(2008) Brides of year 2008

providencia

neostrata - deps on which range u use, can be good for some pple, another popular brand is therapeutic dermalogical formula.
nelle, i never leave the hse without concealer, i look like i escaped from the zoo. Clean the face so many times so strange, think skin will peel.
nec, MTM make up dun work, haven't heard anything good abt it from anyone, so many friends tried, all say waste of money.
I have s short pink CS, likely to wear it after changing out of the kwa.

xtrogal

Hi Lex

Pre-wedding shoot in Perth @ $2500
----------------------------------

no, it's not 1950. I think 1950 charges $5K for their Perth trip.

pooh83

happiness&bliss -> i think i will call them up also just incase they overlook or wat.. hee.. so far i have no problem with them *touch wood*. usually if i wan to request or ask them something i will email jamie instead coz she more senior than huiling.. and can make the decision better.. wat have happen tat let you to lost trust in huiling? mind to share?

rach -> oh.. isit? i tried the yam paste i think abt 5 mths ago.. all my friend's guest commented tat it was nice.. when did u try it? recently? maybe they have different chief preparing it.. hopefully their standard dun drop during my wedding day.. hee..

kireineko -> i am on regular facial for two yrs le.. i also sign up for a spa package to relax myself.. hee.. as for the oil lump u mention earlier.. i think laser is a fast and better way.. i must say tat there is a very small percentage of ppl tat have scar after tat but majority of them looks better..dun be sad.. u will be a pretty bride in sep de.. cheer up.

<font color="0077aa">Rach>>> ya some comments on the forum like not so good ... but signed liao, try to make the best of it... at least, so far all the comments on their MTM gowns are really good. so i'm glad mine both MTM - can't wait to see the gowns... the designer also quite friendly and helpful.. heh. scared of PS and photo selection lor... but i just take a step at a time lor. my expectation not so high, but if not even satisfactory, my hubby sure make lots of noise and make sure they take us seriously one(haaaaaa 'cos he's also in sales, kenah bully often, have to use the same tactic on others , lol)</font>

<font color="0077aa">Ah net >> i asked my BS, the gown for AD will be used for studio photoshoot. Outdoor one will be another.... </font>

lexilicious

hi xtrogal
got the mail
I don't think I'll be taking it up... their style isn't what I'm looking for but thanks a lot. Good luck finding another couple tho!

jedilim

hi anyone has those standard scripts for the MC to annouce during the wedding banquet and church service, please email me at [email protected]
thanks....me not good with words and speaking, so will be great if there is some standard scripts....still haven found my MC either...

haven't gotten down to find old photos to scan yet, seems very troublesome hor, n not sure if quality will turn out good if my scanner is not the good quality kind.
anyone has printer to recommend to print small no. of wedding cards at cheap rates like <$1 per card? will be good if around cityhall area. thanks.
good luck to all on their wedding prep! dun be too stress ya!!!

gingerbread_gal

Nelle,
pigmentation on the face...got one or 2 spots...I've only been using sunblock and didn't put any whitening lotion.

I heard that botox is not very in now; what's more popular these days is the use of gold for anti-ageing purposes I think.

Just went for facial today and the therapist told me to take note of my dark circles - but dark circles, can't do much, even eye cream doesn't seem very effective against dark circles. I'm currently using Kiehls' eye cream - seems quite good for the lines.

wow, all you ladies seems to be getting CS...I agree that a cream CS will be classic! I saw one such CS-type gown on Silhouette's website - very nice! Hope you all can find a CS that you'll look stunning in

Anyone going to tailor make their bridesmaids' dresses?

shybride

jac, i had planned to tailor made dresses for my jie meis.. even confirmed the seamstress oredi.. but had to give up the plan in the end cos one of the jie meis simply refused to not wear a shawl or cardigan over the dress.. i felt that the point of tailor making the dresses was that the dresses would look similar and then it would look good. So no point if the shawl / cardigan 'destory' the effect .. haii.. how many bridemaids you having? make sure they all ok with your idea hor..

by the way gals, my MUA told me NOT to put any sunblock b4 the makeup for PS / AD. she said sunblocks are more oily than usual skincare products, and it will make the makeup look blotchy..

gingerbread_gal

FYI, the latest copy of Wedding and Travel is out.

