(2008) Brides of year 2008

Hi qunqun... tt's great! I need some help cos never being there b4. first timer. ha! Thank q so much....

Heard from a friend the people there r abit "snobbish". Is it true? Cos he went there 11 yrs ago. Not sure if there's any change since.

What brands are worth 2 buy compared to getting in Singapore, for bags, wallet, clothes, shoes? Heard LV cheaper there. If so, where would b cheaper 2 shop 4 it? Scarly it's cheaper to order online can liaoz. keke. If buy things there, do we need to declare GST at airport?

Do they hv something like factory outlets where things r more economical? Any local market we can explore?

Is it difficult to get around since most items r written in French? Do we need to know abit of French in order to communicate with the people there? If so, what r the "safe-us" phrases?

Any interesting places we can go besides Eifel, Cathedrals, museums?

Paiseh. Ask so many questions in one go.

btw ladies...
Please note that when u efile.. the address u write for the venue is very important..
coz whatver u write for the venue will appear in ur cert's Venue...

Mine was screwed up..
And needed to spend $15 for reprint..
sigh....

My original should be:
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore Poolside, Upper Deck
20 Merchant Road Singapore 123456

Became:
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore Poolside, Upper Deck 20
Merchant Road Singapore 123456

As if there're 20 Upper Deck...
So we decided to scrap everything.. just put
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Coz the officer also say dun put address.. look more grand...
If ROM at ROM, normally only put:
Singapore Registry of Marriage

Never put address also ma...
so we were like.. ooh.. yah.... so.. yeah.... we changed..
tmr going to settle more stuffs.. and reprint the cert... :/

Please note that when u efile.. the address u write for the venue is very important..
coz whatver u write for the venue will appear in ur cert's Venue...

Mine was screwed up..
And needed to spend $15 for reprint..
sigh....

My original should be:
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore Poolside, Upper Deck
20 Merchant Road Singapore 123456

Became:
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore Poolside, Upper Deck 20
Merchant Road Singapore 123456

As if there're 20 Upper Deck...
So we decided to scrap everything.. just put
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore

Coz the officer also say dun put address.. look more grand...
If ROM at ROM, normally only put:
Singapore Registry of Marriage

Never put address also ma...
so we were like.. ooh.. yah.... so.. yeah.... we changed..

green> cant alter liaoz.. the gown is meant for M size.. so i managed to squeeze in not bad liaoz... hahahhaha...
just need to lose a little bit more.... cant bend la....

Yeah... will see how it goes... nails already chipped.. so sianz.. leave for 2 months.. then chipped.. sianz... :\

melody,
hi hi, how did u celebrate ur bday? must have had lotsa fun...or at least it's swt n romantic :P unlike my fh who kept asking me if it's ok dat he dun get me anything for my bday n anniversary cos he needs to save $ for our wedding...n den get me a LV bag during our honeymoon....so sad man

d nxt shd b addy n polarwhite going for their PS le...im so scared sia...

msclaire, u are a fast worker, i haven't really worked on my guestlist yet. But we have delegated the relative lists to the parents to decide who to invite and who not to. We'll only handle the friends list. Each side is given a quota based on the seating capacity.

hi bitchy wife and sharene, here's my list of what needs to be done (adapt it to suit yourself):

Compile guest list, and organize addresses
Reserve ceremony and reception sites – are there additional equipment required (eg projectors)?Make the necessary reservations
Choose attendants/helpers
Book officiant (Solemniser) – need to get his/her written consent before filing notice at Registry of Marriage
Plan and book your honeymoon. NATAS fair in March/June/September.
Get yourself a spa package for those regular, monthly facials.
Exercise regularly
Arrange for a meet-the-parents session (to discuss “pin jin†and stuff.)
Book musician for ceremony and reception
Order traditional Cantonese wedding cakes from Hong Kong for Guo Da Li
Book florist
Book photographer and videographer
Send save-the-dates cards, if using
Plan for renovation of bedroom or house.
Arrange transportation for the wedding day
Order stationery, including invitations and thank-you notes
Purchase wedding rings and ring pillow, if desired
Purchase or reserve groom’s attire
Purchase shoes for bride and groom
Choose attendants’ attires
Buy stockings and any special lingerie your dress requires
Choose favors, order them or DIY
Book a room for wedding night
Choose “thank you†gifts for the wedding party
Reserve accommodations for out-of-town guests
Print wedding card inserts
Go for photo-shoots at bridal studio (indoor and outdoor shoots)
Discuss details of menu with caterer
Discuss service with officiant
Choose readings for ceremony
Write your wedding vows, if you choose
Schedule rehearsal time and dinner
Try out makeup and hairstyle
Mail invitations
Buy guest book
Have program printed
Buy Guo Da Li stuff
Have final dress fitting with shoes, accessories and lingerie
Begin seating plan and write place cards
Notify caterer of guest count
Write toasts for rehearsal dinner and wedding reception
Address announcements
Break in wedding shoes at home
Finalize seating plan
Assign specific responsibilities, such as handing of corsages and boutonnieres, to members of your wedding party
Pick up dress or have it delivered
Confirm details with caterer
Confirm honeymoon arrangements and give your itinerary to a friend or family member in case of emergency
Pack for honeymoon
Update caterer with final guest and vendor meal counts

