
I never have such ex facial ones...
YL.. go to ..... Epi Treatz at Marine Parade.. next to Teresa... i feel their products really good.. i managed to have a package at $780 i think.. but 10 or 12 times..
includes neck and eye treatments.. really not bad... :P
My FH used to stay at Marine Parade area.. so i went to PP quite often.. but i took the package when i went there for trial.. hehe. :P

Hahahha... frame up..he's quite a nice person la.. too bad.. we are all here attached.. hahahha.. :P

OOh... he saw some shoes that he liked issit?? hahhaha..end June okay rite?? :P
We set a date in June la...

Then see who wanna go with us..

green> hahaha.. ya so true.. but i do keep my fren's wedding invites leh.. i have a stack at home..
hahaha.. now can use for reference also. haha.. :P
You can do at Yishun?? Blk 293. The lady not bad. i think manicure is $20.. and she's very creative.. if u can take artwork..
she can do real nice ones too.. its abt $30 for whole set of manicure.. :P
so total $50.. but if u just want simple. then $20 loh.. need to make appt.. i goin on fri 230pm.. to do manicure...
did my pedi last nite at Jurong.. had a package which is 2 years back.. and i didnt know they changed boss liaoz..
Almost didnt get to do it.. but mine was a new package.. paid $200 for 7 times previously.. and i didnt do 1 yet.. coz i took up new package after the old one finished..
But too far.. so drag till now.. its a Ultimate Spa Pedicure.. super nice one.. haha. but its not that ex..for such an intense treatment..
Thats why i went there this time round.. so no need to pay cash.. but paid $8... coz i did french. heh..

Tmr go yishun do mani.. :P

crown> haha.. we all have freckles.. i have it since young.. think its inherited.. my mum alot also.. :P

Ah Net> dun think they will refund.. too bad that you dun wan it de.. so.. just dun wear it.. wasted loh..

dor> i yet to print.. but will spend abt $505 to print 500pcs of personalised invites.. refer to my multiply..
id:rayrachel
i took a few pics.. under JB Finding..
If its just inserts, it'll be RM$60 for 1st 100pcs.. subseq 100 at RM$20...
so if u print 300pcs.. its be RM$100
Confirmed cheap..

But we are not printing inserts.. but printing personalised cards...

Oh... they dun have shiny gold at JB.. only matt.. its like those laser printer material.

So no embossed also..

If its just inserts. it'll be RM$100 for 300pcs of inserts.. :P
Means about $45 Sing..
Very cheap rite? almost 25% of what u are paying loh...

T&T at JB has alot of samples.. so u dun have to worry.. just go down with the names will do. :P

Park at Woodlands loh...then take bus in.

its very easy one.. ask YL!

crown> anyway to convince him? else u can go in with us to print.. hehehe. we are goin in end June.. you can follow and see see 1st..
if u really like.. u can go in with us in early Jul..when we are picking it.. to print urs.. takes 1 week to print only.

Coz T-Dragon we suspect also print in JB..thats why take so long to collect and be ready.. :P

green> no la.. no jams.. we go by foot.. it was only long Q that day when we go.. at JB custom.. else.. everything else is okay...
Had a relatively nice and cheap meal at Secret Recipe too. haha..the cakes are awesome. Abt $3++per piece loh!
We usually go early afternoon.. back by 7-8pm..

how come no show u the cloth one??
I was there choosing with my designer.. i was the one who looked thru the whole book of colors and material..then we shortlist from there..

and ended up with my color and material..then she do the matching of chiffon color for me...
the rest i leave to her. coz just simply trust her.. and i think i'm pretty happy with it!

YL forget to say
ya my facial is at yis
$50 for normal facial and shoulder massage..

btw...i oso nv get to c my cloth materials for my MTM..
only show e designer e pic..
-_-'''

Rach,

not a bad idea to go in with you gals to see the cards. let me go and check with my future in laws and see what's their plan

YL> actually got thicker paper.. slightly thicker one.. its matt.. but coz ours is the got design one. thats why a little thinner..

hehe.. we actually use the same kind of paper.. but turn out very diff..

