(2008) Brides of year 2008

nelle,
u r really funnie....wat match ur partner's height...u sure abt dat? cos wif ur bridal hair styling, u might appear taller than ur partner leh...he dun mind? or he has a secret weapon? :P

Whoaaa!! I haven't been on the forum for so long...Everyone's new to me...I guess I'm new to everyone...
And my name's been kicked out of the list!!

My AD is on 27 Dec, BS is Bridal Elegance, banquet is at Pan Pac and my PG (in the process of confirming) is Ken Koh...VG will probably from the BS...

Wow, so many things to do. May and June will be the months I rush everything!! And I remember people were telling me to get the wedding bands early in case they need to customise and all...I got them too early. Haha...

Oh by the way, who's looking for PG? You can consider Ken Koh, whose website is: http://kenkoh.ifp3.com/

I think he's not bad, and his prices are reasonable...

lex,
it's no prob for me, i can always apply leave in advance n my fh will b away frm early to late may :P hey, get koyoyo to guide us cos i really adore d pink APs she bought at d JB branch selling GDL stuff....den we can go wif tinky, sue etc...sounds really fun to have a all-gals' road trip :P after which we can head for a seafood feast...yum yum :P

Mei
I suspect not good idea to be all girls - JB ma.. probably need one or two FH to go along ba.. then at least we got camels to carry our stuff also hehehehehhe

BTW shoe pics up
Tell me what you think of it.. too bad it's not super bling

crispy,
i already send out all my invites mostly by end of last mth. Now i super busy with my job so got no much time to do my stuffs,feeling more stress. Just manage to finish my AP box last nite...only simple decor. I onli left with sabotage ideals & banquet programmes + 1st march-in song.....

Gonna have my final fitting on 3rd May.....luckily i done most of my stuffs during the early part of planning if not i'm gonna stress like hell.

Oh wow, all of u quite prepared liao.. i haven't done any of the above yet, m i very late??? stress man.. i just booked honeymoon to hokkaido form ASA, u girls can consider if interested. De-princess which part of Japan u going to?

Wedding card must print so early ah, thot 2 months before AD should be ok right?
My PS this friday, so excited, duno what to expect. By the way, do they change make-up for any change in gown? how long do they take to change hairstyle between each gown change?

waxie, rach,

Anyway, I'm ok with it lah. 1 WG, 1 EG can liaoz. As long as I look good in it. And a good photographer shld b able to take photos in such a way my gown looks different... and I want pple to focus on me, not my gown.. keke...

btw, anyone has lobang to buy Fancl "Calorie limit" or carbo blocker I can't remember it's name. Heard it's good leh. At the rate I'm eating, I think I really need that man..

hihi everyone

Have been searching for this thread..cause im also Jan 2008 bride..Bt mine is ROm..Customary will be Feb 14, 2009

BTW i saw discussion on preg..Frankly speakin, me also very scare..Cuz my second sis went for checkup cuz she seldom had menses..imagine tis yr, 1 time also nv come..so she went to see her gynae..Then her gynae said that her body had no menses at all and her eggs very small or little.. Very hard to conceive..I hear liao i also dun dare checkup..me afraid to face the fact
Then me also afraid the 1st 3 mth..heard alot of my frens say the feeling is so terrible..I got one coll, she stay at hm for the 1st 3 mths cuz doc say her womb very weak and she bleeds..

bt weird is yr 2006 she had a bb leh..bt she went for abortion cuz 1) her r/s with her bf unstable
2) nt prepared to be a mum yet..haven married
3) she duno hw to tell my parents especially my mum..

any other ways can increase her chance of becomin a mother again ??

lex,
ok ok, mayb cos i went wif a grp of 5 gals n 1 guy so 4gotten abt d safety le :P ehheheh....im sure ur hubby can volunteer as one of d camels...hehehe, see hwo else wana go lor :P
oh i saw ur shoes le....v elegant, i like d t-strap, actually wanted sth like dat but i found it similar to wat i bought frm paradox so decided to mtm another design
sure look forward to our shoe collection

Hi karen, may i know the website where u intend to get your shoes?