One day ahead of wedding:
Confirm transportation arrangements for ceremony and reception
Have manicure and pedicure
Rehearse ceremony
Hold rehearsal dinner; give gifts to wedding party
Prepare tips and payment envelopes for officiant and vendors, and make arrangements for someone to distribute them

Tinky,

Not yet leh…. I am still feeling super duper tired…its really very tiring man. My bf still make fun of me ask me want to go and take ps again anot hahaha. In fact halfway through the shoot, I was asking him… can dun take already I very tired… hahaha :P

Addy,

Dun be stress. Once your gown is selected, all you need to do is to get ready for your PS. Oh btw, before you go for your PS in the morning, after washing your face, do rinse your face ice cool water… that will help you rmake up to stay on longer and close your pores. :P ( that is something someone else taught me hehehe )

You planning to get a flat? I am also but could not find something suitable. And yes, anna is right, if you are more towards the tradition, reno must start before 7th month. ïŠ dun be stress over that first, get yourself ready for the PS and things will start to fall in nicely.

Polar,
Dun b stress, I was stress too… but its over le… when you are there that day and see yourself mei mei in the mirror, you will be happy and everything will be well ïŠ trust me. Only thg is that you will feel super tired the next day hahaha

Melody,

Hehe, thanks for your compliments ïŠ I am pretty for that 1 day on Monday hahaha and a princess for that 1 day too :P btw, happy birthday and have a great day ya..

Mrs kel,

Trust me man, I am a make up idiot too…. You can ask meiling , she once went to find lipstick with me and I know nuts… :P haha… even my mua was saying… alamak… ni shi bu shi nu ren… that is how bad I am.

Mei, we don't have a banquet dinner, so cannot invite them to dinner. Maybe if our friends really too many, some of them must take them out to drinks instead on separate ocassion. Even then, i think we might still have problems. Only way is every stakeholder involved (meaning me, htb, my parents, his parents) MUST delete some people from their list. Conversations with my mum has revealed that I SHOULD invite my malaysian relatives (8 pax) if not I SHOULD NOT invite my uncle and aunt here cos they are all related. Then I feel like I'm the bad person for not wanting my relatives to come. Or like, i SHOULD invite so and so because so and so is my mum's dad's sister's daughter (!!), if not I SHOULD NOT invite my mum's dad's brothers and his children. Wah so complicated.

This problem arises because last time pple had too many babies. So gals, for our future generation's sake, let's all just comply by the 1 or 2 is enough policy. :P

YL, u bought the kose which series? i check wit my coll..they say e one more oily one (white succeed whitening CR) is more effective..
1 month shld see result..
hopefully it works for me..

ya make apppt at 2pm at joycelim clinic at paragon

talkin abt e location printed on ROM cert..
i forgotten how mine look like..
but i tink wont look grand cos it should look "Yishun Safra"
*faint*
sound so ungrand

hi meiling,

this sat will go for final fitting n trial makeup..... so i shld have the full dress up of my gowns.... hahaha.... yup yup, will take pics.... cos last time ones, all i din see the camera wan....

hi cyc / melody,

Addy's PS is on 28th & 29th.... Mine is on 29th.... Next in line is Addy n me..... panic....

msclaire,
wah...so complicated wor...but it's gd to have ppl to invite rather than to crack ur brains to think of who to invite, i've heard of frens who couldnt meet d min. requirement for d tables n now have a terrible headache...
hmmm....mayb u can opt for inviting some close frens to ur church n bk a place to chill out n party n celebrate for d rest of ur frens...d other option is to celebrate wif d not-so-close relatives over simple house buffet n u all can get to mingle...

green>which design you chose? FH and I didn't see any designs that we really liked at T Dragon so probably going to print own invites in JB.

rach>ohh, thanks for the tip about efiling. Didn't know that at all. You take care in that dress! 2 more days for u!
Excited, right?

