(2008) Brides of year 2008

~sblbee~

shybride,
think it's not worth it if u r wearing back d same gown, no pt paying for d touchup of makeup n new hairstyle if u r still wearing d same dress, guz not many ppl will pay attention...

lexilicious

Morning tinky

nO lor, no fitting lor.. I only go down to finalise design and colour
It will be a LONG while before I see anything ..

BTW girls - got "The New Paper Wedding Planner 2008" advertised in the papers today (Life):
36 exciting booths for you to explore.
Fri 21 march 11am to 9.30pm
Sat 22 March 10am to 9.30am
Sun 23 March 10am to 9pm.
Venue: Vivovity, Central Court A&BGot Fashion Show by Yvonne Creative on Sat 22 March 3pm and Sunday 23 March 5pm.
Got games on Fri 21 March 6pm and also Buyer's draw

woofy,
I wonder if I should buy a bedok flat too.. but the price

nelle

no yet, MeiLinG. I had been procrastinating.

shy, glad you had fun!
The charges seem too high to me, cos like wat Meiling says, most pple (eg. me) don't notice cos they don't stand very close to you most of the time mah.
Back treatment is more like having facial on your back. So that your back will be flawless, smooth & glowing. Most beauticians/spas charge about $50.

I think my back has some blemish and didn't scrub regularly so the skin there quite dull.

~sblbee~

tinkybell,
i think i've forgotten myself n start to pig out like there's no tm though my nxt fitting is nxt week...think i'll look more ballon than my previous fitting

~sblbee~

nelle,
mayb i shd drop by international plaza 1 of these days so dat i can take a look at d cheongsum as well as d bridal shoes :p kill 2 birds wif 1 stone :p

xtrogal

HI all,

Pre-wedding shoot in Perth
--------------------------

I posted on 4th March and got more information now.

If there are at least 2 couples, it should costs about SGD$2500.

This estimated costs includes:

* 1 Photographer (member of WPJA) & 1 Assistant for 1 day of photoshoot in Perth
* Professionally processed photos and digital editing services (45 photos)
* 3-5 mins Photo Montage
* DVD video slideshow
* ONE 12" x 12" deluxe coffee table magazine style album (20 pages - fits about 45 pictures) or 12" x 12" hard bound album (10 pages - fits about 25 pictures)
* All images returned in Mid-res digital copy & Hi-res digital copy

For more information, pls email me [email protected]

I am really keen but will need to look for another couple who is keen so that this price is valid. Else it will be more expensive than this.

lara

xinyi_reiko, that's fast! we just went to select our invites last week n we r waiting to let my MIL confirm the wordings this weekend.

shybride, ur album is oso digital?

queenie10

hi PSH,
my PG is Leslie from AM PM Photography. Not engaging any VG cos hubby dun like it....sighz.But luckily our PG is doing a photo slideshow for the AD morning.

care to share ur honeymoon destinations?

We r quite broke over the banquet thus only going to taipei for 4days den go back to hk mit up frens & relatives for 1 wk. Saving up for a big honeymoon end of the yr...prob go to Europe if we've extra savings aft visit my PIL back in Boston.

Btw gals, r u all using credit card to pay for ur banquet. Anyone can advised which bank to use so can achieved more points in exchange for shopping vouchers.

xinyi_reiko

Lara, yaya.. ours decision made very fast.. need to show wordings to MIL?? i just ask my hubby to get his dad's chinese name and also get my dad's chinese name.. then send in the orders.. I believe the rest are pretty standard.

lara

hmm... the lady at T-dragon asked us to show our parents to confirm.. i juz show lor so in case got anything wrong it will not b our fault :p

nelle

Meiling, go on a Sat morning about 10+. The shops will open.

oh, I found another place which appears so unlikely to have dressy shoes. It is at Orchard Towers. You can see the at the display window outside.