Hi fern, may I know the website where u wanna get ur bridesmaids dresses?

Was originally intending to tailor the dresses for them, but find that it is rather exp. Anyway, I was at sugarhouse at vivocity on sat. I find that their dresses are quite suitable for bridesmaids and still reasonably priced (from $129 onwards).

Any ladies have other suggestions for cheaper shops? I have already been to lovepotion and olive suite. Also, found out the price from the contact given by zhuoen.

HI Jeslyn,
Haha talk about fussy bride .. get a queue no .. you are way behind a lot of us here.. talking abt fitting times. I went so many times still cant decide .. ask the gers here u know. BUt i know how u feel confirm the WG but change mind again.. that us "WOMEN" remeber i heard from somewhere fickle-minded is woman's middle name !

Hey Sue,
I didnt ate a lot when we meet up is bcos i am a slow tortise.. everything slower then others. I was too caught up yakking non stop tt y no appetite to eat.. tt time at togi also the same la.. So give u gers the fake impression tt i have small appetite... I rem last time i used to order spring chicky n finish it all by myslf .. Thanks god the stall shifted n curb my eating habit.. else i am a fat bom bom now..Still thanks for the flattering .. though i know it not true but I adores it lol

Tinky ,
Sorry for the belated wish.. HAPPY BELATED!!!!! May you stay mei mei alwayz. Both u and lex hubby so good buy u bag.. guess wat happen mine wouldnt buy .. my MIL say my bag is old want give me her bag.. my HB laugh said i wouldnt take auntie bag n cant even be bother.. come on gers , give me ur FH/HB no .. time to send tt HB of mine for some boot camp!

CYC,
Talk about late PS guess wat my HB postfone to book the date now i got july 19 . 1 mth after u haha

Dor>I also only have 1 WG and 1 EG. Think is ok lah. If you want, can prepare some other dresses of your own? A friend recently prepared kebaya for her PS.

LSnTYL(lsntyl),
Ya lor, will be making another dress for my ROM. Thought of buying from the stores, but my figure a bit unproportionate... haha.

McGr is good. First time i tried it was in Japan last yr.
They intro it there long time ago n there are more variety . so far they only bring 2 of it to sg but who care i love it..sweet stuff is one of my "zui ai"NOw they have it in SG yippee

Jesly
Did u take foto of ur WG can show us???

HEy gers,
If we are gog JB, I suggest we organise in such a way tt we can fit nicely into taxi and w a guy in each cab at least.. THat just my suggesstion. BUt if it only city sq to see GDL stuff then it ok no need.

koyoyo,
i think it's a great idea to have a guy in each cab...or at least a guy in each car if there r 2 cars :P city sq wld b sufficient for GDL stuff, is dat shop located there?

Hokkaido is a nice place, I hope I can go too but too bad I just change job this yr so no leave to take, dun 1 2 take unpaid leave also, not worth.

wedding card print early better, more time for u to write, 2mths before still alrite la, just abit packed, worried got many things to do. As for make-up, mine nvr change, onli change lip colour and touch up abit. hairstyle change when each gown change, my hairstyle like not much changes, haha. my PS is w/o hand flower, took finish then realised. I called them up the next day cos I asked my MUA, she said will have, then they said it's their style not to have flower and the contract nvr put also, onli put still flower if needed, feel abit disappointed.
,Ho

oh thanks. But today I hv an appointment. You go and see if nice nxt time I go too. I need to find a place to make my mum's dress too.
Currently plan to make at beauty world/ bukit timah plaza. My friends' mum made fr there and looks good. cheap also.. <$300.

