(2008) Brides of year 2008

mei, emails on sales will always be sent to me by $$-spending frds...hahaha.....
I'll be back this late afternoon/evening.
Sian on the food liao. Spicy spicy everywhere.

dor> i have a contact for bus Heng Bus Transport 67589697.. for live band, i hired "a little dream" http://www{dot}alittledream02{dot}com/

Hi gals, was sick last night so just got into ofc..

Jeannie, we're not doing the march-in and all during lunch. It'll be very casual, there won't even be cake cutting. The only things that will stay the same is I'll change once, I'll show photo montage and there will be champagne tower.

Sale at M&M?? So tempting........but the sizes there are like kinda big for me, so got to alter. I'm trying not to spend more that what we already did on the package to make it worthwhile. Shucks...tempted.....

Mary, I think we quite liked talking to Simon, so we're going to pay our deposit already. His rates are really cheaper, and I can pobably do the edited video+express highlights+photo montage, and it'll be cheaper than other places. Great recommendation!

Tell you what, hands up who's looking for catering! I'll ask for better discount, see can anot. Actually I think he already charge very cheap if $12 bucks per pax. Do note this is only catering without any deco...maybe at best he give you one pot if flowers in the ctr...think your own florist can do better. PM me if you want the full menu...

Xinglin, can u please send me the pics or post on your multiply? And how much did she charge you for what sorta deco? Thanks babe! Anybody else need florist? Can see if we can get better bulk discount?? hee..

Congrats flora! Have faith u will find the best place...

sue,
yah i hope i can get another 2 pairs soon...
d additional WG is for my AD, 1 for day n 1 for nite...yah lor, my fh nearly fainted after seeing dat i wana add tis n dat :P

flora, good news from the HDB. Hope you find a place you like very soon!

Owning a car is expensive. If not for the car allowance from co. (which is quite alot at $750), we will mostly not get one.

flora: Congrats on your approval of loan ya.
HDB although very pricky...asking u for tis and that....but they will justified and approve the loan for you lor.

Attached and sharing some pix:
1. My sis's wrist corsages from Jacq
http://theweddingthehome.wordpress.com/2007/11/08/love-droplets-wedding-needs/

2. Friend's wedding can be seen from jacq's multiply
http://moks0002.multiply.com/photos/album/12/Tommy_Huimin_Decor_

And also another friend's ROM deco:
http://moks0002.multiply.com/photos/album/11/Yuan_Yuans_ROM_decor_

3. My bestie's bouquet:
637896.jpg

I've my ex-coll doing my ROM bouquet. Duno will look for jacq or my ex-coll. KIV-ing

I dun think i'll get my bouquet and wedding car deco+ corsages/wrist corsages from my BS. Will get from Jacq i think also.

If more brides over here wanna get her service, maybe we can get bulk discount from her leh.

Jac: Dun think so got discount if said i referred. But i think she has given good price for my friend's deco wor. Hmmm but we can consider to get the bulk discount

I tried sms her see hw.

Hi SotongLet, I have always wanted to tailor make a short dress for my ROM, not a CS. So this CS is an extra for me. Not too sure if I want to skip the tea dress provided by SWC for mini albums since I have a CS already.

Hi floralbliss, they have quite many CS and gowns on 50% sale. Check with them when you are there. I was on half day leave on Wed and spent about more than 1 hour trying on the gowns and CS.

Hi Jeannie, everything will be the same as dinner. Just that we are holding it in the daytime. Anyway the lightings in the ballroom will have no difference regardless of whether it's lunch or dinner. But do check with various hotels if you need to top up for the same theme if you are taking lunch. MM doesn't have any hidden costs for lunch except that need to top up some money to add suckling pig slices for the combination dish for lunch.

Hi Meiling, the CS is at my parent's place now. Will only go back next week. Will take a photo and show you all next week.

Hi nelle, enjoy the spicy food while you can. I love Indian food but cannot eat now due to the braces.

Hi msclaire, no mention. Is yours held on separate days? Cos I heard from Simon that they require about 5 hours lead time to do the express highlights.

nelle,
hehehe....no wonder, u shopping queen, i oso rcved frm body shop but i seldom buy things frm there, wonder how i became a member in d 1st place :P

sotonglet,
u can consider neo gardens or stamford for catering too
i'll b taking neo gardens :P

florabliss,
4get to congratulate u on d approval of ur hdb loan

mary poppins,
woahhh...makes me really tempted to go down to grab a pc of CS now, wonder if got my size...
u bought 2? both for ur AD?