Coz diff design.. did u count ur invites??
I dint count the last time. but think they gave us abt 60.. even though we paid for 50.. coz i still got plenty left. and wrote wrongly a few too.
thank God.. hehe.. :P

Yah.. SG need to wait a few weeks.. JB.. as i said.. to me.. like going to Jurong Point only.. so i dun feel that troublesome..
just need to bring passport and be a little more cautious..else its pretty safe de.. :P

neko> so unlike u to let designer decide.. he dun have the material to choose on the spot meh??

i had my PS on monday... fun but tiring, plus i sick.

i did not go to toilet at all. dunno leh, no urge.
and surprisingly, no insects at all, at least to my senses, i dun feel any insect bite on me.

crown> yeah. u think abt it loh. else can take it as going shopping with us.. my FH bought a pair of PUMA shoes.. $37.. haha.. but dunno real or not. but he likes it.. and comfortable..tats all that matters.

My heels for EG.. is only $27.. hahah... :P

$27! so cheap. i have only one shoe and it's customised at Leaping lizard. Tomorrow gg to pick them up. $200plus, a bit heart pain

crown> wah.. $200++ ..faint... i can bao alot of AP liaoz.. hahaha... :P

Still contemplating the one at Arcade - $79.90 or the one at my neighbourhood - $39.90
Both are very different. and maybe i go steal another shot of my neighborhood one.. then u all can help to give some comments.. heh.. :P

yah.. neko is kirei... :P

rach, if you all going to JB to print cards, tell me. i may join u all. since it's cheaper over there.

crown, you gg to wear your customised shoes for both PS and AD is it?

rach, take pic of both shoes and put on multiply ba. den ppl will comment which is better de.

btw, i din see ur gown pic at all leh. you put on multiply le mah?

eh kire, i jus remb i still have my birds nest wif u. haiz. dun thk i can collect it any time soon. why not you eat my share first ba? cos i dunno when i can take from you.
thanks and sorry

gals, i need help here.

nw dat ive done PS, wat needs to be done for the next step?

i understand that for the whole month of august, we are supposed not to do any wedding prep at all right, cos it's the chinese 7th mth.

actually when is the time to finalise guest list, table arrangements, printing of cards and sending out of cards?

do you all sms or ask verbally ppl whether they can make it for your wedding dinner or do you jus send out the invites to them and ask them to rsvp? my fren asked verbally first, den only send cards to those who wan to attend. but i personally find it a bit weird leh, where got ppl ask verbally den send out invite de? right?

and for the table arrangments issue, do we need to ask MIL whether she wan to do her own table arrangment or we have to do her guests seating arrangement?

my bf will be taking the house wine from the hotel instead of us sourcing ourselves. he says not much cheaper also. might as well jus leave it to our coordinator to do, save us some energy and time too.

and for the printing of cards or inserts, i've told my bf abt u all gg to JB, which is cheaper. then he says see how first lor.
wtf lor. everything also 'see how first'. sianz. guys... haiz.

another thing, im quite sure that our PS photos will turn out to be very pretty and nice. and that of cos will make us choose more photos than our designated number of photos, which is 34, i think.

den i told my bf sure will choose some more photos de. and guess wat he say?

huh, you mean you really wan to spend extra money on the photos meh? afterall, after a while, the photos album wil be chuck under the bed or in the store room de lor. den wat for waste money on it? somemore we both not much spare cash for extra photos.

dat day after our PS, he can still say botanic gardens, we can choose abt 10 or so, den mayb studio shots we dun take so many lor, take more on outdoor.

he also say jus choose those that we like and then from the stack, we re-select again, until we reach the number of photos we have lor. (34 or 36photos)

i was like, sianz lor, y cannot choose more photos? den he say our PG/VG on AD already very expensive le. somemore, PG only mah, the photos are jus to show off to ppl only lor. 0_0"

cos one extra photo costs $75 and $95 for digital.