I wanna make a simple dress, grecian style, flowy, white colour one. more "garden" feel for my ROM.

haha.. am eating 1/4 if the mcgriddles now.. colleague bought it today for bkfast and shared with me... well.. its a bit too sweet for my liking i think i still prefer the old mcmuffin haha.. coz i like savoury ones .

hey lex, no worries even if its all gals.. coz citi sq is just next to the customs.. so its very near.

hey gals... who knows where to get nice blog skin?

i see you ladies are talking abt GDL stuff.
no time to catch up on the posts now. taking a min break from my exam revision.

FH's birthday coming. and i thought i rem someone here went to the revolving resturant before. is the food nice. they serve western food? chinese or what?
good place for birthday dinner? oh and where is it? hee...

thank you. see you ladies back here in 2 weeks' time after my exams! MUGGING!!

providencia, I'll be going for my 1st appt on 01 May. See if can find something nice OTR. If can't, then I'll have to MTM. Decided on low back coz that's the only area that I can show off.

nelle, ya it's really tough. But I still don't have the mood to start preparing leh and the clock's ticking.

meiling, I guess the train will not be tat long coz the lowback can't support it. hmm... but I dunno if my back is fleshy leh.

Hi chimes,
You're absolutely right. Have to fast forward on AD venue. Fortunately, I'm having a luncheon and my preferred hotel still available. Now just negotiating, but not getting very much cos hotel very sticky.

Good luck to all who negotiating for stuff. Hope you get all that you wish for.

nelle,
dun worry, im sure u'll always have d upper hand cos u r 1/2 of d finance minister in dat partnership :P

florabliss,
im sure ur back wont b fleshy one cos u r so skinny n im sure u'll look great in a lowback WG :P

sue
hahah I'm not worried about the driving there bit, more like worried when we go shopping - got guy to make sure we don't get into trouble and also to act as camel hehehhe

koyoyo
meh if you're fat then I'm short kekekekke. But yah women are fussy by nature la... we just want to look good and woe betide any man who is stupid enough to get in the way of our shoes/accessories/bags/gowns. Your hubby not very automatic so this one cannot hint already. Tell him no bag no wife.. LoL

mrs_kel
the revolving restaurant is which one? The one near Vivocity? I know that one serves Chinese food but if you're talking about the one at Orchard Rd (Mandarin Hotel( - that one is a Western restaurant. The last time I went there they were doing fine French food, not sure what they're doing now - ranged about $200 a person from what I recall.

Yah Stnov, take more nourishing foods and take care of yourself. If it persists (next month if same again), then maybe go see a gynae to do another check. At least if check le no problem, you know that your body has changed and this is the new type of cycle that you will have. Dun be too stressed about it cos stress has effects on menses too.

Joyce, your body may not be the same as your sis so dun worry. For first 3 months, I won't say its not terrible cos it really can be quite problematic. Nevertheless, the severity of the symptoms vary from person to person. Like for me, if not for the flu which I got, my first trimester so far is quite ok. Some days will feel like vomitting and abit giddy but most days, its bearable. Changes to eating habits have to be made though - a number of foods to avoid, then early few weeks muz eat less cos stomach no space, then now alwayz hungry like eat not enuff like that.

I was adviced this: "Every mother has to go through some suffering to bring a child to this world. Hence, we must be very patient." I juz try to keep this in mind and remember that whenever I dun feel too good, its for the sake of bringing a child to this world so its worth it. My hubby oso very cute de, whenever I wake up feel abit nauseous, he will rub my tummy and say "Baby, dun naughty already ok. Dun make mummy nauseous le." It does work sometimes but more often, a cup of ribena does the trick.

As for your sis, women who have undergone abortion tend to find it harder to conceive. Abortion has harmful effects on the womb, sometimes even damaging the womb. All she can do is take care of herself and hope for the best. And dun have abortions anymore.

nelle, u very cute ah.

flora, ah tat is snake powder ah.. how come call snake powder 1. I tot really got snake in it.