Hi Mary, the express highlights is for own viewing pleasure, not for guests to watch. Also for those who didn't get to come for our wedding to see what happened lor *how he kena tekan mwahahahah*

Actually, I was a little unhappy cos due to family reasons, my dad's side of the family won't be able to come. So I suppose it'll be nice to have a summary of what happened to show them on dvd.

don't let that get to you, maclaire. Family always have their own eccentricity. Focus on who can be there to share your happiness.

don't let that get to you, msclaire. Family always have their own eccentricity. Focus on who can be there to share your happiness.

depend on budget, flora. If I am the dinner guest, I am not bothered. cos angpao already drop in box liao, I can't do anything...hahahahaha..... :p

I may go down to M&M but dunno can find any thing for me.

Meiling, neo gardens i think for small caterring okie.. but church wedding type dun see they do like other caterers.

I think for simon extra express service is +200 extra right?

msclaire i think ours the same day.. if can do group discount.. Hor sei liao.. LOL

morning all

koyoyo!
hahah sweetie - I think that was rather sweet of your designer
LL was the same, before he suggested shoes to me, he asked me what material the dress is, cuz he was equally worried the straps will catch onto the gown. I'm so happy you're going to cfm your gowns tonight! Will go check out the pics

tinky
don't worry about the food ba. Like the rest of the girls said - when you go down for food tasting, remember to feedback them. I've heard some not very nice things about Regent too heheh... so I guess sub-standard food seems to be something that happens... just have to make sure it doesn't happen on our day that's all.

meiling
I'm thinking that you might want to consider. Frankly I think you've added on a lot already for your big day and I'm worried you might not have time. I checked with my friend about her wedding, and she was telling me that changing her gown/hair/make up for dinner took her an hour before the wedding, so she didn't have time to even consider doing a second change besides just changing the gown and the whole night was very rushed for her. Don't forget, more gowns means you have to do more matching, eg more accessories, shoes, hairstyles, more to carry around and make sure you don't forget to bring stuff..

BTW are you all going shopping today?

Hi msclaire, like what nelle said, each family has their own eccentricity. Just stay happy for your big day. If express highlight costs S$200, then if it is not express, will it cost cheaper, since you do not need it on the same day?

Hi Meiling, you should really go down to take a look. They have quite a lot of S,M,L. The long CS I had was L and the short one is M. I am considering to use the long one for PS and AD. The short one for casual/work wear. Maybe can use for PS as well.

Hi florabliss, what is the difference between white wine and ice wine. I was told by a few people not to give the guests too many choices. Still remember Wingsheng? He was one of those who told me that red wine will be sufficient. Maybe another one or two bottles of hard liquor will do.

clare> booked ur venue??
1. Venue booking-gotta decide how many guests u wanna invite then u know where u can go to...
2. Book a BS - i'll highly recommend My Bridal Room - www.mybridalroom.com
3. Book PG & VG

For PG, you can try my PG-www.gwen.per.sg/weddings
I'm engaging stefine for VG+animation..
www.stefine.com

Then the rest should be falling into place loh..

Like fitting and stuffs..then spread the word around and let ur frens know u are gettin married and keep themselves free...
If you need, i can send u my wedding planner..

Hope it'll be helpful to you.

Mary, on 2nd thot, I think i better stick to white wine. Becoz ice wine is meant to be a dessert wine. So I think most likely it'll be too sweet for the main courses during dinner. Anyway, even for white wine, I think max I'll just get 5 bottles coz I will only hv 16-18 tables for dinner.

Ya, I remember Wingsheng. I heard he is a dad already? I not so worried abt hard liquor coz I have 2 crates of 40yr old Martell. hahaha....

meiling, I'll drop by the CS shop during lunch to racky the place 1st. Then after work then go try them.

Good point, if its not so express should be cheaper than 200? Although he did mention that its more work than montage, which is why montage he only charge 100. He say if we want cheaper for express, he can take out all the conversation then just put music...but what's the point rite? The most fun part is gatecrashing, but only can hear music..................................

About alcohol..we're still deciding how much to buy....We only want to give choice of red wine and beer...but how much of each type to buy? My rationale is that out of 300 guests, probably only 200 drink, so cater for 50%-50% on each type...do u guys think canned beer or dispenser is better?

hello gals..
me on 2 day mc. :P

just woke up. heh.

i love ice wine, but to serve to guests, very ex woh.. (the nice canadian one, i don't like the aussie one)
but flora is right, (congrats flora!!!! ;D) ice wine is too sweet to go with the chinese menu...and meant to be sipped slowly at the close of a meal. ;)

oh..
ok,
pity the sick person here....but the posts got me super confused.