~sblbee~

pardon me if d table's not complete cos d info r coming in in bits n pcs...here's d update but do let me know if i've missed out anything :p
<table border=1><tr><td>AD Date</TD><TD>Username</TD><TD>ROM Date &amp; Venue</TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG </TD></TR><TR><TD>2-Oct</TD><TD>cacky</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>4-Oct</TD><TD>annabella</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>4-Oct</TD><TD>Belinda Lee</TD><TD>4-Aug-2007 (Changi Village Hotel)</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>Sattine Bridal Couture</TD><TD>Sattine Bridal Couture</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>4-Oct</TD><TD>iriswil</TD><TD>18-Jun-2007 (GP's pte house garden)</TD><TD>Orchid Country Club</TD><TD>French Bridal</TD><TD>Mojoideas</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>4-Oct</TD><TD>Jeslyn Lee</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>4-Oct</TD><TD>koyoyo</TD><TD>23-Jan-2008</TD><TD>Park Hotel - Orchard</TD><TD>Golden Horse Award</TD><TD>Bobman Wedding Services</TD><TD>Vocare Media </TD></TR><TR><TD>4-Oct</TD><TD>sunny bear</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>4-Oct</TD><TD>tinkybell</TD><TD>4-Oct-2006 (Aranda Country Club) </TD><TD>Le Meridien</TD><TD>Seletar BW</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>4-Oct</TD><TD>uksportgal</TD><TD>4-Oct-2007 (Changi Village Hotel)</TD><TD>Swissotel Stamford</TD><TD>Modern Classic (Macau)</TD><TD>1950 Photography</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>5-Oct</TD><TD>whaleywilly</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>5-Oct</TD><TD>Transformer Prime</TD><TD>5-Oct-2007 (Grand Copothorne Waterfront)</TD><TD>Grand Copothorne Waterfront</TD><TD>My Bridal Room and Silhouette </TD><TD>Reflection Sg </TD><TD>Brilliant Pic </TD></TR><TR><TD>5-Oct</TD><TD>woo83fy</TD><TD>5-Oct-08 (Hotel Intercontinental)</TD><TD>Hotel Intercontinental</TD><TD>Bridal Veil</TD><TD>5 Stones Photo (PS) + </TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>9-Oct</TD><TD>AJ Wech</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Rasa Sentosa</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>10-Oct</TD><TD>xmasnowy</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>10-Oct</TD><TD>ChunChun</TD><TD>01-Dec-07</TD><TD>Novotel Clarke Quay</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>11-Oct</TD><TD>Mal</TD><TD>19-Jan-2008</TD><TD>Merchant Court</TD><TD>Thomson Wedding</TD><TD>Jude Seah</TD><TD>Nacho Motions </TD></TR><TR><TD>11-Oct</TD><TD>mrs kel</TD><TD>28-Sept-2008 (Singapore Flyer)</TD><TD>Hotel Intercontinental</TD><TD>Di Gio</TD><TD>Photo Language</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>11-Oct</TD><TD>sher</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Le Meridien</TD><TD>Golden Horse Award</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Hubby's friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>11-Oct</TD><TD>silent</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Raffles the Plaza</TD><TD>J&amp;M</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>11-Oct</TD><TD>Irene</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Ritz Carlton</TD><TD>Alfred Sung (MUA: Ophelia Cui Cui)</TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>12-Oct</TD><TD>lex</TD><TD></TD><TD>Regent</TD><TD>Ted Collection</TD><TD>1 Eye Click</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>16-Oct</TD><TD>Adeline Lim</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>17-Oct</TD><TD>^MeiLinG5^</TD><TD>17-Oct-2008 (Marina Mandarin)</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>Photo Language</TD><TD>Hilo Production </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>PolarWhite</TD><TD>18-Oct-2008 (Mariott Poolside Pavillion)</TD><TD>Mariott (Hi-Tea)</TD><TD>Golden Horse Award</TD><TD>1 Eye Click</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>Jesl</TD><TD>11-Oct-2006</TD><TD>Park Hotel Orchard (20-Oct)</TD><TD>Di Gio</TD><TD>AM,PM</TD><TD>Benson Neo </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>Liew Rachel</TD><TD>12-Dec-07</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD>Di Gio </TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>lynn</TD><TD>19-Oct-08</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View (19-Oct)</TD><TD>Seletar BW</TD><TD>Celestine from Fotowerke </TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>melody</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Divine Coulture</TD><TD>Daylight Pcitures</TD><TD>Damon Low Videography </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>pipi</TD><TD>27-Dec-07 (StarDus)</TD><TD>Hilton</TD><TD>Sattine</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>snowypooh</TD><TD>07-Jul-2007 (Furama City)</TD><TD>Secret Venue</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Bobman Wedding Services</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>sue</TD><TD>18-Oct-2008 (Conrad)</TD><TD>Conrad (Lunch)</TD><TD>U Style</TD><TD>U Style</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>Cheryl Tan</TD><TD>27-Oct-2008 (Pan Pacific)</TD><TD>18 Oct Danga Bay, JB &amp; 27 Oct Pan Pacific, SG </TD><TD>White Weddings </TD><TD>Dejavu (Albert Chua)</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>18-Oct</TD><TD>bluebananas</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Fullerton Hotel</TD><TD>Di Gio</TD><TD>Lighted Pixels</TD><TD>Wedding Paparazzi </TD></TR><TR><TD>23-Oct</TD><TD>cyc</TD><TD>18-Oct-2008 (Church)</TD><TD>Oriental Mandarin</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Avenue 8</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>25-Oct</TD><TD>lrs1025</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed</TD><TD>Not confirmed </TD></TR><TR><TD>25-Oct</TD><TD>chantique</TD><TD>25-Oct-2008 (Novotel Clarke Quay)</TD><TD>Novotel Clarke Quay</TD><TD>Bridal Zone?</TD><TD>Hubby's friend</TD><TD>Hubby's friend </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