Shybride,
I'm going to have 5 bridesmaids...haven't discussed with them on their attire yet. Yes I agree that the point of tailoring their dresses is to have a more uniform look...I noticed in other brides pics that such attire look very nice in the photos. What was your budget? I'm not sure of the budget I should set for this. Hmmm, why is your bridesmaid insisting on wearing the shawl/cardigan? If your place is not air conditioned (esp the living room), then its possible that she will be feeling warm instead of cold. Maybe she wants to stand out from the group??

shybride

oh yeah, paiseh i posted twice.. forgot what i wanted to say.

nelle just now i went for massage and shun bian asked the therapist about back treatment. seems like there's no such thing there.. they offered to do microdermasion on the back, but it's actually for face..so very expensive $400!! the other alternative they offered was to do whole body mud wrap.. where you do your body treatment?

shybride

jac, she said her arms very fat lor. But she wore sleeveless for her own wedding photos lor.. duh..

the seamstress quoted me $80, including material.

crispy79

Ting : I also duno wat to change for the layout, it was my HTB. He change some of those borders and effect thingy ...Did casey say when u can get the photos? Mine will be early april i think.
Ooh ya, between i changed my MUA to MIKI already, so happen she's not taken up on my AD. Which means I'm using different MUA for my ROM, PS &amp; AD..so risky, but think she'll be good. You had her for PS rite? Any advise?

And yes, i finally had my wedding insert printing settled, should be ready in 10 Days time. And also will be having my food tasting this sunday

Have you girls settled on the wines? Any idea where to get cheap &amp; good wines?

gingerbread_gal

shybride,
Maybe the one you go to doesn't have back treatment. I did it before....where do u go for massage? If i rem correctly, the back treatment is doing some scrub for the back. I must go and check it out.
the $80 she quoted, is it for one person? What type of material?
Huh, but she's not the highlight of the day mah....can your other bridesmaid persuade her? So since not doing the dresses for them, what else can be done?

samanthaquekys

hi ladies!
i'm back from PS. yeah! fine weather today. thanks for all your prayers.. so happy! managed to get my blue sky and shophses for my outdoor. plus intercon.
hopefully my pics will turn out nice. *fingers crossed*

lex,
though no one same AD as you.. but it happens to be my younger sis' birthday. =)

koyoyo,
how was your xiaogu's flyer rom? feedback pls!.. =) good? bad? cramped? food nice? timing ok? favors nice? invites nice? capsule deco nice? got chair to sit? i wanna know it all... =)

bunnyhop

wa...wat a flurry of comments over a day!
Tink better drop e menses delayed pill for AD, esp if it induces hormonal imbalance n cause pimples. Yeeks...so sad if we don look our best. Tink carefully k.

How come hotels don accept cheques? Do they worry tat these cheques may bounce? Then better check w my hotel banquet. My food tasting somewhere after Mid April. Same as my album completion and gowns/suits fitting.

As 4 e wine, jus curious...doesn't e hotel offer foc wine on AD? MM offers free flow of wine, so dont intend 2 get new bottles of wine. We oso hav a clause of fine $850 if anyone vomits on e floor, so we jus prefer to go easy on this area.

Rest well ladies...

lsntyl

rach>Thanks wor. Weekends is best for us actually. I should be able to take leave on Mon if no urgent stuff at work but FH might have difficulty taking leave. If timing cannot gel, is ok. Please go ahead without us.

necrosis

hi shybride,
can you share with me your seamstress contact...
i don't have the budget to tailor for my bms their dresses, but my mom and sis are looking to make something...

for back...isn't scrub enough? i know i've seen some places advertise a back mask...

oh nelle,
any exercise tips to tone the back, both upper and lower..
tried the plank one....VERY SIONG man!!!! :p
guess this means it's very effective?
er...what's the typical time to hold in that postion...?
i'm sure my current 'instantaneous' is rather out of the range of ave. :p

wah, i've not heard of the gold threading thing...:p
me very mountain tortise... :pgood thing have you gals to keep me up to date!! :D

thanks all... *hugs all round*

necrosis

oh, shybride,
how abt a translucent scarf, matching the dress color for your 'outstanding' BM?
maybe the rest also won't mindd, then all can wear one, won't be too hot...

raragal

Gina> Tried it on 3rd March.. my fren's wedding..