ok, so recommended florist is lovedroplets.
caterer?
i'm looking for one for the church luncheon thingy...and a florist for hall deco...
msclaire, i think you're doing something similar? ;)

gosh, i also feel like going down to misse and mama ... ;) sale!!
but i think very diff to find something to fit me ;P

the VG simon has not replied to my email. ;(
hhmmm.....
think i better give him a call...but this weekend no time to go down and meet him.

just to check with you girls, does he do chaptering for the final dvd...? like it's the whole thing (edited raw they call it, mostly raw footage with minor editing like removal of unsightly scenes)...and each section is separated into chapters?
else i've to confirm with another VG before april as his prices will increase again.

lex,
hehehe....guz im having 2nd tots on lotsa things as it draws closer n closer to my AD date, actually i dun mind topping up d extra $ if my fh grumbles cos i offered to pay for it myself :P....i need to discuss wif my fh during d wkend....
we'll go n have korean food n shopping later...u joining us? cos dat day i asked u u couldnt confirm...

meiling
hahahah yah, sorry couldn't confirm that day cuz work schedule was completely packed. Hmm where's the Korean food place and what time? Heheh... supposed to go eat Aston's tonight at Katong with FH cuz dunno what to do tonight but if you girls have plans ... heheh I don't think he'll mind being the camel for the night.

the way I see is that $$ isn't an issue when it comes to topping up, especially when it's you who's paying and not your FH.. the biggest headache on that day I think would be the logistics of trying to keep track of so many things that are happening and the number of items that are floating around. as it is, i have trouble maintaining one set of gym gear plus my work gear... I dont think for myself i can handle more sets of clothing heheheh

florabliss,
ice wine is ex leh....unless u have a huge budget but i doubt ppl will b bothered cos AP has been given during reception le :P
i alrdy jio my oct bride fren to go wif me b4 we go for dinner :P

sotonglet,
u r doing for church wedding har? heheh...i tot for home, sorry wrong no :P

mary poppins,
d wait is really killing me...i wana go M&M now, i'll b going to international plaza one, is d sale at international plaza or new mkt?

nec,
wat happened to u? how come u have 2 days' MC? im having a terrible flu as well...do take care of urself ok?

Wah, I really like your house, Kirei. Esp the wakl in wardrobe and the toilet. Actually prefer it to your friend's wor.

Waxie> can find out how much a little dream charges?

nec, don't hang around here now. You need more rest. Take care and get well soon.

Btw, I really regretted going to M&M just now. Firstly, there are very limited CS that are on sale. And these are not suitable for wedding at all. Mostly are those checkered materials. So if you intend to go there to look for a cheaper CS for your wedding, don't bother.

Anyway, the range they have for wedding isn't that great either. Most of them, in my opinion, are too old/ mature looking.

But what turned me off most is the attitude of the shoplady. She's not the one whom I met on my last visit. This is the older lady. She is more interested in chatting with her friend than to serve me. I had to call her a few times before she is willing to come over. And whatever I said don't seem to register in her brain. For several times, I've told her I'm looking for a tea dress for my own wedding, then she kept asking if I need a dress for a fren's wedding. I told her I want a short CS, but she kept pushing the long evening gowns to me.

Anyway, every time after coming out of the fitting room, I have to stand there for 10min before she is willing to serve me again. Then when I asked if there's any other design that is suitable for me, she just simply took a piece off the rack and pass to me. She don't even bother to see if that piece is suitable for me. She just wanna shoo me off by giving me any CS, so that she can continue talking to her fren. I told her the CS looks too old for me, but still she insisted me to try. So I wore the CS for her to see, I told her "Great, now instead of looking like a bride, I look like the mother-in-law". I'm not sure if there is a problem with her judgement or taste.

And obviously M size is too big for me, but she refused to search for S size for me to try on. So how would I know if the CS is nice on me when the size doesn't fit.

Thereafter, 2 ladies came in and that lady's attitude changed. She was very eager in serving them. When they asked if there's any other sizes, she actually search for them. I guess they must be her regular customers. But aren't I a potential customer as well?

Sorry meiling, I was so pissed off that I forgot to ask about the price of tailoring the CS for you.

Hi Meiling,
after the bad service you got from the shop and that you already have 10 outfit for everything i think you should really cut down on getting an 11th gown.. dun forget the more Gown u have the more ur ablum will cost.. imagine if u only take 1 foto from each gown how much will you have to cough out already... 1 extra page normally is price bet $70 - $100... Just for your reference la.. If you really want to make it super memorable and dont mind the xtra $ then go ahead.. BUt i tok on top of the 10 you are gog for MTM from outside ....MEiling.. you are doing a lot on your AD.. must really consider careful.. it good to have unforgetable moment but dun tired yourslf too much ok... I am 180% sure you are already the star for the day.. somemore too many gown will cause ppl to forget what you actually wear pretty fast...
tinky,
Sometime it maybe thru the food tasting change but as far from what i heard it normal chef change every 3mth so it still too early to tell.. What may seem bad now may improve later on.. Just dont be afraid to ask...