~sblbee~

nelle,
it sounds gd...but im wking tis sat...mayb i'll drop by after my gown selection nxt week cos now everything havent confirm...v difficult to buy shoes :p

zhuoen

pin&amp;jie: I had added you on msn and sent you the contact for the florist alrdy! =)

nec: Had sent you the contact via private msg and will add you into my msn list when I have access to msn ok? =)

mindy: welcome!!! Must enjoy the process of the preparation ok? I m and am sure the rest of the girlies are here!!! You are lucky!! Where is ur wedding venue?

jules: I m still waiting for the contact, will let you girls have it once I got it ok? =)

sotonglet: I had sent you the florist contact via private msg, will let you have the seamstress contact once I got it ok?

msclaire: sent the contact to you too!!!

uksportgal

Thanks mei, long time never see this list already
my VG is Vocare

Wao... 18-Oct is the most popular date here and my date 4th Oct is rank 2nd hahaha so many ppl same day with me le~~~ hee hee

xinyi_reiko

hmm i see.. i got show my dad to confrim but for inlaws side seldom get to see them, so only ask my hubby to confrim.

time pass very fast.. left around 3 mths.. how come i feel like alot of things not done..

emilyteo

Hi Gals, may I know who is having their banquet at Raffles Hotel?

Hmm...My menuses also not on time... a little concern it will fall on the same day or a few days earlier... i think, I'll check with my sister-in-law (who is a doctor) an dlet you gals know....

Queenie, using credit card to pay for bandquet? Your crediet limit must be very high if not, you will have to break up the cost into a few credit cards...My husband and I have the same concern too...... wondering if Hotel accept cheque??????

lexilicious

Heh..
No one same day as me! I'm lonely *boohoo*

I expect many pics and videos after Oct is over ah....

Woofy,
forgot to mention brazilian wax can be done at "Strip"

xenxen

xinyi_reiko > relax...just follow ur task list n things will flow smoothly

My PG charges $250 for 40 pics for photo video montage, is tis price reasonable ?

jyiah

PSH, ya 60 plus pics will go into 2 album one for full page one for digital....

I engaged simon video for both AD PG and VG.

Queenie, we will be using creditcards too....but can we call up the bank to add the limits?if not have to use more than one cc ....

ET, i tried asking my hotel already...they dont accept cheque...cos they scare the cheque cannot go thru since it take 3 days?hehehe.....

xinyi_reiko

thias, okok.. will relax..

I feel not resaonable leh.. becoz my VG got offer montage services to me @ $150. Not sure about the details. But I didnt took it.

Hmm.. if have time can try doing it yourself? Simple software like windows photostory, is good for beginners.

dodolet

Wah zhuoren very efficient de leh! ^^. Thanks gal. 1 item less.

anyway - how much roughly to get a AD fotographer for journalistic type? my day and dinner different dates. T.T

Oh yeah.. we are getting novo clark quay. FH and parents wanna it >.<

ahnetsan

ok thanks, waxie, i go check it out....

sianz jus now meeting, got a lot of shit work to clear...

hopefully i can meet up wif u all on 24th march... eh no one leaves hp no. here? den on dat day hw to find you all ar? my no. is 9366 3562, real name is janet... haha

queenie10

hi Wiwi &amp; ET,
my hotel also dun accept cheque.