den i say mayb we will prob choose abt 10 or 20 extra.

den my bf say huh??? like dat will cost 1000+ or close to 2000 leh. he thinks i think he print money one is it? sianz.

i wan go japan for honeymoon also dunno can or not nw... he say he not much money le...

btw, do you all split honeymoon costs wif ur hubby?

my fren split everything wif her hubby. i was like wah, you silly lor, y must split costs wif ur hubby, let him pay all lah.

den my bf say we share the cost of going japan lah. i was like sianz leh, honeymoon also need me to fork out money meh? why like dat de lor.

how ar ?

Wow Rach,

Your post always long long one leh... =) Dun think will go JB n print since they don't hv the gold ink, cos my bf likes the gold ink. Actually T dragon doesn't take long leh. They told me 10 days.

Ah Net,
I take Royal Jelly, Cod liver oil, primrose oil, brand's chicken essence but the pill form. I don't take Vit C, but I do take fruits on regular basis out of habit.

Actually it's v common to ask verbally b4 giving invitation cards nowadays. All my friends do that.

So I do that too. I inform them early bcos 14 sept is a hot date, and I'm scared they'll agree to other pple's invitations, then end up cannot come for mine. So it's just "kiasuism" I wanna "choppe" them first, even b4 my invites are out.

As for my PIL side, I totally "bo chap". Will leave it to them to do their own arrangements. Same for table arrangement. I do my own arrangement for my side. Then they do what they like with their tables.
This is to avoid conflict lor. Good also then I don't need to hv headache over it. My tables are easy to arrange.So far contacted 80% of the pple I'm inviting and they've confirmed their attendance liao. Only 2 friends can't make it cos their wedding in sept too.

I plan to print my invites by June, send them out to friends in July. As for relatives, it'll be after "GDL" which is 2 wks b4 my AD.

I actually have a rough table arrangement liao for my side since they already confirmed their attendance. Just need to reconfirm maybe 1-2 wks b4 my AD.

ok dor. btw, where is T Dragon? seen this word many times before in previous threads, but always jus glance thru, never really knw wats it abt

btw, is it normal to be feverish for 4 days? ive been having fever for 4 days le...
though nw its nt like 38 degrees, but i can feel that i still having fever.

wah dor, you take so many supplements? but sadly for me, i cant take those at all, cos all in very big pill form, i cant swallow big pills de. i cant even swallow those anti-biotics capsules, must open the casing and pour out the powder den eat. stupid me, jus cannot swallow pills at all.

Ah Net,

Don't be angry lah. From another angle, I think your hubby is being v prudent. He doesn't spend money unnecessarily. You've married a good hubby. It's not that he doesn't care or dote on you. Maybe he really finds it financially taxing. And he looks at the long term, of the 2 of you living together, have children, it's a lot of commitment. Did you offer to pay for anything? Really anything, maybe his tie, his suit or whatever, as a gesture? Then maybe he'll feel guilty... haha..

No lah, not to make him feel guilty, but to let him know that you appreciate it lor.

My wedding is entirely paid by my boyfriend, without any help from parents too. I didn't fork out a single cent, although I offered to pay for my own gowns/ the wedding bands etc. But he say no need.
We have no plans for honeymoon yet though. It's not the most impt issue for us right now.

Maybe talk to him a bit...baby talk him a bit see how... haha.

Oh ya.. and my bf loves to say "see how" too. they're like tt lah.
But actually it's true that having too many photos might not be money well spent. $75 for 1 photo is ridiculous!! Actually I find 30+ photos already enough liao.

Maybe compromise, set a budget, say $500 for additional photos, instead of $1000?