Soyabeans> good loh.. now i BIG headache. originally decided to OTR.. but now think think.. i might wanna fuse 2 designs together into one.. jialat... i'm gonna call my designer tmr and see if i can still MTM.. i have the MTM option but initially decided to jsut OTR and save the hassle. but now.. i think i better MTM.. hahaha... hellppp!!! Check out my multiply... id: rayrachel
sigh sigh sigh..

LSnTYL> okok.. let me know again.. we yet to decide also.. will let u know again okay? likely is after 14Apr.. coz many things that few weeks.. heheeh...

AND......... STYLE WEDDINGS IS OUT!!! I GOT IT TODAY!! ANYONE GOING FOR THE GLAMOUR BASH????

We're going!!!

raragal

thias> that is very reasonable... for ROM or AD??? professional ones charges $400 for ROM itself...
who's ur PG??
Sounds like my PG. but he has increased his rate again... $388 for ROM and $688 for AD now...

Wait a min.. its just for the montage or with taking the pic?? if its just taking the pic.. its very ex... the rates I'm referrin is taking PG whole day + editing 40photos into slideshow...
www.gwen.per.sg/weddings

If you gals are still interested to go JB, its still a cheaper option..

City Square level 4.. T&amp;T Printing. just printed my ROM invites there on Monday...
50 pcs of A6 size... front and back full color.. RM$62..

happinessbliss

Gina,

Do you have a email add that i can email you what happen? Dun wan to hog up the thread here...hehehe.... Any idea if i can change my coordinator to jaime instead? But i understand from the NCQ thread that she is on maternity leave?

princess_sue

mrs kel.. you both look so good together!
the weather has been nice to you guys... yeah! i am so happy for you too. how is everything?

hi tinky, bread super fattening de leh.. coz my brother so into this.. he is trying to build up so he knows everying. he will ask me to eat the multigrain low gi bread.. ( taste abit weird but once you are used to it its ok ) and it fills your stomach more so that you dun feel hungry easily. haha.... i still have not bought the magz yet :p

hey mei, how was dinner ytd must have eaten your fill again

hey lex you staying near where? bedok?

hey koyoyo, how was the rom ytd? good experience in the capsule?

hey gals i am so happy i was waiting for my fren at og ytd... and i bought my wedding shoes le... i paid 111 for 2 pairs of bling bling. :p

~sblbee~

lex,
i cant help it....bought w&amp;t n style...i was flipping thru d magazines happily n drooling on d mrt train on my way to meet my frens :p
btw i heard dat robinsons' charlotte is selling bling bling shoes dat's abt 2 inches high...mayb u can go n take a look

mrs kel,
wah...u look great tgr wif ur fh, wat a handsome couple!
i bet ur pics will turn out great...yest was really gd weather for PS, wah really looking forward to see ur pics
guz d weather wont b rainy frm now on cos it seems bright n sunny today...gona b hot frm now on :p

sue,
yah i ate my fill again yest...finished 1 plate of phak thai n oso shared tom yum gong wif my frens...really fun to chit chat until 10+...
wah...so happy to hear dat u got ur wedding shoes alrdy...i must go n find mine soon, hope d process wont b a painful one as i tend to over-buy things :p

~sblbee~

d latest copy of style wedding is out too...

nec,
im sure u'll look gorgeous in d lacy CS cos u got d curves :p simply sexy

jac,
thanks...i hope dat i can find a pc of CS dat suits me too...but b4 dat hope to settle on my gowns 1st...having headache n sleepless nites over tis

providencia,
how come u change into CS after kwa? wat time do u intend to change into dat?

shybride,
my JMs have agreed to wear their own white dresses...or at least white top...i have abt 6-7 jiemeis...
mayb instead of uniformed design, u can suggest different design e.g tube, spag, halter, capped sleeves in d same material...provide variety n yet can cater to different needs

Wow this thread moves till I'm lost haha.