I am also to take some certification courses but i am too lazy to.. ^^

har....mei, only 1/2? I want the whole portfolio to myself...hahahaha.....

flora, I think a short train will be suitable, cos easier to turn around when walking. I have seen those soft, sheer texture that looks good. While you are at it, might as well choose a low back design.

soyabeans, at least you so hardworking, go for ABT classes.. i haven't really exercise much. due to long hrs sitting down at PC, i always got shoulder tight and headache, so sleep at 8pm last nite.

i am actually member of True Yoga but only can go once per week nowadays as too busy recently.

Dor, as for flabby arms....i want to slim down my flabby arms too....need to look nicer for my tube gown..! but it seems so hard to do so. someone taught me to use light weight to tone down flabby arms, but need at least few mths to see results.
and JonKeng is a good choice, last time i already view his pre-wedding gallery of mediacorp Priscilla and Alan... very beautiful photos for them indeed...

As for wedding bands, for those haven't buy yet, I and my FH bought our wedding bands at a shop call Clarity, it is at Level 3 in Shaw Centre...they are wholesalers so they are much cheaper. Customising will take 3 weeks (they only do customising anyway). if you want to buy, must tell them that your friends recommend you then you have discount. they dun give discounts to ppl who walk in without any recommendations.

nelle, ha ha, don't "swallow" up the hubby's portfolio, be merciful.

flora, i see,depends on the material of the WG,but with a low back, train cannot be too long. don't choose heavy material if u can help it.

MeiLing, u deserve a pat on ur back for heeding ur beautician's advise.

my jap fren can buy fancl for me but there is shippin fee..
if delivery within 2 wks, it cost $55 per box
if delivery within 1-2 months, it cost $50 per box

tat time i remb someone say her FH got go japan and can buy...any idea hw much tat person say for per box? cos i dun seem to b able to find e thread liao..keke

u all wan to buy or not? if want, i can arrange wit my jap fren

lex, mei, sue.. i agree that we must get a couple of males along with us, for safety and be camel. haha.. is city square the one just opp the causeway? got wedding stuff to buy?

McGriddles.. agree that you must have sweet tooth to like it.

Mrs Kel, all the best for your exams!

lex, mei, you girls post your pix on multiply is it? that means i must set up account to view your pix? no blog ah? hee...

<font color="aa00aa">those having church wedding, check out this song... maybe suitable for montage - dunno~ "When God Made You" by Newsong and someone, can't remember..

and hor, for flabby arms i feel the ebst way is use some weight training. cos only muscles can burn fats...!! So, after build a little bit of muscles, then the fats will MELT away and flabby arms become not-so-flabby (although no necessarily smaller).. =)

Dor >> you go Raffles cali ?? wanna go bodypump together.. hahaaa... i always go alone.. cos hard to find kakhis.. good for whole body training... =)</font>

soyabean

I don't go to those upmarket gyms. I go to those under Bukit Gombak sports complex. So cheap, near my house and the instructress is good.

opps sorry is fancl tense up

oh u all oso california member?
great..
i prefer body combat le..
green say wan to go wit me..till now havent even go wit her..
today got lesson but bcos need to pass birdnest so nv go body combat le..
when u all goin again?

btw, u all tink tat email fr Sg brides is flooding u all..
try Gmail, they grp all mails together fr 1 same sender..
so when u read sg brides messages, u can jus scroll n read..wont feel need to open up so many emails at one go..
and u wont c u have 50 emails..but all combine into 1 email

Still haven't ask my parents abt pregnant MUA. Gotta try to remember that.

Wah lau... R&amp;J... you are super fast!!! Actually what do you mean by AD schedule? As in planning the activities? I agree that the ang pao box and corsages (if you're making your own) shd only be done in June. And what's the difference between printing invitation cards and inserts?