Its better that we go down to the bank 1 mth b4 our AD to increase our credit card limit,juz tell them we need it for our banquet....if no choice got to swipe 2 or 3 credit cards

necrosis

sotong,
my day and dinner are different dates too..
this means that everything has split day charges!! :p
PG, VG , MUA, argh...
have you sourced for yours?
i'm still searching for VG lor... :p

zhouen,
our most on the ball BTB!!

thanks..
when ya have good seamstress contact, also PM me k?
i've some sari blouses to get done for my family and myself.

dodolet

Hiya Nec,
I am thinking of getting a wedding package for car, gowns and mua which incl the 2 different days. But so far FH said so fast for wat. Go lose some weight first. -.-

I dunno if I am getting VG or not. But more or less finding a foto journalistic AD foto grapher.

chantique

Whoaa,..this forum really active! get so many msg only in few hours

Lex
Thanks for the show info, I might go down there before decide the bridal

Anyway, might search for wedding band,..any suggestion ladies?

colt_26

I was just thinking. Instead of taking the delay menses pill near to AD date for a long time frame and delay it (but may come when we all go for honeymoon), why not start taking a few this month to delay a few days and a few next month to delay in such a way that it will come before AD? Just a tot. I am also calculating the dates for this moth to take.

hi queenie,

i also be going to Taiwan for 8 days but will do so in Jul. Also very broke with banquet and house reno so if we have spare cash after banquet, we will go to some resorts and relax. so the resort thingy is not confirmed. but will defintely save up for a bigger and longer honeymoon.

ladies,
shouldnt be a problem to get temp increase in credit limit for credit card. heard most pple did that.

lexilicious

chantique
You should see some mornings - it moves like an entire page and leaves you wondering where was the last post you read
That's what happens when you have a huge bunch of talkative peeps in this thread. BTW have you a multiply website? Bceause quite a fair bit of us are on it, so that we can exhcange comments and see photos of stuff.

I got my bands at Love &amp;Co.(Raffles City First floor), there's Fairy Inc (in Orchard Emerald was it?), or you can make them at any jeweller's if you like... Just make sure they're reputable :p There's Soo Kee, Lee Hwa and like a million other stores that do rings
I think quite a few jewellers do customized ones too.

antakusuma

Oh, i didn't know can pay via credit card. Good idea ah. but i think my limit is super low. its the same credit card i been using since i started work! its not possible to increase until so much i think.

M do u know how FS is expecting payment?

Colt> good idea. delay this month also can.

lucky i already count long long time ago. the designer told me to count when i made my dress, say tht period can make u bloat 1 to 2 inches. i can't afford excess weight! but queenie u quite slim, so tis shdn't affect u if ur period really come.

necrosis

me too gotta shed some kgs.
like not happening even tho i reduce food and increase exercise.

i've found my PG, daniel beh..
you can check him out too. very value for $ and good quality pics and very friendly.

BS search can take quite a while...you may wanna reccky w some gal friends first...cos when they see you walk in w FH, like cannot leave the shop until you hand some money over (deposit lah!)
with your gal friends, can short list and find those less hard selling ones then bring your FH over lor.

kitty_ng

Hi shybride, i oso need to topup to postpone my outdoor PS. But i'm more into the greenery &amp; sea part so gone case when it rains
I'll be doing the part2 end mar.

Lara, did u go down to Tdragon to choose the designs?

foodietravel

Okay gals,

I've managed to bring forward my menses. Mine's supposed to be on AD too. Anyway, i used to have irregular menses so my Gynae gave me the pill several years back. It definitely delays your menses if u take it correctly but two PROBLEMS:
a) when menses is delayed... you get more pimples because it seems that your body is trying control the blood flow and somehow makes your body 'heaty'. So if you've been having good skin, you may find yourself with more acne on your AD!!
b) you can only take it for a max of THREE weeks (21 days). It is NOT GOOD for your biological system if you use it for longer. You must have a week of menses after approx 3 weeks.