kirei>I got the Sekkeisei whitening essence. got 2 different SAs told me it is better and also got firming effect. Also seems more affordable per ml. :P If still doesn't work, I think I'll give up on whitening serums/essences le. Oh, I heard joyce lim is good.

shoes wise,
i think i'll get a gold pair and maybe another black or silver one.
these to match EG/sari/CS.

then a pair of white shoes and/or boots for WG.
more inclined towards boots... ;) went to try on a few at city plaza...and i like it!! ;)
but while they look great for PS etc, i think will be way too hot under the huge WG skirt. :P
esp in our weather...

msclaire>good luck with your guest list wor. Mine was also v messy becos FH's side must invite a lot of relatives. Ended up having to split relatives from friends and colleagues. we've delegated the guest list totally to the parents. They can decide the sitting arrangement as well as how many they want to invite as long as they keep to the quote. :P

sue,
i must speak a word of fairness, u belong to d natural beauty type, dun need any makeup n u alrdy look v gd leh...envy u...if only im u den i can save lotsa on makeup...n oso if u dun normally put on makeup den d PS pics will really look different cos it's a big transformation unlike ppl like me who put layers n layers of kaya on my face :P

polarwhite,
hmmm....perhaps i shd go for trial makeup as well...cos i havent really let ppl do up my face b4 except for 1 teacher's day dinner...
so excited for u...finally d day is approaching for us....still remember we were still toking abt wedding prep when we 1st met :P i wana see all ur pics...n im bet u'll look gorgeous

msclaire,
that sounds super complicated!!!
slowly talk things over with all the parents and come to a compromise lah.

priaisey,
how was your interesting event?

what's the movie abt?

and oh, good morning ladies. ;)
bright n sunny today.

heheh mei you making me blush le... hahaha. nice to hear is natural beauty... not nice to hear is simply lazy :P hehehe. but dun worry gal... all of you will be the prettiest ... like wat pp always say... gals are the prettiest when they put on their wedding gown

back.
Got one acne on left cheek near the nose as a result of the lousy weather. One ulcer at the gums of teeth and another at upper lip.
Sigh.........

Got Mother's day dinner to eat later. Darn torturous to eat...

oh kokok..
all e best to all of us to bcome mei mei..lolz

joyce is my skin doc since 2002..but i stop after i go facial in 2004
cos skin doc owas say cannot go facial...facial ppl will say cannot see skin doc for too long..
and further more joyce is v v v v v v v exp..
1st time consultation already cost $150 ..i can go facial for 3 times liao..
and skin doc product usually make skin drier..

but she got kana a case which one of her customer complain her face got infections due to a nurse who is only having training liscense and e nurse do the operation (i duno wat operation..i tink is IPL) for her..
so joyce was suspended for a period of time under investigation..
lucky found out tat e customer went to put on makeup and go under the sun after the IPL..
so joyce was free for suspension...

but she is v popular last time...owas need to wait 45mins even if have made appt wit her..
and alot of japanese, indonesian, rich woman go n c her..
but i dunno nw her business got or not...cos i tink more or less her business might b affected by this complain case..

Can update my details too.
Date: 25 Dec
Venue: Holiday Inn Park View
Bridal: GHA / Digio
Photographer & Videographer: SimonVideo

i just sign my AD video and photography package with http://www.simonvideo.com.sg. Pretty cheap & nice, 1.2k, including 2 set of Dvds and 300 prints + album. . Each set of DVD are nicely package with 2 dvd, 1 containing ad video & the other contained edited and raw photots. I top up $200 for express highlight. Was told that price for 10 May will be $1288 instead.

Btw, can advise me what should i engrave on my wedding band, my ring can only fit 5-6 character, my HTB ring can fit 8-9 character.

Lsntyl,
I'm qingchai with card design cos I think guests throw them into dustbins after banquets haha. I chose the one with heart shape.

Kire,
I was customer at Joyce Lim for 2yrs 2005-2006. I stopped cos my skin became so dry, sensitive and "chao-ta"/peeling and pimples still popped out. Her products are too harsh, many contain AHA. Now I use mild, natural products. My skin condition gets better through still have some pimples, they are also cheaper.

Very expensive, one visit costed $400-600 for me 2 years back!

Hope her products work for you

Green,

My BS is Precious Moments. I thought can save money mah if my auntie do for me. She draws nice nail arts for me. Outside they charge very high for nail arts

How much do you pay for your whitening essence? I bought mine from Usana at $86

Yesterday my MIL brewed birdnest and this morning I had a bowl. Yummy.

hee. I hope it works too. cross fingers. started using it yesterday since its herbal and probably needs longer time to work. FH told me he likes my freckles yesterday. I was "huh? don't say earlier. I can save $". :P But inside my heart, I still prefer to see a blemish-free face lah.

wah, your facial only $50? where arh? If not in far away Yishun, I want to try. 2 of my friends go to a dermatologist at DrX. Their feedback is his products v good. One said the whitening moisturiser at DrX is much better than Shiseido's whitening moisturiser. But must go consultation first then can buy.

