(2008) Brides of year 2008

dear cacky,
i already booked KK (lighted pixels) for my AD photography! hehe went to him before i saw eadwine's works. haha but i believe K will do a wonderful job for me as well. i was actually even considering doing extra pre wedding shots with KK coz his shots are beautiful too. (My BS package already comes with the whole studio/outdoor shoots but i was abit tempted to spend another 2K!) gosh i'm abit insane wahahaha. In the end I didn't lar. i'm sure ur photos will turn out really nice!! My hubby also believes in spending good $$$ on quality photos... =P he wants to show them to future generations when we are all crinkly and old... haha.

dear lex,
i've yet to decide abt the cupcakes~ also need to check with my hotel if they have any contacts to intro, maybe it'll be cheaper. and also if they charge anything extra for bringing in outside food. have u confirmed yours?i was disappointed that c-cups is fully booked so i haven't really progressed from there... haha. it's so tiring to do research then find out most of them are unavailable... same for AD Photography and videography =(

snowypooh, im an 1810 bride too! yeah it's supposed to be a hot date for weddings... i have problems booking hotels,photographers,videographers sigh... is ur prep all settled?

hi bluebananas

LoL we decided we didn't want pre-wedding pics actually but now i'm so in love with KK's photography, he makes every photo look like a painting.. am so tempted but he's really expensive.. there was one period where I kept dreaming about KK's work and couldn't sleep. LoL

Becuz I'm DIY-ing my stuff, already it's crazily expensive. Gowns are 3k, FH's suit is 1k... and AD PG another 1.5k. And add on KK... it's very close to 10k.

hahha, but yah getting good photos are a big thing - i can still rem looking through my parents photos and laughing at how young and in love they look.

I'm meeting TWP next week, and possibly I'm not going to do the express highlights because it really really is sooooo expensive. It's easily about 4 times more than other VGs I've asked, though their normal charges are reasonable and I really do like their fun and quirky style.

I think pink-vanilla looks fabulous though.. I'm not sure about the pricing yet and it seems like you're going to have about the same number of guests as me. I'm looking at ordering only about 100pcs though. I'm assuming there will be some sharing anyway, plus I have cocktail nuts included in my hotel package and the loads of candy. I'm considering maybe mini-cupcakes as well, maybe not so... filling.

tinky,
actually I alsop suspect you're not so vainpot as some girls la. I mean most brides probably know which angle they look best in already. I've some girlfriends who die die must take pictures in certain angles.. me.. I can't be bothered la.. as if my FH will only see one side of my face for the rest of our life right? Heehehehe

hi bluebananas, I'd settled venue, BS, AD PG & VG. Choosing gowns next month. Anything else I need?

I guess everything else will need to be on hold until I'd settled with my housing.

dear lex,
tht's funny! dreaming about it!
)) so sweet and cute of you!!! I think that's a sign you should get him man. I think his pre-wedding shots aren't too expensive... consider his every piece of photograph as a piece of art! u can hang them up on ur walls... i'm quite sure if you meet up with him in person you'll be very moved by his photos, passion, and personality. he's so friendly and nice and not pushy. Yes DIYing stuff is expensive too!it's more personalized though coz you get to choose what u want from whereever u want. my package with TWP includes 10hrs videography, express highlights and live journal video, so it adds up to 3K+++. if you don't do the express highlights and just take the basics, ur cost wont be so high and u'll still get their funky style videoclips.
if you do decide to go with them, remember to find another couple so u can get a 10%discount...

i will think about the cupcakes and keep you updated. as the other brides have commented here, it might not be that great an idea to have them... I could look at saving the $$$. when are u looking at making a booking? have u tried them before? let me know if they're yummy ok? my hotel also provides canapes i realized... don't want the cupcakes to go to waste... if i cater i'll prob get like a 100 pc like u.