What I've done so far for the past 2 months is start having a lot of red meat and one iron capsule per day .. approx one week BEFORE my period is due. But because all these makes me 'heaty', drink watermelon juice (one cup) also to cool yourself down. If you really want to make sure your menses appears, then two days before menses is supposed to start, have one (or half) SLICE of pineapple. Not too much because pineapple is also heaty.

For the past two years, my menses was approx 28 days cycle. This two months, it's changed to 26 days. Hopefully my menses will start a few days before my period and i'll have a lighter flow on my AD!!!

-- hth.

XLB,
thanks. will prob go for deluxe menu too.

PSH,
please check out my posts for TOKYO under the Honeymoon and Travel "USA" Thread dated Tuesday, October 16, 2007 - 12:51 am.
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/4/554136.html?1192942721

--

To all: i've posted many threads for west coast USA in case you need ideas or tips eg.. San Francisco, L*s V*gas, etc... Check from Oct 2007 onwards.
But currently that thread is kinda quiet. I'm going back to USA for my honeymoon in May. HTB hasn't been to SF and we've both not been to Chicago.

Some of the posts may be outdated (eg.. closure of certain hotels in US) so you can ask me for latest info.
---

Credit Card for Hotel Payment:
If and only if
a) you can confirm that your hotel accepts the credit card you plan to use (eg. some hotels may not use Diners, AMEX etc)
b) you have spare cash.. (eg, $20K)
you can go online internet banking and pre-pay your credit card... this means that your card limit will go up.. eg.. your credit limit is $10,000. You pre-pay another $20,000 approx five days BEFORE your AD. Then you have a new credit limit of $30,000. Also, just before your AD, call the bank and request for additional credit limit. Tell them that you're getting married!!

Good luck everyone!!

shybride

meiling, 1st march in is waering the WG mah.. 2nd march in change to EG liao.. thinking might need a different type of makeup for WG (something like day makeup).. and for EG (night)

went to emerald hill, fullerton hotel &amp; alexander hill for PS. part 2 plan to go punggol lalang field &amp; peirce reservoir

nelle

cassie, most likely for tea ceremony.
I was planning to tailor one or two for dinner occasions or when I just feel like dressing up.

~sblbee~

oh shybride, if dat's d case den it's ok...cos i tot u alrdy have 1 different hairstyle n makeup for ur 2nd march-in...
wat's there to take at alexander hill? it's so different...

queenie10

xiaolongbao,
hmm i where gt slim,i put on 5kg ever since i join my new coy last yr...till now i only manage to get rid of 1kg.I think u saw my EROM photos which is before i gain wgt. In fact u can increase ur new credit card limit with ur new pay slip which is 2 times of ur new salary.

Gals,the menses medication is quite troublesome leh....maybe i shd delay my next mth menses so tat it'll come aft my AD cos my next menses is ard the corner....too late to delay liao. But if i eat next mth,i scare the pill will make the cycle not accurate,suay suay later my menses in May came early...den jialat. I think best is that i eat it in may so it'll be more safe. I rather suffer during my honeymoon cos i'll always have menses cramp during 1st day.

nelle

shy, must put sunscreen on the rest of the body hor, even the weather is not sunny. Normally the neck, chest and shoulders are forgotten.

gingerbread_gal

Nec,
that's true...no one to see us all dolled up in the lab...sometimes my sister can't believe i come to lab in short pants.
I usually won't go for those talks held in campus...how to go when I don't have time for lunch sometimes. I think if I go then I feel very sian also cos I will lack all the necessary stuff for make-up.

shybride,
since ur PS is split into 2, can cover more ground...did u take any pics with ur camera? glad that u had fun!

I've talked to my designer and she said try not to get shoes whereby there's a rough surface whereby the gown can be caught in....

Does anyone have any recommendation for whitening lotion which works for pigmentation?

mrs_ho_to_be

Nec, my wedding dinner be at Marriott. You booked Sacred Heart for your church wedding? Where is it located?

Zhuoen, yes am enjoying the process

Hope i can settle my church wedding venue soon.

As for BS- took up a package in JB, apparently the photography is good. Plus the perks is so much more..so it was a quick decision made but we didnt regret. Btw my BS is called SHE Wedding in JB.