Ohh, heard about the case. Regardless of what the customer did, still shouldn't let someone unlicensed treat the face...

hi all anyone can advise me on this:
as a elder sis,can i be my younger sis's jiemei,receptionist and mc for her wedding on 1st june asmy wedding is in dec this yr too?

nec: my BS change named to Venus too, any idea is it the same boss as ur BS in JB?

green>my multiply is ilynt1. Think you are added le but not sure. FH's brother wants to laminate/frame up our invites... :P He is more enthusiastic than me wor.

crown>the whitening serum I got is $148. I think the one kirei got is $100. What brand is Usana? Never heard of them.

Crown
Yes nail arts are exp outside. I'll be just doing plain nails for my PS cos I like things simple.

I still haven't finished the Usana drinks which I bought from u last year hehe. I get hungry very fast (1 hour) after taking it, so I take it as vit intake rather than a meal.Cham I gained 4-5kg within these 2 months, my coordinator making noise

Morning all

Sue
I wanna see your pics le....... I'm very curious how you look, especially since you don't like to put on make up.. so definitely I'm expecting a really dramatic difference!

PolarW
Remember to upload your final fitting ah! But I remember your gowns all very nice le.. so no worries there, now only need to see the make up heheh

meiling
heheh if I were you, I'd take the option of saving for honeymoon.. I'm super excited by the prospect of shopping until I drop... imagine everything tax-free... whoohoo... hahahha

Hmm you're not doing trial make up? I think it's quite important to do it le. Not really because the MUA is no good or what - but to see if you have a preferred look in mind.

mrs Kel
Wah you're good with the budgeting man! My bedframe alone already I zzzz and you managed to get so many things for that price! Hahah your FH is one lucky man

melody
happy belated birthday! How was the day? Did you have a great time?

Hmm my PS is also late, July 22, how about you? Hahahah I'm looking to the rest of the Oct brides for inspiration!

green>but FH is chinese, not angmo. And i feel that it is a blemish/pigmentation rather than freckle. :P scared it will grow and become a liver spot.

crown>usana is good for what? curious lah. got a website?

wow... so exciting! two PS coming up at the end of Oct! polar, hv a fun time tis sat during fitting and trial makeup!

ooo... sue the natural beauty. hao xing fu o.. don't have to put make-up and still look good! ;p

ya but i just used their products. As long as they're good, i dont care where they come from. Haha.

My colleague recently notice the change of my skin. feel so happy after all the hard work

Actually I tried IPL for my freckles but after it, you cannot go out under the sun at all. I find that i get more freckles even though I put on sunscreen lotion. Luckily I tried once only.

I tried using Obagi before but the products are too strong. Although the freckles really lessen but the skin is so thin after all the peeling till you really see redness. Subsequently, all the freckles came back when I stop using them.

Then before I use Usana, I was using Lancome but Lancome is too costly cos it’s $150plus per tube. Too high maintenance, cannot afford.

Green, i take half a packet then take Guava.

During tea break, I will take an apple or Banana.

If you’re hungry after 1 or 2 hours, take another half packet lor. It will last you till dinner. For me, when I am stress, I get hungry easily. So I will drink half packet during lunch then tea break half packet. hehe

sue,
hehehe...it's d truth mah...think u always dun need to put on makeup n still look gd de
so envious...i hope dat i can look ok if i put on my wedding gown :P hehehe...juz told my colleague dat i'll b coming back to sch to take PS den he said he'll get d men to trim d plants nicely...den i said i want heart shape ones...hehehe, den he gave me dat funnie look :P

lex,
yah i understand wat u mean but smtimes it's kinda disappting not to rcv bday presents frm ur SO mah...n cant celebrate anniversary....but he said he'll get me flowers but not exp gifts :P
trial makeup? mayb i'll get my BS to arrange ba but i think must pay for them esp when i have 2 different ones for my 2 different days of PS :P

cyc,
hehehe...yah lor, more n more btbs will b taking their PS le...i think a lot more will b taking in jun cos it's sch holis :P

hi nelle,
so glad to hear dat u r back...hmm, dun worry, im sure ur acne will go off in no time...as for d ulcer, do apply d ulcer gel n drink lotsa water ok? chew on ur food slowly n go for soupy stuff so it's not so painful, do take care of urself ok?