LSnTYL & Rach > thx thx..
but hor..i owas not 知足
hahaha
actually my hubby oso dun like my fren hse..cos he feel e hse v icy cold...
keke

Lex/Koyoyo, thanks for all the comforting and all... i told hubby abt my concerns last evening n he have somewhat given the assurance that he will give comments if the food is not good... so hope he will voice out n dun just eat... hahaha...

Meiling, tink thr what u gonna do n discuss w ur hubby yeah... i tink the $$ spend might make u look good and give ur special day an extra touch, but at the end of the day, what most important is, u have alittle bit of time to mingle with ur guests, n not rushing up all the time to change...

Lex, i suppose i will see u tonite yeah...

Sue/Koyoyo, we shall chat our hearts out this evening... Koyoyo, we can tell us more abt ur gowns, then we can kpo n give our comments. and i have somethings to grumble abt too

Hi nec, do take care and sleep as much as you can to recover. You can call Simon at 9777-9002 to fix an appointment with him. Not too sure about the technical details cos I am not so particular with it.

Hi florabliss, so shock to hear your encounter. Maybe bcos I went there after lunch hours when it's not crowded, that's why I was very well attended to. I have selected about 6-7 to try and find them quite nice leh. Maybe you were really upset by the lady's attitude.
Oh yar, we just went to WS's daughter one month celebration a few weeks ago.

Hi Meiling, has florabliss's experience cool down your urge to go to IP M&M?

flora, the lady like tat one. The last time i went she also impatient impatient type. Just choose the type u wanna and go try. Trust ur own judgement bah.

Anyway the discount will end tomorrow, as in tomorrow last day. I went to the new market 1. There are some pretty nice pieces, and found something i like, but it is at 288, for a short CS in thai silk with beads embroidery.

nec better drink more water and rest more.

msclaire, you are having ur lunch reception in ur church? is alcohol allowed?

meiling, it is okie lah.. i got a free who also recommended me for seasons catering. I wonder good or not.

Mary, I was the only customer in the shop just now. The young lady was better and more attentive. Just wondering should I go to the New Market Rd outlet instead.

Hello all you beautiful BTB!
Can i join in too... planning for wedding end Nov.

Currently still shopping around for venue, BS, PG, everything! Actually got my heart set on a venue, but hesitant cos it's sooooo expensive!

Hi R&J,

No usually we drive in. I go in on my own only when he has something else on. I've been to the BS 5 times so far. The next time I go will be to see the album layout. I'm gonna bring along the songs and quotes that I might want to add in, so that I can lessen one trip

Flora, congrats!! next hurdle - the grant. Will continue to keep u in prayers. Hope u have cooled down abt the M&M encounter.

nelle, have a safe flight.

xinglin, ur bestie's bouquet is silk flowers?

u gals very gd,how come lunch time so happening, so many achivements.

nec, have a gd rest, but since the sale at M&M ends tmr, u want to sneak out to have a look?

Sotonglet, eat 4 seasons once, food not too bad.

Hi Deedee, check out Chinatown. Should have some shops selling those stuffs for GDL (Guo Da Li) and they should have them too. I am not sure of the exact location.

Hi sleepygal!

But those are the traditional looking type right, with dragons and phoenix and whatnot? I'm looking for something more unconventional.

Flora, Congrats!!!! So i suppose your hse hunting will truly come now?!

For me, I don't intend to serve wine at all...cos Four Seasons charges corkage and also cos mine is a day event, so I don't want guests to be drunk in the middle of the day. Guess they have to go for mixers if they really want liqour.

So yep, lovedroplets is the recommended florist. Jus go the moks0002.multiply.com to view her works. Lovely!

hi gals!! i m now in a internet /comics cafe at ximen ding! was rushing around seeing the sights for the past few days. today is our last full day in taipei, so decided to take it easy and relax.. after i finish reading this thread, i shall start reading a whole series of volleyball comics!!

adele, don't worry, my AD is in june and we only started preparation in dec.. for both wedding and new house. most things are done oredi, all set to go. you have more than half a year.. so still have time de! with the help + encouragement of the all the btb here, the process will be very fun! any questions (or complaints haha) that you have, you can share here with us.. we will share your load with you.. especially some things men will never understand one.. haha.. ;P