PS: u looked at KK's photos and couldnt sleep, i looked at eadwine's photos and couldnt sleep! hahaha... =D i was in awe!

bluebananas, thanks. I'm keeping my fingers crossed too.

I think compared to wedding preparations, there're more work involved in doing up a home of your own especially when you're going to stay in it for at least 5 yrs & it's a bigger investment.

hi cacky n lex,
Honestly i think you guys made the right choice picking plush pg. He is good.. too bad i have decide on my PG.. anyway hope to see u guys post the foto ok??

hi gers,
Just wonder.., if the cost of saving at reception is enough to compensate u on PG or VG afterall the PG stay w u forever till next generation while minor detail like reception dont.. just a fruit for thought..

hi koyoyo,
I personally don't think saving abit of money from the reception is enough to compensate for the AD and VG expenses because for the latter 2 we are looking at easily spending 4 digits. (Most of the good, professional photographers and videgraphers on average charge >3K for their services...)I suppose if the couple is already spending that much on photography/videography/BS/etc etc, why would they save a few hundred dollars on their reception if that's what makes them happy? Maybe a reception is considered "a minor detail" to you but for others it could be something of significance. After all, everyone has different value systems.

Sorry. Quite awhile since I pop in. Thanks providencia for the update.. Do take care girl..

hmm.. here's my update..

- Settled on the wedding bands.
- Just had first appointment to try the different gowns... (Hi Karen, I am BZ bride too.. )

Gals: Do start planning and keep a lookout for the gown you like, or better still go down to your BS to try some of the gowns...

Have decided on my gowns, so waiting for next fitting.. =)

hey lex,
ur candy table is gorgeous!

love it to bits! yeah i think it'd be fun to have it! the kids would esp love it!

ur hotel is not charging you for that rite? it's really "sweet" (pun fully intended
)to have something like that at a wedding. really unique too!

PS: paiseh the reply is kinda lagged... hee

hi koyoyo
hehe, no i dont think i'm going for plush.. because I admit, he has gorgeous pics but i really like lighted pixel's photos. i think they're beautiful, and would be lovely as wall hangings as well. Lol

hmmm about the cost saving for reception - i'm not sure about this bit la. I mean i would be willing to spend a little bit more on my reception than the usual wedding because i'm inviting my close friends and rekatives, and I would really like em to enjoy themselves.

while a wedding is about two persons (mostly! heh), i think a lot about how the day goes also depends on my guests. if i see my guests having fun, singing, laughing, squabbling over candy (eg my MIL won't let my FIL eat candy), it brings a smile to my face. also I tend to favour very journalistic pictures so i feel having these moments will allow my AD PG to have more moment to capture. i would love it when people come up to me and say "oh i loved your wedding", "oh it was so fun" or whatever.. and preferably they can remember it some point as well

but of course you have a point also about the budget bit - i worry about overspending but i'm prepared to say.. make my own corsages and hand bouquet.. or buy cheaper shoes or something

dear bluebananas (everytime i type ur nick, i keep autotyping bananasplit - diets.. sigh)
yah .. the cupcakes are giving me mild nightmares. i think i might not do them after all, i'm going to work out the costing first. I mean, i think that can come later hehehe. i think they would make a great conversation piece but somehow I think it might not justify the cost. p.s i saw the martini bar - it is sooooooooo fab...

hahha yes, candy tables are fun (I hope!) and i'm looking at all kinds of candy at the moment. I think it shouldn't cost >$500 as the candy i'm looking at now are about $5-6/kg (sourced from wholesaler), plus I'll like to make my print labels and stick em on pink paper bags or something.. should work out all right i think.

imy hotel planner isn't charging me for the candy table - she mentioned they charge for the cupcake or real wedding cake though. i'll of course have to sign an indemnity form cuz they're not responsible if someone gobbles up all my candies

snowypooh
i really envy you babe
I'm going slightly bonkers nit-picking over wedding details, I don't think i could manage like going through reno works and stuff at the same time! hats off to you!