Kireineko and mentos,
I love Digio gowns but they quoted me $4888 so I gave it a miss.

Net,
I'll be going to the JB printer that Rach recommends in May.

Rach,
I cannot make it on 24 March gathering cos I need to stay back for a company event till 8pm.

Kireineko,
I also have oil lumps at eye areas (mila seeds). Dun worry makeup can cover them up!
Therefore I'm not going for any treatment. Somemore I have acne scars.

Creamy,
I'm having solemisation before my dinner. Lazy to hold ROM and AD separately hehe. I plan to have solemization at 7.30pm, and dinner starts at 7.45pm.

gingerbread_gal

Nec,
Sorry abt the VG not replying to you...i heard that he is very busy these days. Hope your meeting with the VG will go well. Haha, your HTB will def appreciate what you are doing when people ask him abt the wedding video in the future then he can proudly tell them you guys have it cos you did the VG searching. I'm going shoe shopping later...hope can find something I like.

princess_sue

wah... sounds yummy leh mei.. make me hyungry already. :p later iw m going to swenson t3 with my team... having lunch there... haha.

ya i finally bought the shoes very happy. dun worry.. just target to have about 3 at most.. then you wont feel so headache already.

shybride

actually it was meant to be all different designs.. cos ssame colour same material will oredi look v nice i think.. anyway i oredi aborted the idea.. just told them to all wear white lor.. give up liao lah :/

nec, the contact is 96565049 (siang ling) [email protected] It's a home-based business.. siang ling is the daughter of the seamstress &amp; tailor.. i went up to their home at serangoon to look at samples b4.

jac, material is up to you to choose. i have a package at beyond beauty for massage / scrub. any other good recommendations?

lexilicious

mrs_kel
You look fantastic
I'm sure your pics will look wonderful .. remember to show them to us when they're ready!

sue,
I'm at bedok
though a bit nearer to chai chee side..

koyoyo
quick quick tell us about the SIngapore Flyer ... must have been exiting...

meiling,
you make me drool over tom yum soup...

~sblbee~

sue,
yah it was really yummy until i wiped out d whole plate...wooo...i must bring my fh to t3 n romance him a little when he's back, wif my swenson's voucher :p do enjoy ur lunch n wkend ok?

yah lor...i wonder when i'll get my shoes le...duno y i cant find anything i like, must b i too picky le :p

lex,
heheheh.....yah, too much of it will end up like me having a dry throat, symptoms of a sore throat liao :p

~sblbee~

shybride,
dun b upset...concentrate to b a pretty bride
for me, i dun really care abt d colour coordination juz as long as they r present, dat's wat dat's most impt to me :p
im doing my facial at a home-based place, $35 per visit

raragal

Happiness> you can just PM Gina ah.. click on her nick.. then click to send private message..

green> OOhh.. u wanna join us after 8pm?? we'll be meeting 730pm.. 8pm prob just started eating only.. hahhaa.. u gals got curfew or not? if stay till about 10pm can or not? hahah.. u all dun tell me u go home so early and sleep one ah???
green, you sure u can start at 730pm?? do u verbally tell ur guests??
I'm already telling my guests verbally that they need to reach at 730pm coz my ceremony starts at 730pm... else they can stand outside and wait liaoz.. hehehe..

Yup yup... so for now... only Ah Net is coming... the rest?? let me know if u are coming k...

raragal

Happiness> oh ya... i think jaime is only maternity leave..coz the last time i went to check out NCQ, she was pregnant.. i think she has given birth liaoz... didnt see her on my fren's wedding too..saw another lady.. i think she's huiling ba...

providencia

MeiLing, I'm changing into the CS to go back home for tea ceremony. Is it strange? Plan is to go to HTB's hse in WG, change into kwa to serve tea, then change into CS to go back home. MIL insists on kwa for tea ceremony, HTB would like me to wear the CS.
I'm also tailor making dresses for my jiemei, getting them to choose their own design, but all will use the same cloth (maybe lemon yellow?). We did that for one of us. Shybride, tks for the seamtress contact, was fretting over it.
ya, the gold threading thingy is really the in-thing, but HTB cautioned against toxicity, better to read more abt it before signing up for anything.
I know Clarins Institute offers back scrub, a bit expensive though.