My photo package is ala carte and comes with 40-60 photos, and all (including not selected ones) soft copy returned, so no prob on tt.

hi cyc, ya mine provided fakies haha... and they really do work wonders on the eyes i mus admist but trust me lor i wont ever put them on myself.. its so difficult ( maybe coz i am a make up idiot )

Hi sharon welcome to the oct thread.

hi cheryl, wat type of favours are you looking at and the qty? you can also have chocolates as wedding favours at least for sure they wont go to waste after te dinner. Normally , keychains and other ornament like stuff are just like what mei said, they will be collecting dust somewhere... some pp dun even bring it home after the dinner... which is really money down the drain. So perhaps something more practical would be good if you are thinking of buying them.

dor, i got pay wor. we split half for the AD PG and VG wor.

and for wedding bands, we agreed that he pays mine, i pay his. so, dat's split too.

BS package and hotel package, bf pay lor. but his parents got help also.

and my bf worse, guess wat he says abt honeymoon... "aiya, no need go so far honeymoon lor, we happily in love can liao, like dat is honeymoon everyday already le wat"

ah bish!!!

jus received a phone call from my ex bf. he's getting married on 27th sept!! omg, jus a few days after mine. wtf lor. and guess wat, he's gg europe for honeymoon... haiz, his bride cld have been me....

btw, anyone sign up wif True Yoga? i jus heard from the news that the branch at raffles plc gg to close down this month le. and many customers are sort of stranded.

hi sharon, welcome!!
Wow go oversea to ma fan liao..our ideal favours are photoframe, at least ppl can use them. My HTB dun like keychain, hp chain, chopstick..too common & collect dust in drawer like wat u say. Choco worry it melt, cupcake off budget liao.

cyc: surprisingly the shop at orchard, quote $1.60 per pc..need ard 450pcs..the classic photoframe quite nice lor if see the pic online. So tats y need to see real samples. But if dun give favors, will be funny & stingy lor.

Net,
I agree with Dor. I'll like to have a hb who plans long term like yours!

Comparison breeds unhappiness hehe. Ren Bi Ren Qing Zi Ren. Why not compare with me? Me not gg anywhere honeymoon LOL.

I still feel happy. Honeymoon can always go later when we have more cash. Next time when your hb gets rich, he'll bring u honeymoon monthly until u get sianz!

My BS has agreed to let me take up OTR EG. I'm not asking for any compensation cos I'm partly at fault for not checking on the cloth etc. Hope there'll be more OTR EGs coming in this month!

Hey Jules...Hehe...I think u got it wrong...eml is the one who signed up with Blush Blush...I was about to comment that it's such a cute name!

I'm cutting cost on some wedding items for BF. Haha I think it's not enough cos he kenna $300 summons alone these 2 months! Who ask him not to listen to me whenever I ask him to put more hours of cupons? He's stingy, so always put only 1-hour cupon. I dunno to laugh or to cry over the $300 loss LOL?

Net,
Dun sign up with True Yoga. They always top the CASE list for complaints ;) It's better you join other yoga centres.

Even after customers terminated the lessons, True Yoga continued to deduct from GIRO or credit cards.

polar, dont be too stress, u will definately be a pretty bride on the day of yr PS
Enjoy yr fitting & rem to take more pics

Sue, i dont usually use makeup too, in fact i dont really know how to use hehe.. So im not adventurous in trying to use fake lashes myself...

Mei, lex, nothing much for my bday celebration. Hubby oni managed to rush back from overseas late evening so i went to the airport, waited for him & have dinner there. And the food at the airport is so much more ex as compared to town.

Mei, i get disappointed if i dont get anything too haha even when im the one who tell him not to buy. But he knows me very well, so he will always try to buy something or other times its just things i wanted and he will pay for it, usually no surprises one.

Lex, im also more excited abt going for my shopping trip after the wedding. In fact we already changed some USD & i told my hubby those are my shopping fund haha... My PS is on 28 July, a week after yours. When are u going for yr fitting, looking fwd to seeing yr gowns.