My progress leh....
1) PS done, will be viewing the initial layout this weekend
2) Food tasting and wedding favours - done
3) Namelist - 70% (Table arrangement later)
4) AD schedule - 50%
5) Guo Da Li - 40%. Left with the buying and actual exchange
6) New furniture - 50%
7) JP - confirmed
8) Ang Pao Box &amp; corsages - June
9) Wedding music - 30%
10) Invitation cards - not done yet
11) Honeymoon - next year

I'm gonna see if I can get some photos fr the BS this weekend to put up on Multiply.

hi ladies, the snake powder i only use it to apply on my back cause got acne veri cooling after bath u apply even if u hav rashes. Pls dun apply it on ur face dun knoe gd for the face ma.

Meiling, ur words have really given me more affirmation on my choice.... xie xie....

Sue, same same, i find McG too sweet... if i wan anything sweet, i rather take hot cakes w maple syrup...

Koyoyo, thanks for the bday wishes... hope i will be mei mei de as u say... kekeke... as for the bag, hubby say wanna get it for me as bday present but i din find anything nice eventually and hence i still have yet to receive my gift.

Lex, i saw ur shoes too, very nice ley... very elegant and simple. if u prefer more shiny, perhaps can request for another row of blink blink to be added... btw, i am at the midst of adding my blinks blinks, pierce thr my fingers n all, so painful, but muz endure and finish it up... will post up soon....

Mrs. Kel, all the best to ur upcoming exam...

Dor>Hee, I can sorta imagine the dress you want. I like grecian design too. FH and I checked out Mama &amp; Misse during lunch. The designer is quite young. They were busy cos lunch time so she suggested I go back another day after office hours so she can explain what the CS can look like. I saw their OTR CS all around 150-300 but MTM is of course more ex. Maybe you can consider for your mom's CS?

Kirei>paiseh make you miss your exercise just to pass the birds' nest.

I'm also using gmail. Much easier to read but still prefer to come direct to the thread since can reply straight away.

soyabeans, you have a lot of songs suggestion ah...that good..keep it coming... i need it. so far my FH and I only choose one song for March in.

Have ur girls found your banquet emcees? i ask my colleagues(aka close friends) yesterday from my office n got rejected. Nah.
will ask another two friends of mine.

For the VIP tables, usually there are 2. 1 for bride's family &amp; 1 for groom's family. My HTB &amp; my parents both said this is correct so we follow their wishes. Although originally I thot all can sit 1 table just nice. For mine, the bride's family VIP table will consist of my grandparents, my parents, my sibling &amp; my first aunt's family. For the groom also similar. But for another friend of mine, there's only 1 VIP table where the bride &amp; groom &amp; parents &amp; elder siblings sit. the younger siblings not enough space so they sit another table but not VIP table. so really up to the couple &amp; parents.

Personally I think that different people have different standards and opinion. E.g. Auntie A will say must do this and Auntie B say must do that. If everything also must listen and follow then it's really going to be very tough on the couple. To me so long as our parents are ok and we are happy it's more important =)

de_princess, if u can take longer leave and have the budget I think you should extend. one of my fren just came back from japan packaged tour and she only had a few hours to shop in Ginza. Another couple fren of mine who is going to japan for honeymoon will be extending to go shopping hee hee.

JJ, for mine every gown will change hairstyle and touchup make up. But this u better confirm with ur BS. Hairstyle change I think about half an hour depending on how big the change. Mine was slightly longer cos my hair very sturborn and the MUA spent more time to make the curls for my hair. Have fun taking ur PS!

my progess till now:
1) PS done, now discussing layout
2) Invitation card chosen, printing in progress
3) Namelist &amp; Table arrangement more or less done for the couple's friends. waiting for parents to give us their namelist for their friends &amp; relative.
4) Montage will be done by photographer but haven't dig out the photos and scan them.
5) Honeymoon planning all done. Just confirmed air ticket today.
6) AD Schedule almost 100% done
7) Ballroom decor, wedding favour etc to discuss with hotel next month
8) ROM filing done

koyoyo, i din manage to take any photos of my gowns but i had requested e bridal shop to email me the pics...once she email me i will try to put up e photos k...