~sblbee~

providencia,
wah...it's not strange but unique way...is d CS d same pc u gona use to send off ur guests after d banquet? usually d bride will go to d groom's place in WG n den change into a teadress either kwa or CS to go back home for tea ceremony, which means ur kwa's "show-time" will b short :p but my future mil prefers to see me in CS than kwa so i'll juz wear CS for convenience's sake...

providencia

i only intend to wear the CS during the day, at night, will only have the WG and EG, send off the guest in EG. Cos the CS is short, think will be a bit strange to send off guests in a short CS. What do u think?

Rach,
I can only reach there at 9.30pm to 10pm. It takes me about 1 hour travel time, thus the thing may drag to 8.30pm. Actually I'm free for Tue-Fri on that week, except Mon.

Any chance of scheduling gathering on Fri night? Think 2 others have problem making it on Mon. :p

graceyong

girls, for the brides maid dresses, my suggestion is you can rent some. www.bridalcloset.multiply.com Her name is elsie and she rent out bridesmaid gown for a reasonable price (with alternation)

If you having more than 2 bridesmaid, i think renting would cut down cost or probraly let your bridesmaid get different dresses but along the same colour (if all ur gf are the same size)

Or go to this place at Paya lebar, they sell nice dresses average $30-$80. if tailor made one is about $100, then still Ok, if tailor made is around $150 then i think it is quite expensive, of course if u can afford it, then good. But girls remember, we have many other expenses that we have to cater on.

Some bridesmaid pay for their own dress but some expect the brides to pay (because it is u who ask them to be) and not everyone can afford the dress you chose. So even it is just a dress, but u must be clear of how ur bridesmaid think or else, it would turn out ugly.

Just my experience sharing with you all

zhuoen

sotonglet: it should be ok for you guys to look ard and try to secure a bs as the prices may just go up.. and dun need to wait to lose ur weight la.. haahhaa, can always do it after u sign up!! after spending the money, u will be more determined to lose weight!! hahaha, like me!!

we must give each other support!! hahaha.. and i m thinking we can meet up and for gathering!!

emilyteo

whao!!! this thread is really active gals!!!... anyone from Raffles Hotel know if they will accept BANK cheque???? My coordinator just quit and still awaiting for the new coordinator to contact me....

All my credit cards are from overseas... if I apply for singapore credit card when I arrive in Singapore, any idea how long it will take for approval????

If the hotel really refuse to accept cheque totally, I think I'll have to open all my ang bao the night and give them cash then.... hmmm...another thing to stress now....

Crispy> there are a few threads regarding wine.... chekc them out, it also have website, wholesaler and online shop information + prices...

pooh83

hapiness&amp;bliss -> my coordinator is also huiling.. i guess u can email jamie and ask for change in coordinator.. btw my email is [email protected]

rach -> i can't make it on 24th march for the gathering. i going for my WG fitting coz the rest of the days all booked le so cannot change.. is it possible to change the gathering to a fri as wat green mentioned?

bunnyhop

haha emily,
can imagine how comical we look if e couple spend e 1st nite ripping off all e ang baos n count e $$$$.

so funny...
Jus decide on e wedding card @ T dragon; chose a simple template with 2 cute icons (1 for church/1 for evening banquet)*double sided with the necessary greetings/salutation.

we will prepare e cards for church wedding or dinner only...try to minimize additional printing cost.

hope to meet up w e church lunch caterer n confirm gdl cakes order by end March.

Jus hope i hav time 2 do e prog details w my helpers after Apr.
Saw my checklist...still got things 2 cover...*faint...

Oh ya, any ladies here kinda lose some weight in e midst of all these xiong preparation? Havn't got time to take a good look @ my self. Mus b looking really haggard now...

My htb collected e soft copies for our PS...will invite u all 2 see see once we screen thru' e images...