BTW has anyone sourced for their wedding wines right? I am looking for about 80 bottles (some of consignment definitely) for my 400-500 guests. I was looking at Wine Affaire but they had this serrrrrrrrrious attitude, so I crossed them out. I've got a few other quotes from other suppliers but nothing that really caught my eye yet.

hi meiling

belated response: sorry, i read until i blur.
about a little dream: they range from a 2 piece to a 4 piece band (or more if you really want - just pay for more) and they perform usually 2 sets. the price they quoted me was from $800 and up, they're fairly flexible to accommodate your budget. I suppose they could perform less sets or something.. I'm not too sure. If you're really really keen, you can just give them a call - they're seriously one of the nicest peeps around in this business.

btw koyoyo,
talking about flats, that one you're eyeing, is it fully renovated or anything? Because I am thinking it would cost at least another 30-50k if you're going to be tearing things out because of the interior.

and the cash above valuation also driving me nuts... these people ask for soooo much these days.. we young couples... where to fund wedding.. and buy house... everything want liquid cash :S

Selina & apple_gal>> initally i tot it's on schedule.. but after reading the forum, i realised mine is kindof late... but no choice... already fixed... but i guess should be end of apr that i will get the album??? keke... clueless... lolz...

apple_gal>> really? what's your mutiply. id.. can share share... =) kekee

Hi Flora

Yeah u might wan to go down to HDB hub to enquire.. Personally i feel dat it's better to ask face-to-face instead of callin their hotline. Called them recently and cus svc is..

Maybe they can look into ur case

Hi, Moments
For me, i've schedule my PS on Early Jan, due to raining, I've only just finished my PS. The album needs time to do it, maybe need at least 2 months...
Er, i've invite you, waiting you to add me.

Flora Bliss.. do try and talk to the HDB staff personally. COs i think they will make exceptions for some cases and exceeding the salary ceiling by a couple of hundreds is not really that significant..

Anyway when I applied for my flat, I didnt submit pay slips but company letter instead to verify gross income ..

Flora, thot i came across newspaper today that there will be discussions on the $8k income ceiling during the budget debate...

maybe u want to read the newspaper see wat's their stand ....

Hey Flora Bliss,
Sigh...pay increment shld be good thing, something to celebrate ain't it? But now the income ceiling is causing so much problem...call HDB and ask them...see if can speak to executive level...u might still have a chance cos u exceed by abt $400...don't despair yet.

I'm feeling quite down now actually.....been trying to see what's the average COV for flats in woodlands area and was told its best to have like $30k cash in hand!! That's so much $$$...then chances for HDB flats are so slim.

A couple of days ago, saw this article abt how a family that is staying in 5-rm is downgrading to 4-rm flat and they applied for the bi-monthly and they got queue of 280!! I'm quite pissed! Where is the priority for newly-wed couples? I seriously think that HDB should give newly-weds much more chances....

Hi Lex, thanks for the compliments. It can be rather stressful on the mind, body & on the wallet as well, at some point in time, to handle 2 major tasks at one go.

For wines on consignment basis, you may wish to consider Carrefour. They've got a wide selection & if I didn't remember wrongly, you can return unconsumed cartons of wine for refund. But you'll have to return by cartons as they don't accept loose bottles.

There's also a wholesale shop along Bukit Timah Road called "Wine Culture" (featured on TV for being the place to get cheap & good wines).

Flora, of course I would agree to your thinking. That is what we are hoping for. I believe you are not the first couple that had such problem. Hopefully, they would review it.

Refer to the what Justina just posted. Hopefully, it is working. It will be a slap to my statement earlier but at least it is a good news to most of us.

talking bout japan so sad!
Hubby parents are sponsoring us to Japan coz one couple dropped out of the group..

But then the agency say they are unable to put us in..

there goes Japan

luvz17, ya you are very right. I really hope HDB can do more for those who falls in the "middle-class squeeze" group. We really should not be penalised for getting slightly more pay.

My FH has just drafted a very sad letter to HDB. I just read it and realised we are really in a very very pathetic situation. After reading, feels like crying. He is really good at writting sad story. I hope HDB will be touched and take pity on us. hahaha....

No sad la Flora .....

if govt has taken note & issues statement there should be alot of pple complaining abt it liao ....

so hang in there k...

Sue, my fitting last afternoon was an adventure but luckily everything went on well... have upload the pics to multiply, see n give me ur comments okay..

hi hi..
i am also a 08 sep bride...
jus wondering, wat is e stage u all are now?
have you all selected your gowns, do photoshoot liao? buy shoes liao? any idea where to buy?
i m still like lost sheep..
can give some advises?

hi gals, on clashes alternatively ask the shifu to find a day that will not clash with any zodiac. For me the shifu gave me days that will not clash with anybody so in the end I am left with very little good dates :s . Like that dun have to worry. If your day really clash, can go back and ask the shifu what to do I think they will give solutions.

hi annette, you confirm your ROM gown already?

I managed to try some gowns at Wedding Present last weekend. My first one but so expensive, including photos was about $5488! I am having 2 events now, one on 7th Nov at Raffles(Western sit down) and thinking of another one on 9th Nov for Chinese. Any recommendations for < 10 tables?

tinkybell: Yeah, I agree with you. To the folks, all that matters is eating good food.

bluebananas: Lighted Pixels is good! You made the right choice too. But since you already have the pre-wedding shots as part of the package, then you should use that.

wah....i missed out on d whole afternn n alrdy so many msges....super sia :P was busy d whole day as my sch will b hosting a zonal event nxt fri...guz it'll b like dat for tis week n nxt

finally managed to finish reading all d posts! anyway any idea how much red wine to cater for d guests, wat shd b d safe ratio? some colleague asked me to cater white wine but out of d many weddings i attended, i seldom see ppl serving white wine...wat's ur take? shd i cater for white wine as well?

koyoyo,
my mum is those bo chup n kind later she'll give lotsa comments when everything is settled, den by dat time either i'll get frustrated wif her comments or it's too late to make any changes...anyway, i'll ask her again on sat, in case 1 or 2 of my frens couldnt make it :P
im still considering wat to do for my reception...now no idea yet as i'll b super busy :P wait till im done wif tis sat n nxt fri's events 1st :P

lex,
exactly!!! my mum is oso like dat...initially everything oso no opinion, everything ok or chin chye, wait till everything settled or close to d date den she started to change her mind n say tis n dat...wonder if all mothers r like dat :P
thanks for sharing d contact for ur wedding band! btw, wat do u mean by ur cooridnator doesnt charge u for d candy table? like u, i prefer my wedding to b sth dat my invited guests can enjoy n remember (at least for a while) dat's y im thinking of adding a special touch to it...wait i ended up wif a ma-ma store :P

sue,
same here...i show her all d pics of bridal gowns frm d magazines so dat she can give her comments, however i hope dat she'll b able to see how d actual gown looks on me as some gowns may not look nice on me...as my fh everything oso chin chye so i need someone more critical to give opinions...

tinkybell,
thanks...actually was thinking of making movie posters wif my theme in it n both my fh n i will b d cast in dat movie n screening date as our wedding date, however...i think it's q redundant after d wedding...so still considering :P
im so worried dat i'll look so fat n will kena depression after looking at myself in d mirror during my gown fitting cos im kinda stressed n eat alot these days...hehehe...aiyo, it's a matter of angle, u r so short n fat lah, ur hubby did an injustice to u :P

cacky,
i hope to lose some weight b4 my PS but wonder if i ever have d determination like most of d brides to do so...hehe, sure hope dat i'll look gd cos i cant imagine myself to b beautiful n slim in d near future :P
plush photography is really gd...i saw d portfolio n d net but was shocked by d pricing, heard dat there's no rm for negotiation frm a gtb who wanted to engage their services initially but he has to give up though he really likes d pics...

uksportgal,
which VG did u wana book? did u manage to find a VG at d end?

snowypooh,
glad to see u back at last...so u settled d reporting of d defects to hdb liao? dat's gd...now juz waiting to collect keys, btw how's ur wedding prep? supposed to continue after u settled ur flat stuff...:P
yah, 18 oct is a really hot date...so i guz there r many bridal cars zooming all ard sg on dat day itself :P
thanks for d wine suppliers' contacts! i was wondering if they carry eaglehawk wolfblass black label as i need to get another 15-18 bottles on top of my 35 bottles...

bluebananas,
lighted pixels is really impressive...i saw d photographer's pics in his thread in d forum n they really blew me away...he managed to capture d mood n feel of d pics...n he is able to create a story wif d couple in his pic :P nice scenery n angles...some can filled wif humour...i think his prices increase as he dun intend to take up so many bridal shoots but it's really worth it if u can afford it

Hi ladies!

thias, i've already chosen my AD gowns. How about you? When are you going Europe? I'm going there as well!

Kittng, i went for a few fittings too before i finally decided on the gowns. Hehe.

Lara, maybe you can call your coordinator to check? Mine didn't call me, but i gan chiong, so i called her first. Haha.

xinyi, think 2 months before is just about the right time for the food tasting. Mine would be aboout 2.5 months before coz we can't make it at a later date.

Selina, i will be going Europe. Hubby was saying the better hotels in Switzerland might be filled up coz of the Euro 2008, but hopefully we can still get a decent hotel. Hehe.

Actually, supposedly, rightfully, the correct wine to be served at banquets should be "white wine" considering the dishes are mostly white meat (chicken) &amp; seafood. &amp; white wines actually tastes better than red wines.

But people still go for red wines at banquets. Why? I don't know whether it's due to the auspicious colour or following the trend? It actually depends on the demographics of your guests. Whether they're alcoholics or not &amp; which type of alcohol they take (beer/stout/hard liquor, etc). It could be also more of a preference as to what your guests like to drink &amp; what your budget is like. There're also different quality of wines to suit each every budget.

If you know that your guests prefer white wine to red wine, then by all means cater for white wine as well. Only you'll know your guests best.

I'd come across some article advising to estimate about 1 bottle of wine for every wine-drinker in the banquet. Hope this serves as a good guide for you.

flora bliss,
dun worry...do go down to hdb to find out more n see if there's any advice dat they can offer u to help u wif ur situation....gd luck ok?

hope dat hdb will revise their policy to help young couples like us...n we can get to benefit soon
hehe, ur matt really cute leh...hope his letter works :P

hi cassie,
thanks for alerting us! but punggol is considered to b rather far for me, so i dropped d idea! :P

justina,
thanks for sharing tis pc of gd news wif us! it really makes my day after a tiring day at wk!

Hi Meiling, yah I'd submitted the (long) list of defects to HDB already, need to wait for few months for them to rectify the defects. Meanwhile, kinda free cos cannot (&amp; unable to) do anything until defects rectified.

I'm not so much concerned about the number of bridal cars on the road but more of the attendance of the guests, how many do actually turn up. Or they may be banquet-hopping? Haha... 2 of my friends (who is a pair of unmarried couple) were saying that 1 of them attend my wedding &amp; the other attend the other wedding. &amp; I was joking to her that they can swop places halfway through the banquet. Haha... But what if they've got 3 or more to attend?

snowypooh,
dun worry abt d attendance...if they r close frens of urs, they'll make it a pt to come...even if they dun come den their APs will come to help u cover d cost of d banquet

sigh....u r rite, mayb i'll consider ordering some white wine...cos i duno if d majority drink white wine or not...